Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

need serious jogging partner

• 16-11-2011 4:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26

:)hi im looking for a jogging partner at 6.00 am -7.00 am every morning in the murroe boher area,im 27 female.been jogging two years.anyone up for it?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

Let the deluge begin ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

I can never remember if it is this forum or After Hours that the standard answer of "pics or GTFO" should be given :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Have you tried your local club? Better chance of finding local runners there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I be doing my morning run 3 to 4 days a week around the university. Either in the back field or along the river bank.

I be going easy to moderate for these session.

orlibug84 wrote: »
    :)hi im looking for a jogging partner at 6.00 am -7.00 am every morning in the murroe boher area,im 27 female.been jogging two years.anyone up for it?:)

You could alway contact Bilbao AC.

Some of their athletes i.e. Rosemary Ryan, may go for a morning run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 orlibug84

YFlyer wrote: »
    You could alway contact Bilbao AC.

Some of their athletes i.e. Rosemary Ryan, may go for a morning run.
    thanks for the info:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

What do you mean by "serious jogging partner"? At the risk of spliting hairs, what you're saying is a bit of a contradiction in terms. Jogging in itself would indicate someone whos not so serious about their training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

tunguska wrote: »
    What do you mean by "serious jogging partner"? At the risk of spliting hairs, what you're saying is a bit of a contradiction in terms. Jogging in itself would indicate someone whos not so serious about their training.

Running at 6 every morning is pretty serious in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

No, maybe the OP is looking for someone who's not light-hearted and jokey, but who jogs :confused:

hi there!im actually looking for someone whos dedicated everyday to going and not someone who does one day and not the next!getting up 5.30 every morning for last 2 years ang jogging for an hr is pretty good in my opion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

That is serious! You won't find many who fit into that routine.

hi there!im actually looking for someone whos dedicated everyday to going and not someone who does one day and not the next!getting up 5.30 every morning for last 2 years ang jogging for an hr is pretty good in my opion.

I wasn't trying to be a smart arse, its just that there are different interpretations of "serious." Sounds like you'd benefit from joining a club, put the fitness you've built up to good use. Plus theres no better way to up your game than to train with people who are faster than you are at present.

i agree with you !that would be great to run with faster people,but my only time to go is 6-7 and i would do my usuall but its too dark for me to go alone at that time:)

I didnt quite understand what you were saying there, did you mean that its too dark at 6am to run on your own? Or is it too dark at 6pm?

Too dark at 6 am.

But how is it unsafe to run at 6am? I'd think it was safer to run at 6am than 6pm.

You're a guy, right? I think 27 year old females have to calculate things differently, and might not consider it safe to run alone at either 6am or 6pm.

too dark at 6 am,need someone with me to feel safer out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Jebus, the op just asked for a training partner, no need to give her the third degree.:mad:

im just looking for company jogging in my area at 6 am thats all !

Will it be safe for them to run with you? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

No worries OP. Its just the word 'jogging' annoys some sensitive sorts around here.

gerard65 wrote: »
    No worries OP. Its just the word 'jogging' annoys some sensitive sorts around here.
    haha...:D.so it seems,so it seems :D

Will it be safe for them to run with you? :eek:
    :D:eek: i hope so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

RayCun wrote: »
    You're a guy, right? I think 27 year old females have to calculate things differently, and might not consider it safe to run alone at either 6am or 6pm.

If all 27 year old females didn't feel it was safe to run alone at certain times of the day, some of us would never get any running done.

Ah, but sure you've a black belt :)

Thats what I was thinking. How unsafe is it at 6am? Even though Im a bloke I would say that people up to no good wouldnt be even out of the scratcher at such an hour. Like RK said you cant let what might happen stop you.

<mod>
    Is it really difficult to understand why a young woman might want a running partner to run in the dark at 6am?
    Is it so difficult to offer constructive advice?
    Do I need to sit you all down and give you the lecture on sexism and the internet?
    </mod>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

<mod>
    Is it really difficult to understand why a young woman might want a running partner to run in the dark at 6am?
    Do I need to sit you all down and give you the lecture on sexism and the internet?
    </mod>

Are you an expert in the field?

