Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Artist in the Spotlight (Abhainn )

• 21-11-2011 12:00PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭

A little bit delayed on this selection but im sure that wont deter any eager beavers. I suppose it'll be question time Monday to Monday

Abhainn , probably one of the fastest dudes on The Boards , an animal at the marathon and still going strong despite hitting the big 40 . He also has some impressive triathlon results too. So now put to the floor for the Q&As , Abhainn .....

(shotgun)MCOS
    interested
    el director
    Tunney
    TheRoadRunner
    Krusty_Clown
    Seres

Customary to kick off with a few :

1. When did you start running ?
    2. 40, able to crack out savage times for the marathon without getting any real injuries to speak of , whats do you put this down to ?
    3. Why do you think the marathon is such a strong event for you ?
    4. Do you plan on doing an IM , and if so when ?
    5. Best preformance in a sporting event to date ?
    6. When will you give the 2.40 time another crack ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Great choice seres

1) What's your sporting background?
    2) Favourite race distance and why?
    3) Are you self coached?
    4) What is your ultimate time goal (time you would die happy with) in the marathon and also iron man?
    5) Worst & Best performances.
    6) Chinese or Indian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

1) Are you going to upgrade the bike this year?
    2) What are your plans as regards swimming - will it just be a case of concentrating on the bike in the main for a Barcelona tilt?
    3) Do you think you could get under 4.30 in The Humbert Challenge next year?
    4) Why got you into triathlons - was it just a case of trying to tick over between spring and autumn marathon attempts
    5) Have you noticed the cycling helping your running?
    6) Your thoughts on China, regime and culture - did you ever get travel time over there - would it be somewhere you would like to visit with the family in tow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Good man Joe looking forward to this one.
    1. What would you see as the bigger personal achievement for you, sub 2.40 marathon or a sub 10 IM.
    2. Favourite race you have done so far and why.
    3. What do you think has been your biggest achievement to date in running or tri.
    4. Are you nervous going long for the first time? How will you approach the training?
    5. What was the best bit of running advice you ever received and what you consider the key sessions during your marathon build up?
    6. Is it true you are actually only 30 and this 40 malarky is a cunning ploy to move up in AG:)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

1) Favourite and least favourite session?
    2) When you were registering for that marathon in Cyprus, did you know go in with the intention that you'd have a good chance of winning?
    3) Favourite flavour of crisps?
    4) Any interest in longer ultras than the ones you've done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,504 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

1. When are you going to give HalHigdon a rest and follow a proper training plan? :)

2. What event do you get the most satisfaction from?

3. Ever consider focusing for an entire year on a single event, and if so, which would it be?

4. Running seems to be your strongest discipline in the tri. Which one comes next?

5. Do you do any core or strength work?

6. Highest ever weekly running mileage?

7. Strangest thing you have eaten in China?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

A good and popular choice Seres. I'll hold fire until I see some responses! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Which Wicklow way leg would you like to run next year and which would be your least favourite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

What's your secret at the marathon?

Do you watch your diet when in training?

What's the best pub in Wicklow town?

Sligo winning the All Ireland or a sub 2:40 marathon?

What's your favourite running distance?

What's your favourite running footwear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Seres wrote: »
    A little bit delayed on this selection but im sure that wont deter any eager beavers. I suppose it'll be question time Monday to Monday

Abhainn , probably one of the fastest dudes on The Boards , an animal at the marathon and still going strong despite hitting the big 40 . He also has some impressive triathlon results too. So now put to the floor for the Q&As , Abhainn .....

Customary to kick off with a few :

Ah Jaysus and all that Seres. Those that have gone before me are way more interesting and better educated in the running / tri’s than me.
    Under a bit of pressure this week and travelling also but I’ll give this a try.
    When did you start running?
    I used to run a bit during my GAA time. Nothing too long, rarely over 4 miles once a week, ran like an ass and was always fecked at the end.
    After I decided to give up GAA scene my OH got me a Polar RS200SD for my birthday in Oct 2006. (Still wear it every day.)
    Anyway I very slowly got into running but I never thought about racing at all. That was until the Jan 07 when a couple of lads at work decided to do the Connemara half. They eventually convinced me to sign up also. I never looked back since then.
    40, able to crack out savage times for the marathon without getting any real injuries to speak of , whats do you put this down to ?

