Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do LyingAir Staff get rewarded for screwing people out of money ?

• 23-11-2011 10:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭

Bit of a rant , myself and my girlfriend were travelling from Edinburgh to Dublin a few days ago , at the boarding desk they ( Irelands leading low-cost airline , lets call them hmm….. Lying Air) them stopped my gf because she is Canadian and had not got a visa stamp on her boarding card , now we have flown this route 4 – 5 times this year and this is the first time we were asked for this even though they claim it is 100% consistent and they get fined 2k if it is not complete every time. They would not let her on the flight and said they would not hold the door even though we had enough time to get downstairs and back without even delay as we were 1st in line in the Q , we asked could they complete the check and they could not as they did not have the required technology which was a stamp, we saw the check on the way back and the guy literally flipped open and closed the passport and stamped the card with a barely legible blue ink blot. I would nt have minded if they were polite about it but they were extremely rude and abrasive. No sooner had they refused us but they were shoving the next available fight down our throats at a rebooking cost of 220 pounds before we even said we needed to rebook. Have these people no sense of decency or any moral compass what so ever or is it a prerequisite to be a cold hearted p***k to work for them. On the way back I saw them screw an elderly lady(around 75 +) over cause her bag was ever so slightly over the weight allowance , I mean , comon have a heart people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

El Jefe wrote: »
    Bit of a rant , myself and my girlfriend were travelling from Edinburgh to Dublin a few days ago , at the boarding desk they ( Irelands leading low-cost airline , lets call them hmm….. Lying Air) them stopped my gf because she is Canadian and had not got a visa stamp on her boarding card , now we have flown this route 4 – 5 times this year and this is the first time we were asked for this even though they claim it is 100% consistent and they get fined 2k if it is not complete every time. They would not let her on the flight and said they would not hold the door even though we had enough time to get downstairs and back without even delay as we were 1st in line in the Q , we asked could they complete the check and they could not as they did not have the required technology which was a stamp, we saw the check on the way back and the guy literally flipped open and closed the passport and stamped the card with a barely legible blue ink blot. I would nt have minded if they were polite about it but they were extremely rude and abrasive. No sooner had they refused us but they were shoving the next available fight down our throats at a rebooking cost of 220 pounds before we even said we needed to rebook. Have these people no sense of decency or any moral compass what so ever or is it a prerequisite to be a cold hearted p***k to work for them. On the way back I saw them screw an elderly lady(around 75 +) over cause her bag was ever so slightly over the weight allowance , I mean , comon have a heart people.
    Did they screw you out of your "Return" key, too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Ryanair only screw money out of people who are prepared to pay it to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

On the way back I saw them screw an elderly lady(around 75 +)

B*stards! Hope they used lube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭El Jefe

orourkeda wrote: »
    Ryanair only screw money out of people who are prepared to pay it to them.

Well we argued with them for around 20 mins and they would budge , we had to get home so what else could we do ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Quite right too, there are too many foreigners in this country without letting in illegal immigrants as well.

(Rabble rabble Bloody foreigners rabble rabble)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

If you have the option not to fly with them then dont.

Personally, I know that when booking Ryanair you got to be prepared to pay over the odds if your bag is over weight by a fraction or if it has to get checked in instead of been allowed on the plane.

In your case, if they have processed the boarding card in the past it is a bitter pill to swallow but you live and learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

On the way back I saw them screw an elderly lady(around 75 +) comon have a heart people.

Even little old ladies need to get screwed the odd time. Pity it was not the mile high club, really make her day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

A Niece of a family member works for Ryanair and she get's commission for every hand luggage bag she makes someone check in.

Evil bitch.

I never said they were wrong , I said it is not consistent cause we were never asked for it before and the way they acted the ignorant P***ks, they could have completed the Mickey Mouse check there but wouldnt cause it is more money for them

yes they are unhelpful but you should have made sure your documents were in order.

smash wrote: »
    A Niece of a family member works for Ryanair and she get's commission for every hand luggage bag she makes someone check in.

