Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your best score ?

• 07-11-2011 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

Having read through the "cheats" thread it seems that alot / most of ye score between 32 - 36 points on a good day ?

Talking to people playing in comps it would seem that the usual winning score is over 44 points.

I was talking to a guy before and he had one of the days that everything went his way and walked off with 47 points !! He still didn't make the prizes !! I thought that was just unbelievable.

I've never broken 40 points although I have cracked 20 over 9 a couple of times so think it is in me maybe with abit more concentration / luck / skill / practice !!

Anyway, 2 Questions.

1) Whats your best score ?
    2) Whats the best score you saw win a singles competition ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I am one of those guys who has never in his life protected his handicap but often comes across that way. I have hoverd between 11 and 14 over the past 5 years but have had some rounds where everything has just clicked.

I have had a number of rounds over 40 and have had 2 45's but the one that embarasses me most is 47 in Roganstown off the white sticks. I have mentioned this in another thread a while back, playing off 13 I was 2 under gross with 4 holes left and bogeyed all 4 coming in for a gross 73, par is 71 so off 13 i think that was 47 points. In my excitement i never signed the card and had an official DQ (but still got cut, which i was happy with)

I am sure that there are others like me that who on their day can play to much lower than their handicap, TBH it is very hard to explain away my handicap when i play well and i can understand people who have not played with me before thinking "bandit"

J

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Jul3s

Having read through the "cheats" thread it seems that alot / most of ye score between 32 - 36 points on a good day ?

Talking to people playing in comps it would seem that the usual winning score is over 44 points.

I was talking to a guy before and he had one of the days that everything went his way and walked off with 47 points !! He still didn't make the prizes !! I thought that was just unbelievable.

I've never broken 40 points although I have cracked 20 over 9 a couple of times so think it is in me maybe with abit more concentration / luck / skill / practice !!

Anyway, 2 Questions.

1) Whats your best score ?
    2) Whats the best score you saw win a singles competition ?
    Look at myth 2 here and read it for yourself and make up your own mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Opics

I once had 47 points when I was younger at an Open Day in Douglas. I even had a 5 pointer that day (Eagle on a par 5 with a shot!). I had 2 other birdies in the round also. Still have the ball from that round at home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

i'm off 10 at the moment was 8 at the start of the year but nothing but .1's back this year.
    My lowest round was 74 when off 9 and my highest points were 48 when i was off 18 on my was down to 15 that year.
    I tend to have a couple of super days a year where i have a great score and the rest of the time it's .1's with the odd 33 to 36 thrown in there.
    Mike

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭Deco1983

Opics wrote: »
    I once had 47 points when I was younger at an Open Day in Douglas. I even had a 5 pointer that day (Eagle on a par 5 with a shot!). I had 2 other birdies in the round also. Still have the ball from that round at home :)

47pts is all too common these days i'm afraid.Seems to win our open singles everyweek nearly:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Lowest score was 72 shots in strokeplay off 11 h/cap, lost 2 shots. 2 years ago and still off 9. Still wallowing in the delight, finished birdie par on indexes 1 3.

Best score I saw winning a singles in our place probably 44.

Sometimes I feel like a bandit because when I play well I feel I can hit it around level par, but my bad days can be late twenties. But I always try my hardest to go out and lose shots.

I once won a fourball open comp with a friend with 47 points - I was one under gross on the first nine on my own card, we were about level on the back nine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭blue note

I've had 3 42's - two in my junior days and one this summer. Net 73 in the Gold Coast - my best score and I won the competition.

One of the 42s I got when I was a junior got me 5th place - two people were ahead of me on a count back, one had 49 (which I believe, the guys now a scratch golfer) and the winner had 54. Not a chicken's chance did he shoot 18 under his handicap!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I envy some of the scores posted!

