Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My first time deer stalking

• 01-12-2011 8:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

Yesterday I tagged along with poulo6.5 and 4gun for a days deer stalking. I met the lads at around 6.30 at poulo's, and we drove to the first spot to wait for first light.
    When the lads thought it was bright enough they loaded up their rifles and we set off. We saw a lot of tracks but unfortunately no deer in this place, so we headed off to the next spot.
    Here we headed down into a valley with a small bit of wooded area running through the bottom of it. As we stalked through this a doe appeared almost out of nowhere. 4gun pointed at the doe to get my attention and just as he did this the doe looked straight at the two of us. It was kind of funny because I we both knew to freeze, so we were there 4gun pointing and me with a look of total amazement since this was the closest I had ever been to a deer.
    The doe turned to move off which gave poulo the chance to lift his gun. When she turned back for a quick look poulo took the shot standing. She ran maybe 30 yards, but there was a nice blood trail and I spotted her behind a tree.
    Poulo and 4gun showed me how to do the gralloch, and I even did a bit myself. Poulo had made a nice shoulder shot, and one of the lungs was completely destroyed and the bullet had clipped the top of the heart so had she bled out in seconds. The drag back to the jeep wasn't bad since myself and poulo shared the load, although I can appreciate how much hard work it would be I someone was on their own.
    After this we went a couple of miles up and down the mountain. But saw nothing, so we decided to go for a bit to eat.
    We tried a couple more spots in the afternoon, but saw nothing, although we did track a deer for a while but with no luck.
    All in all I have to say that I really enjoyed the day, and that deer stalking is a sport that I could see myself getting into in time. I'm really looking forward to getting the chance to got again
    So thanks very much to poulo6.5 and 4gun, hopefully I'll be able to repay the favour soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

Good to hear you enjoyed your first outing and nice to see ye got one. It's defenetly the most addictive form of hunting out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Nice one and well done to the two lads for sharing their experience with a novice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Well done Dec for putting the effort in and taking a day off to go shooting with the boys.

There qre plenty of Deer out there if you spend time looking for them, but most importantly you have the skill and patience required to find one.

You may come down to me over the christmas, and see if we can get you a deer in one of the midlands counties.

November and Decemwber are the best months as it's open season.
    Often the hardest thing is not to take a shot because you are not sure if it is.male or female in low light in January or Feb.

A Doe is lighter than a big buck, so you see the merits of having to pick a nice sized animal for the pot without strangling yourself having to drag it miles on your own.

Paulo and 4Gun are Dab hands at this lark so you were in good company.
    I'm glad your first trip was successful as nothing worse than bringing you out to see nothing, which often can be the case. I am a man on a mission now; my Freezer is nearly empty of Venison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

It really was a day I'll never forget. I'm sure I made a few rookie mistakes, but the lads never said anything. I doubt you could find two sounder lads to go hunting with.

declan1980 wrote: »
    It really was a day I'll never forget. I'm sure I made a few rookie mistakes, but the lads never said anything. I doubt you could find two sounder lads to go hunting with.
    It is through our mistakes that we learn,
    The best laugh ever too can be had with them boyo's ;-)

I look forward to meeting up with them soon for another stalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

You Didn't put a foot wrong all day, I haven't shot a deer in clonmel yet this season...just happent to be the way it works out sometimes a shot just doesen't present its self
    Had we been heading out to day after all the bad weather you could just as easily pop two
    the bigest factor is being in the right place at the right time

youll have to come down to kerry and try for a sika( you might not even see a hare ;) down here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

. I am a man on a mission now; my Freezer is nearly empty of Venison.

We'll step that mission up a gear tomorrow!

I have just had a freezer donated to me, so I feel your pain. I have one full- and one completely empty freezer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

dec it was a pleasure to have you down for a shot, and thanks for not pointing out all the mistakes we made:D

we did a lot of walking yesterday, i'm still wrecked:D

hope we get to go for a shot again soon as 4gun said the stalking down in kerry is even tougher

enjoy the leg. maybe the next time you will get a chance to shoot one your self ;)

Dec, Did I hear you say .243 rebarrel ;)

Don't tempt me

Actually feck that last post, it probably is what will happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

declan if ya want to go again sometime il bring ya if ya like cant be livng to far from ya as im in north tipp to near birr