Shopping in the north, worth your while?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,709 ✭✭✭stimpson

Well I hear they're prob going to bring down children's allowance, prob put up post grad fees, your car tax is definately going up(I just paid mine for the full year), as well as the vat and just imagine you helped get yourself get all those cuts from shopping in the North. And when you're driving up north to spend all your money there, think what cuts are instore for you for next christmas. That's karma

All of which will make it even more likely that I'll need to save a few pennies next Christmas. Do you see how the system works?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Princess2011

Well it's the 'which comes first, the chicken or the egg' debate. However some of us are more intelligent to figure this one out.

Look, if it gives you a nice warm cosy feeling that you're keeping the economy going, then that's super. But I can't afford warm cosy feelings this Christmas so don't pretend that it somehow makes you more intelligent or morally superior.

Times are tough and I'll do what it takes to ensure my family are provided for. No amount of empty platitudes from you are going to put turkey on the table or ensure that Santy comes, however saving a few bob in Asda or on Amazon might just make the difference. Fair play to anyone who has the sense to do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

It's like arguing with a 5 year old who can't seem to grasp any reason. You're coming up with arguments to justify yourself and focusing on trivial things without seeing the bigger picture. Good luck up the north! And good luck on tuesday- I hope your dole is cut- it's too much anyway.

I think it is you who is arguing like a 5 year old with Stimpson. He has backed up his arguments with proper facts. Your argument is some ol patriotic sh*te. People need to cut costs wherever possible now. Some people don't have enough money to buy their kids the christmas presents they want. If it means they save a few euro up north and get to have a happy christmas, who cares. You are living in narnia if you think just because people spend a few quid up north, that they personally are causing job losses. It is the Government and the Banks (for sucking the money out of the state coffers) who have caused all the job losses.

You should do your research and back up your statements before you enter into a debate. Your posts are painful to read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Princess2011

Monife wrote: »
    I think it is you who is arguing like a 5 year old with Stimpson. He has backed up his arguments with proper facts. Your argument is some ol patriotic sh*te. People need to cut costs wherever possible now. Some people don't have enough money to buy their kids the christmas presents they want. If it means they save a few euro up north and get to have a happy christmas, who cares. You are living in narnia if you think just because people spend a few quid up north, that they personally are causing job losses. It is the Government and the Banks (for sucking the money out of the state coffers) who have caused all the job losses.

You should do your research and back up your statements before you enter into a debate. Your posts are painful to read.

You are seriously disillusioned. If I google stuff as well I can present you with facts. FYI you can't use wikipedia as fact either. I have never once mentioned anything about being patriotic. Maybe you should read my comments again and something will sink in. You say a few euro, as I said in one of my last comments, it's over €400 that could be pumped back into our economy and that would roughly be the equivailent of 13500 jobs at a salary of €30,000. And again have a look at that programme on TV3 and see there is no saving to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

Maybe you should read my comments again

I wouldn't wish that on anyone, you're talking absolute f*cking nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

That is such a unrealistic comment. Of course I buy stuff that isn't made in this country. Over 50% of the products in Irish shops are made in other countries. If we all went with your logic, we wouldn't be able to buy cars, tvs, bananas etc. I buy local, when I can't get an item I need I go to Dublin to get it, I don't think I've ever had to resort to sourcing things online or from another country. I'd rather spend an extra €10 that helps private and public sector people keep their jobs.

As for BlueIrish' comment, I suggest you have a look at the programme that was on TV3 the other night bout buying up north. They did the same list of shopping either side of the border and it worked out €3 more expensive down here and that wasn't even taking petrol into consideration. So that blows your argument out of the water.

For those who think I'm ranting- think of it as an education. Just think if the €400 million that was spent up North last year by Irish people was spent down here we would be facing less cuts on Tues. Hope I've been able to convince at least one person not to cross this border this year.

I care about me. I don't give two fcuks about companies that have somehow been able to cut prices by 20% over the last few years. When something is cheaper here I'll buy it here. It's called competition and it's wonderful sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,301 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Back on topic. Can't be civil don't post!

