Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ford Fiesta Opinions?

• 27-11-2011 2:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭

Thinking of picking up a 2000-2001 Ford Fiesta in the next few weeks. So far I'm thinking of the 1.25 Zetec 16V Ghia model. Just looking for a nice reliable car thats good on petrol and cheap enough to run. So just wondering if anyone has any opinions on Fiestas or knows of anything that I should be looking out for when viewing one.

Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Rolli

Kevvv wrote: »
    Thinking of picking up a 2000-2001 Ford Fiesta in the next few weeks. So far I'm thinking of the 1.25 Zetec 16V Ghia model. Just looking for a nice reliable car thats good on petrol and cheap enough to run. So just wondering if anyone has any opinions on Fiestas or knows of anything that I should be looking out for when viewing one.

Thanks in advance.

Can't go wrong with the 1.25 Zetec engine. My OH had one years back and t'was great ! Good luck looking anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Kevvv

Thanks for that I'v heard its a good engine alright. Anybody else got any other info thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Don't put in the wrong oil. Takes 5w30. Or wave bye bye to your main bearings :(

Don't put in the wrong coolant or wave good bye to your hg

Gearboxes can strip their output shaft splines :eek:

Door locks can refuse to work :mad:

RUST!!! :mad::mad::mad:

Apart from that theyre great for getting about even if a little thirsty for petrol :rolleyes:

I should know, have 2 of them :)

dgt wrote: »
    Don't put in the wrong oil. Takes 5w30. Or wave bye bye to your main bearings :(

Don't put in the wrong coolant or wave good bye to your hg

Gearboxes can strip their output shaft splines :eek:

Door locks can refuse to work :mad:

RUST!!! :mad::mad::mad:

Apart from that theyre great for getting about even if a little thirsty for petrol :rolleyes:

I should know, have 2 of them :)
    Thanks for the info. Was hoping it would be fairly cheap on petrol, moving down from a 1.8 at the moment so should feel good on petrol anyway :P

Considering you have 2 you should be the right person to asl this question, would recommend me buying one? Im a student so looking to keep down on costs :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Rolli

Thanks for the info. Was hoping it would be fairly cheap on petrol, moving down from a 1.8 at the moment so should feel good on petrol anyway :P

Considering you have 2 you should be the right person to asl this question, would recommend me buying one? Im a student so looking to keep down on costs :o

What about a Corsa OP ?

Rolli wrote: »
    What about a Corsa OP ?

Id like the car to look nice too ;) Ah Corsa's just aint to my taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

I used to own one of his Fiestas he now has. :)

Would I recommend one? Yeap! Get a 5 door and its extremely versitile!

The other car I would recommend is a 999cc Polo Mk4 or 5. That engine is very fun for what it is and very economical even at motorway speed. The main thing that goes on them is the ignition barrel, but you can fix it quite easily for about 10 euro in parts by installing an ignition switch, I made a thread in the DIY section about it if you want to check it out. The 3 door still has that big car feel too, and a much nicer stereo as standard.

Usual stuff to watch out for on all cars that age, rust, head gasket failure, milage, etc etc.

Best of luck!

barura wrote: »
    I used to own one of his Fiestas he now has. :)

Would I recommend one? Yeap! Get a 5 door and its extremely versitile!

The other car I would recommend is a 999cc Polo Mk4 or 5. That engine is very fun for what it is and very economical even at motorway speed. The main thing that goes on them is the ignition barrel, but you can fix it quite easily for about 10 euro in parts by installing an ignition switch, I made a thread in the DIY section about it if you want to check it out. The 3 door still has that big car feel too, and a much nicer stereo as standard.

Usual stuff to watch out for on all cars that age, rust, head gasket failure, milage, etc etc.

Best of luck!

I'll have a quick look at that thread now thanks. Other than the air con and fog lights is there much difference in the Ghia model?

Don't know personally, it was the engine that mattered, the 1.25 as opposed to the 1.3 dated one!

Oh! And I knew I remembered your name from recently, why are you not dropping to an Alfa 147?

No love for the Fiats from early 00's? :P

Edit: just saw your advert on adverts, that will be a hard song to beat! Full leathers and that 1.8?? College is such a ball breaker for money. :(

Don't know personally, it was the engine that mattered, the 1.25 as opposed to the 1.3 dated one!

