Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things that used to be cool/trendy

• 04-11-2011 7:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

Ok, searched but couldn't find any threads (no doubt some kind soul will just love to price me wrong though) so if there's another thread similar, apologies in advance!

Just looking through a few pics from about fifteen years ago, laughing at the hair cuts on us (remember the middle shade/curtain hair do on lads?) Wearing our Levis 501'a, Puma runners with the massive tongues sticking out above our Jeans like cricket pads! Back then we prob thought we were the dogs gonads, and it prob was the fashionable thing at the time.

A few other things I can think of that had their day of glory is:

Going to the roller disco!
    Naff jackets (cringe)
    Leather ties
    Rave music
    Mullets
    Bum fluff moustaches
    Lo-Lo balls
    Lines shaved into your head (Jeez what thirteen year old lad at school didn't think he was hard as fcuk cos he had an arrow shaved into the head lol?)
    Wearing football Jerseys to night clubs (what were we thinking?)
    Lads perming their hair,
    Girls perming their hair too!
    Leg warmers
    Calculator watches (ten plus fourteen? Ah that's easy!/five mins later, pressing tiny buttons to give the wrong answer Lol)
    Learning to line dance cos it was the 'in' thing at the time (not me personally)
    Grey leather jackets (shudders)
    White socks with black shoes (bonus points for suede shoes)

Jaysus, I could go on all day.

What can you think of, that at the time was cool /trendy, but looking back you looked like a right tít, anything from an item of clothing to an activity our possession you had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

Lists of things that used to be cool/trendy used to be cool & trendy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Duffle coats ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

1966 wrote: »
    Duffle coats ???

But can you hang a wet one of your John Thomas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Onions on your belt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

people will be laughing when they see this thread in 50 years. "ha look they use to think duffle coats/mullets and roller disco's werent trendy! LMAO!!!! :D"

wall paper is coming back in ffs! it all comes back around in a big ol loop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Stone washed jeans tucked into runner boots worn with a washed out ac/dc t-shirt with the sleeves cut off. Over that a biker jacket, over the biker jacket a denim jacket with the sleeves cut off also, covered in heavy metal bands patches. Topped off a with long greasy mane of hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Big Bushy Pubic Hair
    Slavery
    Pogs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Recording the top forty of the radio!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

Pubic Hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Tama-fúcking-gotchi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Witty replies to thread titles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Pokemon cards. I once killed a man for a Charizard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭greenmachine88

joe duffy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

being part of the euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Ireland
    Greece
    Bertie Ahern

This prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Stealing VW signs from cars. Those bold Beastie Boys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

EuEo4.jpg

These bad boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Fear of fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭coonecb1

Xworx jeans
    Watching 'The Word' on Friday nights...
    'Step' and 'Undercut' hairstyles...

EuEo4.jpg

These bad boys.

Fcukin flash back city dude!
    Forgot they actually existed until seeing that lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Getting a phone number from a girl at the disco and ringing her from the phone box on wednesday organising to meet the following saturday night, and she turning up too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

coonecb1 wrote: »
    Xworx jeans

And eclipse jackets! :D

And those horrific neon green/orange puffa jacket things.

Wearing these things.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Rubick's cubes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Xworx jeans
    Jaxxy wrote: »
    And eclipse jackets! :D
    And don't forget PetroMotion:o

Stayin up late to watch smut on C4 - internet has killed it.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Collecting pokemon cards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

I remember there was some trend around 2002 for people to wear trousers and tracky pants which were too long in the leg so they'd almost trip up over them. They'd walk through puddles and through urine soaked jacks and the ends of the legs where it covered the shoe would be disgusting looking but they still did it. And it was kind of widespread at least among students. Anyone remember that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Rubick's cubes.

Actually, they're cool again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

Xworx jeans
    Watching 'The Word' on Friday nights...
    'Step' and 'Undercut' hairstyles...

Xworx, thats them. I seem to remember baggy jeans called Eclipse also, great for listenin to Outer Space by The Prodigy and carrying spray paint to 'tag' places.

Yes, we are almost thirty now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭hubba

Lady Di blouses (virginal, up to the neck with a big bow)
    donkey jackets
    Simon Hart shoes
    Sony Walkman's the size of a bus
    shoulder pads
    leg warmers
    Bottles of Ritz

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    And don't forget PetroMotion:o

Stayin up late to watch smut on C4 - internet has killed it.:(

The Word and EuroTrash.

Terry Christian was a smouldering ball of Manchester snide, the gals used to like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

The Word and EuroTrash.

Terry Christian was a smouldering ball of Manchester snide, the gals used to like him.

I didnt like him but he did have a great mouth for catching frisbees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Retro :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Reebok Pumps

Tracksuit bottoms with buttons on the side, horrible things to be wearing on a windy day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

"The Celtic Tiger"

Wtf was that? I could never figure out why a "tiger"?

Its not like one ever made it to these shores outside of a crate addressed to the Zoo...

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Cheesecloth shirts.
    Bellbottom trousers.
    Desert boots.
    Cravattes.
    Petuli oil.(sp)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Undercuts.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    "The Celtic Tiger"

Wtf was that? I could never figure out why a "tiger"?

Its not like one ever made it to these shores outside of a crate addressed to the Zoo...

:mad:

Thats a reference to Asian tiger economies that grew very quickly in the early nineties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Undercuts.

Oh jesus! I had one of them for a long time. I went back to the barber when I was 25 and asked for one and he laughed at me! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Tom Russell

Tuning your radio to 252 on longwave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Atlantic two-five-twwooooo, roadshow!

2fm's Rick O'Shea used to be a DJ on there!

"Grab a Tiger by the Tail." The Esso petrol slogan.
    Lots of cars had stupid wooly tiger tails dangling
    from the rear view mirrors.

Radio Dublin and all the other pirate radio stations at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭PeefsPixie

Jelly shoes, pokemon cards, terrible girl band pop ****e... The memories will haunt me forever, hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Sentid

Killinaskully

And feckin pot-pourri on the cistern of the toilet :p