You are seriously disillusioned. If I google stuff as well I can present you with facts. FYI you can't use wikipedia as fact either. I have never once mentioned anything about being patriotic. Maybe you should read my comments again and something will sink in. You say a few euro, as I said in one of my last comments, it's over €400 that could be pumped back into our economy and that would roughly be the equivailent of 13500 jobs at a salary of €30,000. And again have a look at that programme on TV3 and see there is no saving to be made.

So your sums are 1,000,0000 people spending 400 each is 400,000,000. Divided by 30,000 is 13,500.

So you think the entire purchase price goes to paying wages? Are you sure you studied economics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭maxer68

TV3 programme showed no savings to be made

Pat Kenny programme showed no savings to be made (and many items MUCH cheaper in south)

Newstalk shows no overall saving to be made.

My own trips up there (business & family) every few weeks for last couple fo year, continue to say there are no savings to be had.

Comparisons on websites on a range of 40 popular items shows no savings to eb made in NI.

Go for a day out, go for an experience, go for variety and a change in scene, go for the lights of belfast, go for the atmosphere.

But if you think you are going to save money as well, you are very mistaken. But Belfast at Christmas is very unique and is well worth a visit for its day out value rather than pricing value.

maxer68 wrote: »

Pat Kenny programme showed no savings to be made (and many items MUCH cheaper in south)

Newstalk shows no overall saving to be made.

My own trips up there (business & family) every few weeks for last couple fo year, continue to say there are no savings to be had.

Comparisons on websites on a range of 40 popular items shows no savings to eb made in NI.

Go for a day out, go for an experience, go for variety and a change in scene, go for the lights of belfast, go for the atmosphere.

But if you think you are going to save money as well, you are very mistaken. But Belfast at Christmas is very unique and is well worth a visit for its day out value rather than pricing value.

Incorrect. There are savings to be made, you just have to look hard enough. And great savings they are if you are buying a good bit of the same catagory of product. For example, designer makeup in Debenhams here is approximately 10-20 euro dearer than the Debenhams up North. Same goes for perfumes/aftershave.

HMV up North is also WAY cheaper than down here. You need to do your research before/if you go, and then you will make a reasonable saving. If a few people go up and chip in for petrol, you're onto a winner.

The program was wrong and a half ass job done of it, go to Asda for a start, Sainsburys is the dearest store up north.

Regards to Elmo Price that was talked about on the program, here in the south it's €59.99 which she was correct with:

http://www.toys.ie/Sesame-Street-Lets-Rock-Elmo-!110547-prd.aspx?qwSessionID=1bebe5ea-ff57-4bba-9078-287f38e486ff

Up north in the same store it’s £39.99/€46.72, not €57.

http://www.smythstoys.com/sesame-street-171sc/sesame-street-lets-rock-elmo-110547itm.aspx?qwSessionID=e010abe6-79a6-4a15-bf20-0997e8fc04f2

A €13.27 saving, not the €2 saving the woman stated on the program.

hellboy99 wrote: »
    The program was wrong and a half ass job done of it, go to Asda for a start, Sainsburys is the dearest store up north.

Regards to Elmo Price that was talked about on the program, here in the south it's €59.99 which she was correct with:

http://www.toys.ie/Sesame-Street-Lets-Rock-Elmo-!110547-prd.aspx?qwSessionID=1bebe5ea-ff57-4bba-9078-287f38e486ff

http://www.smythstoys.com/sesame-street-171sc/sesame-street-lets-rock-elmo-110547itm.aspx?qwSessionID=e010abe6-79a6-4a15-bf20-0997e8fc04f2

A good few people on boards have said that show was a farce and was to make the North look bad as a lot of their advertising and funds are received from Southern businesses. Hidden agendas.

hellboy99 wrote: »

That's hardly a representative sample you are showing and also you seem to be a little short on explanation.

The rrp is €89.99 & £79.99, but this seems to be a price war product, so retailers are now selling it at a loss to garner pubicity. At the time of the TV3 Programme, this was £49.99 / €59.99 but further reduction by another retailer in NI has meant smyths have dropped the NI price by a further £10 to price match.

