Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hidden Budget

• 05-12-2011 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭

Was just reading Rte news app and it says that there is now after the budget an increase in travel and subsistence for Government staff!!!!

This has to be some sort of a tasteless piss take?? The country on it's knees with your every day Joe soap really struggling to make ends meet yet these a*£holes are lining their pockets with even more money.

Surely the government need to be held accountable for all these 'promises' they made to get into government in the first place.

I think it's time for them all to be performance paid....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Apparently these expenses have come about because of the governments actions in cutting Garda drivers - looks like that action is going to now cost more than it saved.

Although we all knew that was a token gesture from day one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Was just reading Rte news app and it says that there is now after the budget an increase in travel and subsistence for Government staff!!!!

This has to be some sort of a tasteless piss take?? The country on it's knees with your every day Joe soap really struggling to make ends meet yet these a*£holes are lining their pockets with even more money.

Surely the government need to be held accountable for all these 'promises' they made to get into government in the first place.

surely kenny et al could not possibly be this stupid ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Do you even have a link so we can read about the issue you have raised?

All we have is a rant about something else the Government has done but with nothing of detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Godge,I don't have a link and I am only surmising here but I think what is being referred to is the extra provision in yesterday budget for extra T&S in the Dept of the Taoiseach and Dept of Finance for 2012.
    Sean Fleming raised it yesterday but I heard someone on RTE radio yesterday(can't remember who but I think that it was RTE business correspondent) say that it was to account for the extra visits to Brussels for Enda et al for all the IMF meetings and also in the grand scheme of things it represented a tiny portion of the expenditure of both Departments.( I think that it is about €50K extra in DOF from a budget of €3.2Bn)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Vizzy wrote: »
    Godge,I don't have a link and I am only surmising here but I think what is being referred to is the extra provision in yesterday budget for extra T&S in the Dept of the Taoiseach and Dept of Finance for 2012.
    Sean Fleming raised it yesterday but I heard someone on RTE radio yesterday(can't remember who but I think that it was RTE business correspondent) say that it was to account for the extra visits to Brussels for Enda et al for all the IMF meetings and also in the grand scheme of things it represented a tiny portion of the expenditure of both Departments.( I think that it is about €50K extra in DOF from a budget of €3.2Bn)

And we have a thread about this!!! Incredible!!!!! So there is a need for increased travel to Brussels because of IMF meetings. Flights have to be bought, train tickets from the airport into Brussels and hotels have to be paid for. Are people seriously suggesting that the public servants should pay these costs out of their own pockets?

Of all of the nonsensical thread-opening rants, this is up there with the worst of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Closed. Not even close to worthy tbh.

Cheers

DrG