Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ginger Gene

• 09-12-2011 3:08pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭

Trying to come up with threads here that haven't really been dived into too much.

The Ginger Gene, gingers in general

This being 1 of the most popular Ginger video's of a Ginger going mad about being ginger

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbuYb6lLHX8

Apparently all gingers will be dead soon as they're breed is dying out

Wiki said so, so if Wiki says so it must be true :
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_hair

Are you ginger, do you mind being ginger ?

I peronsally couldn't care less. I did obvioulsy enjoy giving them a hard time in school with "ding a ling a ling your heads on fire..." and so on

In terms of Ginger women I think they end up at either end of the scale.
    You can have some absolutely stunning ginger women but 80% are fugly but like I said some of them are unreal, can't give any examples at the mo.

So speak gingerly to me. I couldn't find a ginger forum so AH will have to do.
    Looking up history this doesn't seem to be done before so let's Rick Roll

If you had a ginger child would you : 41 votes

Not be too happy about it but live with it
    0%
    couldn't care less
    100%
    Juan Pablofunk-youelefantjonnyfingerssmashforce elevenFearDarkNiall09Gran HermanoNiall558Clare BearGumble01Hank Scorpiodarlett[Rasta]DunnyTiGeR KiNgSMiniNukinfutsred menaceBig Nasty 41 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I will miss them,,I find them hawt hawt hawt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Meh, I'm strawberry blonde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I'm a ginger! I fucking love my hair :D Yeah I got slaggings when I was younger and it has been dyed every colour under the sun at some point during my teens, but I wouldn't swap it for the world now.

69 posts - awesome! :D (I'm so mature.....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

In my humble opinion, gingers should be strerilised at birth or at least provided with hair dye at birth:p:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Red heads hot and fiery or is that just the women? I like ginger hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Ginger. Honestly :rolleyes:.

It's Autumn Gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I love red hair.

Hate the word 'ginger' though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Ireland would lose a lot of tourism revenue if the ginger gene died out and for that reason I'm out :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

couldn't care less
    Seeing the poll results I kind of feel ashamed about picking the first option.
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I personally love ginger nuts and amn't disagreeable to the occasional nibble of one either
    ginger_nut430x300.jpg

Edit: View at own discretion

I used to know a lad with red hair. We used to take him around on a leash and he'd drink out of puddles and things like that. Sound lad.

Terrible temper on him, though.

Ireland would lose a lot of tourism revenue if the ginger gene died out and for that reason I'm out :cool:

It's nice to know you value us as sideshow freaks put out for rich yanks to gawp at.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

couldn't care less
    I have to admit, if my child were ginger I would be a little disappointed.

It's not just the hair, you can dye hair. It's the skin.

9 times out of 10, gingers are horribly pallid, sickly looking creatures.

And spotty.

Certainly,freckles in sunshine too.

Not a sign of beauty.

And lets just hope the child shan't be hairy too. A horrible combination.

I have a ginger relative - a cousin. Bit of a black sheep. Into Death Metal and all that. Doesn't join in on family picnics. Not the most gregarious. None of the family traits that characterise the rest of us. All in all a decent, genial sort of chap but as I say, a bit different. Can't quite put my finger on it.

I wouldn't be grief stricken. I'd try to love the child, I probably wouldn't put the thing up for adoption. You try to do your best in these situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

I have a ginger niece and she is one of the most beautiful children I have ever seen (apart from my two girls that is ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

There is no grey area when it comes to ginger females, they are either very good looking or piss ugly.

I agree with this. They're like Chinese wimmin. No middle ground whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Marry an Asian woman just in case the ginger gene is lying dormant - Randy Marsh

Has anyone ever seen a ginger couple?

I've heard tell of such an occurrence in the old manuscripts, but I've yet to see it with my own eyes. It must be a wondrous sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I'd drown it like a bag of cats.

couldn't care less
    Does anyone remember that ginger 'Bernard' chap who I seem to recall was a stripper who enjoyed 15 minutes of fame after an episode of Blind Date about 15 years ago?

To this day, when I imagine the boogieman, I see that guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭stonybroke

John Doe1 wrote: »
    In my humble opinion, gingers should be strerilised at birth or at least provided with hair dye at birth:p:p:p

In my humble opinion, dickheads should be sterilised at birth but lucky for you that isn't the case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

later10 wrote: »

I have a ginger relative - a cousin. Bit of a black sheep. Into Death Metal and all that. Doesn't join in on family picnics. Not the most gregarious. None of the family traits that characterise the rest of us. All in all a decent, genial sort of chap but as I say, a bit different. Can't quite put my finger on it.

Can I join your family please?

Sound like great craic. :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

I completely agree with you here hence my "either end of the scale" comment
    Ginger women can either be stunning or devastating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

One usually finds the best looking "ginger" women aren't even ginger to begin with and are just non-afflicted persons who have dyed their hair.

Natural gingers are generally a fairly grim looking bunch. It's not so much the colour of the hair so much as the pale skin, horrible freckles and dead looking eyes that accompany it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    I completely agree with you here hence my "either end of the scale" comment
    Ginger women can either be stunning or devastating

did I do something wrong,

wemon

Abi wrote: »

you are cruel Abi, ginger kids are cute and freckles are gorgeous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Dated a red head once, she wasn't carrot top, she had a nicer hair colour. Lovely girl but very fiery.

No soul though...which was a pity...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭padraig91

How come "Kill it with fire!" is not an option on the poll?