Well definitely not to overtraining!
    I’m been very lucky alright. Maybe a niggle now and again, but I don’t think I have ever missed a planned session. It’s probably down, consistency in training, yes no injuries and just dedicated to ensuring every session has a purpose.
    Why do you think the marathon is such a strong event for you?

Mentally I am very strong, thickness or whatever you want to call it. I think there is a bit of an OCD person in me also.
    Do you plan on doing an IM , and if so when ?

Yes an IM distance but technically not IM dot. Challenge Barcelona 30th Sept 2012
    Best preformance in a sporting event to date?

Going back to me GAA times I was very proud of my performance in the 1998 Sligo Intermediate Championship final. It was the clubs first ever win at the grade and we completed the treble that year. I (we) had some massive craic in Magaluf and Santa Ponsa the week after. :D
    After that well the 2:41 in Dublin last year was technically my best, according to Mc Millan that is. However the 2:43 a few weeks back was probably my best executed.
    Cyprus win was a great experience too
    When will you give the 2.40 time another crack ?

London April 22nd 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Abhainn wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus and all that Seres. Those that have gone before me are way more interesting and better educated in the .

Im Sorry i didnt really want to put anyone into the spot but i came under pressure ! You'll be a real crowd pleaser im sure , enjoy .....:)

Great choice seres

But you’re the man of the year!
    1) What's your sporting background?
    GAA football till 2006. Used to play junior soccer up to the time I moved to Dublin just after that great county win. The soccer was great. That extra weight I had was beneficial in any 1 on 1challenges.
    2) Favourite race distance and why?
    Could you not guess? So far I have ran 13 times or further than the marathon distance. Compare that to the 5k – just ran that distance twice.
    3) Are you self coached?
    Yes. But occasionally advise is given and I take it on board.
    4) What is your ultimate time goal (time you would die happy with) in the marathon and also iron man?
    2:37:15. Sub 6 all the way
    An IM 10:29 would be something else.
    5) Worst & Best performances.
    Best: As above 2:41 last year. Tri: the Humbert HIM in 4:57 in July
    Worst: This is difficult. But I suppose the 17:07 from a 5k in May this year was crap. It was a PB though.
    6) Chinese or Indian?

Tough one too. OH by name is “Currey” and by golly she makes one hell of a curry, many great types too. So yes Indian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Woddle wrote: »
    Which Wicklow way leg would you like to run next year and which would be your least favourite?

I'd say its leg 7. That's a deadly leg, leg 7. Is it leg 7? Is it? Jayz I reckon you'd crucify leg 7, so you would, leg 7 is made for you...

Is it leg 7? Great question Woddle ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Longest run you have done in training?
    Favourite place to train and why?
    Do you train much by yourself or with a group?
    Whats your favourite session in training and your leats favourite and why?

catweazle wrote: »
    1) Are you going to upgrade the bike this year?
    Sure am. At the moment researching tri bikes, which isn’t easy. A lot of choice out there. Would love a custom Cervelo P3 but its ok to have dreams
    2) What are your plans as regards swimming - will it just be a case of concentrating on the bike in the main for a Barcelona tilt?
    No planning to get my swim in order starting Jan. I need to be efficient in the water and at the moment I am not.
    3) Do you think you could get under 4.30 in The Humbert Challenge next year?
    No not a chance dude. A 4:45-50 would be a nice target for me.
    4) Why got you into triathlons - was it just a case of trying to tick over between spring and autumn marathon attempts
    No way. I always loved the idea of getting into triathlon. I think using the summer months with this sport made me stronger physically for the autumn marathon challenge. Anyway I don’t think I could just run 50 weeks of the year. My achilles used to get tender with higher mileage weeks. The cross training involved tri’s gave those tender areas a break
    5) Have you noticed the cycling helping your running?
    Well I’m not sure if it has helped me in any specific way but it definitely hasn’t had a negative effect.
    6) Your thoughts on China, regime and culture - did you ever get travel time over there - would it be somewhere you would like to visit with the family in tow?

