Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone dealt with Universal Motor Group?

• 03-11-2011 7:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if anyone has dealt with Universal Motor Group ?

http://www.universalmotorgroup.ie/

I could not find them listed on the SIMI website.

Experiences and opinions welcome.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

eddiem74 wrote: »
    FYI SIMI are a Car Seller "club" and not a regulatory body nor an unbiased national entity. Not being in SIMI means they didnt pay this years membership fees, its not a pro or con about the garage in any manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭él statutorio

eddiem74 wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone has dealt with Universal Motor Group ?

http://www.universalmotorgroup.ie/

Experiences and opinions welcome.

Thanks.

I was out a week ago looking at a 05 E90 BMW. It was advertised as having 60k miles but the interior of the car seemed to indicate otherwise. (very worn leather, center console was all scratched to bits). I queried it while i was there and they said that the previous owner had "replaced" all the seats with leather ones.

In fairness the two lads i was dealing with seemed decent and the rest of the cars out there looked grand. I just wasn't happy with the explanation for that particular car so I left it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 prometheus413

I was out there a while back and bought a car from these guys, everything looked fine until the next day i had problems and found the car had been clocked. having serious issues with these guys in getting my money back.

I would advise you to look somewhere else, it is my opinion that these guys are gangsters!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 walshsnooker

I recently bought a 04 rx8 from them,couldn't take it away on the day was told it would be fully serviced and ready for me next day,they called next day and told me it would be ready in the evening it was dark when collected car.The next day when i got up i checked car and knew it wasn't serviced oil was low and not clean and brake pads were rubbing of discs,rang them up and said they would check it out as they dont sevice cars,rang me back and said they paid him 100 euro to service car and they will send that to me and wont pay him,i said what about the other 3hundred euro i paid to service cars as it needed brakes and all the filters and cost me 4 hundred to service it and when it went in for service was also told it needed right wheel anti roll bar which cost me another 60 euro so the cost of buying a fully serviced car was 460 euro and never once did they say bring back the car and will check it out so warranty not worth the paper its printed on, had to service it straight away as know how tempermental they are,he said owner will ring me and sort something out,depite owner ringing me and telling me a few times he will send money to cover some of the cost never sent a penny,what is more anoying is i told him i would be a return customer as i buy 3 cars as year,wouldn't buy of them again and would like to know how you can service a rx8 for 100 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

I recently bought a 04 rx8 from them,couldn't take it away on the day was told it would be fully serviced and ready for me next day,they called next day and told me it would be ready in the evening it was dark when collected car.The next day when i got up i checked car and knew it wasn't serviced oil was low and not clean and brake pads were rubbing of discs,rang them up and said they would check it out as they dont sevice cars,rang me back and said they paid him 100 euro to service car and they will send that to me and wont pay him,i said what about the other 3hundred euro i paid to service cars as it needed brakes and all the filters and cost me 4 hundred to service it and when it went in for service was also told it needed right wheel anti roll bar which cost me another 60 euro so the cost of buying a fully serviced car was 460 euro and never once did they say bring back the car and will check it out so warranty not worth the paper its printed on, had to service it straight away as know how tempermental they are,he said owner will ring me and sort something out,depite owner ringing me and telling me a few times he will send money to cover some of the cost never sent a penny,what is more anoying is i told him i would be a return customer as i buy 3 cars as year,wouldn't buy of them again and would like to know how you can service a rx8 for 100 euro.

...and...take a deep breath...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭johnp001

Are these still in business?
    They aren't listed in the dealer list at carzone any longer and their website redirects to cars ireland website now.
    http://www.carzone.ie/car-dealers/county/Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭caze

http://www.southsidemotorgroup.ie/

Just had their yearly name change. Have previously traded as Southside Automotive, Capital motors and Universal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭swhyte027

It's unreal how much these guys are changing there name any body no why?? In saying that I must of bought 6 r 7 cars off them down the years in my younger days and never had a problem with then.i bought a one of a kind impreza off them a long time ago and was the nicest and best car I ever owned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WestWing

The normal reason for businesses changing their name is a bad reputation.

Good businesses trade on their names......bad ones change them.{sweeping generalization}

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

My view is its all about the car, if you going to buy a car from any dealer (whoever they are called this week) you got to have yer eyes open.

