Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iran Shoots Down US Drone

• 04-12-2011 3:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭

Iran's military said on Sunday it had shot down a US reconnaissance drone aircraft in eastern Iran, a military source told state television.

"Iran's military has downed an intruding RQ-170 American drone in eastern Iran," Iran's Arabic-language Al Alam state television network quoted the unnamed source as saying.

"The spy drone, which has been downed with little damage, was seized by the Iranian armed forces."

Iran shot down the drone at a time when it is trying to contain foreign reaction to the storming of the British embassy in Tehran on Tuesday, shortly after London announced that it would impose sanctions on Iran's central bank in connection with Iran's controversial nuclear enrichment programme.

Britain evacuated its diplomatic staff from Iran and expelled Iranian diplomats in London in retaliation, and several other EU members recalled their ambassadors from Tehran.

The attack dragged Iran's relations with Europe to a long-time low. Washington and EU countries have been discussing measures to restrict Iran's oil exports since the United Nations nuclear watchdog issued a report in November with what it said was evidence that Tehran had worked on designing an atom bomb.

Iran says its nuclear programme is entirely peaceful.

http://www.dnaindia.com/world/report_iran-military-shoots-down-us-drone-state-tv_1621355

It's the end of the world as we know it! :P (And that's sarcastic before the goons start looking for 'Thanks')

EDIT: Fixed it, just pressed the wrong 'wrap' :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

america? intruding drones??? nah you got the wrong guy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Lol and it's supposed to be a stealth aircraft.

EDIT: AJ english claiming the drone wasn't 'shot down', but hacked by Iran's cyberwarfare unit and crash landed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

2012 here we come...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭uptherebels

Jaafa wrote: »

ya stealth not invisible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Lets have a moments thought for the poor drone. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Just a pity it was'nt manned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

What a guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

This is it, this is the beginning of the end of it all....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MisterEpicurus

Does anyone here sincerely believe the nuclear programme is peaceful? In a way they are right. It is peaceful, up until the moment they start using them.

Despite that, the US instigated its own problem with the removal of a democratic leader in the form of Mosaddegh in the 1953 coup and replacement with an authoritarian leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

stealth != invisible

stealth = relatively difficult to detect

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

EDIT: AJ english claiming the drone wasn't 'shot down', but hacked by Iran's cyberwarfare unit and crash landed.

Thats immediately brings three aspects to me.

1. That they are skilled enough to do that - if true
    2. That American software mustn't be that encrypted in signals enough!
    3. What else are they also doing we don't know?

Thank lord.
    Am American soldier/flyer captured in Iran?
    Holy hell just might break out even more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

What right do they have to have it there?

Spot on Iran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

The drone is now being interrogated and it's only a matter of time before it signs a full confession.:):):)

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    The drone is now being interrogated and it's only a matter of time before it signs a full confession.:):):)

Will it be a digital signature?
    Just askin' :D

Biggins wrote: »
    Thats immediately brings three aspects to me.

2. That American software mustn't be that encrypted in signals enough!

Taliban computers were captured in Afghanistan that contained footage from US drones (the small ones used by frontline troops I think). The signal carrying the video footage from the drones' cameras weren't encrypted, so all they needed to do was find the right frequency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Storm in teacup...
    ... next story please.

Taliban computers were captured in Afghanistan that contained footage from US drones (the small ones used by frontline troops I think). The signal carrying the video footage from the drones' cameras weren't encrypted, so all they needed to do was find the right frequency.

Crikey, talk about underestimating the enemy!

Storm in teacup...
    ... next story please.

Yeah, probably will be just analogous to the North Koreans provoking the South, where everyone thinks "This is it!", and then the issue diffuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Does anyone here sincerely believe the nuclear programme is peaceful? In a way they are right. It is peaceful, up until the moment they start using them.

Same can be said for any of the other nations which have atmoic weapons. It's incredibably rich for the likes of the US and especially Isreal (who are non-compliant with the nuclear non proliferation agreement) to be whinging about Iran's studies into nuclear energy.

