Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Expression Limitations

• 20-11-2011 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭

I'm sure this has been brought up before but why do we only have a 'Thanks' option on Boards? If I 'Thank' something it automatically looks like I agree with the whole cat & caboodle & everything's rosy. Why can't I 'Like' something even though I mightn't agree with everything they say. Why can't I 'Dislike' something? I'd love to see the following options;
    • Crap
    • Bull****tin me
    • Will hang around & see where this is going
    • Interesting
    • Genius

What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Because this is not Facebook!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

Need a big fat 'LAUGH' button

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Because any of those buttons would just lead to arguments and bans.
    Nobody in After Hours would survive the ensuing carnage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Wishes there was a fúck off button right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Don't thank anything then op, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

If only there was a way we could reply to different posts and verbalise our feeling:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

trish23 wrote: »
    I'm sure this has been brought up before but why do we only have a 'Thanks' option on Boards? If I 'Thank' something it automatically looks like I agree with the whole cat & caboodle & everything's rosy. Why can't I 'Like' something even though I mightn't agree with everything they say. Why can't I 'Dislike' something? I'd love to see the following options;
    • Crap
    • Bull****tin me
    • Will hang around & see where this is going
    • Interesting
    • Genius

What do you think?

It's a discussion board, not a retarded social networking site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

We enough problems with just one function 'thanks ' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

if you dont agree with or like what someone has said then dont thank it.
    its not exactly rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I'm sure this has been brought up before but why do we only have a 'Thanks' option on Boards?........
    What do you think?

Will hang around & see where this is going

Just quote the post and give your comment. There's no need to bloat the forum with unnecessary buttons.

We have enough threads on the Thanks button, imagine if we had more things to complain about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

OP, have you tried expressive dance?
    Might be just what you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Thanks is grand, just leave it alone FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

We could do with a "meh" button for "thanks" threads.

your avatar is perfectly suited for your post though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Will hang around & see where this is going

Just quote the post and give your comment. There's no need to bloat the forum with unnecessary buttons.

If there was an "unnecessary" button I would have unnecessaried your post.

• Subscribers Posts: 342 ✭✭NicsM

Because change is bad.

Also, I seem to remember there used to be a rep/points system in place long ago but it was done away with because of the hassle it caused.

You can't "Dislike" something because then you wouldn't be contributing anything to the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

We could also have a "blast them with píss button" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

We need lots of white chocolate buttons, that would do me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭trish23

Jesus, lads, what happened freedom of speech?? I only asked a question... I'll go back now to the bowels of where I came from & bother ye no more

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

You said what you wanted to say and people replied with what they wanted to say, isn't that how freedom of speech works?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

We need a "worse than hitler" button and a "wrong forum newb" button

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

No one's mentioned the feedback forum yet. :confused:

Jesus, lads, what happened freedom of speech??

you surrendered it by clicking after hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭trish23

FatherLen wrote: »
    you surrendered it by clicking after hours

No, I accepted it by clicking after hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

a GL one would cut down on a lot of posts, or just get rid of them all, i don't care why are they called buttons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

Senna wrote: »
    If only there was a way we could reply to different posts and verbalise our feeling:(
    oh wow,christmas has come early right,there is a way!!
    its called a message board,people write their message in a reply box/window and post it like that,neat innit? :cool:

have long recognised a user am well familiar with; being on here to; he also probably knows to well what these feedback or positive/negative comment options do as he used mine to bully and intimidate.

folks who want a positive/negative type system shoud go read yahoo answers to see what having a feedback/or negative option can do,its not a forum as such,but its where people can post questions and/or answer other peoples, and valid Qs & As are totaly overrun by bored kids trying to troll and adults who are either attention seeking or trolling to overcompensate for mental/personality faults.

only people who have maturity and mental stability will use this sort of system for what its designed for,its better just to comment to someone in a post if agree with them or not, or send them a PM.