Unfortunately I had no time to do any travelling over there. Ya a real pity. A good book if your interested is China Road by Rob Gifford. It details the road 312, which is the Chinese route 66 from east to west China, it gives you a flavour of China life now.
    People are great, friendly (well to westerners anyway). Modern mainland China is a metropolis and you would think you are in New York or Vegas. The small cities are 1.5 million or size of Dublin. It makes your feel so small and how Ireland is really very insignificant. The place is highly corrupt. A non Chinese person settling up business has many brown envelopes to distribute before progress can be made. There are some very rich people and many very, very poor. I can’t see how this nation can continue it communism ways for many more years to come.
    I felt very safe there though. I would say yes bring the family but not if they are too young.

Good man Joe looking forward to this one.

1. What would you see as the bigger personal achievement for you, sub 2.40 marathon or a sub 10 IM.

Hope I'm not too disappointing
    If it was possible a sub 10 IM by a long way. On the day a 2:40 marathon probably involves 10-15 mins of pain. I would expect a 10hr IM to have many many mins of pain.
    2. Favourite race you have done so far and why.
    Conn ultra 2010. The conditions and scenery were second to none that day. I ran most of that on my own but the memories will always remain with me.
    3. What do you think has been your biggest achievement to date in running or tri.
    The 2:41 last year. Once upon a time I thought 2:55 would be a fantastic achievement for a marathon. If you put your mind to something anything is possible
    4. Are you nervous going long for the first time? How will you approach the training?
    Nervous yes, because of possible bike mechanical failure! Every tri I always worry about getting a puncture etc. Touch wood never yet.
    Training – Well I selected Barcelona (thank you for putting it into my head) as it towards end of the tri season. I hope the weekly schedule will be easier during the longest daylight months of the year.
    As I mentioned I hope to work on my swim from Jan. Little bike, though maybe some recovery spins on the turbo till late April. I agree not an ideal preparation. Need to get out Fink again.
    5. What was the best bit of running advice you ever received and what you consider the key sessions during your marathon build up?
    Key to a faster marathon? Get your shorter distance race times down.
    Longer intervals i.e. milers and getting up to 12 miles at MP
    6. Is it true you are actually only 30 and this 40 malarky is a cunning ploy to move up in AG:)
    I am not a fan of this AG placing, actually it drives me bananas sometimes. At the end of the day I’m only interested in what overall position I come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Did not realise that you only took up running in recent years or how old you are. Did you do any competitive running as a juvenile/junior?
    How does your level of fitness compare now to when you were playing football at your best? How does the training/commitment compare?

If the key to a faster marathon is getting your shorter distance times down, how has your 10K time progressed v's your marathon time? Any shorter distances that you want to improve on?

Have you ever done the Warriors Run or any plans for it?

Who are/were your sporting heros?

GAA football is obviously a team game while marathon running is very much a solo effort. Overall which do you prefer?

Hypothetically would you give up running if it allowed you continue playing football at the level you were at back in the 90s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Hows your chinese? :D
    If you were not allowed to run for a year, what would you do?
    What would your death row meal be?
    How much of a headstart am I going to need in Barcelona T2? :)
    Which 2 boardsies would you throw into a cage fight?
    Which 2 boardsies would you organise a blind date for?
    What is RCs fascination with crisps about?
    How far out of your way do you go to train?
    Is TRR your ideal 3 legged race partner?
    What posters adorned your wall as teen abhainn?
    How would your OH describe you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭dermCu

If work gave you a 1 year sabbatical on full pay to be a professional athlete how fast do you think you could run a marathon a year from today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,580 ✭✭✭Peckham

Two questions anchored in real life:

1) When the going gets tough in training (i.e. halfway through a session), what do you visualise? (or what other tricks do you use to get through that session, even though you're dying!)

2) You say your biggest strength as a runner is sheer bloody-mindness. What do you perceive to be your biggest weakness?

Two fun questions:

1) Is there anything else you'd like to achieve in another sport (i.e. aside from running and tri)

2) If you could only do one more run what route would you choose? (can be any length, anywhere in the world)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

I am not a fan of this AG placing, actually it drives me bananas sometimes. At the end of the day I’m only interested in what overall position I come.

Great to hear this. At last, a voice of reason!

