Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lamping with boards

• 11-12-2011 2:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭

after our day stalking and full of excitement we decided to keep the good luck rolling so i decided to head out on my patch and see if there were any red lads around.
    not long into it we spotted our first one that declan managed to put down with minimal effort. deck will have to insert his own pic's here

then on to the next spot and it was a good long shot that i felt comfortable taking from a prone position. the shot was good but from the reaction we think i just clipped it and we could see it limping off into the ditch. we tried to find it but no joy.
    on we went and i had a chance to redeem my self with a handy 165y shot and fox 2 was in the bag
    db85d0eb.jpg

we moved on but not long later we had another chance that deck took again with no hassle deck insert pic here. fox 3

my turn and on we went, it was not long and i had another chance off a fence post i tagged this lad deck let out a yelp to stop it as it was wondering around the field and i fired to get fox 4
    0b2ebffa.jpg

as you can imagine we were well chuffed at this stage. and as we made our way back in the direction of my house we had two more opportunity's and 2 more in the bag as usual my phone had died again i need a new phone. so deck has the 2 more photos to insert one of mine and one of his....

6 foxes down and in total we saw 8 or 9. and we were back in my house for a well deserved brew beside the fire to talk about our fun day and night hunting :D

well done declan it was a great days shooting ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

A cold and wet day, but the end justified the means.

Roll on Wednesday Morning ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

feck me no shortages of foxes down yer way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

daithi55 wrote: »
    feck me no shortages of foxes down yer way

not at the rate he's knocking 'em over ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

This is the first fox I shot with poulo
    ad641d8d.jpg
    This is the second
    a8a7fd44.jpg
    This is the third
    d7943dfc.jpg
    And this is the one poulo shot, but his phone died so I had to take the pic
    ee1749b2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

Great shooting lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

that's good clipping there lads some of them fox's are a fair size..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

patdahat wrote: »
    that's good clipping there lads some of them fox's are a fair size..

ya they are all in great condition, i have not shot a mangy fox in over a year. i think a good control keeps the population healthy.

come to think of it i have not shot that farm since last year. it is due a visit, maybe one evening this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭robbie mars

Well done lads makes it all worth while going out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Good shooting lads. I'd say yer loved by the farmers and loathed by the madra rua

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭nowwerehurlin

some shooting there lads ! how do the local hunting packs round yere way take to ye shooting foxes ? i know they wouldnt be too gone on it in some places! taking from their sport etc... some cracking shots there all the same !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

some shooting there lads ! how do the local hunting packs round yere way take to ye shooting foxes ? i know they wouldnt be too gone on it in some places! taking from their sport etc... some cracking shots there all the same !

I don't really give a feck if they like it or not. I don't particularly like them tearing up my fields , but they don't seem to give a feck about that either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭nowwerehurlin

declan1980 wrote: »
    I don't really give a feck if they like it or not. I don't particularly like them tearing up my fields , but they don't seem to give a feck about that either
    my thoughts exactly !! fairly new to all this but hope to post a few pics of my own excursions soon enough .. keep up the good work !!!