Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wavefrontier Torodial Satellite Dish.

• 21-11-2011 11:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭

Hi Boards Folks,
    I am thinking of getting a "Wavefrontier T90 Torodial Satellite Dish" for my house cause at the moment we live in 4 channel analogue land, which sucks.
    How many channels could I expect to get with one of these bad boys from my location in County Longford?
    Like what satellites can I reasonably expect to hit with this from out in the sticks of County Longford?
    Any assistance or opinions greatly appreciated.
    The Great Purveyor Of Mediocrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭asif2011

If you get a T90, I think you need to treat it as a hobby really, rather than get someone in to set it all up for you. There is lots of tinkering, and if I was getting one I would make the extra purchase of a satellite meter - for me, the Smartmeter S10 in particular (click on the video tab).

It'll depend on your line of sight (check Dishpointer), but if you have good line of sight then you could get something like 28.2E, 23.5E (Some), 19.2E, 16E, 13E, 10E&9E, 7E (Some), 4.8E (Some), 0.8W (Maybe), 5W, 8W, 12.5W (Maybe), 15W, 18W. The best way is to check the T90 calculator and that will give you an idea of what may be possible on the dish - you could go 42E through to 5W though (keep your LNBs between -25 and +25 on the calculator). You'll only know for sure when you try it, but in the mean time you could check LyngSat Maps for satellite footprints.

For the list above you'll need
    T90 dish
    Wall mount
    9 x LNBs
    5 x Slimline LNBs for 2 degree spacing on 10E&9E, 7E, 4.8E, 12.5W, 15W
    9 extra LNB holders + the 5 that come with the dish
    1 or 2 x 16to1 DiSEqC switches (depending on if you have a single or dual tuner)
    Loads of WF100 cable
    VU+ Duo would be my recommendation
    Smart Smartmeter S10 (you've a lot of LNBs to line up!)

I don't have a T90 at present, my landlord won't even allow me to put up a Sky dish FFS! so you'll have to take my advice with a pinch of salt and I'm open to correction by others. The reality is most people would be happy with a 1m dish with just 28.2E, 19.2E, 13E and maybe 16E. It's certainly less expensive and you'll need subscriptions if you want to watch football or movies anyway.

Most English stuff available is on Sky 28.2E, there are threads here about getting the 26E Badr4 stuff, though that's not easy. There's a reason why 95% of dishes are pointing at 28.2E in Ireland and I'd say the vast majority of them are 60cm dishes too. A mate has a TD110 dish pointing at 28.2E, 19.2E & 13E and gets about 4500 TV & radio stations, I'd say with a T90 you'd be looking at closer to 10000+. But how many will you actually be able to watch without subscriptions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭the great purveyor of mediocrity

Hi ASIF2011, thanks a lot for that reply, really appreciate it. There is a lot of meat in there, a lot to digest. So you reckon maybe can my original idea and go for one of those 110cm dishes instead then?
    If you were to point at say five satellites, which would you say would be the top/best five to aim at from here in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭settopbox

I would recommend a motor
    a 1.1m dish,
    And a Vu + recorder.
    Plenty of reading from here and other sources.

Trust me you will save a packet both in terms of installation and in terms of (subs)

28 19 13 east.
    1 and 30 west.

Get the motor set up on 8 west using this at true south and your good to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭asif2011

If you are new to satellites (I am too) then I would try to absorb as much information as you can reading the posts in this forum, as well as other places. If you want a T90, read as many posts as you can about it. Some people can access all those satellites listed above with a motorised dish - they are willing to wait up to 10-15 seconds for the station to change. With a T90 you don't have that problem but if you are going to spend the best part of €400 on LNBs alone you better know why you are doing that.

If you went with a Triax TD110 and went for an easily accessible 28.2E, 19.2E, 16E and 13E you'll get a lot of English, Spanish, French, German, Italian channels and if you want you can get 3pm kickoffs for the football, if you get the subscription cards. My mate speaks Spanish and loves the FTA channels, but if all you want is English channels and a bit of football every Sunday then just going with Sky will do.

I would look at KingOfSat, just look at the different satellites, what stations each has. You can filter by movies, sports, FTA etc. If you are into sport then look at LiveOnSat or LJS as it's sometimes called, that will show you where sport is being shown on all of the different satellites. Weather you have a subscription for it is another matter, but it's a start to find out what you want from your dish. Then you can decide if you want a T90, motorised or multi LNB setup.

Hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭the great purveyor of mediocrity

Great information lads, extremely helpful. That dishpointer website is really amazing. I keyed in my address and bam in a flash, there was my house with all the angles of the satellites coming out of it, genius.
    I think I'll take asif2011's advice and go with a Triax110 and get the Easterly satellites on it.
    I've been told by the guy in satworld that the "9E Eurobird 9A/KA-SAT" is not available until further notice. Dishpointer said that it was the fourth most popular satellite in Ireland, so pity that one is gone.
    I will have to get the Irish and UK channels as well so I will probably have to get some kind of fancy (dual) receiver, will I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

Hi Boards Folks,
    I am thinking of getting a "Wavefrontier T90 Torodial Satellite Dish" for my house cause at the moment we live in 4 channel analogue land, which sucks.
    How many channels could I expect to get with one of these bad boys from my location in County Longford?
    Like what satellites can I reasonably expect to hit with this from out in the sticks of County Longford?
    Any assistance or opinions greatly appreciated.
    The Great Purveyor Of Mediocrity.

FYI op here is my T90, I think its a great dish. :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056020003&page=7

Savage Greenman.
    When you say 16E ASIF2011, are you referring to "16E SESAT 1"? Just cause when you look up 16E on lyngsat, there is nothing on it. But if you look up dishpointer and find "16E SESAT 1", there is loads of stuff on that satellite.
    I think I will definately go with a TRIAX TD110 with a "Technomate 5400 USB CI with card reade and cam" and with a separate Saorview box. Will also go with 28.2E, 13E, 19.2E and 16E Sesat 1.
    What ye all think?
    Only thing I'm worried about is, I wonder is this dish a bit of an eyesore, feck it, suppose I'll take a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭excollier

Sesat 16e is redundant now. Check W3C at 16e, it has taken over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭givecredit

I think I will definately go with a TRIAX TD110 with a "Technomate 5400 USB CI with card reade and cam" and with a separate Saorview box. Will also go with 28.2E, 13E, 19.2E and 16E Sesat 1.
    What ye all think?

The Triax 110cm dish is a good choise. Id recommend 6 satellites on it not five. Centre the dish on 16deg east., and go with 9a (ku not ka) 13deg 19deg, 23.5 and 28.2 east. You do not and will not need 9a ka if you have access to saorview. There are plenty of good free to air channel on 9a on the ku band.

You will need to get 2 multo bar holders for this setup as each multi bar has only 4 lnb holders so you will need 2 from 2nd bar, leaving you 2 spare. A slight mod will be required for centering 16deg on multibar. Basically just cutting base of one lnb holder and glueing to bar when dish in position. (see mod in link below)

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/61734/181161.jpg

Hi GIVECREDIT, thanks for the back-up. The 9E Sat "9a on the ku band" is that the "9E Eurobird 9A/KA-SAT". Just cause a guy told me that, that one is redundant. But it actually isn't, it's just on a different band, is that correct? If that's the case, I'll get that one as well.
    I had a look on Lyngsat at the 23.5E SAT and there doesn't seem to be much/any FTA on it, so I might as well skip that one. What ya think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

what are you trying to achieve with all of these random satellites? do you have any idea of what you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭rolion

I have a T90 from back in 2002... set-it and forget-it !!!!
    instant channel change,instant satelite changed.....no more osd "please wait,motor is turning to "somewhere" !
    Is a solution with no mechanical loss.

Get a good DiseqC switch,get a Pro Installer to install it for you and you have at least 6 good sat that will cover ALL the 25 hours / 7 days ...

I see no need for meter ! Why,are you going to install Satelittes every week/day !??

Have fun ...

shblob wrote: »
    what are you trying to achieve with all of these random satellites? do you have any idea of what you want?