In hindsight, what do you think of GAA training methods vs. your current running/tri training plans. If you knew then what you know now, would you have trained any differently during your football career (conscious of the fact that GAA training gets slated on here a lot, somewhat unfairly I think!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Im with you there. Whatever place you get is whatever place you get, anything else is just compensating where compensation shouldn't even be on the agenda.

Just one question Joe:
    Whos your hero?

1) Favourite and least favourite session?
    Favourite - I really look forward to a 21 miler around the OX mts at home in Sligo. Seemed like I haven’t done it in ages
    Least - Track intervals which I don’t do enough of.
    2) When you were registering for that marathon in Cyprus, did you know go in with the intention that you'd have a good chance of winning?
    It was intended as a long run in preparation for the Conn Ultra some weeks later. The goal was a low 2:50’s and I knew from previous years results it may get me into the top 3. I was fortunate and pleased. It was bloody warm at the end though. Last run before that was –4C
    3) Favourite flavour of crisps?
    Tayto, bloody love the Cheese & Onion – legend.
    4) Any interest in longer ultras than the ones you've done?
    A once secret ambition of mine to give the Conn 100 a go, now not anymore. It’s on the bucket list

Woddle wrote: »
    I'd say its leg 7. That's a deadly leg, leg 7. Is it leg 7? Is it? Jayz I reckon you'd crucify leg 7, so you would, leg 7 is made for you...

Is it leg 7? Great question Woddle ;)

I asked a Mr Slogger Jogger would he show me the ropes on leg 7 this winter. Hopefully he is still up for it. I'll let you know after that Mr Hop.

My Woddle I only ever run leg 2. Twice in recce and 2 racing. Never again ok:)

1. When are you going to give HalHigdon a rest and follow a proper training plan? :)
    Honestly? It the only one I ever read, ever. My version of his plan works.
    Its ok for you guys with loads of time on your hands.;)
    No seriously but I must review some more out there.
    2. What event do you get the most satisfaction from?
    Marathon
    3. Ever consider focusing for an entire year on a single event, and if so, which would it be?
    Ditto
    4. Running seems to be your strongest discipline in the tri. Which one comes next?
    Running sections in T1 and T2 :D
    5. Do you do any core or strength work?
    No not in 2 years and then it was some press ups. Stopped it as I had bad aches in the lower back
    But my record was 75 in 60 seconds, yes they were proper ones. OCD again
    6. Highest ever weekly running mileage?
    74.5 miles in 2009. Only hit 70+ miles 3 times ever. Twice in 2010 and one in 2009.
    7. Strangest thing you have eaten in China?
    Sucked the brains out of chicken heads. They weren't bad

Ok from the 2:40 marathon, 14lbs over weight and probably the faster Wicklow chap right now:D:D
    Pronator wrote: »
    What's your secret at the marathon?
    Building up to 12 mile MP Sat and 21 - 22 mile good trot Sun. That’s its lad.
    Do you watch your diet when in training?
    Ahhh no. And I very rarely eat ****e takeaways of any sort. Need to eat more veg though.
    What's the best pub in Wicklow town?
    In last 2 years only been in 2. Forge is ok.
    Though can’t wait for the soundest auld lad there is to come up again and sort out that long overdue pub crawl again from Ta Se’s down the town to home
    Sligo winning the All Ireland or a sub 2:40 marathon?
    Sligo, and not a second thought. Imagine a whole nation happy, well apart from who they defeated that is
    What's your favourite running distance?
    Daft question , next
    What's your favourite running footwear?
    Nike. Only manufacture I ever tried, no injuries, enough said

