Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caught speeding victoria quay..maybe 6kmph over?

• 08-12-2011 6:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭

Think i was caught speeding on victoria quay.. accelerating from the lights i may have gotten up to 56kmph... not sure...

anyway i see this big flash and notice the go safe van in front of me parked on the right.

Was fairly close to the van when it flashed so im half hoping they were getting someone behind me!

Id be well annoyed to go from zero penalty points to two penalty points for doing 6kmph over the limit:mad:

GET THE POINT NOT THE POINTS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

If you're 'not sure' then how do you know it was only 6km?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭JP 1800

Just outside Guinness is a favourite spot for the gestapo vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Tallon wrote: »
    If you're 'not sure' then how do you know it was only 6km?
    Is the 30 zone finished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Riskymove wrote: »
    Is the 30 zone finished?

I thought so too but Eoin that posts here got caught somewhere around that spot lately. Ridiculous speed limit imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Looks like it's 50 kph for Victoria Quay though it may well have been 30 in the past.

http://www.dublincity.ie/RoadsandTraffic/RoadSafety/Documents/3369%20_04%20Sept%2009%20City%20Centre%2030%20kph%20zone.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

For gods sake I've hit 30kph on a pushbike on that stretch of the quays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Remember go-safe vans are only parked on dangerous stretches of road where people have been killed in the past and not in places to raise revenue!!

Notoriously dangerous part of the road at Guinness there...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

I thought there was 8km/h of leeway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Woofstuff wrote: »

anyway i see this big flash and notice the go safe van in front of me parked on the right.

If you saw a flash, it wasn't a GoSafe Van. It was a Garda van.
    KamiKazi wrote: »

Apparently so. Personally if your "truly" more than 2km/h over, I'd consider it a fair catch. Thats the sensitivity of the kit in use, plus at 2km/h over, your speedo would probably be showing 8km/h or more over (So you'll know your over)

With respect, if you get caught by a van your not paying attention to your driving. They are easy to spot a mile away especially in town. And also given the ridiculous limits, its just easier to drive like a nun for few minutes it takes to get through a 30/50 zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

post a scanned copy of the ticket when it arrives (with the obvious details blacked out).. i guarantee that you were doing more than 6km over

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Riskymove wrote: »
    Is the 30 zone finished?

I thought so too but Eoin that posts here got caught somewhere around that spot lately. Ridiculous speed limit imo.
    veetwin wrote: »
    Looks like it's 50 kph for Victoria Quay though it may well have been 30 in the past.

30km/h zone is not finished, but it was never on Victoria Quay.

The zone use to both start and end at the west side of the Four Courts. Now it starts eastbound as you pass Capel Street and, westbound as you pass the ped crossing on Essex Quay before Wood Quay where the council offices are.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Remember go-safe vans are only parked on dangerous stretches of road where people have been killed in the past and not in places to raise revenue!!

It is actually a notoriously dangerous and unpleasant place for cyclists and people walking.

RSA online stat map, which only has data between 2005-2009 shows two deaths on the opposite quays which is nearly the same type of road, and a few injuries on both sides. Recent HSE research shows that the RSA data is under reporting the amount of crashes where an injury is sustained.

Anyway, there's one sure way to put them out of business -- for everybody who does to stop bloody speeding! Don't break the law and they have no revenue at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Treehouse72

JP 1800 wrote: »
    Just outside Guinness is a favourite spot for the gestapo vans.

That's not the Gestapo. The Gestapo put people in ovens and gassed children to death. Did you notice any of that going on down Usher Quay?

What you are referring to is the appointed authorities of the state doing their job, which is to cut down on speeding which is ignorant, dangerous, causes way too many deaths every year and is against the law.

Stop driving too fast and stop posting stupid things on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

What you are referring to is the appointed authorities of the state doing their job, which is to cut down on speeding

And Revenue. Can't forget revenue...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Treehouse72

PrettyBoy wrote: »

Nice one. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

*falls off chair laughing*

The nearest spot to me is the Malahide Road. One person has been killed on the length of the speed trap (about 4km) in living memory that I know of. One more was killed up the road where there is NO speed enforcement zone. It was perfectly grand the way it was before, with a 60k limit and everyone toddled along at 75k or so not a bother. Now, you have everyone forcing themselves to go at 55km/h so they don't get stung, making it impossible to make any progress. It's pure bull****.

There are some dodgy junctions on that road, granted, but in some parts of it, especially as you get towards Malahide, a new limit of 70km/h would be more appropriate. I've seen rural main roads with similar traffic levels that have 100k limits to this day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

And the wellbeing of vulnerable people in the area.

Think of life outside of the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

That's not the Gestapo. The Gestapo put people in ovens and gassed children to death. Did you notice any of that going on down Usher Quay?