Evil bitch.

Is this just in the UK?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Barely legibly OP
    El Weirdo wrote: »
    Sarky comment

Looks like we were all set up for a Mexican standoff here. Disappointing the way it turned out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

So basically, it is their fault that your girlfriend didn't have the legally required visa stamp?

Right.

Also, the airline does get fined if they allow someone into the country without a correct visa, so each time your girlfriend came over without the stamp, she was attempting to screw over the airline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

I had a similar experience with them in May, 11 of us were going to Disneyland Paris. We get to security and the girl starts telling us we've liquids in our bag, grand I said put that in the hold and we'll carry the rest as hand luggage. She started taking bottles out saying sure by the time you've paid the €40 you'd have those things bought in the chemist etc... (she was trying to be helpful)

Anyway because we got to the gate a bit late it was closed, the plane was sitting there with people still getting on and there was staff still at the departures. We are standing there with a bunch of crying kids and no way would they open it, they said 'You'll have to rebook tickets for the next flight out at a cost of €100 per head' This was half six in the morning, the next flight was at half seven that night and we were only going for 3 days. We couldn't possibly turn around and go home so had to sit it out in the airport. :mad:

So many different staff at the airport told us if we were booked with any other operator we would have been left on but that that company are just waiting for when they can make their extra cash.

reprazant wrote: »
    So basically, it is their fault that your girlfriend didn't have the legally required visa stamp?

Right.

Also, the airline does get fined if they allow someone into the country without a correct visa, so each time your girlfriend came over without the stamp, she was attempting to screw over the airline.

Can you read dude , i never said they were wrong , and thats not my gripe , read posts before you reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

there's huge ryanair bashing thread on here somewhere. now this rant is stealing server space from a good recession or catholic church yarn. why would you do that, OP, why?

hondasam wrote: »
    Is this just in the UK?

No it's everywhere. They're notorious for it at Malaga airport. I know a lot of people who've been done when the staff refused to even measure the bags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

jackie1974 wrote: »
    I had a similar experience with them in May, 11 of us were going to Disneyland Paris. We get to security and the girl starts telling us we've liquids in our bag, grand I said put that in the hold and we'll carry the rest as hand luggage. She started taking bottles out saying sure by the time you've paid the €40 you'd have those things bought in the chemist etc... (she was trying to be helpful)

Anyway because we got to the gate a bit late it was closed, the plane was sitting there with people still getting on and there was staff still at the departures. We are standing there with a bunch of crying kids and no way would they open it, they said 'You'll have to rebook tickets for the next flight out at a cost of €100 per head' This was half six in the morning, the next flight was at half seven that night and we were only going for 3 days. We couldn't possibly turn around and go home so had to sit it out in the airport. :mad:

So many different staff at the airport told us if we were booked with any other operator we would have been left on but that that company are just waiting for when they can make their extra cash.

The problem is, they let you on and then someone else turns up who they also have to let on.

Next thing they know, the flight is late and this has a knock on effect on the other 8 flights that plane will make that day.

Suddenly, the 10:30 flight from Gatwick to Dublin is one hour late and everyone is giving out about Lyingair.

They have an excellent punctuality record for a reason.

Can you read dude , i never said they were wrong , and thats not my gripe , read posts before you reply

I read it. You were in the wrong. You got away with it before but not this time.

Then you stood there complaining for over 20 minutes instead of going straight back to get it stamped.

Maybe if you hadn't stood there complaining, you would have had time to get back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

chin_grin wrote: »

B*stards! Hope they used lube.

Not needed at that age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Sounds like ye made two feck ups.

1: Trying to bring liquids on as hand luggage - surely you can't be unaware of this rule.
    2: not allowing enough time to get to the boarding gate - compounded by the self imposed delay you suffered due to point 1.

Don't really see why it's the airlines fault - is it just easier to blame them than yourselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Did you not know that liquids greater than 100ml are not allowed on the plane? Its been like that for years now. There are signs up at the check in desks, the security check, and the gate saying you cant have liquid in your bag.