Hey Shblob man, when I started this Satellite mission out a few days ago, I really hadn't a clue what I wanted/what was available/how to get what I may/may not want. But, thanks to the good dudes of boards, the internet, several installers that I have rang looking for a price, I still haven't a clue what I want.
    Only messing, I nearly have the whole thing nailed down now.
    Having lived in four channel land for several years now in "Lacklustre Longford", things came to a head over the last while thanks to RTE and their misuse of Grainne Seoige. "Put Them Under Pressure", it's an abomination. "Up For The Match", unless you are from one of the Counties involved, it's nearly as bad as "Put Them Under Pressure". That show that was on tonight about size zero models, just found out that she's no good at journalistic investigative type journalism. Nearly forgot, "The ****ING Alllllll Ireland Talent Vacuum".
    There's got to be more out there Shblob, there just has to be.

Imagine my surprise, in a few weeks, as I sit down with my new satellite system to watch Glasgow Celtic away to Falkirk in the CIS Insurance Cup on Al Jazeera Sport 19+6 and who's the pitch side reporter!!!

Right, think I have it totally nailed down this time.

TRIAX TD110 Dish

Technomate TM-6902HD S2T2 Combo Super
    (Apparently this bad boy will remove the need for me to have a Saorview box separate and I will be able to have teletext with it as well)

The following satellites being used:

28.2E Astra 2A/Astra 2B/Astra 2D
    13E Hot Bird 6/Hot Bird 8/Hot Bird 9
    19.2E Astra 1H/1KR/1L/1M/1N/2C
    16E W3C
    9E Eurobird 9A/KU-SAT

What ya reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭t c

Sounds good. Not sure what LNB holder you will use as the Triax Multiholder has a spread of 20 degrees, which is European figures, and you need 9-28.2, a spread of 19.2 degrees so it will be tight, if at all possible.

I have 28, a slot for 26, 19 and 13 and am finding it difficult. Also, on 19 and 13 there is very, very little in English and looking at King of Sat, there is about 4 english FTA channels on 16e and maybe 10 on 9e.

You might find it better to set up the Triax and leave room on pole for a small Sky dish to get 28 and 19 as these are easy and will make it easier to get the others. (My plan in the future)

Also, remember if you have 5 twin LNB's, (I presume the TMate is dual tuner) that's 10 cables running to a 10X Diseqc switch and two cables to TMate.
    I have 4 quad LNB's to 4 Diseqc switches feeding 2 receivers, I dulal and one single, a lot of wiring.

I have to make sure wife has tv, otherwise I might have gone for a motor, which you might consider.

I know you had it all planed, but remember, "best laid plans of mice and men....".

I spent a long time recently trying for 26E as I believe it gives a good selection of english movies, but it is a bitch to get, so because of bad weather, I have given it a break until new year and will try again. I even bought an Inverto Black Ultra LNB, which is supposed to be the best for weak signals and it is just sitting there at the prime position doing nothing. But will try again. There is a long thread on the forum on the subject with pictures showing my "spaghetti" wiring. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056441713

Keep us informed though, as I know it is infectious once you start.

Cheers.

TC

TRIAX TD110 Dish

The following satellites being used:

28.2E Astra 2A/Astra 2B/Astra 2D
    13E Hot Bird 6/Hot Bird 8/Hot Bird 9
    19.2E Astra 1H/1KR/1L/1M/1N/2C
    16E W3C
    9E Eurobird 9A/KU-SAT

What ya reckon?

That satellite set up is easily achieveable on triax 110cm dish with multibar lnb holder. You will need to recentre the bar, (ie drill new hole in bar about 1 lnb width from existing hole, having the larger half on the 28deg end) and mod the lnb holder as i explained before.
    I still think you should consider 23.5deg. You are going to have space on bar between 19deg and 28deg for it. You are going to have space on the switch as well, as you will need an eight way switch. You just need to purchase extra lnb. Currently 5 free to air music channels on 23.5deg. Two in High Def. "trace tropical" and "Trace Urban" Also gives you more subscription option and you will get signals up in the 90% mark with your setup from 23.5

Not familar with receiver. I use a Vu+Duo myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Ronnie Raygun

Having lived in four channel land for several years now in "Lacklustre Longford", things came to a head over the last while thanks to RTE ...