Oh! And I knew I remembered your name from recently, why are you not dropping to an Alfa 147?

No love for the Fiats from early 00's? :P

Edit: just saw your advert on adverts, that will be a hard song to beat! Full leathers and that 1.8?? College is such a ball breaker for money. :(

Yeah college is a killer. Would have loved to keep the 156 but the insurance was crazy cause im only 19 :pac: . Never would have got rid of it but ye gotta go with the times. As for the 147 the insurance company offered me a whole €48 back plus the tax and petrol would have been about the same.

Aye!

Check this out: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2738844

I know it's a bad example, I got one of the same year for 350 a few months back myself with longer NCT, I've done abobut 3.5/4kmiles in it, 110k on the clock when I bought it. But that's the 999cc engine as well and this one has done 175kmiles. :) Sorry, but if it's me you're going to ask about a small cheap to run car, I feel the Polo can't be beaten! Or rather, that engine! It's also in the Seat Ibiza and Arosa (if space isn't an issue)! :D

Aye!

Check this out: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2738844

I know it's a bad example, I got one of the same year for 350 a few months back myself with longer NCT, I've done abobut 3.5/4kmiles in it, 110k on the clock when I bought it. But that's the 999cc engine as well and this one has done 175kmiles. :) Sorry, but if it's me you're going to ask about a small cheap to run car, I feel the Polo can't be beaten! Or rather, that engine! It's also in the Seat Ibiza and Arosa (if space isn't an issue)! :D

Well for 350 I dont think you could have gone too far wrong, especially if the car is still running perfectly. Kinda leaning towards the fiesta though, dont think I could drive a 999cc Polo after driving a 1.8 the last 2 years :P

I think I can live with Frugal motoring for the next year. 172 to tax, insurance will drop down next year... NCT will cost about 200 altogether... Yeap! it will be grand for me I think. :D

Having driven both cars, I perfer the Polo, but that's me. It feels more like a car, the Fiesta shifts gears like a van, but that's my opinion. :P

Could anyone tell me if the 1.25 Ghia model is the Zetec 16 valve engine? Im not too sure.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Could anyone tell me if the 1.25 Ghia model is the Zetec 16 valve engine? Im not too sure.

Yep.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Rolli wrote: »
    What about a Corsa OP ?

Desperate yokes.

Suppose I'll keep an eye out on DD for a nice Ghia model so. Thanks for the help. Other than the rust anybody else know of any weak components to look out for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Carstuck

Hi OP,

I have a 00 Fiesta (Zetec) and must say they are a great car. If your buying be careful of rust as it is a problem on them particularly on the door sills and wheel arches. Engine has good poke for a 1.25 and is better I think than other cars in its class. They are very reliable and for me anyway, it has never let me down or broke the bank on repairs!

Good luck :)

Carstuck wrote: »
    Hi OP,

I have a 00 Fiesta (Zetec) and must say they are a great car. If your buying be careful of rust as it is a problem on them particularly on the door sills and wheel arches. Engine has good poke for a 1.25 and is better I think than other cars in its class. They are very reliable and for me anyway, it has never let me down or broke the bank on repairs!

Good luck :)

Thats exactly what I was hoping to hear :D Going to view one possibly tomorrow. Think I'm gonna have to factor in the cost of a timing belt kit and water pump though as I'm pretty sure it hasnt been changed recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Have my eye on a nice 2000 Ghia model with a test till next year. Due a change on the timing belt and water pump though so gonna hav to factor it into the cost though. Pretty sure these engines are due a change every 100,000 miles/10 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Heres my thread on my gearbox problem

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74325974

Pictures of the rust are in the I did something to my car today thread. Currently sorting it by cutting it out and welding pieces in :D

Theres a difference of 3 mpg combined between Fords 1.25 and the Puma 1.7 ;) I get about 35mpgs average.

I'd recommend one if you don't do too much driving, trips to in and out of town and the likes, lovely for short trips :)

As I'm quite tall, I find it a small bit cramped for long distance driving... Hence I prefer driving vans or cars with a bit of room.

The 1.25 is the same across the range, 75ps 16v engine. Avoid the 1.3 like the plague...!