Also, how many bottles did you have that the girl in security taking them out and binning them caused you to be 'a bit' late to the gate. Sounds like you were cutting it fine before that.

Don't really see why it's the airlines fault - is it just easier to blame them than yourselves?

These seems to always the case.

And the staff weren't nice as you angrily demanded to be put on the flight even though the have rules and regulations from both their bosses and airports about what they can/can't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

So let's see, you don't follow the rules for security by trying to bring on liquids and this made you miss your flight - that was your fault through ignorance of the security rules and leaving it way too tight to make your flight. Totally your own fault, nothing to do with Ryanair.

By the way I've been left behind for an Aer Lingus flight before, my own fault, very annoyed but at myself where the blame lay not with Aer Lingus.

They can remain punctual with out being total p***ks and trying to screw you over at every opp , like training one of their highly skilled staff to hold a stamp and glance at a passport at the boarding desk as well as check in. Irish travel is an absolute joke , Irish rail tell you their prices online but keep it hidden that they are double the cost if you dont book online , then when you get to the station you cant book online unless its 90 minutes before departure so then you have to pay double, Air Fungus baggage allowance is a joke , i saw 7 people get screwed with the baggage allowance cause the details lead you to believe opnoe thing when it is not , i asked the customer service rep why they dont change the description on the website if so many people get it wrong and in fairness she gave me this look as if tho say , why do you think , cause they make thousands everyday with the extra costs, Fuppin joke , is Irish Travel

You left it to late to check in, you only have yourself to blame, liquids in your luggage, seriously, pack better next time.
    You paid the extra and sat in the airport, more fool you.

reprazant wrote: »
    I read it. You were in the wrong. You got away with it before but not this time.

Then you stood there complaining for over 20 minutes instead of going straight back to get it stamped.

Maybe if you hadn't stood there complaining, you would have had time to get back?

Christ Man , learn to read , go back through the posts. Matt Daaaaamon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

I had a similar experience with them in May, 11 of us were going to Disneyland Paris. We get to security and the girl starts telling us we've liquids in our bag, grand I said put that in the hold and we'll carry the rest as hand luggage. She started taking bottles out saying sure by the time you've paid the €40 you'd have those things bought in the chemist etc... (she was trying to be helpful).............
    Schoolboy error! By now everyone knows the crack with the liquids.

And being "a little" late at the gate.
    One the gate is declared closed,
    a) the staff to escort/ direct passengers to the plane on the apron are sent somewhere else and are no longer there to get you to the plane
    b) the cabin crew are told theres no more passengers, the doors on the plane are shut and inside the plane the departure routine is started by the cabin crew.
    c) the stairs are drawn back from the aircraft

Just because theres a few shams scratching their hole at the gate doesnt mean its actually possible for you to get safely to, or physically onto, a plane thats still on the apron in front of you.

(and OP, I have sympathy for your cause seeing as Ryanair just invented a procedure unique to themselves that most people would never think of checking - well not till now anyhow!)

Schoolboy error! By now everyone knows the crack with the liquids.

And being "a little" late at the gate.
    One the gate is declared closed,
    a) the staff to escort/ direct passengers to the plane on the apron are sent somewhere else and are no longer there to get you to the plane
    b) the cabin crew are told theres no more passengers, the doors on the plane are shut and inside the plane the departure routine is started by the cabin crew.
    c) the stairs are drawn back from the aircraft

Just because theres a few shams scratching their hole at the gate doesnt mean its actually possible for you to get safely to, or physically onto, a plane thats still on the apron in front of you.

(and OP, I have sympathy for your cause seeing as Ryanair just invented a procedure unique to themselves that most people would never think of checking - well not till now anyhow!)

yea , i think it is unique to them , wont get caught again , How do i thank posts by the way , newish to this site

OSI wrote: »
    Yes, because they artificially inflate the expected flight time to make it appear that they are arriving early/on-time when in fact the flight always takes that long.