Only playing since March so not much to shout about. Best 9 was +7 (20 points) was playing great but we got rained off :(

94 is my best to date(34 points). Was always playing off 18 waiting for a handicap that never arrived but off 20 with my society so hope to shoot 36/37 soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

I have had two 48`s and a few 47`s and 46`s over the years. Plenty of low 40`s too but funnily enough on a couple of these were in competitions;) still off 17 too

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Deco1983 wrote: »
    47pts is all too common these days i'm afraid.Seems to win our open singles everyweek nearly:mad:

You would want to be in the mid 40's to win a open day in my club. Even the 13 hole winter league brings in scores of mid 30's:mad:

And its not the easiest course to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

81 shots => 43 points is my best. Hoping to break 80 next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

scrubber72 wrote: »
    I have had two 48`s and a few 47`s and 46`s over the years. Plenty of low 40`s too but funnily enough on a couple of these were in competitions;) still off 17 too

:eek::eek::eek: I don't think I've ever even had 47 points in a 4-ball!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Anto12

When I started to take golf seriously i got my first official handicap of 17.5 - bout 3 years ago - down to 9.9 now .. Swore every year that my holy grail was to break 80 off the back markers during a medal in my club... Was getting nowhere near it - then one Sunday morning this year i hit 79 .. Some feeling - New on 18th tee box a par would break 80 .. never as happy .. went through a bad patch from may to about july ..odd good round followed by a disaster .. But 79 strokes is my best !!!! Didnt win a prize but who cares !!!! next year aim is to do it more than once !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Anto12 wrote: »
    .. But 79 strokes is my best !!!! Didnt win a prize but who cares !!!! next year aim is to do it more than once !!!!!

Something similar for me, started off this year with a few goals, to break 100(previous best was 111), actually ended up breaking 100 in my 3rd/4th round of the year, I got a 95 and that has remained unbeaten since.

I joined a club for the first time, got a handicap of 20 which is now 20.5, can't seem to score in comps, hopefully I can sort out a few niggly injuries now and come out of the blocks flying again.......

Next years aim:

To break 90

People must be delighted to see you in the winners enclosure ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Trader1991

I had a 69 gross in Strandhill(sligo) when i was 13 years old for a schools competition..stopped playing so much at around 15..want to get back into it now, but im in university now and don't have as much free time as I once did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

Wow. Theres a whole other thread running on scores like that at the moment.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

When I was off 12 I got a scratch, no idea what points that would be at this stage. Think that was the best I did. got like a 3/400 pound voucher. Was pretty sweet!

I was very erratic back then when i started playing. My first ever round of golf I got 7 over, then it took me a year to get that again, playing a LOT. During the summer I might go down in the morning and play all day til night.

My first ever round of golf I got 7 over.

No you didn't.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

don't really mind if yoou believe it or not, it went towards my starting handicap of 12.
    Note it would have been the green childrens tees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

My brother shot in the 70's on what was on of his first ever rounds (level par back 9) . He had hit a few balls around a hurling pitch but had not spent much time on the golf course or anything.

He played in a society competition with my uncle who was home from the US who to this day not thinks my brother is an epic golfer (he's not) . Cack handed and all ..!!

This stuff dose happen HaHa

U
    rafared wrote: »
    Wow. Theres a whole other thread running on scores like that at the moment.
    Those scores where over a 9 year period. I won't mention the bad scores cause that would be off topic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭randomer

U
    Those scores where over a 9 year period. I won't mention the bad scores cause that would be off topic:D

Wow! Those are some serious scores. What were you playing off whet you got those scores, what was your lowest handicap, and what are you playing off now?

Also, have you ever been cut based on clause 19?

Most of those scores were off 19. Off 17 now. Most cut was 2.7 for 48 in Cregmore Galway. Never cut on general play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

My best stableford score was also my best gross score around South County last year. 44 points off 5 - 15 pars and 3 birdies. Oddly enough it wasn't a round that I played particuarly well in - I just scrambled really well and made some very important putts. I haven't come anywhere near scoring anything like that since though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Plenty of low 40`s too but funnily enough on a couple of these were in competitions;)
    Never cut on general play

For shame.
    Cheating thread is that way >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    You should read it.

JCDUB wrote: »
    For shame.
    You should read it.

That handicap is a joke if he's had plenty of low 40s as well as 47/48s etc. But general play cut is the only way to treat this, and that is not exclusively in his hands, unless he's banditing it around in team comps.

