Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miguel Cotto vs. Antonio Margarito

• 25-11-2011 4:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭

Fairly surprised no one has been talking about this considering the controversy surrounding the last fight.

You could argue both were never the same after their previous fight.

Margarito got the head pucked off him against Mosley, though he was caught with the handwraps before the fight so I think this played a part in it also.

Cotto wasn't great against Clottey, got an awful hiding off of Manny, beat a limited and at one stage one legged Yuri Foreman, and intelligently didn't get thrown into a war with Mayorga, who threw extremely wild punches but Mayorga was clearly on his way out.

I'd like Cotto to win solely because I thought he boxed beautifully in the first fight, showed a great chin, and just got overwhelmed. If you take into account the possibility of plaster on the wraps being used, he could have won it.

All in all, genuinely like Cotto as a fighter and would love to see him get revenge.

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

+ 1

He needs to put Margarito away this time so we can look forward to some good bouts with the likes of Alvarez, Williams & the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Really looking forward to this. I like Cotto, and hope he comprehensively beats Margarito, who is an absolute scumbag in my opinion. It should be an action-packed fight, and I'm not sure who I have edging it yet. Probably Cotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

I think Cotto by KO this time .........

Marg has never recovered from the beating Mosley gave him .

Then again , Cotto was never the same since the hiding Mosley gave him ............ pfft !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭The Prodigy 2

Then again , Cotto was never the same since the hiding Mosley gave him ............ pfft !

I think both fighters arn't the same performance wise..

I reckon they'll slug it out till the late rounds and marg will get the late stoppage. the controversy over there last fight wouldn't of made a difference if marg had the false hand wraps on or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

marg you mean. unfair to call it a hiding in that case. hiding makes it sound fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

I think the weight could be a big factor in this, it suits Margacheato more than Cotto. I'd love to see Cotto beat the ****e out of him as he's one of my favourites but i fear for him if it turns into a brawl.
    Cotto doesn't have Steward in his corner for this and he has to get the right tactics right for this as i fear Marg could be too big for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭horsemeat

I think both fighters arn't the same performance wise..

I reckon they'll slug it out till the late rounds and marg will get the late stoppage. the controversy over there last fight wouldn't of made a difference if marg had the false hand wraps on or not

jaysus would you snap out of it. the lad had fuckin concrete in his gloves, what planet are you living on if you think it wouldn't have made a difference. you try getting slapped around by plaster paris and see how much you like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Regardless of whether Margarito had plaster wraps or not, he withstood everything Cotto threw at him. I know he took 2 serious hammerings from Mosely and Pacquiao since so maybe he will have been softened up but Margarito is still one tough hard b'stard. I like Cotto but he will have his hands full again with the big mexicann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

I think it's a fight that should never be happening but one I will definitely be watching.
    I think Marg is scum and think Cotto is both a good fighter to watch and a good character so I really hope Cotto can do it.

I think Margarito will win though, I think Cotto has lost a bit more than Marg since the fight and it will show.
    I think Cotto is mentally weak now and you could see it in the Mayorga fight, there was a fear there when one or 2 rounds went against him, and where Mayorga was messing after the bell he was actively avoiding him if I remember right. Margarito is the wrong fight to be taking if there's any mental weakness there because he beats fighters mentally by always pressing and making them work even when he's taking a beating. Cotto will start well but break down like last time, hope i'm wrong though, he has a chance if he conserves energy and keeps his back off the ropes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

Margarito should have never been allowed fight again but I can just see the same result. Both losses have taken a fair bit out of Cotto.

I do love the 24/7's

horsemeat wrote: »
    jaysus would you snap out of it. the lad had fuckin concrete in his gloves, what planet are you living on if you think it wouldn't have made a difference. you try getting slapped around by plaster paris and see how much you like it.

Cotto finished himself in that fight, marg took his onslaught of punches and he gassed himself... anyone could have finished him with the illegal wraps on or not.

fuckin concrete in his gloves,

plaster and paris to be exact ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

makl wrote: »
    marg you mean.

no .... I meant Mosley !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭horsemeat

fuckin concrete in his gloves,

plaster and paris to be exact ;)

you really aren't the most intelligent individual are you?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

you really aren't the most intelligent individual are you?!