The US has a longer list of international conflicts under its belt than Iran does. Maybe it's them that need to get rid of the bomb before they demand others to stop developing them.

A US drone gets shot down and half the world see it as an act of war.. The US & NATO kill 24 Pakistani soldiers and hardly anyone blinks an eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭SamHarris

They claim every other week to have foiled some zionist plot or shot down something or another. If they have, whatever, who the hell gives a crap about a drone?

Why are people so convinced Iran entering a war is "The end of the world?" More than likely it will just mean another **** hole in the Middle East. As Syria burns no one even bats an eyelid.

Same can be said for any of the other nations which have atmoic weapons. It's incredibably rich for the likes of the US and especially Isreal (who are non-compliant with the nuclear non proliferation agreement) to be whinging about Iran's studies into nuclear energy.

The US has a longer list of international conflicts under its belt than Iran does. Maybe it's them that need to get rid of the bomb before they demand others to stop developing them.

Don't you find it slightly worrying that a country would lie and undermine every international treaty just to acquire nuclear weapons? Furthermore, it's a given that nuclear weapons should be refrained from use...this requires cuts in the said nukes, not multiplications of them with countries who lie even to the IAEA. If you're comfortable with that, then that's quite worrying methinks.

Biggins wrote: »
    Crikey, talk about underestimating the enemy!

Actually I was mistaken, it was Iraqi insurgents (supposedly backed by Iran), and the footage was from Predator Drones.

http://professional.wsj.com/article/SB126102247889095011.html?mg=reno-secaucus-wsj

Actually I was mistaken, it was Iraqi insurgents (supposedly backed by Iran), and the footage was from Predator Drones.

http://professional.wsj.com/article/SB126102247889095011.html?mg=reno-secaucus-wsj

Still. the fact they either could do it easily enough. Not good for the USA side. Silly boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

2012 here we come...............

guess i better get my ass into gear and become a war photographer there danger money in that **** :cool:

think I shall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

SamHarris wrote: »
    They claim every other week to have foiled some zionist plot or shot down something or another. If they have, whatever, who the hell gives a crap about a drone?

Why are people so convinced Iran entering a war is "The end of the world?" More than likely it will just mean another **** hole in the Middle East. As Syria burns no one even bats an eyelid.

Well, there is some word that China would defend Iran if Iran was attacked. There's also some word that Russia is sided with Iran. So if Iran was invaded you potentially see the whole region flare up, possibly leading to a major altercation between China/Russia and the West.

Think of Iran as being like Poland in 1939.

Thats not how the NPT works, thank god. Hypocrisy and thinking YOU are special is ar for course in international policy - pointinh it out ast h ough that makes their sides argument invalid is just childishness and worse, completly false. Why the hell does it matter?

The far left is really getting ridiculous - "I dont mind Iran gets the bomb/ little or nothing should be done to stop them despite the breach of perhaps the most important international treaty because the US has them" The be all and end all of every one of their arguments is "sure look, I dont like the US / Israel!" :rolleyes:

The amount of conflicts a country gets involved in always has and always did have much more to do with the countries capabilities than with any underlying "morality". If you dont know this you do not know much history. At all.

Well, there is some word that China would defend Iran if Iran was attacked. There's also some word that Russia is sided with Iran. So if Iran was invaded you potentially see the whole region flare up, possibly leading to a major altercation between China/Russia and the West.

Think of Iran as being like Poland in 1939.

If anyone thinks China will go to war with the US over IRan they are insane. PLain not going to happen. If they were going to they would have a PUBLIC defense treaty with Iran.

Puting aside MAD there is little or no doubt who would win such a conflict, the Chinese and Russians are well aware of this. If they dont want IRan to be attacked, regardless of their flautning of treaties they will do a hell of alot before declaring war on the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭MOSSAD

AnamGlas wrote: »

Spot on Iran.
    Wonderful stuff! Sooner a nuclear device is detonated over Teheran the better.

