Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Custom bike build in Dublin

• 19-11-2011 6:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭

Hi ,I'm after an aluminum frame for my first road bike and I've decided to hopefully get something built from scratch ,make it special.
    Can anyone recommend any good frames that can take vibrations well ? ,I was thinking the thicker the frame the less vibrations ... ??

Anyone any ideas ?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

no chance buddy you will have to go across the pond uk .some excellent builders in the uk
    paul villers
    dave yates
    bob jackson
    few more but i cant think of them just now .;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

you want to buy a custom frame? thats going to cost you a nice sum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Wheely GR8

I thought Humphries in finglas build bikes ? ,they seem to have nothing but frames hanging in the shop ??

you want to buy a custom frame? thats going to cost you a nice sum

Swate jaysus no ,I mean a custom bike as in campag ,carbon here ,spoke there.
    I'm not that good ,yet.... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Wheely GR8 wrote: »
    I thought Humphries in finglas build bikes ? ,they seem to have nothing but frames hanging in the shop ??
    ah thats a different thing altogether ,yes you ca n pick an off the peg frame and then choose your own group set and wheels, nice way to go its what i do ;)good luck in your choice of frames lots to choose from .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

Wheely GR8 wrote: »
    ah thats a different thing altogether ,yes you ca n pick an off the peg frame and then choose your own group set and wheels, nice way to go its what i do ;)good luck in your choice of frames lots to choose from .

Combined with a grumpy service what more would u want when handing over 1500+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

In fairness .... Jimmy has been around a long time and has probably forgotten more then most of us will ever know.
    He was a my local lbs when I was serving my apprenticeship in Finglas and never got a bit of bad advice.
    Grumpiness I can handle when dealing with the knowledge and experience that exists in that shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Pablo Rubio

Combined with a grumpy service what more would u want when handing over 1500+

Kinda agree , I build my own Bikes , but been going to Humphries for years to buy frames , wheels and groupset etc...but have found the " service a bit grumpy there as well of late ". Whats the story there , especially when your handing over big money. Found Richies Bike Shop in Swords to be quite good of late , helpful staff even when your just buying small stuff . They'll build a bike up for you there.

Saying that if you can get what you want in Humphries go for it, they know their stuff.

Also I bought my first full factory built Road bike earlier this year on the Biketowork scheme. very disappointed.( from a large bike shop who's name I wont mention as it'll open a whole new debate:D)The bike is practically a different bike at this stage with all the changes I made. Its something I'll probably never do again. Definitely prefer to build my own. But thats just my humble opinion.

Best of Luck with the search Wheely GR8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

My fav shop is Humphries. Always top notch service from my perspective.

I don't have the time/patience to look after a good bike properly ,so I want to start as I mean to go on. Have found humphries extremely honest and helpful and all I bought was a saddle off them :(

Bikehub in Howth is another one I like.

I was going to head down there but noticed they closed due to floods (according to their site )

They are back open just around the corner near the Abbey Tavern. It's up the hill a short bit.

Thanks Raam ,will give them a call. I'm working in sutton next week anyway:)

Raam wrote: »
    They are back open just around the corner near the Abbey Tavern. It's up the hill a short bit.

good shop , noticed it was still closed today though.

Open in the temp location according to this...
    https://www.facebook.com/thebikehub.ie

must have a look tomr so-need some gels..fair play to them setting it up.

so your trying to figure out what different stuff you should buy yeah? what sort of budget you on? we can start from there, btw you do know it will cost more to build your own bike than if you just bought a bike right?

I want to get good hubs/wheels and have the bike rolling right ,preferably on a alu frame that I can keep for winters.
    I'm not expecting a one hit wonder or anything ,but something that will be reliable. I don't have a budget ,if I can get a good bike with maybe a campag drive on it ,I'd be happy.

just out of interest why in the name of god do you want campag :p that company does my head in with its awkwardness for the sake of awkwardness. If i where you and this is your fist bike id just buy a complete bike, me and another boardsie just bought this today, from what ive read its pretty much the best alu frame you can buy and the 105 groupset is very good, also helps that the frame comes with a lifetime warranty.