So wow - you'll save €13 on possibly the most annoying toy out this christmas, but purely becasue its a local special offer. At the normal retail price, it would have been cheaper to buy south, just lake many other toys & games - but sure the begrudgers will only point to the ever diminishing number of special offers to compare north and south.

For normal shopping, THERE IS NO SAVING! - But if you want a good day out, places like Belfast & Derry are great places to go.

BTW - just for everyone to be very clear. The minimum rate of exchange you need to use is 1.185 (excluding any exchange commission)
    so £10 - €11.85, £20 = €23.70 etc £39.99 = €47.38
    Or to include commission, probably safer & easier to use 1.20.

For normal shopping, THERE IS NO SAVING! - But if you want a good day out, places like Belfast & Derry are great places to go.

As I was saying before, there are big savings to be made if buying non perishables in bulk. A quick look on tesco.ie VS asda.co.uk gives us these:

Radox mens showergel - €2.79 vs 3 for £3
    L'oreal men expert anto persperant €3.35 vs £1.50
    Colgate toothpaste 100ml - 2 for €5.50 vs 2 for £3
    Colgate toothbrush - €3.09 vs 2 for £3
    Head and shoulders 500ml - €5.59 vs £3.50

For Drugs I'm not even going to try and find an Irish price:

ASDA ibuprofen caps 16s - 28p
    ASDA paracetamol tabs 16s - 15p
    ASDA aspirin 300mg 16's - 19p

Frozen food
    McCain home chips - €2.65 vs £1
    Jamie Oliver fish cakes - €2.69 vs 2 for £3
    Birds eye 1/4 pounders - 1.98 vs €3.49

stimpson wrote: »
    As I was saying before, there are big savings to be made if buying non perishables in bulk. A quick look on tesco.ie VS asda.co.uk gives us these:

Radox mens showergel - €2.79 vs 3 for £3
    L'oreal men expert anto persperant €3.35 vs £1.50
    Colgate toothpaste 100ml - 2 for €5.50 vs 2 for £3
    Colgate toothbrush - €3.09 vs 2 for £3
    Head and shoulders 500ml - €5.59 vs £3.50

For Drugs I'm not even going to try and find an Irish price:

ASDA ibuprofen caps 16s - 28p
    ASDA paracetamol tabs 16s - 15p
    ASDA aspirin 300mg 16's - 19p

Frozen food
    McCain home chips - €2.65 vs £1
    Jamie Oliver fish cakes - €2.69 vs 2 for £3
    Birds eye 1/4 pounders - 1.98 vs €3.49

but you are comparing TEMPORARY special offers with noraml retail prices.

A minor sitch of brand or type and you can get - lager bag oven chips for €1.29, 1/4pounders for half price etc etc.

Comparing a temporary special offer with normal pricing is bad economics - I can then list 20 / 30 tesco / dunnes offfers taht ASDA have a full rpice and then shout Tesco in soputh is 20% cheaper than tesco in north.

L'oreal Mens deo - 2 for €3 in Hickeys, €1.50 in euro 2, 2 for €3 in local pharmacy too. Colgate tootpaste - €1.50 in euro 2, 2 for €2 in local discount store in newbridge, head and shoulders (crap imo) but a small switch to timotei (crap also) and you'll have your shampoo for €2

Special offer comparison is stupid and bears no resemblance to a NORMAL family shop.

For a normal shop that includes bread, veg, fresh meat, chilled good, fruit, cereals, tinned product, toiletries etc etc, there is no discernaible saving either side of the border. - and if you think there is, then you've rose tinted specs on.

A minor sitch of brand or type and you can get - lager bag oven chips for €1.29, 1/4pounders for half price etc etc.

Comparing a temporary special offer with normal pricing is bad economics - I can then list 20 / 30 tesco / dunnes offfers taht ASDA have a full rpice and then shout Tesco in soputh is 20% cheaper than tesco in north.

