Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Aerospace announce 150 jobs

• 03-11-2011 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭

Irish aircraft maintenance company, Dublin Aerospace, has announced 150 new jobs at Dublin Airport over the next two years.
    Taoiseach Enda Kenny opened the company's new €4.5m landing gear centre at the airport this morning.
    Dublin Aerospace was set up two years ago when SR Technics pulled out of Dublin Airport with the loss of over 1,000 jobs.
    Former Ryanair executive Conor McCarthy saw a gap for an Irish start-up and took on some staff and equipment from SR Technics.
    The company has been expanding rapidly since then landing contracts with Aer Lingus and Easyjet.
    It is now looking for skilled technicians and labourers with 45 positions available immediately.
    The new jobs will bring its workforce to 300 within two years.
    The investment doubles its capacity to maintain Airbus A320s and Boeing 737s.

rte.ie/news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

imo the pay is derisory and they are undermining the profession of aircraft engineers in dublin.they took advantage of all the guys who were layed off by SRT because they knew they had no where else to go.guys are working for a third of what they used to be on.

they had staff paying their own prsi and employers prsi- ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Great news for the airport. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

Plowman wrote: »
    Its not as easy as that at all!!

Have you been out of work much recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Foggy43

Should that have read Employees Income Tax and PRSI. I cant believe an employee can be made pay Employers PRSI contributions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

I've been out of work and I'll gladly apply. I'd rather have a poorly paid job than no job at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

D wrote: »
    I've been out of work and I'll gladly apply. I'd rather have a poorly paid job than no job at all.

what do you normally do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭Bsal

What type of work would be involved as a labourer in an aerospace company?

i admire your atitude but your missing the point.
    they are paying the same as mcdonalds or tescos roughly- and in those companies you have less chance of killing people if you make a mistake.

think about the engineer who signed the transit check on that lot 767 that crash landed. its more then likely not his fault but i guarantee you he aint getting a nights sleep at the moment.

you also have to look at the future of the industry. if the wages they pay become en vogue who would bother??

you have to do modules 1,2,3,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,15,17 at circa 65 quid a pop to get your b1 license-IF YOU PASS THEM FIRST TIME,serve 5 years experience then do a type rating at great expense(then on the job training and an experience log on that type) so you can certify the aircraft in question . so 6 years studying and hard graft for 10-12 quid an hour.................forget it.

this any job is better then no job is a disease thats creeping in.the atitude is admirable but the career/skillset is being undervalued and undermined.

Foggy43 wrote: »
    Should that have read Employees Income Tax and PRSI. I cant believe an employee can be made pay Employers PRSI contributions?

your right but the sentiment of the post is the same.the workers were having their holes reamed out to second oversize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

what do you normally do?

Long story, got a BEng in Aero Eng from limerick in '04 tried to get a job, no joy. Tried the carriers and the maintenance companies, even got an interview with Babcock and Brown (leasing) but the guy I was replacing decided to stay, and I got to the final round with the Airbus graduate scheme, nothing. So went off did a post grad in CAM/CAD in DCU out in '07. Got a job in construction which fell apart in '09. Unemployed for a bit. Then got a temp contract with the Social Welfare in April '10 which ran out Sep '10.

Was sick of looking at job sites with 10 engineering jobs saying 15 years exp and about 2000 computing jobs. So I applied for the springboard courses in Computing, got accepted, started a month ago.

With the whole 5000 fas jobs and apprenticeship schemes thing that came I went for interviews with Aer Lingus and City Jet. Got through to the final rounds in both. In fact, the HR lady told me I scored highest in the testing, still to no avail, I must be lousy at interviews. Although in the interview it was suggested that I might be too old for the apprenticeship scheme.

I lucked out and have just started an entry level tech job, which is sitting around and answering phones and asking people to restart their computer, 2 hour commute both ways, €19k a year, no benefits.

I've had 6 years of college (with 2 more part-time on the way), general consensus among the people who know me is that I'm very intelligent, sociable, out-going, and hard-working, yet I have yet to secure a career.

It is actually very embarrassing to me. In fact this is the first time I've talked about it.

