Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Seems expensive for a soon to be 9 year old car.
    If service history stacks up it's mint, I can see the speak, but 4 grand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭shaunie007

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Seems expensive for a soon to be 9 year old car.
    If service history stacks up it's mint, I can see the speak, but 4 grand?

Anything in this country is either clocked or in bits to be honest. I've been trawling dd for the last month, and i cant find anything as good..

Does it have to be a passat?

Ireland has a serious vw horn.

Does it have to be a passat?

Ireland has a serious vw horn.

I hear ya... I like them, and I've driven a number of them, 130bhp, and I like the drive and the idea if that if the tb is done, that for four k I'll have a car that will do me for 5 years.

That would be the plan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

shaunie007 wrote: »
    I hear ya... I like them, and I've driven a number of them, 130bhp, and I like the drive and the idea if that if the tb is done, that for four k I'll have a car that will do me for 5 years.

That would be the plan

I reckon you're doing ok there. I've sold a lot of them for that kinda dosh - great car that will do monster milage.
    ask the delaer for the mot test no from the mot cert and with that (and the reg) go to the directgov website and do a mot history check (for free) - and check old milages at mot dates and old advisories etc.....can be very revealing and usefull.

good luck:)

MidlandsM wrote: »
    I reckon you're doing ok there. I've sold a lot of them for that kinda dosh - great car that will do monster milage.
    ask the delaer for the mot test no from the mot cert and with that (and the reg) go to the directgov website and do a mot history check (for free) - and check old milages at mot dates and old advisories etc.....can be very revealing and usefull.

good luck:)

Cheers mate, I didnt know any of that.

Would ya have any more knocking around for that spec/cash??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Cheers mate, I didnt know any of that.

Would ya have any more knocking around for that spec/cash??

Its a very clean looking car from the pics but its a tad dear even if they are making that money. That same dealer has a 07 Accord for 2k more.

I had one of those passats from nearly new and I put 190K on it with no major problems.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Its a very clean looking car from the pics but its a tad dear even if they are making that money. That same dealer has a 07 Accord for 2k more.

I had one of those passats from nearly new and I put 190K on it with no major problems.

I dont know anything about the tax system in the uk, but here it would cost a small fortune...

Did you have any trouble with the front suspension system in yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A 05 Highline here for £500 more:

http://www.usedcarsni.com/79278465

How come it's only 5 speed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Dear alright! :/

I dont know anything about the tax system in the uk, but here it would cost a small fortune...

Did you have any trouble with the front suspension system in yours?

Tax here would be 800 ish. I had to replace the whole front suspension on it but its not that big of a job for a good mechanic and the parts are fairly cheap aswell.

That Uk one will be due a timing belt change in 20k miles which will cost 450 euros..

How come it's only 5 speed?

The 110 bhp versions were 5 speed.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    The 110 bhp versions were 5 speed.

Advertised as 130

bazz26 wrote: »
    A 05 Highline here for £500 more:

http://www.usedcarsni.com/79278465

Man, it's £500 and there isn't a sign of a service history.

Plus, you cant forget the beautiful vrt...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

An 03 passat will have daycent/affordable vrt, which is what I think you want.

a good 03 passat with reasonable miles will cost you 4k here privately (or cheaper for a higher miler rougher one), so you're going to pay no more than you will buying here but the uk car is far more historically verifiable imho.

OP, I've nothing in stock to suit you as I type (good 2nd hand diesels are selling so fast) but I'm going to the uk this afternoon and will pm you if i aquire one to suit your budget.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    An 03 passat will have daycent/affordable vrt, which is what I think you want.

a good 03 passat with reasonable miles will cost you 4k here privately (or cheaper for a higher miler rougher one), so you're going to pay no more than you will buying here but the uk car is far more historically verifiable imho.

OP, I've nothing in stock to suit you as I type (good 2nd hand diesels are selling so fast) but I'm going to the uk this afternoon and will pm you if i aquire one to suit your budget.

Cheers dude, but im after agreeing £2650 for this as the guy sold the other one because i wasnt willing to give him a deposit.

What do you think of it? http://www.usedcarsni.com/82127970

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Basic model, golf alloys. Looks clean but I'd go for a higher spec in one.

EPM wrote: »
    Basic model, golf alloys. Looks clean but I'd go for a higher spec in one.

I dont care at this stage, im done!!

Six weeks of ringing every cowboy in the country...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I dont care at this stage, im done!!

Six weeks of ringing every cowboy in the country...

Its a car you'll have for a few years. It takes time. Have you looked at Skoda Superbs? Identical cars, just longer.

EPM wrote: »
    Its a car you'll have for a few years. It takes time. Have you looked at Skoda Superbs? Identical cars, just longer.

I have, but again I've benn hitting the same problems i.e. crashed, belong to scumbags etc..

I'd be hoping to maybe sell in on/up grade it soon when there is no pressure on me to do so, as at the moment I've no tax or nct on my own yoke!!!

Plus, I'm hopeful of MidlandsM coming up with something for me..;)