Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Car Keys were Robbed

• 15-11-2011 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭

this is the second time My keys were Robbed and im really annoyed

As i am only using my Master Key now i was just wondering can i get it reporgrammed and get a remote key as well, i really do not want to be paying mad prices by toyota ,

can anyone recommend what i might do

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Are you not worried about the thief coming along some night and carrying the car or its contents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

How were they stolen, taken from your person or taken from the house? Most insurance policies will cover the cost of replacement keys if they are stolen.

If someone out there has the key to your car then I would be looking at getting the car's immobiliser reprogramed along with the new keys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭faolteam

the keys were robbed from the locker

who ever took them just put there hands in one pocket and took the ipod , keys., but did not take the wallet and phone in other pocket i get the impression it was a quick grab and porb taken by a young person,

im living at home so im a sibling not sure if my keys are covered ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

faolteam wrote: »
    i get the impression it was a quick grab and porb taken by a young person
    And what gives you that impression?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

who ever took them just put there hands in one pocket and took the ipod , keys., but did not take the wallet and phone in other pocket i get the impression it was a quick grab and porb taken by a young person,

Call your insurance company and safeguard your car for the time being. Block it into a drive, put a steering wheel lock on or take a wheel off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I meant your car insurance may cover them, not home insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

whether your insurance covers it or not,

unless the cost of replacing the locks and ignition barrell is more than the value of the car, i be getting them changed one way or the other...

why leave the wallet and the phone
    And what gives you that impression?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Why would a young person leave the wallet and phone? :confused:

why would anyone leave it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

why would anyone leave it
    Exactly! Why did you just say it must of been a young person???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

Weird opportunistic grab - ehm was it at your gym or place of work - do you frequent - nothing stopping the knacker who nicked em from turning up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Slightly OT, but was there a lock on this locker? I'm always amazed at the number of unlocked lockers full of stuff at my gym - TBH, I can't see most insurance companies wanting to know in such a case.

and it was a Gym Member

yes lot of lockers no locks mine did and it was at a very quiet time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

this is the second time My keys were Robbed and im really annoyed

As i am only using my Master Key now i was just wondering can i get it reporgrammed and get a remote key as well, i really do not want to be paying mad prices by toyota ,

can anyone recommend what i might do

thanks

did you try ringing toyota for a quote?...it might surprise you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Did you contact the gym to see what members were there the same time as you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Soarer wrote: »
    Did you contact the gym to see what members were there the same time as you?
    There's no way they'd tell him that, and rightly so.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

1. Notify your insurance company as they have an interest in the matter.
    2. (and it doesn't appear apparent that you have) complain to the management of the gym that this is the second time that you have been robbed in their premises. Demand that they compensate you for your loss given that the locker they provided was locked.
    3. Notify the gardai of the robbery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Anan1 wrote: »
    There's no way they'd tell him that, and rightly so.

Why not? A crime has happened, and he's the victim.

Or maybe he should get onto the guards, and they could get the info?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Why not? A crime has happened, and he's the victim.
    He would not be entitled to that information.
    Or maybe he should get onto the guards, and they could get the info?
    The gardai on the other hand, would be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

have you tried this place for a price on replacement keys?

I've no affiliation. I just remember hearing an ad on the radio about them.

Edit: Just saw on their site they are the people Toyota themselves use. LINK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 angelinamo

Are you not worried about the thief coming along some night and carrying the car or its contents?
    i lost me car key right outside me gaff, didnt realise until about 2 in the morn dat me key wasnt on the chain, and some **** robbed it, im covered under fire and theft, im worried sick cause i didnt ring them till the next morn, cause me ma is 76 and i didnt want police up at me door, shes a worrier and me mates da had just died of a heart attack and the ****ers had to been from the flats wer i live, i just hope i get compensated, so if i was you id get the whole immobiliser changed, im gutted:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 angelinamo

angelinamo wrote: »
    i lost me car key right outside me gaff, didnt realise until about 2 in the morn dat me key wasnt on the chain, and some **** robbed it, im covered under fire and theft, im worried sick cause i didnt ring them till the next morn, cause me ma is 76 and i didnt want police up at me door, shes a worrier and me mates da had just died of a heart attack and the ****ers had to been from the flats wer i live, i just hope i get compensated, so if i was you id get the whole immobiliser changed, im gutted:(
    also i lost me keys before and had to pay 280 quid from autokey ie for a scabby lookin key dat doesnt central lock, and dat was the cheapest i cud get cause of the computerised system they waffle on about,