Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good work, situation could have been alot worse

• 07-11-2011 4:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭

Fair play to the Garda who spotted the house fire in Drumcondra and went in and rescued 4 men, sadly they didn't get to reach the 5th man.

Situation could have been alot worse if the patrol had not spotted the house on fire.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1106/drumcondra.html
    A man has died following a house fire in Dublin in the early hours of this morning.
    Four other men were rescued from the blaze by gardaí.
    A garda patrol spotted the fire at the house on St Joseph's Avenue in Drumcondra at around 4.30am.
    They managed to get into the house and brought four men from the house to safety.
    However, they were unable to reach the fifth man, aged in his 20s, who was in an upstairs bedroom.
    The fire service got the blaze under control and the scene has been preserved for technical examination.
    Gardaí say they are now trying to establish the exact cause of the fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

msg11 wrote: »
    Fair play to the Garda who spotted the house fire in Drumcondra and went in and rescued 4 men, sadly they didn't get to reach the 5th man.

Situation could have been alot worse if the patrol had not spotted the house on fire.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1106/drumcondra.html

I do enjoy reading these stories so I do. Fair play and well done to the guards involved here. That can't have been an easy situation to find yourselves in so well done on handling it like you did :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭McWotever

In other news:

Dublin Fire Brigade arrest five men and a woman in a drug bust on the North Circular Road.

It is believed, from sources, that it is a result of long term surveillance operation aimed at a local drug cartel. Three men are being held in Phibsborough Fire Station, Two in Tara Street and the Woman in Finglas Fire Station. Firefighters have 72 hours to release or charge the suspects.

The Chief Fire Officer is on record as saying he is very satisfied with the arrest, and is in line with new duties agreed under the Croke Park Agreement,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

McWotever wrote: »
    In other news:

Dublin Fire Brigade arrest five men and a woman in a drug bust on the North Circular Road.

It is believed, from sources, that it is a result of long term surveillance operation aimed at a local drug cartel. Three men are being held in Phibsborough Fire Station, Two in Tara Street and the Woman in Finglas Fire Station. Firefighters have 72 hours to release or charge the suspects.

The Chief Fire Officer is on record as saying he is very satisfied with the arrest, and is in line with new duties agreed under the Croke Park Agreement,

What ? If that's some sort of joke at my OP, it's not really funny. The amount of negative storys about the Garda that do be doing the rounds about this website. I'm thanking them for there good work for once on this website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

msg11 wrote: »
    What ? If that's some sort of joke at my OP, it's not really funny. The amount of negative storys about the Garda that do be doing the rounds about this website. I'm thanking them for there good work for once on this website.

I don't think it was a negative story. I actually found it quite amusing. :D