Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Undercover gardai car on N2 today

• 05-11-2011 4:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432
    ✭✭✭

Looked like an old nissan or toyota from the 90's, a 2 door model.
    Spotted on ashbourne bypass southbound near m50

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 eringobragh
    ✭✭✭

mcwhirter wrote: »
    Looked like an old nissan or toyota from the 90's.

.........its called cutbacks :p

seriously what makes you think it was an undercover cop car.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 Wexfordian
    ✭✭

Looked like an old nissan or toyota from the 90's.

They do have a least one old Nissan Sunny, seen it on the N25 handing out speeding tickets before now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 mcwhirter
    ✭✭✭

.........its called cutbacks :p

seriously what makes you think it was an undercover cop car.:confused:

2 blue lights flashing as it pulled in a car and 2 officers in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 starviewadams
    ✭✭✭

They have a few late 90's Toyota Camrys aswell,have seen them stopping people on the M50 before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 afatbollix
    ✭✭✭

Ya the Cramrys were detective cars now being shared around.. Longford also use theres for traffic stuff..

✭✭✭

They have a few late 90's Toyota Camrys aswell,have seen them stopping people on the M50 before.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:94_Camry_coupe.jpg

Yes that was it, it was like this one but in gold.,

A bit pathetic for a gardai car though me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 Anan1
    ✭✭✭✭

A bit pathetic for a gardai car though me thinks
    I think you're missing the point of an unmarked car..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 Berty
    ✭✭✭✭

Anan1 wrote: »
    I think you're missing the point of an unmarked car..

Well I know that Garda HQ purchasing officer / OPW or however orders the cars was told "You must secure better deals on new cars" but I didn't think they considered Done Deal (Price Low-High) section. :rolleyes:

✭✭✭✭

Beer Baron wrote: »
    Well I know that Garda HQ purchasing officer / OPW or however orders the cars was told "You must secure better deals on new cars" but I didn't think they considered Done Deal (Price Low-High) section. :rolleyes:
    And I don't think you considered that a '90s Camry can make a far more effective unmarked car than a new Mondeo.

✭✭✭✭

And I don't think you considered that a '90s Camry can make a far more effective unmarked car than a new Mondeo.

Why are you making that point to me? Mcwhirter made that comment.

I couldn't care if they rode around on horseback.....................oh wait. :pac:

✭✭✭✭

Why are you making that point to me? Mcwhirter made that comment.

I couldn't care if they rode around on horseback.....................oh wait. :pac:
    Sorry! The fact is, though, that the Gardaí have always (and with good reason) had a few fairly unusual cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 -Corkie-
    ✭✭✭✭

Sorry! The fact is, though, that the Gardaí have always (and with good reason) had a few fairly unusual cars.

I have seen a 11 D Avensis with dealer stickers,plate surrounds and no aerials on the roof a few weeks ago. I posted a pic of it on a thread over in the Emg services forum.

✭✭✭✭

I know that as well as most from driving for a living. The Camry I spotted in County Cork with an LS(from memory) was very stealth.

The 320d on the M7 is not very stealth with the flashers behind the grille, easily spotted.

The old Isuzu Trooper in Limerick(Emergency response folk).

The old Citroen Berlingos in Limerick and Cork.

The Citroen Xsara in Limerick City.

The 96 Honda Civic in West Galway.

They can buy what they like and I won't mind. They only stop and give chase to those who deserve it.

✭✭✭✭

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I have seen a 11 D Avensis with dealer stickers,plate surrounds and no aerials on the roof a few weeks ago..............

Few and far between though, that was presumably a genuine undercover car rather than a normal unmarked one. The "funny" thing is though such yokes are often quite renowned.

✭✭✭✭

RoverJames wrote: »
    Few and far between though, that was presumably a genuine undercover car rather than a normal unmarked one. The "funny" thing is though such yokes are often quite renowned.

It must have been because the forum mod actually removed the pic saying it was a undedcover car. He flicked on the blues in the taillights when I tried to pass him..

✭✭✭✭

It must have been because the forum mod actually removed the pic saying it was a undedcover car. He flicked on the blues in the taillights when I tried to pass him..

Were you going too fast or was it a continuous white line or something?