MOSSAD wrote: »
    Sooner a nuclear device is detonated over Teheran the better.

ehhh....no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭eire.man

the people who get shot to sh1t because of drone intelligence do I bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The far left is really getting ridiculous - "I dont mind Iran gets the bomb/ little or nothing should be done to stop them despite the breach of perhaps the most important international treaty because the US has them" The be all and end all of every one of their arguments is "sure look, I dont like the US / Israel!" :rolleyes:

That's some amount of bull**** right there. Automatically equating the 'left' to supporting the likes of Iran and hating the US is asinine and simplistic. You do know that Israel has not even disclosed details of its nuclear arsenal? Your muddled views on what is right and wrong run into a roadblock when you consider that Iran is most likely developing a nuclear weapon for its own defense, because nations opposed to the state have them and are a threat to them. Much the same as how the US et al have weapons for their own defense and to insure security of their own interests.

The left and right aren't differentiated by some geopolitical divide.. cop on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭eire.man

Don't you find it slightly worrying that a country would lie and undermine every international treaty just to acquire nuclear weapons? Furthermore, it's a given that nuclear weapons should be refrained from use...this requires cuts in the said nukes, not multiplications of them with countries who lie even to the IAEA. If you're comfortable with that, then that's quite worrying methinks.

I find it more worrying that a country with nukes (THE USA!!) can be exposed manipulating almost every country in the world and nobody cares.

fcuk off America!!!!

eire.man wrote: »
    I find it more worrying that a country with nukes (THE USA!!) can be exposed manipulating almost every country in the world and nobody cares.

O' right, there is no protests occasionally! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

All that lovely stealth tech and electronics for the Iranians to study and copy and maybe share with Russia and China.

The U.S. will not be pleased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Thats not how the NPT works, thank god. Hypocrisy and thinking YOU are special is ar for course in international policy - pointinh it out ast h ough that makes their sides argument invalid is just childishness and worse, completly false. Why the hell does it matter?

The amount of conflicts a country gets involved in always has and always did have much more to do with the countries capabilities than with any underlying "morality". If you dont know this you do not know much history. At all.

It's quite clear it's you that does not know his history. you just manipulate it to suit your ideology. just like all the Yank/Israel apologists have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Thrill wrote: »
    All that lovely stealth tech and electronics for the Iranians to study and copy and maybe share with Russia and China.

Indeed thats the biggest thing about this. One thing the Iranians do well is reverse engineering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

yea great idea, there isn't enough Muslims that hate us, just drop a nuke over one of the most liberal Muslim cities in the world.. sure we can nuke all the ones that hate us after that too!

genius...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Don't you find it slightly worrying that a country would lie and undermine every international treaty just to acquire nuclear weapons?

Israel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Howya lads...my passport's about to run out of date..can yous set me up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Thrill wrote: »

They won't be pleased either that their spies inside Hezbollah are continually being rumbled(http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-202_162-57329186/major-cia-network-unraveled-by-hezbollah-iran/)
    However with the recent series of mysterious "accidents" inside Iran, it looks like they have assets high up in the Iranian military and security structure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

AnamGlas wrote: »

Spot on Iran.

Sweet Jesus. Mods, can we have a facepalm smiley?

That's some amount of bull**** right there. Automatically equating the 'left' to supporting the likes of Iran and hating the US is asinine and simplistic. You do know that Israel has not even disclosed details of its nuclear arsenal? Your muddled views on what is right and wrong run into a roadblock when you consider that Iran is most likely developing a nuclear weapon for its own defense, because nations opposed to the state have them and are a threat to them. Much the same as how the US et al have weapons for their own defense and to insure security of their own interests.

The left and right aren't differentiated by some geopolitical divide.. cop on!

I never said anyone supported Iran, I pointed out the complete childishness of believing it has a right to it because others already have it.

