Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Had a knock and need advice.

• 22-11-2011 4:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Had a knock on the Nass road on the 24th September. Nothing major just moving off and hit the car in front at what must have been 2mph.

No damage to my 98 passat apart from a cracked number plate, and no aparent damage to the other car ( 2006 fiesta )

Got out anyway. Talked for a few mins gave my Name, address, phone number and that I was with axa. Didnt give my policy details.

She pointed out that there was marks on her bumper that were already there and that there was nothing else but would have the car checked and get back to me anyway.

Heard nothing for about three weeks then got a phone call saying that there was a problem with the boot not closing right and that she will leave it in for a quote. Was thinking couple of hundred with a panel beater.

Again nothing for about 3 weeks then got a letter this morning aparently from the mechanic quoting €1500 for repair work.

Which includes brand new rear bumper, inner panal and 16 hours of labour @€;48 p/h coming to almost €800 in labour alone :eek:

I'm 21 and cant afford to lose my NCB as i need car for work but wont be able to pay €1500 ATM.

Yes it was my fault and I'm willing to pay to put things right but I really think I'm being taken for a ride here!

What can I do? If im paying out that kinda money can I get a second opinion from my own mechanic that I know will be at least a thousand cheaper based on work ive had done before.

Sorry for the long post but this has me worried now. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭kdevitt

95jag wrote: »
    What can I do? If im paying out that kinda money can I get a second opinion from my own mechanic that I know will be at least a thousand cheaper based on work ive had done before.

Not much - you can appeal to her better nature and ask her to try some other garages for cheaper quotes?

You can get your insurance company involved, and then pay the final bill yourself to avoid losing your NCB but she will have the final say on who does the repair work. They will send out their own assessor if they feel the price for repair is way off - but 1500 isn't a huge amount for them for a final settlement, and I'd kind of be grateful at this stage that she doesn't have a sore neck.

Since she has your contact details, I don't think it matters too much that you didn't give out your policy details - you're hardly going to refuse to provide them if / when she does ask for them? You're also obliged to tell your insurance company eitherway - and I'm fairly certain she still has 2 years to submit a personal injury claim if she wanted to. Ireland has a rather litigious society these days unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

This is what you have insurance for - use it for this claim, yes your premium will go up but if you pay it monthly then you don't have to pay the full amount at once, which you say you can't afford anyway.

You're going to be paying it one way or the other, the choice is really whether you pay it all at once, or in instalments via increased premiums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

This is what you have insurance for
    Exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Yup inform your insurance company at least - even if you don't claim, it'll send you up **** creek if you don't tell them and she decides she has a sore neck down the road.

€1500 seems like a lot, but it's really not when it comes to a repair job - I had a wee tip about 18 months ago, and the other car didn't look damaged at all, but it took €700 to set it right and that was a '98 106 or something.

At the end of the day, you may feel like she's taking you for a ride (and she MAY be), but you're the one who cracked into the back of her and you have to set it right regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭pog it

A guy drove into the back of my old polo in Galway a few years ago and it was a pretty good whack but I got out and checked everything and there were just a few extra scratches so I didn't pursue it. We exchanged details and the guy sent me 50 euro in the post to fix the scratches. Being honest I think that this is pretty mean of this person. They could easily have asked for another quotation or two instead of this rip off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

pog it wrote: »
    A guy drove into the back of my old polo in Galway a few years ago and it was a pretty good whack but I got out and checked everything and there were just a few extra scratches so I didn't pursue it. We exchanged details and the guy sent me 50 euro in the post to fix the scratches. Being honest I think that this is pretty mean of this person. They could easily have asked for another quotation or two instead of this rip off.

Suck it up. You were at fault.

At the very least you have greatly inconvenienced the other driver, the least you can do is see her car is put right.

And, inform your Insurance company. If she makes a personal injuries claim they could be within their rights to walk away from it if you have not informed them.

Some insurance companies will settle such claims and allow you pay it back in full, thereby restoring your NCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭php-fox

The main thing she should be interested in is getting the car fixed.
    If you're paying for it you should find your own mechanic and get it fixed yourself. Otherwise she'll add a sunny holiday on top of the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

She will want the car as it was pre collision, this may mean for resale value she will insist on a Ford main dealer doing the repairs. You should get a quote for the damage from a mechanic you suggest to see how far off the price is, I'd imagine though if the boot isn't opening correctly that there is a fair amount of damage done and you would realistically be looking at little change of €1k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Sounds like a scam ! I'd be willing to bet that the Fiesta won't see anything near the 1500 quoted if any of it at all ! I'd call her bluff and ask to see the faulty boot lid and bumper before handing over the money. Hard to comprehend how such a low speed tap could cause that much damage to a boot lid ?

Is it possible to request that you pay the mechanic directly after you've seen the repairs and the damaged parts ? May make her rethink it ?!

Ken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 95jag

Thanks for the advice lads.

I do accept its my fault and will get the car fixed at the end of the day so thats no problem.

Although I will defo ask my mechanic for a second opinion. Not a chance in hell am I handing over that much without more than one quote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

If i were yourself i wouldve had the gardai at the scene.

she probaby had a friend of relative tell her what she could rip from you.

why a new bumper when she said that was ok already ?

go see the car with you mechanic and see if its the same or near enough same damage. whats to say she didnt reverse into a wall/car herself ?

or the mechanic she chose is a "friend of a friend" etc.

either way this sounds dodgy indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

As previous poster said make sure you cover yourself against a possible future injury claim

'get your insurance company involved, and then pay the final bill yourself to avoid losing your NCB but she will have the final say on who does the repair work. They will send out their own assessor if they feel the price for repair is way off - but 1500 isn't a huge amount for them for a final settlement, and I'd kind of be grateful at this stage that she doesn't have a sore neck'

my advice is based on being on both sides of this situation in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

My advice to anyone would be to have a disposable camera in your glovebox. And take as many photos as possible no matter how small a collision, even when no damage caused.

Only way of proving damage which was caused at the scene and not at a later stage. Non digital photos are always considered more reliable than digital images.

If the victim sees you taking photos it would also make them think twice about messing about with dodgy claims or quotes.