✭✭✭

I know that as well as most from driving for a living. The Camry I spotted in County Cork with an LS(from memory) was very stealth.

The 320d on the M7 is not very stealth with the flashers behind the grille, easily spotted.

The old Citroen Berlingos in Limerick and Cork.

The Citroen Xsara in Limerick City.

The 96 Honda Civic in West Galway.

They can buy what they like and I won't mind. They only stop and give chase to those who deserve it.

But I can't see an old camry having much success catching anyone if they didn't want to be caught, not that I condone that sort of behaviour.

✭✭✭✭

But I can't see an old camry having much success catching anyone if they didn't want to be caught, not that I condone that sort of behaviour.

What, a 2.4 Petrol? I think it would catch most.

✭✭✭

What, a 2.4 Petrol? I think it would catch most.

I didn't know that the Camry had such good performance and road handling, I may get one to replace the subaru, if I had one.

✭✭✭✭

Come on now, what proportion of people do you think try to make a run for it when a Garda is pulling them for speeding? Its's not about pursuit, it's about not being noticed until it's too late. When i'm speeding I keep a sharp eye out for unmarked cars, but i'm not ashamed to admit that the likes of a 96 Camry might catch me out too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 corktina
    ✭✭✭✭

Id say its not about speeding anyway.:rolleyes: covert cars have much more serious uses usually.

(surprised to see an 03 reg marked patrol car recently...)

✭✭✭✭

Were you going too fast or was it a continuous white line or something?

Both..

✭✭✭

They have an old mid 90's battered looking Isuzu jeep that's an unmarked dog unit van too,saw it in town the other night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 MetzgerMeister
    ✭✭✭✭

Both..

Genuinely fair play to you for admitting that. Not many would here for fear of a PC roasting ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 L-M
    ✭✭✭✭

I don't believe it! About two years ago on the Limerick by pass a Trooper was behind me and it put in the sirens, I went as far as pulling in and then they flew out passed me. waving. I'd assumed it was two lads just taking the piss with a blue light until now :eek:

I've seen a new Superb with mirror tint windows and a 05 Lexus GS300.

✭✭✭✭

I don't believe it! About two years ago on the Limerick by pass a Trooper was behind me and it put in the sirens, I went as far as pulling in and then they flew out passed me. waving. I'd assumed it was two lads just taking the piss with a blue light until now :eek:

I reported it for screaming through traffic one evening with its blue lights flashing, hidden in lights because it just looked like some yokels taking the piss.

Henry Street Gardai said "Can't tell you much but it is an AGS vehicle". Found out it was ERU when I saw them with the orange bibs and machine guns hopping out of it one evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 L-M
    ✭✭✭✭

They have a Black 05 Landcruiser with tinted windows, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 RustyNut
    ✭✭✭

:D:D:D
    Both..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 ilovelois

surely you would be entitled to floor it if one of these bangers came up behind you. all you would have to do was claim you believed that it was an attepmt at car jacking (if you got caught)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 DublinWriter
    ✭✭✭

Fair play, I'm on the M/N2 daily and it's getting like Mad Max II on that road. I posted a thread a number of years ago about being overtaken at 100 M/ph+ by a white 94 D Skyline with L plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 Buffman
    ✭✭✭

The Wiki AGS vehicle list comes with the usual Wiki health warning, but looks about right to me.

The mileage limit on AGS vehicles is 300,000km , so the year is irrelevant. This limit has lead to unit's having no cars in some cases, and some cars being reserved for emergency use only if they're close to 300K.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

✭✭✭✭

Buffman wrote: »
    The Wiki AGS vehicle list comes with the usual Wiki health warning, but looks about right to me.

The mileage limit on AGS vehicles is 300,000km , so the year is irrelevant. This limit has lead to unit's having no cars in some cases, and some cars being reserved for emergency use only if they're close to 300K.

No forrester on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 Buffman
    ✭✭✭

No forrester on the list.

It's there, in the unmarked 4x4 section, don't think they had a marked one.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

✭✭✭✭

Buffman wrote: »
    It's there, in the unmarked 4x4 section, don't think they had a marked one.

