Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snow

• 13-12-2011 8:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

All over this forum, and in particular on the weather forum, I'm seeing people anticipating the coming of snow like it was Santa himself. Don't people remember the damage that snow caused this country last year? Crashes all over the place. Some serious falls. Restaurants and bars havIng to deal with cancelled parties and empty venues on Saturday night so close to Christmas. That poor girl in cork died and I know there were some others.

I can understand children who don't know better looking for snow...but adults...you've seen it before...get over it FFS...we do not want snow!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

I want snow :o
    ... But then again, I don't know any better :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Its the way climets changing i guess and well
    Dealling it properly using salt on foot paths and the council being more prepared for it....
    And maybe irish people will now have to learn how to put snow chains on and drive slower and prepare because whist this 4th winter consecutively we've seen snow fall...

Time to start expecting it and adapting to it and stop thinking its the end of the world Yes other countries are prepared for it but maybe are country should start to If we start getting snow ore frequently Its away of creating jobs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

I can understand children who don't know better looking for snow...but adults...you've seen it before...get over it FFS...we do not want snow!!!
    speak for yourself.

i love the snow and everything that it brings. unfortunately a few people ruin it for everyone else by giving out about it instead of preparing for it and end up causing accidents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Some serious falls.

Like that fella on the RTE news?

More of that please! Fooking hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Lots more people have snow grips for their shoes and winter tyres, guaranteeing that there won't be any snow. Anyway, most of the snow will be in Jan/Feb if the forecasts are correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

Nobody can control the weather, so if people can enjoy the coming of something that is disruptive as it is pretty then let it be , it makes them cheerful . If it happens it doesn't mean that these people are somehow at fault for anything bad that happens. We are lucky we don't have to put up with weather extremities for more than a few fleeting moments in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

Des wrote: »
    Like that fella on the RTE news?

More of that please! Fooking hilarious!

just for you Des

RTESlip1.gif

photobucket is blocked here

can you upload it as an attachment to Boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

joe316 wrote: »
    just for you Des

RTESlip1.gif

heehee!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I love snow. Better get some down here again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Snowing in Dublin city now.

Not a christmassy snow, just a horribly dull miserable snow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭bicardi19

Whats this "We" business, I fecking love snow.
    It makes everything all Christmassy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Why do people get so miserable about snow? It's fun and makes me feel like a child again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

We've only had really serious fuckoff snow in the last two years.

People forget this is a bit of an aberration. There's no legitimate reason to expect the same will happen again this year, and it's probably not very wise to attribute the snow we've had to climate change directly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Snow is great.

later10 wrote: »
    We've only had really serious fuckoff snow in the last two years.

and in the 80s too - the 80s snow was better than anyting we've had recently.

Better snowman build quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

get over it FFS...we do not want snow!!!

I assure you, yours (and others) opinion on snow will make no difference as to whether it snows or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭daithieoghan

Half assed fluffy snow blizzard in Kildare at the moment

there's a fully arsed blizzard going on here in Blanchardstown at the moment! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I assure you, yours (and others) opinion on snow will make no difference as to whether it snows or not.

Thanks for clearing that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Don't people remember the damage that snow caused this country last year?
    Whether you love or hate snow will have no bearing whatsoever on whether snow arrives, so I fail to see how "remembering the damage" is in any way relevant. Yes, it causes hassle, but it's also nice. We can't control it, so you can either be a gloomy pessimist or just accept that you have no control over it and enjoy yourself.
    Crashes all over the place.
    December was the safest month last year on the roads, and the safest December in a long, long time. If nothing else, snow is a godsend for road safety.
    we do not want snow!!!
    Speak for yourself.

it's heeeeeeeeeere! :D

seems to have stopped now tho. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Gob****es inability to deal with snow is no reason for the rest of us not to want snow.

seamus wrote: »
    Whether you love or hate snow will have no bearing whatsoever on whether snow arrives, so I fail to see how "remembering the damage" is in any way relevant. Yes, it causes hassle, but it's also nice. We can't control it, so you can either be a gloomy pessimist or just accept that you have no control over it and enjoy yourself. December was the safest month last year on the roads, and the safest December in a long, long time. If nothing else, snow is a godsend for road safety.
    Speak for yourself.

Are you serious? FFS

Do you genuinely think that I'm complaining about people wanting snow cause I think it's going to happen? Jesus. I'm complaining because I don't understand why people want it.

And I'm a gloomy pessimist for wanting bars and restaurants to do well at Christmas which is of course essential to our economy. Ask and bar or restaurant owner and they will tell you that the cancellations they had last Christmas put them user massive pressure. But it's okay cause snow "looks nice". What an idiotic post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Carstuck

Found last year that the snow took the best out of Christmas, as instead of enjoying it I was to busy worrying about pipes frozen and water restrictions.

Gareth2011 wrote: »
    Sleet here this morning and then bit of snow and I was telling my dogs were screwed if its gets heavy. Anyone who wants snow must not need to venture outside and have a never ending supply of fuel to keep warm.
    i love to go out in the snow, particularly driving around in it.

in a safe environment like an empty car park, it's a great way to practice the finer points of vehicle control on slippery surfaces and is a huge amount of fun to boot.

and I've got about 35 quid on my gas meter, does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Gareth2011

Gob****es inability to deal with snow is no reason for the rest of us not to want snow.

