Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fun Golf Games

• 28-11-2011 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭

Anyone got any fun golf games they play when out with a few mates for a casual game?
    A game me and my best mate played a few times when it's just the 2 of us, when you win a hole you get to take any club from the other players bag, and put it in your own so he cant use, u can then use their clubs if you so wish, like skins it carries over so if 3 holes halved then next one is a win, then you get to take 4 clubs. If win one back you can choose to take one of your own back or one of theirs. Its good fun. Once we halved the first 6 holes and my mate won7th so he took 7 my clubs. The downside was he had to carry them! Its a bit of fun and you kind of think strategically what clubs do i need to take from him or get back.
    A game we played once in a 4ball was a reverse 2 man scramble where both drive off, opponents chose worst position and you play from there, follow on like that through the hole- carnage!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭Deco1983

Jesus Wept - its worse this forum is getting I tell you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

acejeff wrote: »
    Anyone got any fun golf games they play when out with a few mates for a casual game?
    A game me and my best mate played a few times when it's just the 2 of us, when you win a hole you get to take any club from the other players bag, and put it in your own so he cant use, u can then use their clubs if you so wish, like skins it carries over so if 3 holes halved then next one is a win, then you get to take 4 clubs. If win one back you can choose to take one of your own back or one of theirs. Its good fun. Once we halved the first 6 holes and my mate won7th so he took 7 my clubs. The downside was he had to carry them! Its a bit of fun and you kind of think strategically what clubs do i need to take from him or get back.
    That's nicked straight from Tiger Woods PGA tour.

Personally I like to use a round of golf to improve my game instead of wasting my fees and valuable time play acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

MyKeyG wrote: »

Personally I like to use a round of golf to improve my game instead of wasting my fees and valuable time play acting.

Trying to have a bit of fun while playing golf is hardly "play acting" and I think the implication was that this would be at one's home course, so no fees would be involved.

A few variations I've tried in the past involved standard stableford but if you have 2 nett bogies or 1 nett double bogey your score is reset to zero. So the game is always going until the last hole. Or the relatively common one where if you think a playing partner is in 3-putt territory you can call him out - he pays you a fixed sum if he does indeed go ahead and 3-putt or he wins 2* the fixed amount if he doesnt and 3* if he holes it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭acejeff

I didn't say that I invented the game. Sometimes games like this can be a bit of lighthearted fun while socialising with a few mates (in a casual round where we are members so it's not costing anything!) and you end up having to play shots and clubs that you might not use otherwise. Again trying to start up something that is a little different from the usual tripe. Is there any harm in starting this thread?

acejeff wrote: »
    I didn't say that I invented the game. Sometimes games like this can be a bit of lighthearted fun while socialising with a few mates (in a casual round where we are members so it's not costing anything!) and you end up having to play shots and clubs that you might not use otherwise. Again trying to start up something that is a little different from the usual tripe. Is there any harm in starting this thread?

I know you're trying hard Jeff - just sh*t ideas thats all...dont give up though

I was uncomfortable reading your op on this one - all seemed a bit homoerotic to me. To socialise with my buddies on a golf course I usually just play golf with them. Traditional maybe but I enjoy it

Have you tried paintballing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

surely first winner takes other lads putter and wins the rest while he is trying to put with a hybrid ?

What happens when you run out of clubs?..take his rangefinder?..his Windcheater?..Spin the bottle on the 18th Green maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭acejeff

Deco1983 wrote: »
    I know you're trying hard Jeff - just sh*t ideas thats all...dont give up though

I was uncomfortable reading your op on this one - all seemed a bit homoerotic to me. To socialise with my buddies on a golf course I usually just play golf with them. Traditional maybe but I enjoy it

Have you tried paintballing?

