Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(Mature) Student, entitled to student subs???

• 06-12-2011 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭

Howaya,

I've been a member of my golf club for 20 years, juvenile all the way up to full member status the last ten years.

I'm currently a full time mature student, in my second year of a three year degree.

This time last year I wrote a letter to the club asking them if I could return to junior member status, as I am a full time student and this category is for third level students. I said that I'd gladly forego my vote at the AGM etc. and I would return to full member status as soon as I have finished my degree.

Obviously I explained that it was due to financial constraints, not having a job etc. and that I did not want to sever ties with a golf club my family has connections with going back over 40 years.

They rang me with a PFO, saying they couldn't help me, didn't want to set precedents etc. They did offer me a leave of absence to return whenever I wanted, fair play.

The subs are €1400 this year, plus competition fees, and the reality is I can't afford it.

There are other clubs offering better value for money and I have even seen a few with very cheap student membership (€200 annual for one club I saw.)

So, what should I do?
    Do you think clubs would accept a mature student as a student member? (Letter of proof, student card etc. provided)
    Do you think my club should have made an allowance?
    Would your club make one?
    What ye reckon?

TBH I can understand where they're coming from and didn't argue the toss with them, but if I can get something cheaper I might have to take it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

i think the student category is age defined rather than wheather you're a student or not.

i don't think any club will accept you as a student if you're outside of the category age ranges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Zardoz

In my own club you can only be a student member until your 24th birthday .
    Until recently it wasnt a rule that was enforced that strictly ,you would get away with it until 25 or 26,but now they are very strict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Yeah that's what I was thinking. The category covers age rather than actual status as a student doesn't it?

Interesting though, I wonder would any club entertain you? probably not in the present climate..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

JCDUB wrote: »
    Yeah that's what I was thinking. The category covers age rather than actual status as a student doesn't it?

Interesting though, I wonder would any club entertain you? probably not in the present climate..

I would have thought, assuming you can provide proof you are a student, some clubs would be more like to entertain you in the present climate. A student sub is better than no sub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I was in the same boat a few years ago and tried all the clubs in Co. Limerick/north Cork, and most of them had the same criteria, once you were over 22 then you couldnt be considered a student. Finally got student membership at Rathbane.

So some courses may accept you but by and large from my experience they won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

AFAIK in most clubs you have to be a student and be under 25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

In my club a juvenile member is from 8 years to 14 years. A Junior is from 15 years to 18 years. A Student member is any member from 18 years to 25 years who is in full-time education or apprenticeship
    Age is that on date of election to membership (i.e. you cannot transition from Juvenile to Junior during the year, on your birthday)

These rules are defined in the Club's Constitution and cannot, therefore, be changed except by a motion at the AGM or at an EGM.

For a mature student, I would guess you will be in difficulty getting sorted. You can ask for Leave of Absence, but then you will not be eligible to use your GUI handicap, you cannot play in Open Competitions (GUI rules).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Get in contact with your USI and ask for some advice, it's blatant ageism. It is morally incorrect to have an age requirement and student together.

Either Under 24's get a certain offer, or students get a certain offer it can't be both. If you make enough of a racket (or just talk to some level headed people) you should be able to sort it out one way or another.

Are you a lesser type of a student because of your age.

This is a typically Irish type of scenario, backwards and ignorant.! Shower of ****ers ..!

Not really, its just the name of the category and the catagory is defined by age. you'll find its the same in sailing, tennis, hockey and other clubs.

all they will have to do is rename the category.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

k.p.h wrote: »
    Get in contact with your USI and ask for some advice, it's blatant ageism. It is morally incorrect to have an age requirement and student together.

Either Under 24's get a certain offer, or students get a certain offer it can't be both. If you make enough of a racket (or just talk to some level headed people) you should be able to sort it out one way or another.

Are you a lesser type of a student because of your age.

"morally incorrect" :D:D:D:D, good for you!

While you're at it, why not make all tees from the same place? Surely discriminatory to have woman, children and men playing from different places?

This is a typically Irish type of scenario, backwards and ignorant.! Shower of ****ers ..!

So, you're saying this is unique to Ireland?

A bit much, OP, really, complaining about, as a student, being unable to afford Golf Club membership fees. Concentrate on your studies and leave the golf until such time as you can afford it.

As for k.p.h. ? Calm down!

all they will have to do is rename the category.

They should have to do that though. As it currently stands it's set up in a discriminatory manner. e.g The Human Category (White people only)

Obviously feel strongly about things like this as I am a mature student myself, from talking to other mature students in college their is a lot of situations where mature students get ****ed around because of their age.

I understand about age category's in sport, but that is for competition not for membership type.

Some one answer me this.? "why must a student be under the age of 25 to receive student membership ".?

Gophur wrote: »
    "morally incorrect" :D:D:D:D, good for you!

:p

A bit much, OP, really, complaining about, as a student, being unable to afford Golf Club membership fees. Concentrate on your studies and leave the golf until such time as you can afford it.

You phrase that as if golf is optional for some people...

They should have to do that though. As it currently stands it's set up in a discriminatory manner. e.g The Human Category (White people only)

Obviously feel strongly about things like this as I am a mature student myself, from talking to other mature students in college their is a lot of situations where mature students get ****ed around because of their age.

I understand about age category's in sport, but that is for competition not for membership type.

Some one answer me this.? "why must a student be under the age of 25 to receive student membership ".?
    if you've chosen to be a mature student thats your own decision. They reason why they offer cheaper student rates based on age profile is to help Junior golfers migrate into the adult category without taking a massive hit not to give students a better rate.

In fact a lot of clubs don't offer a student category, and to be brutally honest if it weren't age biast it would be open for abuse where you could take part time employment and full time education to save yourself a couple of k.

You should quit golf if you feel you're being ripped off so much or maybe your opinions belong in PI

if you've chosen to be a mature student thats your own decision. They reason why they offer cheaper student rates based on age profile is to help Junior golfers migrate into the adult category without taking a massive hit not to give students a better rate.

In fact a lot of clubs don't offer a student category, and to be brutally honest if it weren't age biast it would be open for abuse where you could take part time employment and full time education to save yourself a couple of k.

You should quit golf if you feel you're being ripped off so much or maybe your opinions belong in PI

I don't personally feel ripped off at all as my own club offers student membership to anyone who is a student, and the general attitude in the club is try get as many people as possible out playing the game regardless of their financial status, be it paying by installments or using a savings card during the year towards your next sub.

Maybe I was a bit naive to the reason for student membership, I thought it was something similar to the reasons the state gives concessions to students e.g 70% of income tax revenue comes from graduates so maybe on a smaller scale if clubs allowed for concessions to students during their study they would in turn become future contributors and keep the club healthy.

I understand about possible abuses of the system too but that just ends up in another moral debate like the handicap system.

Also becoming a mature student is an individuals decision, but currently due the economic climate it's a decision between two choices, emigrate or re-skill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

A bit much, OP, really, complaining about, as a student, being unable to afford Golf Club membership fees.

I wasn't complaining, simply asking what the situation was with other people or what they thought? I said in the OP that I don't blame my club, and as it happens I remained a member and paid my subs.

I just don't know if I can afford to do the same again in 2012, but I hope I can.