Or that countries should not react to Iran getting the bomb because they do not throw themselves around the same way when allied states act the same way is childish in the extreme. It is also

Last statement is very false, if you do not believe me read a left leaning newspaper, say the Guardian then a right leaning publication and I can guarantee you the spin they put on every story concerning the region will nearly always have the same "bad guys".

So your belief is that everyone that whants one badly enough should be allowed to it? that an oppressive theocratic regime should have one because YOU believeit is purely for their own defence (again of the regime, not of the peopel an important distinction). You should run that by the CFR, your analysis is scathing.

The idea that the US cannot try and stop a nationquiring a nuclear weapon (as all reasonable evidence now points to) that routinely refers to it as "the great satan" and calls for its death because Israel flouts international law from and the US does not push for sanctions against it is

Why do I have a feeling if it were Israel seeking nuclear weapons (leaving aside the fact they probably alreadyt have them) and the Arab nations surrounding them were raising alarm bells it would be very different people protecting their "rights"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Just the kind of sentiment I'd expect from someone who chooses the name of the zionazi terror entity's murderous spy organisation as his alias!:rolleyes:

A nuke detonated over Tehran, a city of 15 or so million people, could kill millions, many of whom are certainly no supporters of the present regime.:eek:

Mind you, the zionazi terror entity that calls itself Israel and has occupied the land of Palestine has emulated the German National Socialists in so many other ways that killing a few million of what it probably considers Untermenschen would really only be par for its course.:)

RichieC wrote: »
    It's quite clear it's you that does not know his history. you just manipulate it to suit your ideology. just like all the Yank/Israel apologists have to do.

Really? Name one country or entity in the past with complete dominance that did not get into conflict more than a nation which would almost certainly be completly destroyed should it do the same?

I await with baited breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Does anyone here sincerely believe the nuclear programme is peaceful.

I would have no problem with a Nuclear Iran. They wouldn't use it but it would be there as a means of standing up to the US/Israel bully-boy tactics.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Israel?

I love how people assume that if you are against the Iranian Nuclear Programme, somehow that infers you support Israel. It doesn't logically follow. My views on Israel are equally as harsh, however this question concerns Iran and I sincerely don't see any benefit of allowing them to acquire nuclear weapons. And by questioning 'Israel' as you did above, you seem to infer that lying is permissible by Iran because Israel lies. Again, quite an untenable and worrying position to hold.

woodoo wrote: »
    I would have no problem with a Nuclear Iran. They wouldn't use it but it would be there as a means of standing up to the US/Israel bully-boy tactics.

And this is what everyone who supports the idea's motivations boild down to.

No regard for the idea of a theocratic regime having nuclear weapons.

No regard for the strong possibility of sparking a nuclear arms race in the most instable, religiously zelous and strategically important region of the world.

No regard for the legitimate fears of anyone (of which there are many) who have been routinely threatened by Irans higher leadership.

Its all about "haha! look at de yanks/ zionazis now!". That peoples poltical chips on their shoulders have gotten so gaping is very sad.

What sort of a precedent does that set though? Wouldn't it contain the risk of a domino effect whereby other countries will want to attain them for the same defensive reasons. The situation could escalate. It's best to nip these situations in the bud. I don't see long term benefits outside of the Iranian question if they possess nuclear weapons based on defensive grounds.

I love how people assume that if you are against the Iranian Nuclear Programme, somehow that infers you support Israel. It doesn't logically follow. My views on Israel are equally as harsh, however this question concerns Iran and I sincerely don't see any benefit of allowing them to acquire nuclear weapons. And by questioning 'Israel' as you did above, you seem to infer that lying is permissible by Iran because Israel lies. Again, quite an untenable and worrying position to hold.

Thats because everyone who "supports" their nuclear program, either directly or through their wish that nothing, not even sanctions, be done about it universally abhore Israels program. They make the assumption that everyones views on issues such as Nuclear Proliferation is as based on whos "side" they are as much as their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Yes. The real issue for America and Israel is that if Iran did acquire a nuke it has leverage; with a nuke they upset the power balance in the middle east.

However i don't believe they are building a nuke.