Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beers 26th Nov- location location location!

• 21-11-2011 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭

Ok all, as per this thread the LGBT Pre-Christmas Beers aka NOVEMBEERS are due to take place this Saturday night (26th). The location hadn't been decided on, so here we go. I have taken a note of the locations posited in the original thread, so could those of you who are coming, stick down your choice(s)? I am going home for the weekend so I might not be able to make it to the very start, so if someone could volunteer to be there around 8pm with a sign and nab some tables, that'd be great (TBH I prob will be, just in case there's a train malfunction or something...)

An FYI, Klub Diva for the ladies is on that night in the Turks Head, and I plan to head there with some friends after beers, so if any of the females want to come along, please do!

You can vote for as many options in the poll as you want.

Where should the beers take place? 22 votes

Messers Maguire
    0% 0 votes
    The Grand Social
    31% 7 votes
    The Workmans
    31% 7 votes
    The Front Lounge
    36% 8 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

6 votes for each location - yis have to be akward on here dont ya :pac:

Wish I could go but have a birthday thing on that night :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

6 votes for each location - yis have to be akward on here dont ya :pac:

Wish I could go but have a birthday thing on that night :(

Awwww... The Front Lounge has inched ahead, I think whatever is it ahead this time tomorrow night wins!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Vote messers! Well I'll be in the Grand Social with my Oreo bark having a silent protest :cool:

Front Lounge seems to be the spot!

I hope to be back up in the city to be there at 8- I can't gaurentee this though. But I'll do my best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Donnaghm

So the front lounge wins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I won't be there. Someone needs to print something that makes it very clear that it's a boards.ie table

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Does that mean there are 32 people attending? That's a good turn out!

stephen_n wrote: »
    Does that mean there are 32 people attending? That's a good turn out!

No. The poll was multiple choice. Some people also just vote in polls with no intention of turning up.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

No. The poll was multiple choice. Some people also just vote in polls with no intention of turning up.

Shouldn't really vote to decide where people will go drinking if your not going to be there! Unfortunately I will be working which is why I did not vote!

hey guys. I will be there at 8, i'll have a sign saying boards on the table. :)

Im at the front lounge. This guy is flirting outrageously with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

We are across the way from the bar. Sign on the table.

As in the bar at the entrance?

Sorry I had to leave early, guys... B&C needs chocolate and early to bed- stupid antibiotics. :mad:

Have a great night!!!

PS for anyone looking for the gang, they're right by the steps going up to the back bar., on the left hand side as you go up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭deirdre_dub

OK - so who were the jokers who voted for the Flounge? Because none of the people who turned up voted for that venue...

Disappointing crowd but still very enjoyable. Deirdredub, rainbow kirby and paddy are all legends. I think we should have a beers in a straight pub next time to accommodate those who are just getting used to it. In December perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

So there were only 4/5 of ya? The last beers didn't have too big a crowd either! I think a lot more people want to come but are just nervous or may be put off by the fact that it's in a gay bar

I dunno, I mean last time it was in Messers and there was about the same number of people.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I usually can't make these events, because it's all to often held on a Saturday night. And sadly I work weekend nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

I was there Saturday night but because I have no idea what any of you look like I left after 1 drink, twas far too crowded and noisey :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

I would suggest that any future meet ups be held on another night besides a weekend night, in a venue thats quieter and in a non gay /gay friendly bar as some members are not out yet .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

i was there! i walked past the table and saw the sign. i gave a few apache hugs :D

azezil wrote: »
    I was there Saturday night but because I have no idea what any of you look like I left after 1 drink, twas far too crowded and noisey :S
    did you not see the sign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Peadar06

I was in hospital, so that counted me out. I was told that I had suspected pneumonia, and now I am on 14 tablets for the next 3 days.

Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Peadar06 wrote: »
    I was in hospital, so that counted me out. I was told that I had suspected pneumonia, and now I am on 14 tablets for the next 3 days.

Peter

Look after yourself, that sounds like a nasty dose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

apache wrote: »
    did you not see the sign?

Evidently not :P

maybe they need to make it more colourful ;)

The front lounge is not a good choice at all. In future if we are doing these polls we should either ban the front lounge from the poll choice or set the poll as publicly viewable so we can see who voted for what option. No one who attended voted for the front lounge.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

I didn't vote as I knew I wasn't going to be around but I agree, open polls probably best option in future (they were always open in the past)

I voted for the Front Lounge... I quite like it there, and it was mentioned in the other thread, which is why I put it in the poll as an option.

To be honest, these beers have a tendency to have fairly few atendees- I've been to three events, and each time a good 10-15 people said they were coming and an average of 5 showed up each time. 3 different locations, spread over afternoons and evenings, and across a coffee place, a straight bar and a gay bar.

So I don't know that location is the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

I'm guessin that out of the ten or fifteen who usually opt to go to beers (me being one) maybe half of us are outside of Dublin and sometimes the distance just gets in the way, so only in that sense would location be a bit of a problem. (for me anyway) It's easy enough to choose to go somewhere else once you get there though, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

I so wanted to go to this one, and had fully intended on it but last minute got a chance to go away for a few days.
    I managed to go to the last one in the George but was a little late (and intoxicated) by the time I got there most had skedaddled :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Bet ye were all locked, falling all over the place and eventually engaged in a orgy somewhere.