my advice is to get a good complete bike that has a great frame and just upgrade it as you see fit, great way to build up a load of spare parts too :D

just out of interest why in the name of god do you want campag :p that company does my head in with its awkwardness for the sake of awkwardness. If i where you and this is your fist bike id just buy a complete bike, me and another boardsie just bought this today, from what ive read its pretty much the best alu frame you can buy and the 105 groupset is very good, also helps that the frame comes with a lifetime warranty.

my advice is to get a good complete bike that has a great frame and just upgrade it as you see fit, great way to build up a load of spare parts too :D

I agree with Sean here. I like the Campag stuff myself but it is so awkward. I use Shimano and SRAM because they give better cross compatability and interchangeability and find Wheelsets to suit can be sometimes easier to find.

I didn't click on the link ,but I take it it's the CAD10:D I have a F5 mountain bike myself or F500 an old navy one.
    Good luck with the bike mate ,if I was buying something out of a box I'd be looking at a bianchi with campag something like this bianchi-impulso%20alu%20veloce-nm-web.jpg

i probably would have gone with a canyon/px/ribble but the reviews on the caad 10 frame are pretty amazing to say the least, if your getting a campag equipped bike be prepared to pay money for specialised tools/cables ;) (no doubting they are the best looking groupsets but they are a right pain in the ass at times).

you really seem to be looking for italian bikes though so campag is the way to go for that, some lovely looking bikes made in italy too

I agree with Sean here. I like the Campag stuff myself but it is so awkward. I use Shimano and SRAM because they give better cross compatability and interchangeability and find Wheelsets to suit can be sometimes easier to find.

I won't be doing any work with the train at all apart from cleaning ,I'd actually enjoy leaving a bike in to be serviced and maybe pick up a few bits and pieces while I was at it. I'd be more concerned of the sound and feel of the gears changing ,the feedback as such.

i probably would have gone with a canyon/px/ribble but the reviews on the caad 10 frame are pretty amazing to say the least, if your getting a campag equipped bike be prepared to pay money for specialised tools/cables ;) (no doubting they are the best looking groupsets but they are a right pain in the ass at times).

you really seem to be looking for italian bikes though so campag is the way to go for that, some lovely looking bikes made in italy too

I dunno ,I like the principia alu frames aswell. They all have the brushed welds like the cannondale.
    If I had the money I'd have every bike under the sun and the I'd be under the sun every day aswell :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Holyboy

If it's a proper custom build it has to be STEEL one of these perhaps...http://www.cinelli.it/scripts/prodotti.php?Id=1&lang=EN&IdBici=558&ViewMode=2

Holyboy wrote: »
    If it's a proper custom build it has to be STEEL one of these perhaps...http://www.cinelli.it/scripts/prodotti.php?Id=1&lang=EN&IdBici=558&ViewMode=2

Now thats pure old school class. Have to admit I like the Ferrari Red frame myself.

Thats a beautiful frame ,it's looks to cost over €2k.

Nice to see such companies working away:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭shamalam

Sean, do you have any links to reviews of caad 10 cannondale?
    Was that shop best for price or why are you buying from there.
    very interested, looking to change from spesh roubaix.
    thanks s.

shamalam wrote: »
    Sean, do you have any links to reviews of caad 10 cannondale?
    Was that shop best for price or why are you buying from there.
    very interested, looking to change from spesh roubaix.
    thanks s.

http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/bikes/road/product/review-cannondale-caad10-105-12-45526/

just use google and you will find many more.

i used these guys, and it totalled at around 1150 which was the best i could find, did i mention the lifetime frame warranty :D they said it should be delivered by thursday as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Oh dear, I want them ALL.
    I think this was a bargain, I posted it in another forum and they were both gone soon after, both bought by the same person

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=130601986305$%28KGrHqJ,%21l%21E6B7%21i9CmBOnCr,tT5Q%7E%7E60_12.JPG
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=130601986305

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

Great looking bike, and very good spec for the price. Hope it's not a stupid question but is this going to be your main racing bike or a training bike? Have an Alu frame and next bike will be Carbon, I think, till I seen this one. Dolan bikes seem good value too, good reviews on their build quality.

at the moment the bike will be used for any roadie type activity :D this is the third bike ive bought this year ffs :o its some slippery slope when you really get into cycling