Have been on a couple of Ryanair flight where they have left 15-20 minutes late and still arrived before the expected arrival time.

Damn right , left 10 mins late the other night and got there 10 ins early. Flight time is 1hour when in reality it is around 45 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

Yes I do know the liquids rule, we were prepared to put the bag in the hold and pay the extra no problem and it wasn't my bag just for the record ;).

Yes I did underestimate the distance from security to the boarding gates, I have always flown out of Cork where the distance is tiny so was totally taken aback at the lenght of time it took in Dublin. So yep that was definitely my own fault.

I think they could have opened the gate, there was still people on the apron and boarding the plane, one of the girls at the gate ran over to the ryanair desk to ask her supervisor but he refused.

@ hondasam I paid the extra because I didn't want my children to be bitterly disappointed, that doesn't make me a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

They have an excellent punctuality record for a reason.

They have an excellent punctuality record because they allow for a massive delay before they consider a flight to be late.

I've flown with Ryanair loads of times, on my own and with kids - never had any problems.

Most people who have complaints about them seem to be the ones who were initially in the wrong, whether that was having a bag over the weight limit or being late for check-in.

I know they're probably sticklers for the rules and this annoys people, but if you make sure you have all your stuff in order before you head to the airport and allow enough time for check in/ security, then you'll probably not have any problems.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

I was charged for checking my bag in even though it fit in their cage thingy and was under the 10kg limit. Yer wan said it was "too tight".

How do you explain that one?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

OSI wrote: »
    Yes, because they artificially inflate the expected flight time to make it appear that they are arriving early/on-time when in fact the flight always takes that long.

Have been on a couple of Ryanair flight where they have left 15-20 minutes late and still arrived before the expected arrival time.

I dont care. On the flight itinerary it says Lands at 18.15. The plane lands at 18.15, so if I have a connecting flight or a bus to catch I can reliably catch it. I don't care how they do it, they are always on time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Simply write to them and explain the situation. Explain that you are aware that they are required to verify the stamp each time so you feel it is your civic duty to report them for the 4 previous flights you took in which they failed to verify the stamp and let an improperly documented alien through to the flight. Then report them for these lapses. Might as well stick it to the *****.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

They have an excellent punctuality record because they allow for a massive delay before they consider a flight to be late.

Which is a sensible approach, and one a lot of passengers could do with copying.

jenizzle wrote: »
    I was charged for checking my bag in even though it fit in their cage thingy and was under the 10kg limit. Yer wan said it was "too tight".

Presume she felt that the amount of stuff you'd crammed in your bag was exerting such force on the closing mechanism, that it was likely not to be contained over the duration of the flight - i.e you bag was probably going to explode at 20,000 feet showering fellow passangers with your personel belongings.

jenizzle wrote: »

This happens too often. Last time I saw it happening I told the girl to take a photo and show it to the customer service desk at the other side.

Unfortunately they will never give a refund or even entertain a complaint. They'll just give you the phone number for the trading standards authority and tell them to take your complaint elsewhere.

I know they're probably sticklers for the rules and this annoys people, but if you make sure you have all your stuff in order before you head to the airport and allow enough time for check in/ security, then you'll probably not have any problems.

Good advice,the airport seems to bring out the worst in some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

Yes I do know the liquids rule, we were prepared to put the bag in the hold and pay the extra no problem and it wasn't my bag just for the record ;).

Yes I did underestimate the distance from security to the boarding gates, I have always flown out of Cork where the distance is tiny so was totally taken aback at the lenght of time it took in Dublin. So yep that was definitely my own fault.

I think they could have opened the gate, there was still people on the apron and boarding the plane, one of the girls at the gate ran over to the ryanair desk to ask her supervisor but he refused.

@ hondasam I paid the extra because I didn't want my children to be bitterly disappointed, that doesn't make me a fool.

Even if there were people still boarding at this time, the flight was closed. You were never going to get on.

The paper work had been completed. If they let you on the dispatcher would have to do new paperwork for the pilot. This would have caused an unacceptable delay.