If it was me, I'd be onto the handicap sec to ask for a reduction. Madness even once hitting a score like that and still being off high double figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭diarmuid05

Between this thread and the cheating thread, i beginning to wonder if some people know the rules of golf at all???

+7 :eek: there are professionals who don't shoot +7

Seriously, you do know mulligans are not allowed same with 6ft gimmes....
    along with hand wedge, foot wedge, magic pencils.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

diarmuid05 wrote: »
    Between this thread and the cheating thread, i beginning to wonder if some people know the rules of golf at all???

Yeah..and lets not even mention out of bounds and hazards!!!
    Sure I could shoot level par if I made up my own rules!

JCDUB wrote: »
    For shame.
    You should read it.

I have and dont you dare imply that I am a cheat.
    The OP asked what was my best score and I posted just that.
    I have had rounds this year in the low 20`s and yes in the 40`s but most have been in the buffer zone. I have played over 40 rounds this year so do the math and you will see that it is very possible to be still of 17.
    I would love to be able to shout it from the roof tops I play off single figures but my game is to erratic to do that.
    In the society i play off my current handicap of 17 but minus 5 due to a couple of good days.
    These scores have been sent to my home club and I hope I do get cut for general play.
    I would love to be able say on the first tee I am off 10, 11 or 12 instead of picking up an umbrella or a voucher for something that i will never use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

To say that someone had a +7 over 18 holes for their first time playing golf is very very veeeery hard to believe, he should be on the european tour by now

Professionals play on much tougher golf courses than my home course, and there are various tees to play from. I'd say they could drive a lot of the greens on my home course, or near enough! I wasn't even using a driver, just a 5 wood and 1 iron, from the second easiest tees. I was put straight into a league against my secondary school teachers haha, fairly easy to beat them. :p

I would also have been shown how to play before I went to the course by my brother who was off scratch and much better than the club professional/teacher.
    Tones69 wrote: »
    To say that someone had a +7 over 18 holes for their first time playing golf is very very veeeery hard to believe, he should be on the european tour by now
    If you have the passion, dedication and money to be. Apart from golf I did hurling, rugby, basketball, swimming, karate, gaelic, soccer and tennis, now that eats up your time. And because I started off well (my worst handicap was 12) does not mean you improve fast, took a few years to get a score down near scratch and i could have gotten a 75 or a 90 due to unreliability in my play. Whereas my brother got down to scratch very fast and is talked about like he is a legend 10 years later, all my teachers used to talk about how they never saw somebody as good etc, still doesnt mean people go on to do that with their lives. You can be good without being great, plus I would consider my course very easy. Then again i played it a thousand times.

I would consider my course very easy. Then again i played it a thousand times.

Care to name the course?

strandhill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭jtown

Had 75 strokes off the back sticks on Mahony’s Point Killarney on a Sunday morning comp a few years back when I was playing off 14 J

strandhill

Links golf :eek:

makes your 1st ever round of +7 even more impressive.

Never played it, so i can really say any more...... fair play

To be fair I had played pitch and putt a few times, I had worked competitions as a ball watcher, carried peoples clubs and even walked around there a 100 times along the beach to collect golfballs as a kid and knew it really really well. A winter course from green trees is very short. And I did TERRIBLY my second time, 100 or something. I was just very lucky, I remember on a par three I did a terrible shot but it bounced onto the green somehow and went around the lip of the hole and stopped a centimeter away, closest I've gotten to a hole in one to this day. on one hole I hit it onto the green from the bunker and it actually just went into the hole, was a once in a lifetime day :D

Havent played in many years but I have moved to dublin and brought my golf clubs, time to have a look about! Anybody know if you are allowed golfclubs on dublin bus no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

I wasn't even using a driver, just a 5 wood and 1 iron, from the second easiest tees.

An even more impressive score having used a 1 iron, as Lee Trevino once said

"If you are caught on a golf course during a storm and are afraid of lightning, hold up a 1-iron. Not even God can hit a 1-iron."

