Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The great Brian Lenihan and shame on Labour/FG

• 06-12-2011 10:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

Despite the state of the economy Brian lenihan made sure that the most vulnerable in the country didnt go cold, In 2009 he increased fuel allowance to 32 weeks because lets face it its not like the sun comes out and stays out in march, Last december despite the imf being in the country brian gave everybody on weekly welfare an extra €40 for fuel. Now its all been undone by the labour party, They dont care that the most vulnerable will go cold this march as long as their friends the the public service are kept fat in the their plum jobs, Shame on gilmore and his big fat lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Lennys economic incompetence is one of the reasons we are in this mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Peter king wrote: »
    Despite the state of the economy Brian lenihan made sure that the most vulnerable in the country didnt go cold, In 2009 he increased fuel allowance to 32 weeks because lets face it its not like the sun comes out and stays out in march, Last december despite the imf being in the country brian gave everybody on weekly welfare an extra €40 for fuel. Now its all been undone by the labour party, They dont care that the most vulnerable will go cold this march as long as their friends the the public service are kept fat in the their plum jobs, Shame on gilmore and his big fat lies.

oh will ya stop before i puke , we already had somone on earlier playing violins for the pensioners who will no longer get fuel allowance in early summer :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Peter king

irishh_bob wrote: »
    oh will ya stop before i puke , we already had somone on earlier playing violins for the pensioners who will no longer get fuel allowance in early summer :rolleyes:

Mid march is not early summer, Do you have no heat on in your house from mid march - october ? I dont think so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Nonsense of the highest order. This country's woes started in 08 and he and the FF government did nothing to tackle a growing deficit. We'd be in a better position today with a deficit that wouldn't be as large as what we can see if FF did their work correctly. FF didn't do half enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

I was glad to hear Noonan mention him at the end of his speech. I believe B Lenihan's biggest mistake was when he cut the allowances for the deaf and blind last year. Small money saved but hugely tarnished his reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

FFS OP, Brian Lenihan was an incompetent fool who had no business being minister for finance. It was him and his cronies that sold our economic sovereignity down the river. Did it ever occur to you that he increased the fuel allowance to ensure that he got a good percentage of the grey vote in the general election that he knew was around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Is that Brian,the patriot,wear the green jersey,we've turned the corner,our plan is working,we all partied,Lenihan you're talking about.??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Mid march is not early summer, Do you have no heat on in your house from mid march - october ? I dont think so

How is mid-March to October 26 weeks by the way? There will be no allowance for 26 weeks, half the year, i.e. April-September.

Exaggerating it by going an extra month either side of this is very annoying, as it's just simply not the truth, but an exaggeration to try gain sympathy!!

so why not start the allowance payments art the end of october instead of the end of september as is presently the case , that way the term would extend to the end of april , besides whats to stop pensioners simply paying for thier fuel out of thier ample cash weekly benefit packages , id like to see the fuel allowance completley scrapped and the pension cut back to 200 euro per week , pensioners and thier salary drawing QUANGO mouth pieces would need to be carefull , people are starting to cop on to the fact that they have been completley shielded so far and that being old does not equate to being poor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

ilovesleep wrote: »
    This country's woes started in 08 .

They just came to a head then, it was set in motion by successive FF / PD governments in the years previous, or as some people would say thatcher and Reagan set us on the path of de-regulated global finances years earlier again, all setting in motion an inevitable global crash. 2008 was just the year when more shit hit the fan than had done in previous meltdowns.

as regards the OP, I know we're not supposed to speak ill of the dead and all but I think you're taking it a bit far in the other direction tbh.

liammur wrote: »
    I was glad to hear Noonan mention him at the end of his speech. I believe B Lenihan's biggest mistake was when he cut the allowances for the deaf and blind last year. Small money saved but hugely tarnished his reputation.

it was that or cut the pensioners and no politican ever lost their seat for having marginalised the blind vote , its all politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Lenihan , Biffo, Ahern and Mccreevy did more to damage our economy than anyone in the history of our state.

If I had my way they would all be up in court for treason.(except for Lenihan obviously)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

They just came to a head then, it was set in motion by successive FF / PD governments in the years previous, or as some people would say thatcher and Reagan set us on the path of de-regulated global finances years earlier again, all setting in motion an inevitable global crash. 2008 was just the year when more shit hit the fan than had done in previous meltdowns.

You are correct there Sir, thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

Is this a wind up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Why do we need another blog post to start another thread about the budget, even more so a blog post that is most likely deliberately provocative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

tsk tsk OP..........

Don't you know that Brian Lenihan is the greatest Irish figure of our time - a patriotism and a self sacrificing nature that would remind us of Collins, Connolly, Pearse at their finest. A man amongst a sea of boys.

John Waters and the Sindo told us so, and I believe them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I laughed. I assume this was a joke, must be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I don't actually, why the hell would I? I'm only using electric heating at the moment, no oil ordered in and I'm getting on grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The words "great" and "Lenihan" don't belong in the same sentence.