What you are referring to is the appointed authorities of the state doing their job, which is to cut down on speeding which is ignorant, dangerous, causes way too many deaths every year and is against the law.

Doing their job?, do you mean parking halfway across the hard shoulder actually making driving more dangerous. Is that what you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

mcwhirter wrote: »
    Doing their job?, do you mean parking halfway across the hard shoulder actually making driving more dangerous. Is that what you mean?
    Of all the things that have endangered me in my driving career to date, camera vans are very low on the list. Give out about them if you want, but at least be honest about your reasons.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Of all the things that have endangered me in my driving career to date, camera vans are very low on the list. Give out about them if you want, but at least be honest about your reasons.

I am being honest, the vans from my experience have been parking dangerously that could actaully cause accidents rather than prevent them

Where I live the 50km zone is always broken and it is a residential area yet have never seen a van.

Vans are always seen in areas that can catch people out easily.

Uk is similar but you are unlikely there to see a van parked dangerously half way across the hard shoulder on a 100km/h road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Can you break the speed limit on that high horse of yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I hate the camera vans as much as anyone , but I truly don't buy the revenue thing.

If you really believe that producing and processing a tkt costs the Irish Government less than 60 euro , then you have a lot more faith in the efficiency of the civil service than I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Woofstuff wrote: »
    Think i was caught speeding on victoria quay.. accelerating from the lights i may have gotten up to 56kmph... not sure...

GET THE POINT NOT THE POINTS
    The spped limit on Victoria Quay is 50kph.
    I can't understand why people drive like this. Screaming away from traffic lights like it's a grand prix or something. People also spped right up to lights and break far too late. It's mindless driving really. A lot of people drive this way.
    I pass Victoria Quay every day and I know where those vans are parked and to get up to 50kph before reaching the van is just stupid driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

I'm not an huge fan of speed scameras (as many of you know)... but I will agree these are the places they should be situated, i.e city centre, schools, etc...not the Motorway / Dual Carraigeway!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Woofstuff

I pass Victoria Quay every day and I know where those vans are parked and to get up to 50kph before reaching the van is just stupid driving.

Stupid driving, yeah, good lad!!

You know where the vans are parked? Do they park in the same place everytime do they??

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

KamiKazi wrote: »
    There is no "leeway" as the speed limit is set at whatever is posted. However Gardai may use discretion if they wish.

kbannon wrote: »
    There is no "leeway" as the speed limit is set at whatever is posted. However Gardai may use discretion if they wish.

I am sure there is due to inaccuracies of analogue speedometers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

mcwhirter wrote: »
    I am sure there is due to inaccuracies of analogue speedometers.

Yeah, but the inaccuracy overstates the speed, so your speed on the speedometer will be more than you are actually doing. Your speedo won't under-read unless its modified in some way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Break the speed limit then give out about it when you're caught :rolleyes:

Can you break the speed limit on that high horse of yours?
    * yawns *

Last week i got flashed by a plain white van, sure enough got the notice in the post.

So aswell as the gosafe vans we also have Garda vans who can just park up anywhere and get a few easy targets to fill up their quota.

It was 22:20 on a Sunday night on a long straight road where its a chore to stick to the 50kph. I was doing 60.

I seen a bright white flash in my rear view mirror, there was a car going towards it, id say the driver must of been blinded by the flash, fecking cause an accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

op,if the van flashed you it is not a "gosafe" van as they use infrared flashes which are not visible.from what I believe if you were flashed it is a garda van,I was flashed by one of these garda vans about 4 weeks ago on the n3 inbound where visibility was clear and there were no other cars around so it definitely flashed me .

I was doing 70-75 according to speedo which I worked out at roughly 67-68 km-h as speedos usually overread and still havent received anyhting in the post.(yet)but am starting to get cautiously optimistic that the garda inside decided not to issue the fine.I get the impression that there is slightly more leeway with the garda vans than with the gosafe ones.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

cisk wrote: »
    Last week i got flashed by a plain white van, sure enough got the notice in the post.

So aswell as the gosafe vans we also have Garda vans who can just park up anywhere and get a few easy targets to fill up their quota.

It was 22:20 on a Sunday night on a long straight road where its a chore to stick to the 50kph. I was doing 60.

I seen a bright white flash in my rear view mirror, there was a car going towards it, id say the driver must of been blinded by the flash, fecking cause an accident.