Fair play though, seriously good score and not sure how you remained off the course for so long after. All it takes is one good shot to get you coming back and by the sounds of your first round you should have been playing every week since trying to better the experience.

Haha, true enough what he says, it's a beast. We don't call it the 1 iron in our family...it's "The Doctor".

I played nearly every day (all day) some summers when off from school. Unfortunately when you go to uni and cant even afford food it would be more likely that I make my clubs into a sandwich than use them.

Can't wait to go back some day, nothing like the approach shot for me.
    Apart from that, once I looked away from a putt as I was really far away and aimed about 15 feet left of the hole, thought I messed up completely as the ball started going even further left and started to race downhill. Started walking away, until the cheers. It's amazing how you remember the good days and less of the bad. :D

Could never look at golf on tv before I started playing, thought it was so boring, now I love it.

Links golf :eek:

makes your 1st ever round of +7 even more impressive.

Never played it, so i can really say any more...... fair play

Absolute bollix. There's not a chicken's chance it's true and I doubt anyone here actually believes it. Hitting a 1 iron on his first time out on the course? He knew the course very well from walking around it and his experience as a ball watcher stood to him?

I wonder how his first time in the other sports went? I'd say he was firing the ball over the bar from his own 45 while running away from goal on his weak side into the breeze the first time he took up hurling.

Maybe this is the explanation ...

417.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

I only have a society handicap but played in the society the last 8 years i started out at 18 and went straight out to 36 (yes in the early years of the society they allowed 36 hcap) they then scrapped that due to some bandit winning player of the year so then played about 5 years at 28 hcap 31 or 32 would have been my highest scoring.

Within the last year and half something clicked and after starting the year at 28 I have shot (44 headford new) and 43 (swords) neither in compition and a 39,38,36,35 in the 4 outings i played plus other rounds around 32-38 around navan or seapoint. I am now off 20 in the society.

I am going to join navan in the new year and get an officiall hcap and cant wait to be able to say I play off x without having to say but its not an official hcap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭dolally

46pts off 15 many years ago
    had 44 pts once in a 3 club comp 3wd, 7 iron, putter. Best score I had all year (by a mile).:D

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

41 points for me a few times.
    -1 off 4 and -2 off 3 but neither of those in competition.
    Level par off 5 a couple of times (once this year).
    Also had a 41 this year off 6 (1 scratch and -1 for 17) which brought me back down to 5.

78 strokes for me (off 13 at the time) at Castlewarden in an intermediate scratch cup. It was my first time to break 80 too. Had 44 strokes on the front nine (with two three putts and a four putt), and 34 strokes on the back nine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

I have and dont you dare imply that I am a cheat.

You have openly admitted that you have had plenty of scores in the mid-high 40s, but that "funnily enough" only a couple of these were in competitions, with a winky face just in case anybody was in doubt about the kind of golfer you are.

Just in case you missed it:

You know what you are, along with everybody else who posts in this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Maclock

A guy in our club had 50pts a year or so ago off about 13. He got cut 3 shots and then the handicap sec cut him another shot on general play. It's the one and only time i've ever seen a score of 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

65 strokes for me about 5 years ago on my home course, par 69 at the time, wasn't off the back tees so doesn't count as a course record :( - and I missed 3 putts from two feet or less in that round too (seriously !). Was playing off 3 at the time.

Buckets of 67s & 68s over the years, now struggle to break 80 playing off 8 - this game can really beat you up !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭charlieharper

1) My best in a comp over 18 holes is +2 off a 12 handicap

2) In a singles comp it's +6 gross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Had an 79 in Shannon and a 78 in Rathbane about 6-7 years ago. Soon after that I gave the game up due to other commitments and moving job.

Shannon was a work society stableford event in which I won that day and also played a semifinal of a matchplay event against one of the guys playing with me.

It was a v close match so close in fact that he was second in the stableford event.

Picked the game up again this year and joined a club.
    Have being bitten really bad by the golfing bug this time around and would play every day if I could.

Have a bit to go to get to those scores again, but thats next years goal and more hopefully!!!!:)