If you're going to be pedantic, you're both wrong. It's plaster of Paris.

For anyone who missed it or wants to catch the 2008 fight again its at this link:
    http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=7289359&categoryid=2491554

Seen Pictures of cottos open workout there few days ago, looks soft and totally out of shape. also seen pics of marg who is lookin solid and is ripped.. is this fight on primetime or boxnation ???? or will i have to find a link. thanks

The fight is on boxnation

If you go to http://myiplayer.com/home.php

Then click on the sports button on the bottom right corner and then there should be a couple of options for links

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

You have to pay for boxnation now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Hope Cotto gets this, not a fan of the character of Margarito, although he is an effective boxer it must be said.

At the same time Cotto is coming off 2 good wins for his confidence and he seems hell bent on beating Margarito as he feels he used those wraps when they fought.

Great card too, hope I find a decent stream that has all the fights

Antonio Margarito vs. Miguel Angel Cotto
    Mike Jones vs. Sebastian Andres Lujan
    Delvin Rodriguez vs. Pawel Wolak
    John Murray vs. Brandon Rios

Yeah I saw that Rios didn't make weight so dunno if the fight with Murray will go ahead

clubwelly wrote: »
    Yeah I saw that Rios didn't make weight so dunno if the fight with Murray will go ahead

Titles only on the line for Murray I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Here's the full first fight if anyone's interested. Nice warm up for tonight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 470 ✭✭Joe Musashi

Both are faded. Margarito`s eye is ****ed and will not last. Cotto by TKO (doctors stoppage). Cotto by stoppage is available at 3/1 too.

http://www.oddschecker.com/boxing-mma/boxing/antonio-margarito-v-miguel-cotto/method-of-victory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

What time is this expected to start tonight lads?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Denners.ie

I would 99% of the time never wish harm on any fighter but I hope Cotto makes Margarito go blind tonight.

What he did was the most disgusting thing ever, should never have been allowed in the ring again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Lads Liveonlinefooty is streaming Boxnation now on channel 2. Fight programme kicks off at 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭omniscient_toad

You can tell they mean business, they're all sitting on their chairs back to front :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

i like cotto,affable bloke. hope he wins. head says he is gonna get his arse kicked though

Hope Cotto kicks the ring out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭doh777

any other streams?

Can't beat the Guru for streams for boxing.

http://www.boxingguru.eu/gurutv1.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭minty16

Guru is a legend. I'm looking forward to this one after watching some build up and the previous fight today. Wasn't too excited before as the future prospects of both fighters are not that great. However, I'm now super up for this one. Huge Q's about Margo, his integrity and general personality too, but hand wraps or no hand wraps , the shots he took from Cotto early in the previous fight were as good as Cotto could give. He is genuinely determined to redeem some sort of rep here, but whether he can or not is another thing. The eye is another serious Q over Margo. I predict a Cotto points win, but I am not like others hoping he 'blinds' Margo. It will be a 'clean' fight tonight, If Margo wins fairly then I'll say fair play to him for getting his career back on track.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Liveonlinefooty also showin it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Holy **** - Did anyone see that last round between Wolak and Rodriguez? I've never seen someone take so much punishment and still standing. WOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

dlofnep wrote: »
    Holy **** - Did anyone see that last round between Wolak and Rodriguez? I've never seen someone take so much punishment and still standing. WOW

Wolak has a chin like a slab of iron.

Ridiculous display of chin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

murray doing well, hope it keeps it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

any good stream?,the boxnation link isnt great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Murray is getting picked apart now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

Liveonlinefooty also showin it!

What channel is it on?

BigCon wrote: »
    What channel is it on?

The boxing guru one is perfect for me...

Great night of boxing so far, Murray did well, just didn't have the power to trouble Rios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Denners.ie

Story with Buncey's gear?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭richierichballs

XmeForums.com, 2.60euro for a HD stream of the fight!

HBO version aswell....
    Fighters making entrances now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

fuuuuuucking come on miggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

liveonlinefooty down for anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Samrat65870

Thanks for posting

Exclusive posting for me.

Informative posting. Should be visited & read.