Where was this road?

triple-M wrote: »
    op,if the van flashed you it is not a "gosafe" van as they use infrared flashes which are not visible.from what I believe if you were flashed it is a garda van,I was flashed by one of these garda vans about 4 weeks ago on the n3 inbound where visibility was clear and there were no other cars around so it definitely flashed me .
    If visibility was clear, why did you not see the van? :confused:
    I was doing 70-75 according to speedo which I worked out at roughly 67-68 km-h as speedos usually overread
    How did you calculate your "actual" speed?
    and still havent received anyhting in the post.(yet)but am starting to get cautiously optimistic that the garda inside decided not to issue the fine.I get the impression that there is slightly more leeway with the garda vans than with the gosafe ones.
    The gosafe vans operate to a particular set of T&Cs defined by AGS or the Minister or whoever. If they were told to catch anyone driving over the posted speed limit, in theory they have must catch everyone in order to adhere to their contract terms (unless they were given powers of discretion which I would doubt).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Aln_S

:rolleyes: Good to see the high horse brigade lending each other some moral support!

Tonlegee road, Raheny, i was was heading toward the junction where the old smurfitt factory was, coming from killbarrack direction.

The van was up on the embankment outside a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

monument wrote: »
    Where was this road?

I bet I can answer that for you... N32.

Such a ridiculous limit for that road and they just love parking in at the Belcamp College entrance on it, just hidden by the slight bend before it. :rolleyes:

dar83 wrote: »
    I bet I can answer that for you... N32.

Such a ridiculous limit for that road and they just love parking in at the Belcamp College entrance on it, just hidden by the slight bend before it. :rolleyes:

That was a favorite for years, havnt seen them there in a long while actually.

cisk wrote: »
    Tonlegee road, Raheny, i was was heading toward the junction where the old smurfitt factory was, coming from killbarrack direction.

The van was up on the embankment outside a house.

It appears I was wrong... :eek:

That's just outside my estate there, dont think I've ever seen a speed camera van parked there. If it was on the same side of the road as you, how was it not completely blocking the path?! :confused:

Or was ti on your right side where there is the ample driveway run offs? That probably makes far more sense... never mind.

Yep it was on the right hand side of the road to me, up on the grass that separates the drive way run offs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I might believe that when they stop putting a van watching the 3 (or is it 4?) lane road with no pedestrian or cycle lanes under the UCD bypass.

That's still fairly cheeky. Reason I've probably never noticed it there is becuase those two sets of lights right there always catch me! haha. Either the Ayrfield ones or the ones at Smurfit. I'd be lucky to get up to 25kp/h before having to stop again at either one 90% of the time.

Unfortunately for me it was green lights all the way. So i was snookered :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

The spped limit on Victoria Quay is 50kph.
    I can't understand why people drive like this. Screaming away from traffic lights like it's a grand prix or something. People also spped right up to lights and break far too late. It's mindless driving really. A lot of people drive this way.
    Agree with most of that post - speeding to the tail of the next queue doesn't make much sense, nor does late braking.

I do want to take you up on your hyperbolic point in bold above though. It does make sense for cars near the front of a traffic-light queue to accelerate smartly to the speed limit- it allows more people to get through the light, effectively increasing the capacity of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭anndub

Eoin wrote: »
    I might believe that when they stop putting a van watching the 3 (or is it 4?) lane road with no pedestrian or cycle lanes under the UCD bypass.

Or on Chapelizod Rd where I don't think there's ever been a fatality or even a minor collision, none that I can find record of anyway. There's been a van parked up on the grass verge every evening since last Wednesday week. It's like shooting fish in a barrel along there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

These guys and the Gardai have to enforce the speed limits. If these are not appropriate then the relevant authorities should change them, it is not up to the individual camera operator to decide to do this.

And even if it does raise revenue, then revenue is badly needed at present and raising revenue from law breakers seems at least as reasonable as just taxing everyone. This way people have the choice whether to contribute the revenue or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

Definition of 'speeding' is exceeding the speed limit set by the authorities , which in many cases is not dangerous, as the limit set is silly. There are plenty of limits around the country which are set too low, so going 10kph over is dangerous and causes way too many deaths?

I would estimate that all of us posting here (yes, including you) are guilty of 'speeding' hundreds if not thousands of times.

anndub wrote: »
    Or on Chapelizod Rd where I don't think there's ever been a fatality or even a minor collision, none that I can find record of anyway.
    Really?
    http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Road-Safety/Our-Research/Ireland-Road-Collisions/
    Search

ardmacha wrote: »
    These guys and the Gardai have to enforce the speed limits. If these are not appropriate then the relevant authorities should change them, it is not up to the individual camera operator to decide to do this.

And even if it does raise revenue, then revenue is badly needed at present and raising revenue from law breakers seems at least as reasonable as just taxing everyone. This way people have the choice whether to contribute the revenue or not.
    That's way too rational for this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭anndub

kbannon wrote: »

Em, What am I supposed to be looking at? You've just provided a link which proves what I just said but wrote a reply as if to say I was wrong?!

Apologies - technology is too much for some.
    Under the Severity section (on the right), choose "All".
    Under the Year section, choose "All"
    Zoom into Chapelizod Rd.