Dotrel wrote: »

Natural gingers are generally a fairly grim looking bunch. It's not so much the colour of the hair so much as the pale skin, horrible freckles and dead looking eyes that accompany it.

That's from all the bullying.

'Hey, period head!'

'Ding-a-ling-a-ling, your head's on fire.'

'Have you read any books lately?
    'Yes'
    'Have you red pubes?'

And that's just on a normal day. Can't be easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

its a bit rich hearing people make fun of red hair. after all hitler considered blondes superior to dark hair which the majority of irish folk have. its annoying seeing so much anti red banter on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Ho ho ho, it's slag off the gingers for their hair colour time again. Won't be holding my breath for bans or infractions. Have raised this issue before but it's one the boards lads seem to find acceptable. Skin colour....... totally different.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

hondasam wrote: »
    you are cruel Abi, ginger kids are cute and freckles are gorgeous.

:eek: You're a ginge!! only a ginge would say that!

UNCLEANNNNN! UNCLEANNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!

/runs away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Strawberry blonde here too. More blondey during summer and more autumney orangey during winter. Can't beat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 player101

I have Red hair myself, love it, got loads of slack over it when i was a kid but everyone did for something, the funniest thing i have seen lately is that sperm banks wont accept donations from red heads as they are to stocked and ther is no demand for the hair color

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/44579757/ns/health-mens_health/t/sperm-bank-redheads-not-wanted/

:eek: You're a ginge!! only a ginge would say that!

UNCLEANNNNN! UNCLEANNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!

/runs away

Red heads are great lovers:p
    strawberry blonde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I have to admit, if my child were ginger I would be a little disappointed.

It's not just the hair, you can dye hair. It's the skin.

9 times out of 10, gingers are horribly pallid, sickly looking creatures.

And spotty.

Certainly,freckles in sunshine too.

Not a sign of beauty.

And lets just hope the child shan't be hairy too. A horrible combination.

I wouldn't be grief stricken. I'd try to love the child, I probably wouldn't put the thing up for adoption. You try to do your best in these situations.

I can't decide whether this serious, a complete piss take or a bit of both!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Since I don't have "the freckles" does that make me a non-minger one? :p

I do think there is a difference between a ginger and a redhead;

Redhead -person with red hair.

Ginger - even when they dye their hair they have that ginger look about them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Strawberry blond/e = ginger.

couldn't care less
    its a bit rich hearing people make fun of red hair. after all hitler considered blondes superior to dark hair which the majority of irish folk have. its annoying seeing so much anti red banter on here.

Is Hitler the authoritative source on racial difference now?

A sort of racial ratings agency?

Really?

player101 wrote: »
    I have Red hair myself, love it, got loads of slack over it when i was a kid but everyone did for something, the funniest thing i have seen lately is that sperm banks wont accept donations from red heads as they are to stocked and ther is no demand for the hair color

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/44579757/ns/health-mens_health/t/sperm-bank-redheads-not-wanted/

thats interesting. hitler is probably turning in his grave. personally i find light hair and eyes more appealing than the dark look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Since I don't have "the freckles" does that make me a non-minger one? :p

I do think there is a difference between a ginger and a redhead;

Redhead -person with red hair.

Ginger - even when they dye their haird they have that ginger look about them....

I agree with you. Proper gingers have that frizzled hair and freckles, can't hide that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Does anyone remember that ginger 'Bernard' chap who I seem to recall was a stripper who enjoyed 15 minutes of fame after an episode of Blind Date about 15 years ago?

To this day, when I imagine the boogieman, I see that guy.

Bernard "bogey"-ing on down.

Warning : contains a half-naked ginger.

Is Hitler the authoritative source on racial difference now?

A sort of racial ratings agency?

Really?
    considering your post i dont think you are in any position to judge my post. i wouldnt be dissapointed if my kid had red hair you would. are you red head?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

couldn't care less

I literally burst out laughing at that :D

My sister in law used to say if she ever had a ginger kid she'd leave it in the shopping trolley in Tesco. But after a scare she changed her mind.

couldn't care less
    are you red head?

I certainly am not.

What a disgraceful, libelous question.

Take that back at once or I shall have you sued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Never been bullied or teased(except by my dark haired brothers) for my red hair but then I was brought up in Donegal and Scotland where there's more redheads than you can shake a stick at. In fact I started off as a child with blonde hair then it turned a kind of strawberry but by the time I was in my teens it was auburn but I really would'nt have minded staying a 'ginger':cool:

are you red head?

I certainly am not.

What a disgraceful, libelous question.

Take that back at once or I shall have you sued.
    yeah whatever.i know people with fair hair who do not want a kid with brown hair. its pretty much the same discrimination except red heads are the easiest target for people like you.

couldn't care less
    Madam wrote: »
    and Scotland where there's more redheads than you can shake a stick at.
    There are never too many gingers to shake your stick at.

Don't let them see the fear.

They'll walk all over you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭stephen_k

Don't have the really bright red with the freckles and the "no eyebrows" but my hair is sufficiently red to endure a lifetime of red hair jibes and slagging all through school, thankfully my little fella who is 2 now, just has fair hair, and I think will escape curse of the ginger gene, as I wouldn't wish it on anyone...

Interesting that the Mods have no problem with people putting comments like "burning with fire" "drown them like cats" etc but if I posted that about blacks or travellers I'd be banned...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

There are never too many gingers to shake your stick at.

'Your' stick:confused::P