L'oreal Mens deo - 2 for €3 in Hickeys, €1.50 in euro 2, 2 for €3 in local pharmacy too. Colgate tootpaste - €1.50 in euro 2, 2 for €2 in local discount store in newbridge, head and shoulders (crap imo) but a small switch to timotei (crap also) and you'll have your shampoo for €2

Special offer comparison is stupid and bears no resemblance to a NORMAL family shop.

For a normal shop that includes bread, veg, fresh meat, chilled good, fruit, cereals, tinned product, toiletries etc etc, there is no discernaible saving either side of the border. - and if you think there is, then you've rose tinted specs on.

But you wouldn't be heading up North for a "normal" family shop. The trick to make the savings is to avail of the offers on non-perishable goods and to buy electrics/dvd's/make-up/perfume/aftershave.

If you swich brands in ASDA you can make even bigger savings. I purposely compared like for like. ASDA own brand is good quality and much cheaper And they're not all special offers. If you can do the same on Tesco.ie then please do. Make sure you are comparing like for like.

I use the L'oreal expert deodorant and I've never seen it that cheap. It's normally 3.50. I'd bet the toothpaste is smaller tubes. And Timotei are £1 in ASDA.

It's perfectly reasonable to include them if they are available at that price. Do you go into Tescos and ignore the special offers? Like I said, if you are making savings Then stock up on non perishable stuff - especially on the specials.

Its not about doing a normal shop - it's about saving money. There is a reason I didn't include many of those things, but there are serious savings to be made on toiletries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

If you swich brands in ASDA you can make even bigger savings. I purposely compared like for like. ASDA own brand is good quality and much cheaper And they're not all special offers. If you can do the same on Tesco.ie then please do. Make sure you are comparing like for like.

I use the L'oreal expert deodorant and I've never seen it that cheap. It's normally 3.50. I'd bet the toothpaste is smaller tubes. And Timotei are £1 in ASDA.

It's perfectly reasonable to include them if they are available at that price. Do you go into Tescos and ignore the special offers? Like I said, if you are making savings Then stock up on non perishable stuff - especially on the specials.

Its not about doing a normal shop - it's about saving money. There is a reason I didn't include many of those things, but there are serious savings to be made on toiletries.

So what is the point of buying nothing but non perishables and toiletries? Hardly a typical shopping basket. Spending more than you need to stock up on a years supply of shower gel and then feel the pinch when you need to buy meat,veg, milk, bread etc. There's plenty of offers year round in all the supermarkets in the south. Great offers if you're near a "buylo" outlet on plenty of items like shower gels, washing powders, household cleaners etc.

People have this 2% VAT increase blown out of all proportion. Don't forget the extra 2% will be added onto the fuel you're going to use to get to the North.

So what is the point of buying nothing but non perishables and toiletries? Hardly a typical shopping basket. Spending more than you need to stock up on a years supply of shower gel and then feel the pinch when you need to buy meat,veg, milk, bread etc. There's plenty of offers year round in all the supermarkets in the south. Great offers if you're near a "buylo" outlet on plenty of items like shower gels, washing powders, household cleaners etc.

People have this 2% VAT increase blown out of all proportion. Don't forget the extra 2% will be added onto the fuel you're going to use to get to the North.

Ill say it again. Its not about doing a typical shop, it's about saving money. I'm less likely to feel the pinch during the year if I don't have to buy toothpaste and deodorant.

Things are substantially cheaper already. The 2% is the icing on the cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Macker1

Camera I looking to buy up north comes in at around €460. The cheapest price down here is Argos at around €490. Two shops in town are selling it at around €550. Feck the country and choose what makes most sense for your wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭eurokev

honestly people are being so blind. I took a trip up north with my aunt a few weeks back and people are only seeing the special offers. A poster is going on about toothpaste there and other toiletres. they are the exact same price more or less. you are just quoting things that are on special. I often buy branded toothpaste shower gel etc... down here for around the €1 mark all the time(when on special).

I assure you if you stand back and really examine it you are saving very very little. Just because the particular product you are looking for is cheaper up north doent mean everything is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

I live beside the border, beside Letterkenny.

