Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas guards asking "Is that an air gun?" weird.

• 10-12-2011 11:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭

Hey, I bought hardcase for all my guns and was walkign with it today, I had huge black bag over my shoulder which all gear, and like 120 cm long hardcase with guns. I was wearing boots and camo pants and black jacket, when I got to luas station at about 9, there were 2 STT Luas guards on other platform, 1 of them came to another one, whispered somethinfg and then they looked around, saw no one around and asked: " Is that an air gun? " I replied: "Just airsoft", they asked: "Is it sniper rifle? " I said: " Nope". Then all they asked: "Doing it today? " I said: " nah, just coming from game".

It was rather a bit un-expected like question. I somehow felt fear for a moment :D Do you think they are airsoft players? or have some friends who are into airsoft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,130 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭hangedhitman

my uncle works on the luas and they get lads takeing them out on the luas and scareing the ****e out of people thats probaly why they asked you mate that or curiosty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

http://www.luas.ie/luas-byelaws.html
    Prohibited acts

5. (1) A person shall not on a light rail vehicle or a light railway –

(j) be in possession of any gun, knife, explosive device or any other weapon or other dangerous item,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Nuke1973

Victor wrote: »

Just as well airsofting devices are not in that grouping then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Nuke1973 wrote: »

Surely they have to determine whether the devices were airsoft or not, hence the line of questioning........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

depending on the context, if you're transporting your rifs correctly their is no issue, if you choice to be an idout then a rif in public is classed as a firearms in the eyes of the law

from the terminology they used I would imagine they're either just being nosy or just checking you know what you're talking about rather than just having grabbed the stuff from the back of a car, tbh do not know much about lucs guard but in general any type of security is looking for the absence of the norm and if your dressed in camo with massive bags then even in Dublin i would imagine you're outside the norm so you will get some attention

just be polite and answer honestly as being smart can backfire fast if the guy you're talking to is just playing stupid to see what you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

I would look on this a two guys just doing their job as they are meant to do. They appear to know what airsoft is which is a big help and my advice to anyone would be to also tell them WHERE you had been playing and invite them to come along some day. They may not come but you are showing them that you have nothing to hide and that we are friendly people.
    I would be more concerned if they had ignored you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

Oh well, guess nothing bad then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭goblin59

if your getting public transport, then use soft guitar cases to transport your gear or similar.

At least you won't cause worry to other passengers or to security guards who aren't aware of airsoft and just see you in camo, with a rifle case on public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

goblin59 wrote: »
    if your getting public transport, then use soft guitar cases to transport your gear or similar.

At least you won't cause worry to other passengers or to security guards who aren't aware of airsoft and just see you in camo, with a rifle case on public transport.

Don't use a guitar case! If you a propper gun case, use it.

goblin59 wrote: »

would never recommend this personally, always use correctly storage, if you do get stopped and have rifs in general bags/tennis bag/guitar case it can look like you're trying to hide somthing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Puding wrote: »
    would never recommend this personally, always use correctly storage, if you do get stopped have rifs in general bags/tennis bag/guitar case it can look like you're trying to hide somthing

Which is essentially what the poster recommending this type of thing was advocating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Nuke1973 wrote: »

I would consider an AEG a dangerous item in the context of the LUAS prohibition, I would imagine not being a gurrier though and legitimately transporting it would mean it would not be an issue with the security guys, such as in the OP's story.

kippy wrote: »
    Which is essentially what the poster recommending this type of thing was advocating.

he is saying do use them and im saying do not use them.....or am i missing somthing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Locdown

Or it maybe a lad who plays himself,i play with two lads on a regular basis and they both work for STT.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

I would consider an AEG a dangerous item in the context of the LUAS prohibition, I would imagine not being a gurrier though and legitimately transporting it would mean it would not be an issue with the security guys, such as in the OP's story.

a water pistol could be a dangerous item a tooth pick could be a dangerous item the wording is like that so if anybody welds any article in a dangerous fashion can be technically charged with a breach of the peace. yes an aeg is a dangerous item but in the proper hands is no more dangerous than a tooth pick in the hands of a maniac. its just the legal wording there to protect everyone from lunatics. the best course of action when riding on the luas is act like you have nothing to hide by carrying the proper protective gear for your aeg only crims carry guns in sports bags or guitar cases that makes you look guilty and stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Nuke1973

kippy wrote: »
    Surely they have to determine whether the devices were airsoft or not, hence the line of questioning........

No question of that, just glad for the sake of people who love the game that the Luas doesn't have rules against it. It would make it very hard for some people to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

From the questions they asked it sounds like they were testing you to see if you were a responsible individual. You would be surprised at the degree of knowledge most security and police personnel have on things like Airsoft - they may ask questions that seem innocuous, or even ignorant, but they're judging how you answer.

If you stay cool, calm and collected, and answer the questions properly and thoroughly, you're very rarely going to run into trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭SpektorDyl

I'm sure It was simply a bitta banter from a fellow airsofter, I know 3 lads(Big lads) who work for STT and play airsoft!