Just get to the gate on time. It's not that difficult.

I feel sorry for the poor children and their disappointment but it was all caused by the parents and not by the airline.

MagicSean wrote: »
    Simply write to them and explain the situation. Explain that you are aware that they are required to verify the stamp each time so you feel it is your civic duty to report them for the 4 previous flights you took in which they failed to verify the stamp and let an improperly documented alien through to the flight. Then report them for these lapses. Might as well stick it to the *****.

Was considering doing this , but whats the point , would have to look for the other boarding passes and i dont thinkmy gf would have kept these. As people have said , you live and learn, will avoid them in future cause of this but will double check EVERYTHING if i do have to travel with them , whats the saying "Buy cheap, pay twice"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭AfterDusk

See the little box you ticked when you were booking your flight? That means you read and agreed to all the T&Cs of travel. Therefore, if you don't have the correct documentation/VISA stamp, your bag is too big, you don't print off your boarding pass or any other number of complaints anyone may have about Ryanair are null and void.

If you break those T&Cs, you face the concequences. If you tick the box without reading or at least knowing the basics, well more fool you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

hondasam wrote: »
    smash wrote: »

Evil bitch.

Is this just in the UK?

Nope, a mates bird worked on check-in for them in Dublin, and she once got a bollocking from her supervisor for not charging enough people for offences and was hence affecting the supervisors commission.

So in dub, its not the folks on the desk, but their boss who get a taste for every charge added on

I will never get caught by Ryanair for extra charges... I just know it will never happen to me and I absolutely love that feeling when reading threads like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I love it when people complain that becasue somebody didn't do their job right before the next people shouldn't do it right either. It's not like a company issue out orders to correct procedures that are not being followed.

Ryan Air are a fine. For years people being incosiderate or stupid have casued flight prices to be more expensive than need be. A company came in and now punish people for making mistakes so I don't have to pay for it. I say great. I want cheap flights leaving on time. Used to fly a lot with work and Ryan Air fly on time unlike most other air lines.

Aerlingus used to charge an extra €200 for a newspaper and a hot brekfast which is what 1st class was going to London. No extra leg room a curtain was up for about 45 minutes which moved depending on the number of 1st class passengers.

neil2304 wrote: »
    See the little box you ticked when you were booking your flight? That means you read and agreed to all the T&Cs of travel. Therefore, if you don't have the correct documentation/VISA stamp, your bag is too big, you don't print off your boarding pass or any other number of complaints anyone may have about Ryanair are null and void.

If you break those T&Cs, you face the concequences. If you tick the box without reading or at least knowing the basics, well more fool you.

Its not a question of this , its the matter of Ryanair accomadating people when they are under pressure. Its a fact of life that people make mistakes ,everyone does and when travelling these mistakes can put people under huge pressure/stress. As a service provider in the TRAVEL industry Ryanair should make an effort to help instead of looking at each situaion and saying , right , someone is in a tricky spot here , how can i fcuk up their day even more , possibly ruin a trip/holiday and make even more money for my alreay wealthy boss and a few extra Bob for , what kind of person , company operates this way .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

, one of the girls at the gate ran over to the ryanair desk to ask her supervisor but he refused.

Seems they tried their best to accomodate you. Also, the girl gave you good advice at the check in desk, not sure why you brought that story up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Its not a question of this , its the matter of Ryanair accomadating people when they are under pressure. Its a fact of life that people make mistakes ,everyone does and when travelling these mistakes can put people under huge pressure/stress. As a service provider in the TRAVEL industry Ryanair should make an effort to help instead of looking at each situaion and saying , right , someone is in a tricky spot here , how can i fcuk up their day even more , possibly ruin a trip/holiday and make even more money for my alreay wealthy boss and a few extra Bob for , what kind of person , company operates this way .

and what if it had taken 20 minutes to go get the stamp. or you decided to stop for the toilet on the way back, after they had promised to hold the plane for you? They don't know what will happen, its not their problem, they have to stick to the rules.