Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At wits end!

• 16-11-2011 6:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭

Parents PC was acting the buck so I reinstalled XP and was installing printers,modems and stuff today....but the Eircom netopia yoke wont work WIRED to the desktop PC but my laptop was working away fine wirelessly off the same router!!

What the hell is going on? Starring at the screen trying everything for 3 hrs and nothing! Keep getting a "ERROR - Cannot determine default gateway". I presume if I had a wireless adaptor connectedto the PC it would work that way but why wont it work wired? It was working before I did the XP install?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭massy086

have u re-installed the network drivers for the pc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Damokc

sorry ow for n00bism but how do I do that? I just assumed the drivers would be on the disc for the modem?:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭massy086

no probs what model pc is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭asif2011

If you go to the PC with a wireless adapter then do an "ipconfig" at the command line and see what the default gateway is. Then go to the reinstalled PC and go the command line "ping <insert the default gateway here>" and see if you get a reply from it.

If you do an "ipconfig" on the PC that's not working see if you have and address starting with "169.254.X.X" - if you do then the PC is not getting an IP address from the router. Maybe try a different cable if you have one for starters...

Its a Dell Dimension 5000. I've installed XP Pro on it. The reason for the install was because the mouse stopped working because of missing/corrupt drivers...surely this still isn't a problem? The mouse works fine now as does everthiny else bar wired internet (don't have a wireless dongle so haven't tried it,yet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

This one should be it.

Cheers lads.not sure if I had sound either now that you say it. I'll have to go at it again tomorrow as I'm back home now.

Thanks again, I'll definitely be on this thread again tomorrow so drop in if ye can.

Yes you probably don't have the correct drivers for the network card & sound card, download them from a PC that has internet access and put them on a USB key and run them on the reinstalled PC. I overlooked that...

do you think those 3 drivers are all thats missing? once i get them going and the internet going updates will start streaming through I suppose?

Yep, once you get the network drivers you can do a Windows Update and it'll take ages but it'll download most of the drivers. Anything else like printers or scanners should be on a driver CD that came with PC, hopefully you still have those or you'll have to go to the manufacturers website for those. Once you get the network card driver installed you should be set...

cheers,ya I set up the printer 'cause I found the disc thank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭mach1982

If it is wireless router, you don't need drivers .

That error means that the network doesn't know where to send the information.

in IE or Firefox type 192.168.1.254

Click on expert.

I think under configuration , but set default gateway to 192.168.1.254.

downloaded those 3 drivers and installed them...internet is up and running thanks for all the help guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

If when you go on the internet and start scrolling the text appears to jump or the resolution the PC is very low you may still have graphic drivers to install...

ShooterSF wrote: »
    If when you go on the internet and start scrolling the text appears to jump or the resolution the PC is very low you may still have graphic drivers to install...

ya its jumpy when scrolling. i've been to the dell drivers page but I havnt a bulls notion which ones to download! there loads of em!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Damokc wrote: »
    ya its jumpy when scrolling. i've been to the dell drivers page but I havnt a bulls notion which ones to download! there loads of em!

Download GPUz to find out which GPU is in the machine. It may not say the exact model but should tell you its a Intel or Nvidia, and the chipset version possibly. Download the corresponding driver.
    People always tend to forget to install drivers after a OS reinstall, likely the OS will run much worse without them, Chipset, Video, Sound, Network ones are critical to be reinstalled!

Nick

yoyo wrote: »
    Download GPUz to find out which GPU is in the machine. It may not say the exact model but should tell you its a Intel or Nvidia, and the chipset version possibly. Download the corresponding driver.
    People always tend to forget to install drivers after a OS reinstall, likely the OS will run much worse without them, Chipset, Video, Sound, Network ones are critical to be reinstalled!

Nick

I downloaded that and ran it but all the places where info should be are blank

when I run "dxdiag" it doesn't show any graphics card at all:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭johnnybmac

Try Everest Free Edition from here: http://majorgeeks.com/download4181.html

This should identify your graphics card...