The buyer above who posted about his Rx-8 purchase seem to be clueless about checking out cars. Never view, buy or collect a newly purchased car in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Australianman

caze wrote: »
    http://www.southsidemotorgroup.ie/

Just had their yearly name change. Have previously traded as Southside Automotive, Capital motors and Universal

Bought a car from them in December. He didn't post the change of ownership forms and when the phones went dead in January I had no way of getting my vehicle registration certificate. Southside said they've never heard of universal or the guy I was working with (a day after I was there and talking to him), cue consumer affairs, simi, department of transport, main dealers, guards and now lawyers. Car seems fine but obviously ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 intermittent

Southside Motor Group. Just recently moved from Naas Rd to Walkinstown. Stay away from these cowboys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭manti452

Seems to be some mostly negative and one or two positive posts about this group. I need a sense check on them to see if anyone's heard anything more recent?

I went out to look at a QashQai SVE today (link). Car seemed to run ok (asked him to check into rear demister as some bars seem not to work), needed 4 tyres (said he'd get good life part worns, I said ok as long as their decent brand & have good life) and minor bodywork scratches. Promised a full service, winter "check" and a clean out since I'd brought up some dirt in the interior.

He said he knew the owner and they were a mechanic and it was looked after. Couldn't tell me if the clutch had ever been changed as someone told me to ask about that on these cars.

As I sat there he got a call about the car and fielded questions from a lady buyer looking to trade in a car against it same year as my trade in. I laughed it off with him after asking if she was in the next room. It could be coincidence but also a ploy to make the car seem more desirable and I'd better move quick as its the only model and spec in that price range I can find. Agreed a price and advised no cash for a deposit till tomorrow (pay day) but left a CC number (number only) as a good faith gesture until I drive out tomorrow with a deposit. I know my bank will back me regarding any transaction he tries to push though on that.

My concern here is the mileage. At 95K its quite high even for a car registered in Jan 08. I know if the cars been looked after 95k shouldn't be a concern but is there anything specific anyone here knows about qashqai's when they start getting on a bit.

I'm not trying to dick anyone around here and don't want to go in in full on combat mode if I'm reading this wrong. seems from the above posts these guys have appeared hit and miss in some respects and I can't afford to take a loss on this :(

Help?

Cheers
    James

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

After reading all this you still want to buy a car from them? A car you have doubts about anyway?

There are lots of cars, including lots of Qashqais, out there. Walk away.

The only doubt i had about the car was i felt the mileage was a little high which isn't a concern really if the car is well maintained.. Hindsight is twenty twenty mate and I'm just trying to get some background on these guys if it's available or tips on what i should be looking for with this make/model

manti452 The phone call alone should ring bells. As for the knowing the owner another great line. The mileage is huge for that year. Plus the Nissan Qashqai are not meant to be great anyhow. As for southside motor group do not walk, RUN

AltAccount wrote: »
    After reading all this you still want to buy a car from them? A car you have doubts about anyway?

There are lots of cars, including lots of Qashqais, out there. Walk away.

I agree completely, are you nuts? (no offence!) don't buy from these gangsters and go somewhere that had a good reputation... or you could always just hand your money over to me if you really want to get rid of it! :-)

but in all seriousness stay away, i tried court, solicitors, Simi, consumer protection agency, the gardai and revenue and no one could touch them because they don't exist! but they have been operating under various names for years.

I lost 2500 on a clocked avensis (blew head gasket few miles down the road!) after getting scammed here, then the phones went dead in January when I tried solicitors and court.

avoid like the plague!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Is it me or is the front drivers side a different colour?

yeah, i think that front wing had paint......

prometheus413
    I was the same had serious trouble with them as I said RUN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Was just about to post the same. Front driver's side wing looks a different colour to the driver's door to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

The various 'garages' that operate along the Turnpike Road are seriously dodgy, I have had passed experience with them. Frequent name changes and stock that is usually ex-lease or bought from auction. As none of these, to the best of my knowledge have an actual garage with ramps and mechanics I would worry about the vehicle having been checked and serviced properly. It is of course possible that they drop the cars down to the local Advance Pitstop for an oil change which would run about €100 so there's your 'service'.
    While the SIMI is basically a car dealers club it does make the garages hold a degree of professionalism in relation to clocking, warranties, overall standards etc.
    Overall you'd fair out better buying something yourself from the likes of Merlin or Wilsons auctions but if your heart is set on that high mileage two tone Quasqui then I would say get an AA report done on it or have a mechanic you trust come out with you to have a look at it. If you do buy and there is a mechanical problem you will have very little come back because as has been stated previously it's coming close to the time for their yearly name change!!!

Thanks for the replies lads.

