Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apart from Superficial Patriotism - Tell Me Why I Should Not Hate Irish Trad?

• 06-12-2011 10:33pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 558 ✭✭✭

I hate it all. I feel nothing for it. I don't want it in my life.

Most of it sounds the same. I go into a pub and there is a group of them around a table with fiddles and stuff. I leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

What sort of music do you like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I used to be the same OP. Its an acquired taste but once you get the taste, its deadly music. Especially when drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Oops, see other thread - OP has a bit of a chip on his shoulder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I've just spent the last 3 hours playing it with a few mates.

It's music. It's subjective. I love trad, I don't like lots of other music - rap, RnB, Dubstep. etc. The people who likes the latter may hate the former, too.

Trad, both listening and playing, makes me feel something I don't get from other music. I've made loads of great friends through the music, and value it greatly in my life.

But if you don't like it, you don't like it. There's no reason why you 'should', it's up to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I used to be the same OP. Its an acquired taste but once you get the taste, its deadly diddly music. Especially when drinking.

Fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Most music a person doesn't like 'all sounds the same'.

You could say that about country, techno, blues, whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Most of it sounds the same.

I could say the same for the shoite you hear on the radio (mass produced pop, rap and RnB) or any type of music I don't like. but no matter how bad most of the genre is if you dig deep you'll nearly always find a few good tunes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

You don't sound like much craic tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 558 ✭✭✭OurLadyofKnock

What sort of music do you like?

A lot of different stuff - most rock. Everything from Hendrix to Siouxsie and the Banshees. I like an lot of ethnic music. I have a good size collection of arabic and middle eastern music and I play myself. Love classical and Jazz too.

Irish trad seems so lame and repetative. There is no "soul" in the stuff I hear at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

I used to play it a few years ago, soo much free drink!

Buts its so ignorant, everyone in the pub must shut up to hear blind willy sing a song about living in the bog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

A lot of different stuff - most rock. Everything from Hendrix to Siouxsie and the Banshees. I like an lot of ethnic music. I have a good size collection of arabic and middle eastern music and I play myself. Love classical and Jazz too.

Irish trad seems so lame and repetative. There is no "soul" in the stuff I hear at all.

All arabic music sounds the same to me.

"May he poop on my knee may he poop on my knee, kitty all come see much affinity" x100

Then you're listening to the wrong stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Another thread where someone seems genuinely baffled that other people like things he doesn't.......

One word, SUBJECTIVITY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

because its good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Most of it sounds the same. I go into a pub and there is a group of them around a table with fiddles and stuff. I leave.

So why ask people to change your mind about it?

Sad bastard activity tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Have a look at this and tell me it's bad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QZ0eZ196SM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

You either like a type of music or you don't. If it doesn't do anything for you then there's no point in trying to like it.

Personally I love a lot of Irish traditional music. I've recently started recording Come West Along The Road every week on RTE One and there's a lot of great music on it. I'm not too keen on the Irish dancers or men singing solo without a backing band but I love the instrumental stuff.

Irish music has also been a big influence on a lot of important non-Irish musicians. Bob Dylan and Jimi Hendrix for instance.

Like I said though, if it doesn't do anything for you there's no point in forcing yourself to listen to it. Music is subjective. I can't stand rap music myself and no matter how many people tell me Eminem is a lyrical genius I'll never agree with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Say what. Its one of the most soulful genres of music. The lonesome boatman and foggy dew not soulful? GTFO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Have a look at this and tell me it's bad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QZ0eZ196SM

That was bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I don't mind it, but when they start plugging their instruments into amplifiers, that's what I hate
    pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I used to be the same OP. Its an acquired taste but once you get the taste, its deadly music. Especially when drinking.

Traditional bavarian music is better for drinking to imho. Sounds shíte when you hear it at first, after a pint you think it's funny, after 4 pints it's the best drinking music of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

no music should be hated - disliked fine, but hated ??
    just don't listen to it

as for superficial patriotism - i think your confusing tradition and patriotism - i think the clue is in the title - traditional music

and in fairness if you have to hate, why not hate something that deserves it
    like poverty - war - racism - child cruelty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Theres probably lots of poncey arab kids banging on in their forums about how crap all that wailing trad music they have to listen to is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I like an lot of ethnic music.

lol

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Don't particularly like it by any means, but I'd rather listen to trad than rap, pop or dance for example. Certainly not to bad if you're relaxing in the pub.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I used to be very meh towards trad music but there are a few song I really like. This is one of them. I'd listen to it most days.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

You don't have to like it, there's thousands who do. I don't get this thread, are we supposed to try and convince you :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

I like Irish trad but no guitars etc please :D - can't stand it then.

Played in a session with three of these lads a few weeks back. You can't beat this stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭triseke

OP, whilst its up to you to decide whether or not you like a genre of music, I have to say, you are missing out on a whole plethora of fantastic, soulful music by discounting traditional Irish music.

Whenever my family and I get together, we always end up in a sing song. There could be 20 or 25 of us, each with "our" song. As a kid, I always watched them singing, having a ball.

Now, as my younger relatives get to an appropriate age, they each have their own song too.

Christmas is going to rocking.

Give it a chance OP.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aa7birRBmNM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

This is just another angle of the same thread you had locked...

If you don't like it. Grand. Good for you. I'm delighted for you. Well done. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

I find when people have strong negative opinions about a genre of music, it's usually not the music they have the big issue with its the people and places associated with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Christy Moore is still a big, sweaty, bag of shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

granted - but he does not play traditional music - does he ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Riiiiiiide ooooon, seeeeeee youuuuu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Trad is okay, it's the rebel stuff that puts me off!

Grew up listening to the likes of the Chieftans, how could anyone say it has no soul!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭electrictrad

None of us can convince you here, but I'll try and explain why I like it. . .

Its a fiercely diverse music. . .anyone who outwardly "hates" Irish music has never actually listened to it properly, or taken into account that its actually that diverse. . .

The traditional jigs and reels have an amazing energy and rhythm. . .you just have to listen to them a couple of times to realise this. . .

The slow airs, laments, and old songs are very emotional, very pure music for the most part. . .

A lot of the songs have points for people to join in. .. they are very much songs for a group to enjoy. . .

A lot of popular music, particularly Mumford and Sons of recent times, include a lot of celtic traditional music in their songs. . .

I'm not the greatest fan of the Irish/Countryandwestern combinations. . . a lot of them are pure annoying to be honest in my opinion. . . but its only one part of Irish music. . .

I advise you to listen and learn a bit more about how different and how deep the different parts of "trad" are before you blankly declare that you "hate" it. . .but again, I and no one else can change your opinions. . .you have to find out for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I have decided that my new role on boards.ie will be as the problem solver.

Go to a different pub.
    Problem solved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Standman wrote: »
    I find when people have strong negative opinions about a genre of music, it's usually not the music they have the big issue with its the people and places associated with it.

+ 1. A lot of jealousy or resentment amongst musicians from differents genres and even within the same genre. Not saying that's the case here.
    It's a pity because really, in the field of arts and music, there's room and an audience for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

Kinda lots of people you don't like aren't there OP?

Thankfully there's just one of you, - or is there though......

Maybe you're reincarnated every so often to annoy us......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Trad is okay, it's the rebel stuff that puts me off!

me too..instrumental diddly diddly is fine..its when they start singing RA songs i start lookin for the nearest exit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

What's Christy Moore got to do with traditional music?

I agree though. He's a right pain in the arse.