Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cowardly Bookie

• 27-11-2011 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭

First race at wexford today -- went up to a bookie who had a price of 12/1 on Millborough , handed him the money and asked E100 E/W on the horse. He nearly Sh1t himself and refused to take the bet , threw the money back at me saying "Win only" . Why are these miserable ba*tards allowed to take pitches at the course?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭smartaform

mountai wrote: »
    First race at wexford today -- went up to a bookie who had a price of 12/1 on Millborough , handed him the money and asked E100 E/W on the horse. He nearly Sh1t himself and refused to take the bet , threw the money back at me saying "Win only" . Why are these miserable ba*tards allowed to take pitches at the course?!!!

Disgraceful..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Boyle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Charity2020

Surely, it is possible to report this to the powers that be. Not acceptable.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,969 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Report him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I remember a few years back a new code was introduced where on course bookmakers were supposed to display each way terms offered & the amount they guaranteed to lay any horse to lose.

Many never bothered & of course nothing was done by the powers that be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Bookmaking is a business in fairness and at a small meeting like wexford , he may not want to take 100 EW.. Its probably more than he can comfortably cover with other bets id say..

He obviously isnt the gambling type of bookie..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

i know its not the point but where did the horse finish, i have had that happen to me before aswell, the bookie next to him took the bet though. the horse i backed was nowhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

slaneylad wrote: »
    i know its not the point but where did the horse finish

hammered into 7/2, finished 3rd by a smidge over a length

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭mountai

Yes finished third, lost a bit of ground 2 furlongs out,took a bit of a bashing but was finishing like a train.
    I did"nt think E100 E/W was a big or life changing bet. The point is , if a bookie stands with odds available then he SHOULD stand by his board price.Bookies should"nt gamble, laying off some of their liabilities is viewed as "Book Balancing" not so?
    Who are "The powers that be"? and is there an advantage in taking this to "Them"?
    Its hard to "Get" the buggers isnt it !!!

Des Boyle done exact same thing to me in Punchestown 2 weeks ago, handed the money back and announced ''win only''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

But sure lads was there not another bookie there to take the bet??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

This is a good example at some dodgy goings on of the bookies tonight at Wolverhampton. Look at all them gambles and not once did a horse go in the opposite direction and drift in price. As Matt Chapman on ATR said when he seen the prices it's a complete nonsense of a situation which is becoming more common. How many times do they do this before the start of a big race(Grand National each year is a joke for it) shorten all the outsiders or so as to saving them a few quid while stabbing the people that keep them in there day jobs in the back. I could be way off the mark but thats the way i see it. Sorry for raiding your thread!;)

http://du103w.dub103.mail.live.com/att/GetAttachment.aspx?tnail=0&messageId=f291d03e-19f3-11e1-921f-001e0bcb73c8&Aux=14|0|8CE7C17DBA16C60||0|0|0|0||&maxwidth=220&maxheight=160&size=Att

But sure lads was there not another bookie there to take the bet??

That's not the point.

if the bet was €10 EW, he would have taken it.. €100 ew on a 12/1 shot is a significant liability, and a bookie doesnt have to take it.. there are loads of bookies, betfair etc. Go on to the next bookie and have a laugh at yer man not taking yer bet.

On betfair you can see what amount you can back and it wouldnt always be €200, in fairness.

They are not there for our enjoyment, they have to make money and they all have differant ways of doing it. I would hazarda guess that €100 EW on a 12/1 Shot is exactly the type of bet they dont want to take, as it might be the start of something..

Aidan I agree with your point that it is a business and he's earning a living.

I disagree that €100 ew at 12's is that significant. If he is not willing to take money on it he should not be advertising the price. If it was €500 ew I would say yes fair enough.

Has anybody ever noticed when your collecting winnings from on course bookies, and the sum you are owed is something like €48.30, that they never give the change and always round down to the euro, paying say €48.

the 100EW might not be that significant, but id say the bookies would be wary of that kind of bet on a 12/1 Shot, maybe worrying that there will be more where that came from.

Bookies would prefer to lay shorties all day as its a lot easier money, and easy to lay off.