dna_leri wrote: »
    Did not realise that you only took up running in recent years or how old you are. Did you do any competitive running as a juvenile/junior?
    Did a bit of community games up to U14 and did ok in the local qualifers.
    I won a 800m race in college when I was 16. It was 19 years before I raced again
    How does your level of fitness compare now to when you were playing football at your best? How does the training/commitment compare?
    During my best at football (1997 or so) I weighed 82kg and once did a mile time trial on the track in Dangan. Thought I was a great man when I did it in 5:31. That was the last time I “raced” that distance. Perhaps I could have squeezed a 4:59 at best during peak fitness this year.
    It’s hard to compare fitness between the sports though. I trained up to 3 times to week and a game at the weekend, but I look back now and some of the training was just stupid with little structure or planning.
    If the key to a faster marathon is getting your shorter distance times down, how has your 10K time progressed v's your marathon time? Any shorter distances that you want to improve on?
    Last one first, I want to improve at all the shorter distances but it difficult to do unless you are specifically training for that distance. I’ve always trained specifically for the 26.2. Love to get mid 16’s for 5K, mid 34’s for 10k and 75 for 13.1. If I could get close to those in prep for a marathon I’d be in some form
    First 10k I ran (June 2008) was a 38:50 and I nearly died. 10k best is 35:04 (Sept 2010) but that was a week after a half in which I managed a good PB in. I don’t race 10k much
    Have you ever done the Warriors Run or any plans for it?
    Never ran it and yes would be interested in doing it, hear it’s a great race but it always clashes with something else. It’s a bit pricey though
    Who are/were your sporting heros?
    I was glued to Eamonn Coughlan particularly during his indoor reign. Thought John Tracey was a legend too. Daley Thompson domination in the decathlon stood out also

GAA football is obviously a team game while marathon running is very much a solo effort. Overall which do you prefer?
    Even though I was an average player I was 100% committed to football, others on the team weren't and that didn't do down well with me.We had great potential but never produced the results at senior level

I have to say I prefer the running.
    Hypothetically would you give up running if it allowed you continue playing football at the level you were at back in the 90s?

If it meant us playing a big game on March 17th in a certain stadium, yes definately:)

dermCu wrote: »
    If work gave you a 1 year sabbatical on full pay to be a professional athlete how fast do you think you could run a marathon a year from today?

Very hard to say. Maybe 2:35.

You doing London again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Happy to show you the delights of leg 7 Joe, perhaps the weekend after next if that worked for you? Then again it'll only be fair if I showed you leg 5 and 6 too. Oh, and showed Pronator too, so you could fight over them :D

For a man thats a recent convert to running you are pretty damn good! I'd love to be disappointed with any PB :)

Must get you out for a proper full on hill race, and not just a relay leg. For instance, Dpop's Annagh hill route or Tonalagee. You might just take to them.

If you keep going with the dedication you've shown in recent years the prospect of your achieving your ultimate goals (2:37 etc) is pretty good. No better man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭dermCu

Very hard to say. Maybe 2:35.

You doing London again?

Yea, just waiting for my place to be confirmed. Should get it in the next few days. Then its all systems go. If you are going sub 2:40 this year you'll be on your own. I doubt I'll be bumping into you at Westminster again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Looking forward to your 1st XC race?
    What's your nutrition plan during a Marathon?
    If you were handed a Budweiser at the end of your IM, would you drink it or walk 2 miles to get a decent beer?
    Do you ever run slow?
    Favorite time of day to run?

Longest run you have done in training?
    I remember doing a 24 miler on a Sat, followed up with a 21 the following day
    Favourite place to train and why?
    I love running in the OX mts when I’m home in Sligo. Can’t beat it. Great buzz
    Do you train much by yourself or with a group?
    95%+ on my own. Got a few long runs with Pronator this year, which was great company. Due to life commitments I have found it’s very difficult arranging and scheduling sessions with others

A couple of other GAA related questions

There is a view (voiced by Gerry Kiernan frequently) that GAA hoovers up a lot of our national talent to the detriment of other (particularly international) sports such as athletics. You could actually be a case in point ;)

Do you think you could have run low 2.20s if you were running seriously in your early 20s instead of playing football?

Secondly were there any other guys on your team who you thought would have been great runners?

Hows your chinese? :D
    Great. Just need one important word. Fappian = receipt.
    If you were not allowed to run for a year, what would you do?
    Improve my swimming
    What would your death row meal be?
    Great question, actually this was discussed with some people over dinner Sat night last. We have the below (apart from the barola) for special nights in:

Starters: King prawns pan fried in extra virgin oil dried chillies and garlic served with warm ciabatta. And a very large glass of a good sancerre to go with it.
    Main: A fine butchers fillet steak (medium – pink) flamed with brandy then quenched with sherry in a green peppercorn cream sauce. Served with oven rustic potatoes and a side dish of asparagus. Wine: Bottle of Borola
    Desert: Vanilla Ice cream
    Double expresso to finish
    How much of a headstart am I going to need in Barcelona T2? :)
    You won’t be needing one! If I’m so lucky I’ll be at 32k when you cross the finish line!
    Which 2 boardsies would you throw into a cage fight?
    I think Slogger and HOPONPOP need to sort out their differences. They are
    always trying to get one over the other
    Which 2 boardsies would you organise a blind date for?
    Ecoli and The Road Runner. I’d stick them together and then they’d find out they were really made for each other
    What is RCs fascination with crisps about?
    I thought is was beer;)
    How far out of your way do you go to train?
    If I’m reading that correctly well I always try and get out for a session from the from home or work. Means less time wasted.