Specsavers for me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 Mister Jingles
    ✭✭✭

Regarding the Izuzu if it's the one I think you's are on about there's a picture of it over on the Emg Forum that was posted a couple of weeks ago. Sorry my mistake its a Nissan Terrano.

And with the Camerys there's a silver 00 one I do see often down my way belonging to the Traffic Corps with ANPR device on the boot lid.

✭✭✭✭

ilovelois wrote: »
    surely you would be entitled to floor it if one of these bangers came up behind you. all you would have to do was claim you believed that it was an attepmt at car jacking (if you got caught)
    I don't know about you, but for me the idea is not to get charged/ticketed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 Mc Love
    ✭✭✭✭

They have a Black 05 Landcruiser with tinted windows, too.

They have two or three of those

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 aido 1976
    ✭✭

Tallaght lads are knocking about in a purpley / blue coloured 99 Toyota Corolla, see it regular......... with uniformed guards in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 GAAman
    ✭✭✭

Like a marked yaris......................... yeah you read that correctly, a YARIS!

Not sure what the good reason is for that :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 Nissan doctor
    ✭✭✭

ilovelois wrote: »

I believe that if you feel a car pulling you over is not a genuine Garda car you can refuse to stop, without getting charged for failing to stop, once you go straight to a Garda station.

✭✭✭✭

GAAman wrote: »
    Like a marked yaris......................... yeah you read that correctly, a YARIS!

Not sure what the good reason is for that :confused:
    Why wouldn't a Yaris make a suitable Garda car? Like any large organization they have many different branches, each with their own needs. Some jobs are best done by a powerful, unmarked car, some by a mountain bike and, yes, some by a Yaris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 Hal1
    ✭✭✭

To the yaris mobile! :pac:.

✭✭✭✭

Ideal for the city work you'd think, much like the AGS folk on the mountain bikes as you mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 CharlieCroker
    ✭✭✭

Yaris's and Fiestas etc are used by community policing units as they're not (meant to be) used for day to day policing. A few one-man sub-stations would have them as well.

The new unmarked avensis' are completely unrecognisable. No aerials, visible lights, dealer plates and surrounds. Even the interior is completely covert. That's going to be the norm from now on.

I won't specify but you'd be amazed by some of the covert vehicles used by units such as drugs etc.

There's a big difference between a an unmarked car (D reg Mondeo Lx with strobes on the bumper) and a covert car which could be anything from a 94-CE Nissan Primera to a 08-C fiat Punto and anything in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 GAAman
    ✭✭✭

Why wouldn't a Yaris make a suitable Garda car? Like any large organization they have many different branches, each with their own needs. Some jobs are best done by a powerful, unmarked car, some by a mountain bike and, yes, some by a Yaris.

Because it just seemed really out of place, was one of the older smaller versions, not much of a persuit car. I should mention this was a standard garda car (not traffic corps etc) it was in use at my local station and i am pretty sure it was gone within the year

✭✭✭

Was in my cousins unmarked car a few weeks back,no radio,light controls or anything AGS related on the dash/interior at all,they were all hidden away in a little box beside the handbrake,would never know it was a Garda car looking at it or into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 Piri
    ✭✭

I saw an old red unmarked Ford Focus on M7 couple of months ago .
    Very surprised as car was terrible tatty and no sign of Garda car ....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 homer simpson
    ✭✭✭

They have lots of different types of covert / undercover cars here in Donegal, they have a few Foresters and the traffic corps just got am unmarked xc90 but the blacked out windows at the rear / lights on bumper give it away.

I've seen some strange undercover cars too (used to work in the tyre depot in letterkenny who had the contract for the Gardai) everything from old 00 mondeos to new skoda's! The strangest one has to be an post van , yip ... an post van!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 Mister Jingles
    ✭✭✭

Piri wrote: »
    I saw an old red unmarked Ford Focus on M7 couple of months ago .
    Very surprised as car was terrible tatty and no sign of Garda car ....:)

Nothing unusual tbh there's still plenty of those MK1 knocking about. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 Cicero
    ✭✭✭✭

I saw a fleet of cars flying through Dublin in an official Garda escort a few weeks ago....loads of BMW 7 series- Irish Regs ...all with blue flashing lights....

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.