... There's got to be more out there

:confused: Like the UK channels at 28 east that loads of people have had free for years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,301 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Thats almost the same set up as I have except I use a TD88 dish.
    The 20degree spread is very easily achievable on a Triax Multibar, but take the advice givecredit offers and flip the bar and redrill to allow more reach and height for 28.2(It will make a huge diff to your signal levels.
    Also you will need to mod an LNB holder to allow an LNB to be mounted at prime focus on the Dish(Its a simply cut of the bottom and then use epoxy resin to set)
    I see t.c suggest buying 2 multibars, You will need to source extra Triax LNB collars but often these can be gotten on Ebay aswell it may save you the expense of buying 2 full multiarm kits.
    If you flip and redrill the bar 28.2 will allow you a huge offset ;)
    I'm currently centred on 16e with 28.2 at an over 12deg offset and I pull in BBCHD @ 93%SNR and in running my system in this config for over a year now I have never had any issues with attenuation(On 28.2 ;) 16e and 9e are a different story, although with the new bird at 16e being so much more powerful and a 1.1mtr dish you will avoid that issue ;) )indeed when friends and neighbours lose Sky in heavy rain my viewing is still fine :)

You have many options available to you for switching, but if you are going for PVR watch record capability for more than 1 sat you will need to use 2 Diseqc switches, You can either get 2 8/1 switches or spend some time and plan your system into 2 4/1 switches (I did this) my main viewing is 28.2 and 13e so I have dual feeds for these birds to my receiver and the rest have single feeds for the rest so my Disec setup is tuner A: 9/10e, 13e, 23.5e, 28.2e and Tuner B: 13e, 16e, 19.2e, 28.2e.
    That covers me for almost any watch/record eventuality across the sats I use and 2 4/1 diseqc is a much cheaper option than 8/1 switches.

As for the receiver, I can't offer any insight there as I'm a vu+ duo man myself too ;)

@ OP : If you plan to purchase the technomate as you have stated above. You just need 5 or 6 single lnbs and one 8 way switch. The Techno has only one Satellite tuner.
    I see the techno is around the €300 mark. Sounds expensive for a single tuner sat receiver and dtt receiver. If you prepared to spend €300, i'd suggest u look at Vu+Duo for €330 (twin sat tuner and €30 for usb dtt tuner attachment or €60 for twin dtt tuner attachment)
    If you choose a twin tuner sat pvr then with the 110cm triax id suggest 5 or 6 twin or quad lnbs so you have full pvr function on all satellites. (Not much difference in price between single and twins these days) There is plently of room on the multibar for 6 quad/twin lnbs with the 110cm dish..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭RimaNTSS

This is already far away from topic. But if we speak about multifeeds, I would advise to think about more universal solutions. That is one of my last set-ups on 120cm antenna.
    Of course, if there is need to watch/record simultaneously it is better to use twins or quads. My program-maximum is to have possibility to have all possible satellites and at the same time to get all of them on motorized antenna, so all together more than 30 LNBs and about 1/3 of them quads, setup should include C-band.

its a multiblock not multibar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭rco2000

Hi, a bit off topic but here goes....
    I received a delivery of T90 Tordial Dish ex Germany last night. When I start putting it together tonight I noticed that the middle edge on RHS of main reflector/dish is pushed in a little. Don't know if it was damaged in transit or if one of the kids let it fall behind my back.
    Anyway, I have it fully assembled & want to know if this will render the reflector useless?
    Any opinions would be greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Zardoz

rco2000 wrote: »
    Hi, a bit off topic but here goes....
    I received a delivery of T90 Tordial Dish ex Germany last night. When I start putting it together tonight I noticed that the middle edge on RHS of main reflector/dish is pushed in a little. Don't know if it was damaged in transit or if one of the kids let it fall behind my back.
    Anyway, I have it fully assembled & want to know if this will render the reflector useless?
    Any opinions would be greatly appreciated
    It wont render it useless but if the dish is warped it may reduce the performance.
    If the damage is towards the edge of the dish as you say it shouldnt have much ,if any effect on the performance .
    Put up a picture here and people will advise you.

Zardoz wrote: »
    Put up a picture here and people will advise you.

Yes thats what you have to do.

T-90 great dish except for the LNB holders.

Let us know how you get on.:)

Ok folks, Please see below some pics of new dish with dent (fingers are now crossed!):o

yep its dented but should work fine.

Phew!
    Happy days, that's a major relief. Thanks for that

its bad if its near the centre of the dish which would affect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭RimaNTSS

Looks pretty bad for a brand new antenna. Did you think of contacting seller to at least get some hush money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭droicead

hello!

sorry to butt in!..is the vu+duo a better way to go than the dreambox 800se?