I find that the north wins out always. I go there atm for all my toiletries, which are usually less than a pound at the likes of poundland, B&M, and other wee shops. Asda has amazing value for money, everything is much cheaper. That Midweek programme on tv3 was a disgrace, its like comparing sainsburys to superquinn, it wasn't the lowest shopping price you could have got.

I only shop in the north for my clothes, for example today I was in monsoon in the foyleside in derry. One dress (purely for example) had €220 on the ticket, underneath £160. It was €185 roughly with the exchange rate at £1 : €1.164. Difference of €35 right there on its own.

Also, heating oil is also cheaper.

For me, it costs the same amount to go to letterkenny as it is to go to Derry. Why would I go somewhere which was dearer? I do shop in penneys and get bits and bobs in Letterkenny but i find it a rip off!

Ill say it again. Its not about doing a typical shop, it's about saving money. I'm less likely to feel the pinch during the year if I don't have to buy toothpaste and deodorant.

I fail to understand how people think they're "saving" money as they have to spend more money to justify the trip. :rolleyes:. All the pro north shoppers talk about is filling the boot "you don't just go up for this, you go up and buy in bullk and spend £200...". That's not saving, that's splurging because it's a bit cheaper and you HAVE to overspend to justify the trip.

I can buy colgate toothpaste for €1 in my local euro2 shop, same with fairy liquid, shampoos, baby wipes, shower gels etc. I only have to travel to my local town to get them, all of 10 minutes of a trip. And I only have to buy what I need, not have to worry about wasting time planning/comparing/travelling/bothering with currency.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I fail to understand how people think they're "saving" money as they have to spend more money to justify the trip. :rolleyes:. All the pro north shoppers talk about is filling the boot "you don't just go up for this, you go up and buy in bullk and spend £200...". That's not saving, that's splurging because it's a bit cheaper and you HAVE to overspend to justify the trip.

I can buy colgate toothpaste for €1 in my local euro2 shop, same with fairy liquid, shampoos, baby wipes, shower gels etc. I only have to travel to my local town to get them, all of 10 minutes of a trip. And I only have to buy what I need, not have to worry about wasting time planning/comparing/travelling/bothering with currency.;)

Jesus Christ, they're only spending on things they would have to spend on in the future anyway. Right now Dunnes and Lidl have excellent offers on Alcohol, I'm going to stock up for Christmas. I don't drink alone so I'll only be drinking it when I'm out, therefore will only buy as much as I would if I waited, but this way it'll be cheaper. Toiletries and the like aren't things that make you say "Oh, well I have loads so I'll use it up quickly!" They have an almost fixed level of consumption so buying in bulk doesn't backfire.

a one hour scout around any town in Ireland will give you the same savings.

In Newbridge, you could park in one spot and check Tesco, Dunnes, Euro2, Better Buy and a couple of local pharmacies in less than an hour. Very quickly you know where to go for what and you will NEVER pay full price for any of the long life items you talk about such as toiletries / claening stuff. Unless you are near the dorder and its your local shopping area, you are only fooling your own wallet with your shopping trips.

Btw - about 3 years ago I was a fervent supporter of NI shopping due to the ridiculous differences down here, I even diod typical shopping baskets showing 25%+ savings on normal shopping and the house only had sainsbury & tesco Ni bags in it.

As for the sainsbury / asda comparison - moneysurermarlet.com surveys regularly show overall difference of about 1%. Those who think otherwise are fooled by asda's excellent marketing.

Colgate tubes are 150ml - bigger than normal!
    L'Oreal Deo Buy one get one free in Long's Pharmacy, Nivea 2 for €3. - there's frankly no difference in product, so I'll go for the best value every time.

Tesco offer - no I never ignore them, but I'll switch brands as quickly as I'll switch lanes on a motorway to take advantage of an offer - there is no performace difference between persil, bold etc - I'll go for the offer every time.
    This is where people are fooling themselves - they go for the offer in Asda and compare with the full price in tesco here - even if tesco have a similar alternative at an offer down here and which they would have bought if shopping in tesco. False savings and only fooling your own wallets.

