Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wimp

• 08-12-2011 9:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭

i wimped out this morning and took the car.

anyone else ?

pretty harsh out there, but i saw a few brave souls on the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭mickeycav

no i was out in it, it was great, i pretty much got blown into the city from citywest

did the guilt last for all of your journey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭De Bhál

me also

brutal out there around 7.20am

no weather for cycling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

me but considering i was driving through flooded roads to get in this morning, never mind the wind (and i'm off the bike with a back injry anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Holyboy

I done my usual short commute,missed the rain,wind was a bit pants though,what I dont understand is the amount of cyclists without any kind of mud guards on their bikes,crazy people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mfdc

Ye wimps!! I not only commuted in, due south, but also went out for a spin beforehand! The spin wasn't too bad tbh, but the commute... that's the most miserable I've been on a bike on a long long time. Was blown to a near standstill twice, and at least 3 times a strong gust made the bike lurch violently and nearly threw me off. Have been averaging about 38-40 mins rolling time the last couple of months, today was 55.

On the plus side... 50-11 all the way home :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭justo

mickeycav wrote: »
    no i was out in it, it was great, i pretty much got blown into the city from citywest

did the guilt last for all of your journey?

was still feeling guily at time of original post. not so much now after reading some of the above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭DePurpereWolf

In cork it didn't rain and I had the wind in the back.
    At some occations I did swerve though due to the gusts from the side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

took bike but wimped out of the usual extended commute and took the short version. glad i did, it was horrible!

think wind is to die down a bit later (i hope)

+1 on the mudguard front!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Only met 5 other cyclists coming in from the north side of Dublin. Rainy but warm. The gusts were a total pain. Took it very handy and set a new personal best (the bad kind) of 37 mins for 11.3km on the shorter route in.

On the other hand a new PB last night on the long way home despite holding back quite a bit along the Clontarf cycle track/lane/thingy - will probalby end up doing much the same this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Got the sweaty disease box bus for the first time in months. Would have been faster walking in with the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Cycled in - had to sort of tack across the Phoenix Park - it's wild out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

I cycled in. Wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. Not looking forward to home time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

justo wrote: »
    i wimped out this morning and took the car.

anyone else ?

pretty harsh out there, but i saw a few brave souls on the bike.
    I cycled was flying my 22km route to work this morning and I set my fastest time ever. The wind was fantastic :D. Will be tough on the way back, but that is life, the wind blows the same direction every day...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Cycled in - all the way in! Took a bit longer than usual, but it felt great at the end - noncyclists seem to think it was a bit of an insane thing to do!

Rule #9 / If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a [URL="javascript:vm_DisplayContent('http%3A%2F%2Fvelominati.com%2Fcontent%2FReader%2520Galleries%2F21308512876%2Ftraining.jpg', '');"]badass[/URL]. Period.

Fair-weather riding is a luxury reserved for Sunday afternoons and wide boulevards. Those who ride in foul weather – be it cold, wet, or inordinately hot – are members of a special club of riders who, on the morning of a big ride, pull back the curtain to check the weather and, upon seeing rain falling from the skies, allow a wry smile to spread across their face. This is a rider who loves the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭rich.d.berry

Cycled my 10.2 km's as well this morning. Head wind caused the average speed to suffer by about 5 km/h, though I am looking forward to the return journey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

Wimped out, 15 min walk to bus stop, 20 wait for bus and 30 min bus ride. Waste of time, never again. I'll take my chances in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 brendors

Was on a Dublin Bike for about 12 mins this morning, tough going but they do come into their own when sideswiped by a 100kmh gale.

Cycled my 10.2 km's as well this morning. Head wind caused the average speed to suffer by about 5 km/h, though I am looking forward to the return journey :D
    You are a lucky man ;). My return trip will be quite painful (facing the wind), as usual on a day like today, but well, you only live once :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Cycled did my 10km south into the wind was more like weights training than aerobic.

A few sly sideblasts did try to swerve me into oncoming traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭PauloConn

Was a grand cycle in, got soaked but nothing like getting into a dry suit after it. Almost makes you glad to be in the office.... almost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Cycled in this morning too, wasn't nearly as bad as it looked. Hope it dies down for the ride home mind :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ciotog

This morning's commute (in Galway) was very hard going, pulled over at one point (Moneenageisha Road) and walked the bike up the hill. I'd still take that over being stuck in traffic though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Cycled in, the tail wind was fantastic. Getting up to 40kmh was a walk in a park.
    Probably won't be such an easy stroll when going back.
    And as an added bonus the new cycle computer started to behave. :)

Commute was fine earlier. Tiny bit windy but nothing major. I've been out in much worse!

It'll be interesting on the way home though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

I cycled too.

it's never as bad as it looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Cycled in too and managed to miss the rain. Was planning to do my Garristown and back loop tonight but might stick to the tamer territory of Howth. It's not so much the wind that bothers me (although it does!) as the prospect of fallen stuff on the unlit roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Jawgap wrote: »
    Cycled in - all the way in! Took a bit longer than usual, but it felt great at the end - noncyclists seem to think it was a bit of an insane thing to do!

Rule #9 / If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.

