Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

08/09 citreon c5

• 25-11-2011 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭

Hi everybody I am changing the car, After 170,000 miles it Is time to get rid of our Trusty Mondeo, I lost my Job last year so I need to get about 6 to 7 years out of my next buy. I am looking at getting C5 diesel 08 or 09 my budget is about 14000 bucks plus my mondeo as a trade in ( It is an 03 Chia hatchback diesel), I would really like to hear if there are problems with the C5 I should know about as it the last of our money. We live in a very remote area and we have to drive at least once every two weeks to take our child for treatment ( about 60 miles round trip) So I cant afford to get a lemon, Thank you all in advance for help

My best regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Citroen wouldn't have the best reputation for reliability and if you can't afford to get a lemon something Japanese and petrol might be your best bet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bf

We have one in the family (08 from new) and it hasn't given a days problem - 1.6hdi model. Very comfortable car, if a little uninspiring.

You'll easily get one in that budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭Just a Plinker

Thanks lads, For some reason I am not allowed to thank your posts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Isn't 170kmiles nothing in a mondeo? Why not keep it going? If it is running. It's a lot cheaper than 15k!!

barura wrote: »
    Isn't 170kmiles nothing in a mondeo? Why not keep it going? If it is running. It's a lot cheaper than 15k!!

It is getting to stage were I have to keep putting money into it, And the road tax is goining to kill us in the future, We have put 140000 up on it in the last 4 years, So I may as well change it when we still have money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

barura wrote: »

It's nothing in any car if it's been looked after all its life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

166man wrote: »
    Citroen wouldn't have the best reputation for reliability and if you can't afford to get a lemon something Japanese and petrol might be your best bet...

Just like fiat aren't reliable anymore.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

I take it's the current model (launched in 2008) you're looking at? They seem to have improved a lot in terms of build quality in the past few years. Personally I'd go for the 2.0 HDi over the 1.6 - it seems to be a more reliable unit and would be more suited to long journeys, and tax will still only be €300 a year. Unfortunately it doesn't look like there are many 2.0's around here...

Does anyone know did many of the new C5s sell here with Hydractive suspension? Are there particular trim levels that have it, e.g. Exclusive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Hi everybody I am changing the car, After 170,000 miles it Is time to get rid of our Trusty Mondeo, I lost my Job last year so I need to get about 6 to 7 years out of my next buy. I am looking at getting C5 diesel 08 or 09 my budget is about 14000 bucks plus my mondeo as a trade in ( It is an 03 Chia hatchback diesel), I would really like to hear if there are problems with the C5 I should know about as it the last of our money. We live in a very remote area and we have to drive at least once every two weeks to take our child for treatment ( about 60 miles round trip) So I cant afford to get a lemon, Thank you all in advance for help

My best regards
    With respect why are you spending "the last of our money" on a car? You could easily get something reliable for four to five grand. Sure, it might have higher road tax but there's a lot to be said for saving ten grand or so. I know what it's like doing big miles to a hospital but spending that much may not be in your interest given your circumstances right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The current C5 is a fine car, there are no major horror stories with that I am aware of. Like Fiat, Citroen have a reputation from before of making unreliable cars which average Joe seems to have carried over to their newer models which simply isn't true. The laughable thing is that Fiat and Citroen produce some of the best diesel engines available. But what Average Joe doesn't realise is that these engines are fitted to other makes of cars too

I would not even bother using the Mondeo as a trade-in as the trade-in allowance price will be alot lower than if you were to walk in a negotiate a discount for buying straight (no trade-in). Sell the Mondeo privately, even if you only got a grand for it, you will be better off.

But to be honest I think you are mad to be spending that much money when you are out of work and it's your life savings. You could buy a car for less than half that budget and still get 6 or 7 years out of it at least. Spending €14k doesn't guarantee it will be any less troublesome than a car worth €5k.

It was well looked after serviced every 9000 miles, It came in from England originaly but was bought from an Irish garage,The turbo the power steering pump and the front wheel bearings have been replaced just to mention some of the parts, I'm just not going to spend any more money on it,

It's nothing in any car if it's been looked after all its life.

Yep thats the one thanks for the info
    I take it's the current model (launched in 2008) you're looking at? They seem to have improved a lot in terms of build quality in the past few years. Personally I'd go for the 2.0 HDi over the 1.6 - it seems to be a more reliable unit and would be more suited to long journeys, and tax will still only be €300 a year. Unfortunately it doesn't look like there are many 2.0's around here...

Does anyone know did many of the new C5s sell here with Hydractive suspension? Are there particular trim levels that have it, e.g. Exclusive?

I hope I have thanked everybody, Thank you for your replies and opinions, i will let ye all know how I get on

My sincre thanks all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

It was well looked after serviced every 9000 miles, It came in from England originaly but was bought from an Irish garage,The turbo the power steering pump and the front wheel bearings have been replaced just to mention some of the parts, I'm just not going to spend any more money on it,

In all fairness if you have just spent a fortune on it let that be your gain not somebody else's. Run for another couple of thousand miles if it's running strong and has had many parts replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

A 2008 will most likely be in tax band C whereas a 2009 could well be in tax band B. You can tell the difference easily. The band C car will have 17" alloys, the band B car will have 16" alloys and bluetooth as standard.

I've had a few C5s in the last number years and never had a moments bother with any of them.

Don't mind the rubbish that some will spout about Citroën's reliability - it simply isn't true. The 1.6 HDi engine is manufactured and supplied by PSA Peugeot Citroën to Ford, Volvo, Mazda, Suzuki and others. The poor reliability was true 10 years ago but is no longer valid. I've covered more than 250,000kms in various Citroëns in the past five years and haven't even had a bulb blow. Yes, they've been all current year cars but that's my personal experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

If you want the hydractive suspension ( and imo there is no point in buying a large citroen without it:) ) most if not all of the 1.6 models dont have it!
    I cant comment on the newer ones ( ill be buying one after xmas tho :D )
    But i have a 2001 2.0 hdi with over 180k miles on it and its never given any bother ( apart from service items) and while my sisters facelift model 2006 1.6 hdi has the same claimed power output, its gutless with any weight in it.

If you do buy one, find a citroen trained indy, other mechanics just throw their eyes to heaven when they see a car " wit dat funny suspension dat gives loads of trouble" and most of the time havent a clue!!!

The clutch and dmf are just about gone in mine and its due a timing belt change soon,
    together thats more than the auld bus is worth:o thats the only reason for changing.

Mine will be for sale in the new year for fcuk all with a years nct if anyone is interested :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

pred racer wrote: »
    If you want the hydractive suspension ( and imo there is no point in buying a large citroen without it:) ) most if not all of the 1.6 models dont have it!

The Hydractive suspension is only available in the C5 Exclusive. There are some 2.0 VTR+/VTR+NAV/Dynamique C5s out there but they have springs & dampers. Only the Exclusive models have the real Citroën suspension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

crosstownk wrote: »
    The Hydractive suspension is only available in the C5 Exclusive. There are some 2.0 VTR+/VTR+NAV/Dynamique C5s out there but they have springs & dampers. Only the Exclusive models have the real Citroën suspension.

Thanks for that crosstownk, thats what my research had led me to believe, but i wasnt 100%. Ill be looking for a 08-09 exclusive in the new year, might even go estate.