Think of it - when did any savvy shopper pay full price for deo, washing powder, diswasher tablets, pet food, loo paper, tissues? If you have, then you need to stop the brand loyalty and buy the offers, every one of these products has an offer every week in every supermarket. Open you eyes to the marketing and save.

Macker1 wrote: »
    Camera I looking to buy up north comes in at around €460. The cheapest price down here is Argos at around €490. Two shops in town are selling it at around €550. Feck the country and choose what makes most sense for your wallet.

Doing a price comparison exercise for a kitchen renovation -

logged onto Currys.ie and Currys.co.uk for comparisons

Samsung WD87004RJD - washer dryer
    currys.ie €549
    currys.co.uk £549/€661 :eek: A massive mark up in the UK.

Indesit CA55S Fridge freezer €
    currys.ie €329
    currys.co.uk £269/€324 - massive saving of €5:rolleyes:

Indesit FIDI01 double built in oven
    currys.ie €339
    currys.co.uk £279/€336- saving of €3:D

Indesit VRM640X - ceramic hob
    currys.ie €229
    currys.co.uk £249/€300 Cheaper in RO1 even before conversion:rolleyes:

Bosch classixx integrated dishwasher
    currys.ie €449
    currys.co.uk £399/€480

Samsung 32" LE32d400 flat screen tv (for the living room)
    currys.ie €309
    currys.co.uk €249/€300. (the biggest saving €9:D)

Total currys.ie €2204
    Total currys.co.uk £1994/€2402.

Items were not chosen on the basis of sale price, rather on specification and budget, reliability (in the case of the dishwasher) and size (7kg wash/5kg drying capacity in the case of the washer dryer)

So a saving to be made in the south - and I would guarantee there would be a further rounding down of the prices if you walked into the store and haggled a bit.

I know I would much rather buy local, particularly for electrical goods that may have a chance of acting up. I don't fancy having to travel back up North to return an item that has broken within it's warranty - and with the ever decreasing price on electrical items comes the fact that they don't last as long as they used to and are far more disposable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Hi all took a trip to Newry on Saturday and visited Sainsbury's in The Quays & other shops

I didn't really do a perishibles/food shop there but I availed of some of the offers

Here's a cross section of what I got.

Wines Buy 6 Save 25%
    Hardys Sparkling Wine £6.99 x 2
    Terres De Gale 75cl £5.49
    Gewurztramer £7.99 x 2
    Marques Cava Brut £5.99
    Total £33.45 - £10.36 (25% Discount)= £23.09

Beer
    2 x 15pk 300ml Budweiser for £15
    6 x Budvar 500ml £9.72

Pet Food
    2 for £3 Pedigree Med Jumbones
    Felix 12pk Cat Food 2 for £5

Chocolate/Sweets
    Terry's Chocolate Orange £2.75
    Celebrations Tub £3.99
    Roses Tub £3.99
    Quality Street Tub £3.99
    6 Deep Fill Mince Pies £1

Household Goods
    Fairy Liquid £1.70
    Carex Handwash £0.80
    Persil Colour Tabs £5.49
    Nurofen 10pk Painkillers £2.75

There were savings of at least €10 on Perfume/Make-Up Gift Boxes in Debenhams. Clothes were also cheaper than Irish Counter part.

M&S Food there was no real difference in price & I felt there was a poor selection anyway. Clothes & Gifts were cheaper though.

Diesel cost about €30 round trip to Dublin (filled up in M1 Applegreen @ 1.44 per litre)

Personally I made savings by doing part of my shopping there, I've now got more money to spend in my local Butchers & grocers & pub :)

Hope it helps someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 workerx

I work for Applegreen and we have a problem at our service station. There is alot of petrol being taken without being paid for.the cctv is of bad quality and these thieves find a way to mask the number plates. To get straight to the point, we, the staff are responsible for starting the fuel pumps to those as well as serving customers and we are made pay for fu being stolen.One guy opposed this and as soon as he did he was cut hours and eventualy constructibely dissmissed. What should i do????