Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting Issue. Won't turn over.

• 07-12-2011 3:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭

Lads my car won't turn over when I turn the key. It has a new battery fitted recently(About 2 weeks ago). It's been driving fine. The last few days when you turn the key it just clicked like the battery was flat. However if you hold the key forward all of a sudden the engine will turn over and the car starts. It has stopped doing this now though and the car just won't turn over at all. It still clicks when you turn the key but only once and that's it. I've been starting it on the push for the last few days. This evening I put another starter into it that I've seen working before and no difference. I even had a spare ignition barrel but no difference. I checked for wiring damage but there doesn't seem to be any. Seems to be in order. Is there any checks I can do with a multimeter. I've got one handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Have you checked the solenoid on the starter?
    Sometimes giving it a tap while turning the key helps it engage.
    You probably need a new starter or a rebuild kit, what car is it for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭roberto_98

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Have you checked the solenoid on the starter?
    Sometimes giving it a tap while turning the key helps it engage.
    You probably need a new starter or a rebuild kit, what car is it for?

It's been rebuilt about 3 years ago.90 xr3i mk 4. I'll try that.

roberto_98 wrote: »

Just tapped it there. Gave a bit of a grunt alright. That's the one I put in. Doesn't seem to be in much better shape than the one i took out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

72 euro will buy a new one from this crowd.
    as long as you give them the old one back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

roberto_98 wrote: »

photo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Yes, please post some pics:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Hal1 wrote: »
    Yes, please post some pics:).

Like he said :)

Had 5 of them in my youth.

Sounds like a knackered starter alrite, now give with the pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Maybe try this crowd for a starter

WWW.MOTORSTARTERS.IE too.

Well lads. I ended up buying a brand new starter in the end and fitted it. The car was starting again and there was no clicking but it was taking ages to start which it didn't do before. Went fine for about 5-6 days and last night went out to start it and the dreaded clicking is back again. No turn. Battery is still fine and charging. I put a multimeter on the ignition switch just now and when you turn the key to turn the engine its giving me 13V roughly so it cant be the switch at fault either can it as its making contact.. This is starting to annoy me now.:( What do I do next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

strange, would ring gear be damaged and jamming the starter when it gets to the bad spot it also sounds like the engine is difficult to turn, but as it runs its unlikely to be seized

dharn wrote: »
    strange, would ring gear be damaged and jamming the starter when it gets to the bad spot it also sounds like the engine is difficult to turn, but as it runs its unlikely to be seized

There's no damage to the flywheel. Clutch was done a while back and it was in perfect shape. The starters never got stuck on or anything so its grand. I'm assuming the switch is alright after what I said previously. I'm starting to think auto-electrician time.

Just want to add that starting the car on a push, it starts with a bare push. Doesn't need much of a turn from the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

im sure you have checked battery terminal connections and connection to starter solenoid so im a bit stumped ( not mechanic by the way, enthusiastic amateur ) owned xr3i years ago in the days of boring cars it was great fun to drive ,acceleration was fantastic fair play to you for keeping one going rust is the enemy the hatch nearly rotted off mine in the end it died in the first car scrappage scheme years ago

dharn wrote: »
    im sure you have checked battery terminal connections and connection to starter solenoid so im a bit stumped ( not mechanic by the way, enthusiastic amateur ) owned xr3i years ago in the days of boring cars it was great fun to drive ,acceleration was fantastic fair play to you for keeping one going rust is the enemy the hatch nearly rotted off mine in the end it died in the first car scrappage scheme years ago

I've checked all those things yeah. There's not really any rust on this one thank god. It was garaged for 5 years by one of the previous owners and i garage it most nights now moreso in the winter. Nothing worse than coming out in the morning and the inside of my windscreen is frozen! Never had the best seals:DThanks for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

sounds like an ignition switch to me

The switch is turning fine but not releasing hence the clicking, its wearing down the splines on it. Your getting a good reading as it comes on but not switching off, I had it before on a Saab, cost me 2 starters before I copped it. Take back off the starter and check the cog on it, if its worn down again thats your issue I would think.

Sounds very similar