Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheesy cover band names

• 09-12-2011 6:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭

I always love some of the dodgy names that such bands adopt, I find that a high proportion of them are related to playing cards, for some reason; such as:

Full House
    Royal Flush
    Ace of Clubs
    etc

What names have made you giggle over the years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

*Hangs head in shame* - I was in a cover band for a few years called King of Hearts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

I think the best I ever came across was a Dublin band who did covers of The Police.

Inevitably, they were The Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Owen wrote: »
    *Hangs head in shame* - I was in a cover band for a few years called King of Hearts.

I was in a band called... Dr Dynamite.

*cringes*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Erin Maiden (Irish Iron Maiden tribute)
    The Red Hot Silly Feckers
    Lounge Against the Machine
    Nearvana
    Slack Sabbath
    Oasis'nt
    No Way Sis
    Red Hot Chili Beans (the originals name is pretty bad)
    ****ty Mondays
    Pun Jovi
    Non Jovi
    Bigphallica
    Beatallica (Beatles songs sung in Metallica style)
    Metal Licker (get it)
    No (Yes Tribute)
    Duran Duran Duran
    Mini Kiss (all vertically challenged)
    Gabba (Abba songs in Ramones style)
    Mandonna (all-male band)
    The Remainz (actually has 2 Ramones members in it!)
    Bjorn Again
    Ac/DShe
    AC Dixie
    The Rolling Stoned
    Cheap Chick (all-girl Cheap Trick)
    Dread Zepplin
    Dead Zepplin
    By Jovi y'all
    Bon Jovial
    Bananarammer (if Bananarama had enough songs to cover)
    AstroCreed 2000
    Def Leotard
    The Brown Streaks (all-Asian White Stripes cover band)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I was in a band called... Dr Dynamite.

Is that the same as the crowd who played Clancy's in Cork? If so, I thought ye were pretty good. Any band that played Jamiroquai as their first song is alright with me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Owen wrote: »
    Is that the same as the crowd who played Clancy's in Cork? If so, I thought ye were pretty good. Any band that played Jamiroquai as their first song is alright with me!

Same band, and thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

My balls.....you're face.

Shamiroquai
    The Leastie Boys
    Angry Women (Violent Femmes)
    Cap (Helmet)
    Littledeth

Some of the names I play with when thinking bout this sort of thing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭padraig71

I was once in a band called Liquor'n'Poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Er... I was in a cover band called Heartbreaker...

I always thought that a band that did cheesy '80s synth versions of Sabbath Songs should be called "Black Rabbit". Dunno why...

I quite like "Cyberchrist", too.

Edit: I've heard of a function band called Sound Cheque. Now that is pure cheese...