As do I enjoy playing a traditional game of golf, the majority of the time I play. But from time to time, having played a lot of competitive stuff it's a bit of craic to do something a bit different to unwind, a bit of a laugh. No harm done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

this sort of clowning around would really piss me off
    i'd have the ranger kicking these sorta idiots off the course before they knew about
    blokes drinking cans on the course too - another pet hate
    if you want a beer, go to the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭dcrosskid

A few of ye would want to relax a bit. I like playing the scramble, or semi scramble i think is another where ye all drive and the best drive is chosen and everyone starts from there again. We played this in a society recently and it kept you interested in the round the whole time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

dcrosskid wrote: »
    I like playing the scramble, or semi scramble i think is another where ye all drive and the best drive is chosen and everyone starts from there again.

ah yeah, thats ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Often play bingo bango bongo out of Tiger Woods with a few of the lads, 3 points on offer at each hole, one for first on the green, one for closest to the pin from off the green, one for winning the hole.

Order of play must be strictly adhered to.

Makes it interesting because if someone OB's off the tee they can lay up all the way and try sneak the closest to the pin from off the green. It also allows someone to go short off the tee to and have a long second at the green for that point kinda risk reward.

Decent game as it gives everyone a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Skins is the business for making a casual round interesting... you'd be amazed how playing for as little 50 cent a hole can focus the game, I find its good practice for club matchplay & the likes...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Not sure why others are so quick to criticise, if you're not interested then simply ignore the thread.
    As long as it does not delay others I thought the OP final suggestion was quite interesting actually in a 4 ball

A game we played once in a 4ball was a reverse 2 man scramble where both drive off, opponents chose worst position and you play from there, follow on like that through the hole- carnage!!

A simple twist could be instead of better ball, worse ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭zztop

Often play bingo bango bongo out of Tiger Woods with a few of the lads, 3 points on offer at each hole, one for first on the green, one for closest to the pin from off the green, one for winning the hole.

Makes it interesting because if someone OB's off the tee they can lay up all the way and try sneak the closest to the pin from off the green. It also allows someone to go short off the tee to and have a long second at the green for that point kinda risk reward.

Playing with a low handicapper..surely he would win?

zztop wrote: »

Playing with a low handicapper..surely he would win?

he might scoop first on the green, but if you just miss the green, your chip shot would/should have a better chance of getting inside his approach shot and I'd imagine the hole score would also include handicaps, so it should even itself out i'd say

slave1 wrote: »
    Not sure why others are so quick to criticise, if you're not interested then simply ignore the thread.
    Going to sound like a grumpy Gus here but people have every right to use this thread to criticise what they consider something that invariably leads to slow play.

I can't personally can't understand why people can't just go out and have a round of golf. If you feel the need to spice it up then maybe it's simply not your game.

Going to sound like a grumpy Gus here but people have every right to use this thread to criticise what they consider something that invariably leads to slow play.

I can't personally can't understand why people can't just go out and have a round of golf. If you feel the need to spice it up then maybe it's simply not your game.

Safe to assume then that you only ever play in stroke play competitions? Those clowns that play stableford, or worse again, v-par have it all wrong. Should be banned really.
    Everyone entitled to an opinion, but if it's purely negative towards the topic of a thread like this, why bother?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

You should quote all relevant info if you want to reply in fairness.

You quoted me as follows
    and then justified your original post by expanding that it's something you consider leads to slow play.
    You should have quoted me properly as I qualified my post with it being okay as long as it avoids slow play

Proper quote
    As long as it does not delay others

You should quote all relevant info if you want to reply in fairness.

You quoted me as follows

and then justified your original post by expanding that it's something you consider leads to slow play.
    You should have quoted me properly as I qualified my post with it being okay as long as it avoids slow play

Proper quote
    You're being pedantic, I didn't misquote you. I was making a general point referencing your post first with regard to the very boring 'if you're going to disagree why bother with the thread' argument and secondly contesting your point 'if' by stating that such messing around invariably leads to slow play.

If it appears I was trying to twist your point of view then I apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Kid Charlemagne

MyKeyG it looks to me like you're looking for something to whine about and someone to have a go at.
    No one came on condoning slow play.
    As far as Im concerned you've sabotaged a thread that could have been a bit of craic.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Have you ever played a game like skins? It in no way slows things up, you pick up your ball when you're out of the hole so its quicker than 4 lads holing out on every green when playing their individual round...