Phew!
    Happy days, that's a major relief. Thanks for that

So you take someone's word for it just like that? Looks like a pretty hefty ding to me, but I won't pretend to know how much it will affect dish performance or if it can be easily sorted.

droicead wrote: »
    hello!

sorry to butt in!

Butt out then.

no problem
    thanks for your reply

So you take someone's word for it just like that? Looks like a pretty hefty ding to me, but I won't pretend to know how much it will affect dish performance or if it can be easily sorted.

Well if you don't know, you don't know.:confused:

Thanks again Shblob for your opinion & explaining about how the location of a dent affects the performance of a dish:)

Well if you don't know, you don't know.

It's a big dent, a sizeable area of the dish face appears to be distorted; of course it's going to affect performance but I don't have personal experience of these dishes so can't comment any further.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭Peter Rhea

its bad if its near the centre of the dish which would affect it.

What?! That's nasty looking damage. :mad:

Well if you don't know, you don't know.:confused:

Thanks again Shblob for your opinion & explaining about how the location of a dent affects the performance of a dish:)

Keep us posted.:)

Peter Rhea wrote: »
    What?! That's nasty looking damage. :mad:
    Obviously its not ideal..

I'd say it'll depend on how many satellites he would be using and if it would be reflecting that far off the dish.

If you want an ideal set-up you should get it changed..

I know its more expensive but if you had a problem you would have comeback if you got it in Ireland
    http://satworld.ie/product-info.php?Wavefrontier_T90_Torodial_Satellite_Dish-pid248.html

I'd say it'll depend on how many satellites he would be using and if it would be reflecting that far off the dish.

That's not how a dish works, do you only post in these forums to plug that shop?

Obviously its not ideal..

My Plan is to use 4 LNB's - 28.2E to 0.8W

It makes no difference how many lnbs or where they're positioned, the whole reflector is used to collect signal. That big kick in the dish face will seriously lower efficiency on all satellite positions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭Peter Rhea

Wouldn't that only apply if the secondary (toroidal) reflector was damaged?

I'd assume if the second reflector was damaged it would be worse.

droicead wrote: »
    hello!

sorry to butt in!..is the vu+duo a better way to go than the dreambox 800se?

Droicead the Vu+ is an excellent bit of kit but your question would be better answered here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055816677 rather than drag this thread off topic.
    But in my opinion, yes its a better box ;)

OP, have you contacted the seller regarding the damage?
    If it is causing reception issues a sand bag and shaping hammer might be the easiest way to get it sorted ;)
    Or a visit to a friendly panel beater.

OP, have you contacted the seller regarding the damage?
    If it is causing reception issues a sand bag and shaping hammer might be the easiest way to get it sorted ;)
    Or a visit to a friendly panel beater.[/QUOTE]

The problem is, I don't know whether it happened during delivery or a day or two later. I checked it on delivery & did not spot anything. It would be dishonest of me to blame the delivery company - it had to be one of my young ones(who insist they did not touch it).

Anyway - I brought it last night to a panel beater, who just informed me that he has it at 98% & won't get it any better.

I am putting it up late next week, so I will report results.

Thanks to everybody who has helped - I am on a steep learning curve!

The problem is, I don't know whether it happened during delivery or a day or two later. I checked it on delivery & did not spot anything. It would be dishonest of me to blame the delivery company - it had to be one of my young ones(who insist they did not touch it).

Anyway - I brought it last night to a panel beater, who just informed me that he has it at 98% & won't get it any better.

I am putting it up late next week, so I will report results.

Thanks to everybody who has helped - I am on a steep learning curve!

Well hopefully that will allow decent reception for you across the spread you are aiming for ;)
    I'm considering a switch to a T90 myself if I can justify buying some new switches aswell ;)
    So be sure to keep us posted on how you get on.

ok
    thank you for pointing me in the right direction and sorry for posting in the wrong area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭stanley1

what diameter is the pole/wallmount for Wavefrontier Torodial Satellite Dish.

Regards

stanley1 wrote: »
    what diameter is the pole/wallmount for Wavefrontier Torodial Satellite Dish.

Regards

60mm Stan