I've read enough articles like this, or this, to be more of an expert than I'd like.
    Men have it easy online. If you go to a computer game forum, you get to talk about computer games. On a running forum, you get PMs about running. Politics blog? Politics comments.
    But a lot of women don't use names that identify themselves as women because it means that half the comments they get will be about them being women - post a pic/show us your tits/will you be my girlfriend/**** you bitch. Not all women, not all the time, not everywhere, but far too much.

You had to ask :rolleyes:

I've read enough articles like this, or this, to be more of an expert than I'd like.
    Men have it easy online. If you go to a computer game forum, you get to talk about computer games. On a running forum, you get PMs about running. Politics blog? Politics comments.
    But a lot of women don't use names that identify themselves as women because it means that half the comments they get will be about them being women - post a pic/show us your tits/will you be my girlfriend/**** you bitch. Not all women, not all the time, not everywhere, but far too much.

1. Jaysus, don't shoot! :eek:

2. With all your time spend on Boards, when do you get to read these articles?:D

3. You're preaching to the choir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Fair play ray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

I certainly would not run around my area at 6am on my own... there are plenty of weridos out there at any time of the day.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

This girl lives in Limerick lads. I wouldn't go anywhere in Limerick on my tod at any time of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

This girl lives in Limerick lads. I wouldn't go anywhere in Limerick on my tod at any time of the day.

I'd prefer to run in Murroe than Clondalkin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Haven't heard that joke this week from you yet :rolleyes: Glass houses and stones come to mind.

I'm from Portobello. Lovely area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

*nods sagely*

Where do you live though?

I've been to Morocco, it doesn't make me Moroccan.:P

Mr Slow wrote: »
    Where do you live though?

I've been to Morocco, it doesn't make me Moroccan.:P

The latter part of your post backs me up so. Just because I live in Ballyer doesn't make me a Ballyer head. Thanks for your support, I can always rely on you. :)

22.gif

<mod>
    </mod>

What? Are you serious with those comments? Point out to me exactly what I, or anybody else said here that was sexist?
    Way over the top with that post.

Sexism may be alive and well on the internet, no doubt about that, but again, point out to me how anybody on here is being sexist? You're jumping to conclusions and being too heavy handed.

I don't think Ray was suggesting that sexism was at play here, just that if a guy had put up the same post there wouldn't have been a discussion, he'd just get directed to the 'group run' thread.

He got a little bit excited but we're all entitled to an opinion.

I don't think Ray was suggesting that sexism was at play here, just that if a guy had put up the same post there wouldn't have been a discussion, he'd just get directed to the 'group run' thread.

What evidence is there to suggest that there was sexism at play? I was genuinely interested to know why there was a problem running at 6am. Way too touchy lads, people need to be able to ask questions without being accused of sexism. Thats political correctness gone over the top.
    Yes people are entitled to their opinions but you gotta think things through and get all the angles before you make accusations.

What evidence is there to suggest that there was sexism at play? I was genuinely interested to know why there was a problem running at 6am. Way too touchy lads, people need to be able to ask questions without being accused of sexism. Thats political correctness gone over the top.
    Yes people are entitled to their opinions but you gotta think things through and get all the angles before you make accusations.

What? If he wasnt suggesting there was sexism at play then what was this about........

<mod>
    </mod>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

I think we've gone off topic...

1. The OP wants a running partner
    2. RQ thinks she's getting away with Portebello :)

What? If he wasnt suggesting there was sexism at play then what was this about........

Fair point, I've nothing else to contribute to this (a combination of meh and lack of interest ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

In fairness seemed like she was been hassled a bit bout wanted someone to go running with a 6 am . All she was lookin for was constructive advice. Her reasons shouldnt have to be explained or questioned .