Can deal with it alright I just dont want to freezing cold wet feet or the frozen pipes. Snow may look nice but thats it. Even some people trying to go to the shops can be tough especially in the country. Like me i have to cycle 28k to the bank each week and I cant if its snowing, no car no bus.

Looks like a blizzard in Swords, but it's not sticking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

it's been snowing on and off here all morning, the ground is wet though so thankfully it won't stick.

Carstuck wrote: »
    Found last year that the snow took the best out of Christmas, as instead of enjoying it I was to busy worrying about pipes frozen and water restrictions.
    we had frozen pipes on our street and were without water for 4 days and had to use bottled water for drinking and cooking and big 20L containers of water from a local spring to flush the toilets.

didn't make any difference though, just means i'm better prepared for it this year, even though it's not likely to be anywhere near as bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

I love snow, we normally get loads of it over here in Germany every year, but not a flake in sight at the moment, flying back to Ireland for the hols in a week, hoping for loads of snow when I get (just as long as my flights aren't disrupted ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Pretty heavy snow showers here in County Kildare atm (just north of Naas) but it ain't sticking goddam it!

Snowy roads mean no work for me as I refuse to drive in it!

Gareth2011 wrote: »
    Can deal with it alright I just dont want to freezing cold wet feet or the frozen pipes. Snow may look nice but thats it. Even some people trying to go to the shops can be tough especially in the country. Like me i have to cycle 28k to the bank each week and I cant if its snowing, no car no bus.

It's ok though Gareth cause it looks nice. :-). Don't worry about the elderly people trying to deal with clearing driveways etc cause everyone has a chance to be an amateur photographer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Just to be different, we had thunder and lightening this morning in Galway city. No sign of snow.

Ghandee wrote: »
    Pretty heavy snow showers here in County Kildare atm (just north of Naas) but it ain't sticking goddam it!

Seamus says snow is a god send for our roads so you have no excuse for not going to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

what makes you so special ? people all over the world have to deal with snow....

Awww 2 cm of snow and suddenly your not able to drive...

Yep your adaptive :rolleyes:

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Snow = Difficult/impossible to get to work

Therefore

XBOX DAY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

Korvanica wrote: »
    Snow = Difficult/impossible to get to work

Therefore

XBOX DAY!

Surely that's a good thing? :)
    Ghandee should have XBOX DAY too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Started snowing here in Ballyfermot just as I arrived in the carpark where I work. :mad::rolleyes:

Doesn't seem to be sticking to the ground though......................?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Snowie wrote: »
    what makes you so special ? people all over the world have to deal with snow....

Awww 2 cm of snow and suddenly your not able to drive...

Yep your adaptive :rolleyes:

catch yourself on FFS, will you, you buck eejit.

I never said I wouldn't drive on 2cm of snow. I obviously meant in the same conditions a last year. (I drive all over the country mostly in rural areas)
    My job doesn't pay nearly enough for me to risk my life on the treacherous roads we had last year.

Now do yourself a favour and pull your head out of your hole. ;)

catch yourself on FFS, will you, you buck eejit.

I never said I wouldn't drive on 2cm of snow. I obviously meant in the same conditions a last year.
    My job doesn't pay nearly enough for me to risk my life on the treacherous roads we had last year.

Now do yourself a favour and pull your head out of your hole. ;)

G'waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

Feckin love the snow, t'is great fun, and as someone else said we have zero control over it so may as well make the best of it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

It's ok though Gareth cause it looks nice. :-). Don't worry about the elderly people trying to deal with clearing driveways etc cause everyone has a chance to be an amateur photographer

But sure, if it's going to snow it's going to snow ... do ya think if people don't enjoy it and shake their fists at it it's gonna snow any less?!

Sun is out here and it's stopped snowing(thank f**k)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

That weather forum does be ridiculous when it snows. 50 posts every 10 seconds of people saying they're staring at lamp posts. Since they like snow so much you'd think the forum would be dead as they are out in it. But no they feel the need to post shít like snowmegeddon here in Tallaght or blizzard in Malahide when really there's more snow on top of the jacks in Dublin clubs than on the ground.

I grew up in a place that got well over 100 inches of snow each year and it was a novelty at first. But it shuts down cities. Up hours before work or school just to clear drive ways and make the slow dangerous trek and no electricity for days at certain times. I do like snow and I know why people wish for a little bit of it. But people wishing for 50 inches of the stuff in blizzard conditions have obviously never lived in a climate like that and experienced the full power of the problems huge snowfalls bring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

tigger123 wrote: »
    Feckin love the snow, t'is great fun, and as someone else said we have zero control over it so may as well make the best of it! :D

Can I ask what making the best of it is? :confused:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

do ya think if people don't enjoy it and shake their fists at it it's gonna snow any less?!
    Judging by some of the posts here, it would seem like that is the solution to the problem. *shakes fist at snow*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

I remember the news saying it was terrible but everyone else loved it

But sure, if it's going to snow it's going to snow ... do ya think if people don't enjoy it and shake their fists at it it's gonna snow any less?!

You're the third person to make this point, which really doesn't make it any less idiotic. My question again is...why do people want snow when we saw last year how disruptive it can be. Should we all want snow, simply because we have no say in whether it arrives or not?