Fair-weather riding is a luxury reserved for Sunday afternoons and wide boulevards. Those who ride in foul weather – be it cold, wet, or inordinately hot – are members of a special club of riders who, on the morning of a big ride, pull back the curtain to check the weather and, upon seeing rain falling from the skies, allow a wry smile to spread across their face. This is a rider who loves the work.

Just how far up your own ass can you get your Jaw? With or without helmet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

I haven't pushed a pedal in nearly a month now and it's unlikely I'll get to before Christmas. I think I need a new shiney bikey thingy to get motivation back. Tummy likes food say Hungrycol, tummy make Hungrycol slow, Hungrycol needs new bike!

Anyone want to buy an exquisite cobweb catcher Cannondale Six13 Ultegra 6600 Racing 3's?!! ;)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

McTigs wrote: »
    I cycled too.

it's never as bad as it looks.
    Its like a summer swim in Courtown: "it's great once your in!"
    The west wind tonight was brutal, tho - almost wished I had gears...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Roadtoad wrote: »
    Just how far up your own ass can you get your Jaw? With or without helmet?

I don't know, but your ma, your missus and your sister might know........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

I was out at 7.30 this morning going home.. not so nice! It's not the weather I dislike so much, it's the bloody slippery grates that seem to litter the far left of the road in town. One false move and SPLAT!

Just got back from my spin in North County Dublin. The wind has dropped a bit but it's fecking freezing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

Just got back from my spin in North County Dublin. The wind has dropped a bit but it's fecking freezing.

What sort of front lights do you use? Love it out there but in the dark, I'd need the Garda Helicopter to light the way for me. Thats super special secret training.

greenmat wrote: »
    What sort of front lights do you use?

I have a Fenix TK11. It just about does the job at 250 lumens but I don't think I'd go with anything less powerful.

My preference is to invest in stuff that gets me out - lights, good jacket, warm tights etc - than the godawful turbo.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Some wind out there this morning, blown to a standstill coming up stonemasons way, which was a first for me. Caution advised to anyone out there on two wheels today, I certainly wouldn't go anywhere near high ground. That said, if you've a tail wind coming home, be as unaerodynamic as possible and enjoy the ride!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ciotog

smacl wrote: »
    Some wind out there this morning, blown to a standstill coming up stonemasons way, which was a first for me. Caution advised to anyone out there on two wheels today, I certainly wouldn't go anywhere near high ground. That said, if you've a tail wind coming home, be as unaerodynamic as possible and enjoy the ride!
    My girlfriend insisted that I not cycle this morning - it sounded bad prior to about 9 when I actually left for the bus. Colleague cycled earlier and hit 3 hail showers. Galway radio station had reported a tree down and and some road closures so wasn't able to mount a convincing argument to cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

My commute this morning consisted entirely of crosswinds and headwinds. I spent a lot of time hunched down, going very very slowly.

My lack of progress aggravated a fellow commuter. Bored of drafting, he overtook me with noticeable disdain. Sadly he came to an almost complete stop as soon as he was out in the wind and I had to leave him there, trackstanding and trying not to fall off.

I live for these moments. Sad isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I hate when sleet scores a direct hit on my eyes.
    Looking forward to a massive tailwind on the way home. :D

RT66 wrote: »
    I hate when sleet scores a direct hit on my eyes.
    Looking forward to a massive tailwind on the way home. :D
    And I am looking forward to a face wind on my way home, traditionally. For a change :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Was quite some crosswind this morning. My front wheel got thrown around quite a bit and had to lean into the wind just to keep a somewhat straight line. If this continues will have to switch to knoblies, the slicks ain't confidence inspiring in this sort of weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mfdc

I didn't find it too bad this morning to be honest, last Thurs was way worse. Did notice when stopped at the lights on Baggot St that the "rain" falling on me was swirling around in the wind :( First time I've seen snow since last year. It begins...

Wimped out today - my normal commuter is in the shop (rear derailleur & rear hanger & chain all ****ed), so went for the 4 wheel option instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭carthoris

Dónal wrote: »
    Wimped out today - my normal commuter is in the shop (rear derailleur & rear hanger & chain all ****ed), so went for the 4 wheel option instead.

45100.jpg

??

Nice !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭julio_iglayzis

By the powers of grayskull that was an horrific commute this morning - particularly along the coast road from Dun Laoghaire past seapoint, freezing crosswinds and snow are not a pleasant combination.
    A new personal worst too - 11.5 k in 32 minutes. However, give me cold windy hardship over public transport any day.

carthoris wrote: »
    45100.jpg

??

Nice !

old-bicycle-picture.jpg

That's me with the moustache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

First cycle commute in 2 months. Chapelizod to Swords. Too warm up top, too cold down low. There must be some sort of batter powered feet heaters out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Yous do all know that the wind will have changed direction somehow tonight and you will have another headwind? Its guaranteed to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Dónal wrote: »
    That's me with the moustache.

Thats not enough information... :eek:

batter powered feet heaters

To keep you warm on the walk home from the chipper? You might be on to something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

By the powers of grayskull that was an horrific commute this morning - particularly along the coast road from Dun Laoghaire past seapoint, freezing crosswinds and snow are not a pleasant combination.
    A new personal worst too - 11.5 k in 32 minutes. However, give me cold windy hardship over public transport any day.

That's me on a good day!