It would be a struggle to get 100EW sometimes on betfair (in minor races)on a 12/1 shot and that would have far more liquidity.

Are on course bookies allowed to accept win only bets or is there something in black and white which states they must offer ew market too?

aidankkk wrote: »
    if the bet was €10 EW, he would have taken it.. €100 ew on a 12/1 shot is a significant liability, and a bookie doesnt have to take it.. there are loads of bookies, betfair etc. Go on to the next bookie and have a laugh at yer man not taking yer bet.

On betfair you can see what amount you can back and it wouldnt always be €200, in fairness.

They are not there for our enjoyment, they have to make money and they all have differant ways of doing it. I would hazarda guess that €100 EW on a 12/1 Shot is exactly the type of bet they dont want to take, as it might be the start of something..

Maybe so but as I alluded to bookies should clearly display their each way terms and their maximum guaranteed liability.

I'm guessing he wasn't the only one going 12/1 as he touched that price generally on course. He could hedge back into the ring (Wexford isn't the most glamourous of tracks but the likes of Graham's & Davy Hyland stand there) or he also has the betfair option.

I'm assuming this is still in force:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/racing/2004/0920/betting.html

Not that you'd know it from the state of the ring in Ireland.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

It was also a Charles Byrnes job horse. I think if you need to get on, you have to be aware that this might happen on the track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

David Hyland is the man for big bets on the track. Seen him take several grand on a few occassions.

Don't go racing anywhere near as much these days (nor do I bet as much on Irish racing) but Davy's was the only board I used to watch on course

Aside from taking on all comers he was also a great character. Some of the stands he used to take against hyped up bumper horses was the stuff of legends.

I was at Bellewstown a few years ago and Hyland took a large bet on an off track race he priced up. The horse was owned by a few locals that worked in the dairies. He got hit quite badly as the horse was 8/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭mountai

Many years ago I witnessed the famous Sean Graham open the boards on a race(He was usually the first to do so). He priced one horse at 5/2. He was almost knocked off the box as the rush of money hit him.Being the gentleman that he was, he asked the crowd to be patient. He took every bet and held the price for all. When he finished, he looked over the crowd and with a mischevious grin, turned to the board and wiped the 5/2s off and chalked the price out to 3s !!!!!! WHAT A MAN !!!!

i can only imagine the faces on the sea of punters delighted with their 5/2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Davy Hyland is one of the few real bookies left in the ring, always my first port of call when I'm going in big on a jolly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

That's disgraceful, name and shame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Davy Hyland is one of the few real bookies left in the ring, always my first port of call when I'm going in big on a jolly.

I thought he was finished? Maybe I'm wrong.

finbarrk wrote: »

I thought he was finished? Maybe I'm wrong.

Hadn't heard this but i didn't see him at Punchestown Morgiana day alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

No naming and shaming, please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

Whats the most any 1 bookie would take at an average/small meeting in Ireland?

I know Fairyhouse is a big day tomorrow but hypothetically could you get 4K e/w on a 6/1 shot with one bookie at the track tomorrow?

I know you would naturally spread it around but what is the max each one would take?

Whats the most any 1 bookie would take at an average/small meeting in Ireland?

I know Fairyhouse is a big day tomorrow but hypothetically could you get 4K e/w on a 6/1 shot with one bookie at the track tomorrow?

I know you would naturally spread it around but what is the max each one would take?

Wouldnt say any of them would take the full amount i'd say about 500e/w would be the height of it and many of them wouldnt even take that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

I dont understand why a bookie would'nt take 100 e/w but would take 100 win (or possibley 200 win,he was'nt clear about how much win he would take?) when the win part of the bet is where most of the liability is.

At 1/5 the odds a place the place liability isnt that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

You think that's bad lads, I was at a point-to-point meeting about 10 years ago, went up to a fairly well-known on and off-course bookie, and told him I wanted £20 on a horse at 10/1. He paused and asked me if I knew something! He was being perfectly serious. The only reason I had £20 on was because there were 4 of us who each put in a fiver because we liked the name of the horse! :D