Some people who I meet and find out about my circumstances think that there must be something wrong with me and I'm sure some people on here will think the same.
    i admire your atitude but your missing the point.
    they are paying the same as mcdonalds or tescos roughly- and in those companies you have less chance of killing people if you make a mistake.

think about the engineer who signed the transit check on that lot 767 that crash landed. its more then likely not his fault but i guarantee you he aint getting a nights sleep at the moment.

you also have to look at the future of the industry. if the wages they pay become en vogue who would bother??

you have to do modules 1,2,3,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,15,17 at circa 65 quid a pop to get your b1 license-IF YOU PASS THEM FIRST TIME,serve 5 years experience then do a type rating at great expense(then on the job training and an experience log on that type) so you can certify the aircraft in question . so 6 years studying and hard graft for 10-12 quid an hour.................forget it.

this any job is better then no job is a disease thats creeping in.the atitude is admirable but the career/skillset is being undervalued and undermined.

I was getting €9776 and change on the dole. If the job pays more than that I'd take it. I am aware of the processes involved in getting an A or B license.

Do you know what the starting pay will be for these new employees?

Long story, got a BEng in Aero Eng from limerick in '04 tried to get a job, no joy. Tried the carriers and the maintenance companies, even got an interview with Babcock and Brown (leasing) but the guy I was replacing decided to stay, and I got to the final round with the Airbus graduate scheme, nothing. So went off did a post grad in CAM/CAD in DCU out in '07. Got a job in construction which fell apart in '09. Unemployed for a bit. Then got a temp contract with the Social Welfare in April '10 which ran out Sep '10.

Was sick of looking at job sites with 10 engineering jobs saying 15 years exp and about 2000 computing jobs. So I applied for the springboard courses in Computing, got accepted, started a month ago.

With the whole 5000 fas jobs and apprenticeship schemes thing that came I went for interviews with Aer Lingus and City Jet. Got through to the final rounds in both. In fact, the HR lady told me I scored highest in the testing, still to no avail, I must be lousy at interviews. Although in the interview it was suggested that I might be too old for the apprenticeship scheme.

I lucked out and have just started an entry level tech job, which is sitting around and answering phones and asking people to restart their computer, 2 hour commute both ways, €19k a year, no benefits.

I've had 6 years of college (with 2 more part-time on the way), general consensus among the people who know me is that I'm very intelligent, sociable, out-going, and hard-working, yet I have yet to secure a career.

It is actually very embarrassing to me. In fact this is the first time I've talked about it.

Some people who I meet and find out about my circumstances think that there must be something wrong with me and I'm sure some people on here will think the same.

I was getting €9776 and change on the dole. If the job pays more than that I'd take it. I am aware of the processes involved in getting an A or B license.

Do you know what the starting pay will be for these new employees?
    think its 23k
    again i sympathise with your plight but my point remains. if SRT was still in existance and dublin aerospace built hypothetical hangar 7 they would get no staff paying what they are paying.

in short in my opinion its oportunism rather than entrapraneurship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

think its 23k
    again i sympathise with your plight but my point remains. if SRT was still in existance and dublin aerospace built hypothetical hangar 7 they would get no staff paying what they are paying.

in short in my opinion its oportunism rather than entrapraneurship.

Did SRT not go bust because of the high costs in DUB especially labour costs?
    DA saw a market and have created jobs and continue to do so... Success story!

I understand your feelings and I personally know many who have lost jobs or moved on from Team/FLS/SRT but the salaries they were on are from a past era.

Your comments sound like they come from the heart and not reality. :o
    Simple fact is that DA would not have been created or expand now if they were paying the old wages of €60k-€pick a 6 figure salary with o/t and benefits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Bsal wrote: »
    What type of work would be involved as a labourer in an aerospace company?

TBH I wouldn't really have thought there would be much scope for labouring there - I would presume the vast majority ( if not all staff ) would be highly qualified and really that sort of work is probably more brain than brawn .
    Doubtless others here will know much more than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Celtic Mech

D - fair play to you having the balls to come on here and telling all - a lot of admiration for you. I would recommend going online to http://dublinaerospace.com/careers/ and filing in the application form. Fill it out for all of the categories in the drop down menu. You have zero to lose and all to gain. It could be the start of something great in your life..who knows.
    Best of luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭chewits

Is is B1's and 2's they are hiring or could they be looking for quality roles also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I have to agree with handsomecake 110% this thing of should be glad to have a job dickinson era is very disturbing, I know of companies making some serious profits off the backs of their employees one such very known company won a contract some time ago were the lads working on the ramp get paid half of what my old staff get paid.
    These lads doing the work don't get paid shift allowance o/t bank holiday pay as for the B1&B2 that's a sh*t load of responsibilty to have signing of on checks etc,I have been saying this for the last three years as my other occupations are starting to see a fall in income.
    An example would be a HGV driver getting paid the min wage or less now if you were to go and sit all your tests now from car to truck your looking at 3/4k add another 1k for the hazchem licence,Why would someone bother to pay all that money out and get paid less than someone stacking shelfs in dunnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Hi there
    With regard to wages for staff in DA, McCarthy was compelled to increase his pay lately because the cold hard reality was that paying just Eu26K, all in, to highly experienced craftsmen and expecting them to sign their lives away just wasn't working. The alleged bonuses weren't meeting expectations either. That is, reward didn't equate to risk and people began to leave, as the only people who could actually afford to live on that sum were those who lived within commuting distance. Several individuals, ex-SRT men, all with Type ratings, took the job only after they had sold their cars (and kept the missus' car for the rest of the family) and began using the bus (which doesn't always work when you've been brought in for an unheralded night shift). A lot of the workforce took the work simply to stay current in aviation, as it's hard to restart a career in aviation if you have left it.
    McCarthy was on the TV last week saying that the workforce would split 20% of the profit. Sounds nice, but that depends on the accountants and how much he actually declares as a profit in Ireland.
    Personally, I think he'll stay for just about as long as the IDA grants continue to come in.

regards
    Stovepipe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

imo the pay is derisory and they are undermining the profession of aircraft engineers in dublin.they took advantage of all the guys who were layed off by SRT because they knew they had no where else to go.guys are working for a third of what they used to be on.

While I don't know about paying the employers PRSI, I do know that this is happening in ALL industries now with "skilled" positions paying pretty much the same as burger flipping.
    It'll go full circle in a couple of years when there are no trained skilled workers to fill the positions and then wages will creep back up.
    Unfortunately, people just have to suck it up at the moment and get on with it.
    Don't forget, a job is not always about hard Euros and cents, it's about peoples pride and having a reason to get up in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Naturally, I'd be inclined to stay working than not but when a multi-millionaire, who has his wealth well hidden safely offshore and probably pays less personal tax than his average employee, starts finger-wagging about high costs, ie, implies that the workers are greedy by looking to be paid what they're worth, it's more than a little bit galling, especially given the risk involved. When McCarthy goes to get his teeth done, he doesn't argue with the dentist about cost yet he regards it as acceptable to imply that Aircraft engineers are gougers by looking for decent wages and conditions.

regards
    Stovepipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Well said Stovepipe I believe in a decent wage for a job that has responsibilties and while everyone goes on about the unions fcuking up what about the employers union IBEC,Another shower of fookers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

The reality is that if DA's wages were the norm in the industry there would be no Aircraft Engineers to hire. Why would you put yourself to all the trouble to be paid peanuts and 26k is peanuts not to say insulting. It's all very well saying the SRT were overpaid, maybe they were. That isn't an excuse to reduce pay to subsistence. Try raising a family on 26k in this country. Your spouse would have to work too if only to raise enough money to pay for the childcare. You'd be going to St Vincent de Paul regularly.

McCarthy is taking advantage of the situation like so many 'entrepeneurs' do. Found myself in the same situation on occasion. Got the full on lecture on how lucky I am to get my miniscule wages just before he gets into his big car (company owned) and drives away.

And people wonder why unions ever came about.:rolleyes:

I have little truck with the 'You should be glad you have a job' brigade. Being out of work may be soul destroying but working in the wrong job can be soul destroying too. Been there, done that.

As for D, I don't think there's something wrong with you but it seems clear you are going about it the wrong way. A friend of mine graduated from Limerick recently and had two offers quite quickly. So there are jobs for Aero Engineers. Not too many within Ireland though. Also your Engineering degree may be actively working against you in other jobs in aviation. Jumping to Aircraft Engineer being one. There could be a perception that you are simply using that job as a springboard. That happened to me, being a pilot actually cost me an aviation job. They were quite frank about it too. I soon learned to hide it like I'd been in Mountjoy.

You might want to seek advice or go on an interview techniques course. They can be useful and you will get an unvarnished breakdown on your faults.

Keep plugging away and make contacts, it's the only way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

sparrowcar wrote: »
    Did SRT not go bust because of the high costs in DUB especially labour costs?
    DA saw a market and have created jobs and continue to do so... Success story!

That is the accepted wisdom of the SRT story,however like much else relating to Dublin Airport's recent history,I suspect when the definitive story of the TEAM/FLS/SRT experiment comes to be told that "Cost Base" issue will turn out to be well down the list.

The amount of political skullduggery stretching from Abu Dhabi,Dubai to Switzerland will probably occupy a shed load of filing cabinets,if any such records now exist.....

FWIW,I still believe Ryanairs play for Hangar 6 deserved more consideration than it got....;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)