I downloaded that and ran it but all the places where info should be are blank

Could you post a screenshot of the GPUz output? You can upload it somewhere like www.imgur.com or attach it to a post

Nick

This link should list video drivers. It's either intel or nvidia. Download the first one and try and run it. If it doesn't work (it shouldn't install if the card is nvidia) try the third one.

There's probably a tidier way of doing it but sometimes trial and error are just as easy.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    This link should list video drivers. It's either intel or nvidia. Download the first one and try and run it. If it doesn't work (it shouldn't install if the card is nvidia) try the third one.

There's probably a tidier way of doing it but sometimes trial and error are just as easy.

Found out with Everest download that its an ATI Radeon x300 series graphics card so I went to their site and downloaded the driver...but its still all jumpy.:o
    Can't believe this is turning out to be so bloody complicated.

Strange... Did you install the driver? If you right click My Computer and select manage, then choose device manager from the new window and click the arrow beside "Display Adapters" what is listed?

Found out with Everest download that its an ATI Radeon x300 series graphics card so I went to their site and downloaded the driver...but its still all jumpy.:o
    Can't believe this is turning out to be so bloody complicated.

If you or no one else has ever installed a video card well that is quite strange, in fairness to Dell they are good at keeping their driver site up to date and accurate, if it's still jumpy I would hazzard a guess that the drivers for ATI are not what you need, weird Everest would report otherwise though. Try the Nvidia and Intel ones on the Dell page, the worst that will happen is you might need to do a repair install if things screw up, or if system restore is enabled "Restore to last known good config", but most driver installers won't install without detecting a particular bit of hardware, but I have seen some which dont!

Nick

Edit: Something you can check:
    Start>right Click "My computer">Properties>Advanced Tab>Performance and make sure all the items in there are ticked, they should be with a default XP install, well I've never seen otherwise

yoyo wrote: »
    If you or no one else has ever installed a video card well that is quite strange, in fairness to Dell they are good at keeping their driver site up to date and accurate, if it's still jumpy I would hazzard a guess that the drivers for ATI are not what you need, weird Everest would report otherwise though. Try the Nvidia and Intel ones on the Dell page, the worst that will happen is you might need to do a repair install if things screw up, or if system restore is enabled "Restore to last known good config", but most driver installers won't install without detecting a particular bit of hardware, but I have seen some which dont!

Nick

Edit: Something you can check:
    Start>right Click "My computer">Properties>Advanced Tab>Performance and make sure all the items in there are ticked, they should be with a default XP install, well I've never seen otherwise

I cant do a restore because I've just done a OS install...that's why I'm in this situation. Everest didn't say to download those drivers. I just did that myself when I saw Everest said what card was on the pc. I've tried the 3 Graphics Card drivers 4 times now that are on the Dell site but it sas the drivers aren't compatible with the pc hardware. This is obvious enough if they're for nVidia and mine is Radeon?

Then obviously someone changed your video card or the Dell site is wrong, but from expierence the Dell site is fairly accurate. If the Radeon drivers didn't increase the performance look at my suggestion above (repeated below), just in case Everest got it wrong thats why I suggested trying the others, as I said I've seen drivers install in the past and be not for the particular piece of hardware at all.
    Try this:
    Start>right Click "My computer">Properties>Advanced Tab>Performance>Settings and make sure all the items in there are ticked.

If when dragging windows/scrolling is still laggy/stuttering then something is not right!

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Go to DeviceManager and look for any unidentified devices, then get the PCI vendor and device codes from advanced properties, both are 4 digit hex codes. google these.

Or try http://www.driveridentifier.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭johnnybmac

Another thing worth trying, would be to remove the graphics card ( if possible, depending on if it's onboard or a separate PCI card) and then reseat it.

Also, i've never seen Everest, or any similar programs, report the incorrect hardware... Usually, if it cannot be identified, it will be left blank...

johnnybmac wrote: »
    Also, i've never seen Everest, or any similar programs, report the incorrect hardware... Usually, if it cannot be identified, it will be left blank...

Have no expierience with Everest hence just wondering :) Semms to be a strange problem indeed though!

Nick