Unless it's as in "Oh great, another f**k up / lie / excuse / cop-out / rip-off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

''We've turned the corner'' (B.L. speaking about the Irish economy)
    The following week the IMF were in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

irishh_bob wrote: »
    it was that or cut the pensioners and no politican ever lost their seat for having marginalised the blind vote , its all politics

You are correct in stating the bit about pensioners, but surely B Lenihan should have targetted the massive pensions that the likes of B Ahern are getting instead of cutting the blind and deaf allowances. The amount of money involved here cannot have been significant. Even his most ardent supporter will find it hard to defend that.

To the OP-Would you ever get a grip. What planet are you living on?

I can't figure out if your post was a joke, or flamebait, or (god forbid), you're just one of those gombeen unwavering diehard fianna fail supporters who still thinks charlie and bertie were great and poor auld Biffo and Lenny and co were just unlucky enough to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

"The Great Brian Lenihan" and his cronies squandered what could have been a genuinely sustainable financial upturn with disastrous policies that were completely lacking in any kind of financial foresight. I had sympathy for him and his family on a personal level at the time of his of his ilness and death, but the fact remains: He sold out the most promising generation this country has ever had, and was personally responsible for the single most reckless and damaging decision ever taken in the history of the irish republic.

A fuel allowance?? A f*cking fuel allowance????

I'd rather go cold.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

raymon wrote: »
    Lenihan , Biffo, Ahern and Mccreevy did more to damage our economy than anyone in the history of our state.

If I had my way they would all be up in court for treason.(except for Lenihan obviously)

dont forget the inept Michael Neary doing a rip van winkel while being paid to be financial regulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭sparkling sea

You can't be serious - shame on FF for destroying our country and being an reckless and useless government.

Dont think the fuel allowance should have been cut though, I would have lifted the PRSI ceiling instead.

I think FG/ Labour are operating within the parameters of no choice on everything else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

This is a but like saying somne kindly politician gave out a free rope to someone, but without mentioning it was a hangman's noose !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

An intelligent man who was in WAAAAY above his head as Minister for Finance. When you seek economic guidance from celebrity economists then you know you're goosed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

foxyboxer wrote: »
    An intelligent man who was in WAAAAY above his head as Minister for Finance. When you seek economic guidance from celebrity economists then you know you're goosed.

Obviously not that intelligent TBH. Maybe good at memorising and rhyming off facts like much of the Irish people thanks to our education system but with little critical thinking ability.

The question is why go to a celebrity economist when we have far better qualified economists in the country? The only answer I can think of is that he knows the celebrity is also a populist and won't just give him the answer that is the right answer but will try to give him the one that is most populist too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Pharaoh1

foxyboxer wrote: »

For all his faults and shortcomings (and there were many) Brian Lenihan at least had some principles.
    Remember two years ago when the unions were pleading for income tax hikes and a crazy unpaid leave scheme Lenihan put his foot down when Cowen was dithering and went ahead with pay cuts (alongside social welfare cuts) in that budget. I didn't agree with the way those cuts were administered but at least he had some sense of fairness.

Similarly he recognized at least the principle that those who receive or who will receive DB govt pensions should pay a fair contribution towards them.
    It is a pity that the pension levy he introduced was and continues to be such a crude instrument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Do you have no heat on in your house from mid march - october ? I dont think so

We had the heat off in our house from April till last month.

Problem?

bamboozle wrote: »
    while being paid to be financial regulator.
    A common misconception. Neary was paid not to interfere with the invisible hand. He was paid not to regulate. He actually done his job well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Max Powers wrote: »
    ''We've turned the corner'' (B.L. speaking about the Irish economy)
    The following week the IMF were in.

We turned the corner alright and fell into a big hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Park Royal

A common misconception. Neary was paid not to interfere with the invisible hand. He was paid not to regulate. He actually done his job well.

I'm no Banker but I understood the banks were to send their Bank Accounts and a slew of other financial details pertaining to the Bank to the said Regulator several times a year..........?.....( just like the Credit Unions do to their Regulator)

So how in the name of God did Neary and his crew miss the storm brewing ?:mad:

Park Royal wrote: »

So how in the name of God did Neary and his crew miss the storm brewing ?:mad:
    You have to remember that this was during the reign of the PD/FF government. He will have been left in no doubt as to the ideological restrictions government expected from his role. Greed is good, regulation is bad. He was a yes man. You also have to remember that their balance books would have looked pretty good so long as credit continued to flow, the problem is they only had paper assets with no real value. I don't want to be misunderstood as defending Neary, I'm just saying that he was the right regulator politically for that particular government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Ironmaiden11

Thank god people aren't going easy on this corrupt amoral self-serving politician just for the obvious reason. I don't really get why Irish people are so inexpressive of their anger about picking up the tab for a bunch of gangsters :- basically we paid for their fine dining, travelling, whoring during the boom years and probably now. We are stupid