Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Goal Mile 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

I've never done one of these. Would they be viable pb attempt (sub 5) races or just a joke race fun day out for the family?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I've never done one of these. Would they be viable pb attempt (sub 5)

Well the limerick one is on the track, so why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

I've never done one of these. Would they be viable pb attempt (sub 5) races or just a joke race fun day out for the family?

Only ever seen coverage of the belfield one on the RTE News and it didn't seem possible based on the crowds. Was more a fun run it looked like. Not sure if there is a window of opportunity though for proper runners?? Others might know more or it might vary depending on locations. Some of them look like they are held maybe on GAA pitches etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Guess it depends on the specific event - e.g. whether it is on a track or a few laps of a football pitch or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Some of those locations seem to have a single race - eg, the Antrim race is at 10am - which obviously won't work if you're trying to set a fast time.
    But if you're going to the UL track, they have two hours of races. Get there early for the first one - or wait to the second race if lots of people are there at 11 - and you should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Nialler73

I've done 2 of these - 1st one was on the UCD track and there wasn't a snowballs chance in hell of a pb attempt as it was a big family fun run with a great atmosphere. 2nd one was in UL Limerick and I had the track to myself... Couldn't believe the contrast...UL might have been busy earlier in the day but there wasn't a sinner when i was there bar the organisers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

menoscemo wrote: »
    Well the limerick one is on the track, so why not?

Christmas Eve pints in the local that's why :D Might give it a lash hungover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I was only at a the UCD one once, and it was organized very well, cones on outside of lane2, and if you were a runner you got to stay inside the cones! And there certainly would be a decent standard in some of the race, few sub 4.30 wins!! I'll admit some of the other races around the country are just for fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Christmas Eve pints in the local that's why :D Might give it a lash hungover.

Will sharpen you up for the 10 miler the next day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

In Irishtown 2008 there was an 'elite' race where all the best lads got together to race. Every chance of getting a PB in that.

Set my own PB that day - 6.58 [URL="javascript:emoticon(':ph43r:')"]ninja.gif[/URL]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

The normal procedure for the bigger venues is that Miles are run off every 15 to 20 minutes. The prime intent of these Goal miles is to raise funds for Goal, while at the same time providing 'a bit of of divarshun' on Christmas Day :), so you'll get all ages and abilities out - and many won't have a clue how to behave on a track - lane discipline?? What's that??:rolleyes:.

The upshot of this is that you'll probably need to plan/schedule your race. Many of the venues try to accommodate a few fast miles, aimed at people trying to 'get a mile time'. When are these run? Dunno - it varies. I'd suggest coming early or late, so some of the middle ones are mass participation events, with maybe 100/150 people in them :eek: - Imagine an IAAF mile event with that number!! In my best Goal mile (5:09 - ancient history - 1989), I had to lap a large family group jogging and spread right across all 8 lanes! :mad:

Bottom line: It's a fun event, but you may still be able to satisfy your goal (pun intended!) of a fast time and also have good craic. Either way, I recommend going along.

Hoping to run my 28th consecutive Goal mile this year. (Missed the first year (1983) as I didn't take up running until the following year)......see you all there!!

Venues Note: In some places the Goal Mile is run on Dec 26th, while most are on Christmas Day.