Is TRR your ideal 3 legged race partner?
    I’ll pass on that lad thanks. ;) Prefer Susanna Kallur, we’d somehow get over the 100m hurdles together.
    What posters adorned your wall as teen abhainn?
    I was sad, I don’t recall even having one poster!
    How would your OH describe you?
    Sometimes she calls me a geek. She doesn’t understand how driven I am. On occasions she regrets buying me that Polar.

tunguska wrote: »
    Just one question Joe:
    Whos your hero?

Fcuking love Heile. I admire his will never to give up these days. Some man for a fella older than he his official age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I think Slogger and HOPONPOP need to sort out their differences. They are
    always trying to get one over the other

Any time you want to do that leg 7 recce, Joe, just give me a buzz. Tonight suit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

was enjoyin ur meal until u ordered no dessert wine..

Sorry about delay Peckham
    Peckham wrote: »
    Two questions anchored in real life:

1) When the going gets tough in training (i.e. halfway through a session), what do you visualise? (or what other tricks do you use to get through that session, even though you're dying!)
    As the session gets more challenging I move on from numeric calculations
    (avg pace tc) to counting down the distance to go or assumed mins left in the session.
    I would also visualise it as that to the end of the planned race I was training for. It would be tough going, seeing that clock ticking towards the target time set out, meeting that time i.e. 2:39:59. I would mutter “push it, push it, common to fcuk” :mad:
    2) You say your biggest strength as a runner is sheer bloody-mindness. What do you perceive to be your biggest weakness?
    That’s like a work interview question! I suppose I tend to be a bit hesitant in making too many changing to my sessions. I prefer to introduce change slowly or just twicking knowing what works already.

Two fun questions:
    1) Is there anything else you'd like to achieve in another sport (i.e. aside from running and tri)
    No not now. As I mentioned earlier I used to picture playing in Croke Park on March 17the and beating the reigning All Ireland champions .
    2) If you could only do one more run what route would you choose? (can be any length, anywhere in the world)

That a real toughy one Peckham. I’m going for a run now to have a think about that

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Looking forward to your 1st XC race?
    I've said this before, you are like a fly that keeps buzzing around ones ear.
    No further comment for now!
    What's your nutrition plan during a Marathon?
    Don't have one. Though for London prep I will try harder to cut down on evening biscuits and those weekend beers:(
    If you were handed a Budweiser at the end of your IM, would you drink it or walk 2 miles to get a decent beer?
    I'd go without that crap and ask the OH to sort me out with a good thirst quencher
    Do you ever run slow?
    Very rarely but something I am trying to work on.
    On occasions I try and set off at 7:30-7:40 pace for 6-7 miles.
    But by mile 2 I am a bit sick of have speeded up. Just over 7 min / mile seems to be my natural pace.

Favorite time of day to run?

Early morning at sunrise

A couple of other GAA related questions

There is a view (voiced by Gerry Kiernan frequently) that GAA hoovers up a lot of our national talent to the detriment of other (particularly international) sports such as athletics. You could actually be a case in point ;)

Do you think you could have run low 2.20s if you were running seriously in your early 20s instead of playing football?
    I believe you need to a special talent and have run from your early teens years continuously to go that low. Different league lad and I would not have been in that
    Secondly were there any other guys on your team who you thought would have been great runners?

Yes I’ve seen 2 or 3 naturally athletic guys who looked like runners but were also strong as oxes. When we did those dreaded 12 –15 laps of a muddy pitch in Feb I was always near the front of finishers but those guys ran effortlessly and were always 200-300 meters ahead of me. None of them ever did cross-country or track races. Pity.