Updating on this to say I've run a full cartell check on it which came back pretty clean bar:

Owner Change This vehicle has had a recent change of ownership. This change does not include Trade sales. You should confirm the reasons for the re-sale in such a short period of time and verify all vehicle documentation. Recent owner changes increase the risk of fraud and cloning, if in doubt contact An Garda Siochana

I'm having a Garda mate check this out.. and a notification that it seems to have been untaxed for 6 months this year.

Tax history indicates a tax period other than three, six, or twelve months. A time span of 5 months, was found between tax expiry dates 2012-06-30 and 2012-11-30 An odd taxation period may indicate that the vehicle may have been off the road

Asked the dealer for more details on the mechanical history and he came back with a name and number for a mechanic (also based in Walkinstown. GK Autos?) that says he did the last 3 services, last one around 10k ago. Maintains it was well looked after, timing chain etc and is going to check his records and come back to me to let me know more.

At this point my biggest concern about walking away is whether or not this guy is in a position to chase me for the deposit based on a "Verbal agreement" and a purchase invoice thats hand written. I'll be off to see free legal advice for this as I know he's not in a position to forcibly take payment from me (card blocked and no cash taken) but I don't want anyone showing up at my front door either.

OP, this one has near half the miles........and is with a dealer so you'll get the warranty you desire..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4205074

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭banie01

manti452 wrote: »

Asked the dealer for more details on the mechanical history and he came back with a name and number for a mechanic (also based in Walkinstown. GK Autos?) that says he did the last 3 services, last one around 10k ago. Maintains it was well looked after, timing chain etc and is going to check his records and come back to me to let me know more.

This alone should be enough to have you turn on a heel and leave!
    The whole raison d'etre of a timing chain as opposed to a timing belt is that it is not a generally consumable part and should never really need changing and apart from maintaining the tensioners and ensuring lubrication they are not a service item...
    And if a car has had a timing chain issue, It usually means a new engine is needed!
    As for any worries regarding the deposit, tell the seller he's free to sell it to that interested lady buyer he had on the blower ;)

banie01 wrote: »
    And if a car has had a timing chain issue, It usually means a new engine is needed!

incorrect.

pulled out of the deal after some recent information came to light. He's threatening to sue as his cartell report doesn't show this information and wants my "source".

Surely not that much hassle for a car that will be so "easy to sell" ;)

MidlandsM wrote: »
    OP, this one has near half the miles........and is with a dealer so you'll get the warranty you desire..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4205074

Yeah that was on my list too.. I just went for the higher spec :(

manti452 wrote: »
    pulled out of the deal after some recent information came to light. He's threatening to sue as his cartell report doesn't show this information and wants my "source".

Surely not that much hassle for a car that will be so "easy to sell" ;)

I went through all this with this guy, he won't sure... a verbal agreement is not worth the paper it's written on! and he is not registered as any business or trader.

also went through the cartel report thing... his reports are forged and the service history probably is too, mine was! it's a gimmick to stop you running your own history check.

if he sues (he won't) it would be brilliant because then he would have to provide his details to court and I could get them from you and then sue him... as could many others who left comments here! ;-)

Have no more dealings or hassle with this joker and tell him you'll wait for the summons!

I went through all this with this guy, he won't sure... a verbal agreement is not worth the paper it's written on! and he is not registered as any business or trader.

also went through the cartel report thing... his reports are forged and the service history probably is too, mine was! it's a gimmick to stop you running your own history check.

if he sues (he won't) it would be brilliant because then he would have to provide his details to court and I could get them from you and then sue him... as could many others who left comments here! ;-)

Have no more dealings or hassle with this joker and tell him you'll wait for the summons!

If anything official does show up I'll post back here inviting pms for anyone who's had previous issues. If I'm breaking board policy I apologise

Thanks for the sanity check. I won't let myself get desperate again.

Had dealings with southside motor group well over year ago and it still is not sorted Trever [eyes up to heaven] has some neck. lol as I said RUN

Hmmm random skip delivery this morning I didn't order.. Wonder where that came from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

So, this guy has your CC number? I'd be changing that, sharpish.

You are better off trust me. Do not want to get into it here but had a lot of trouble with them car packing up getting abused on the phone etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭dutopia

Do not buy a car from these guys.

They're all buddy buddy and nice but as soon as you bring up some issue or have some questions they're dismissive and uncaring. Trying to get any sort of after sales service is a joke. They have a 3 month warranty on cars as standard, most garages I've dealt with before give you a 12 month warranty. Who knows if it's even possible to get anything from the warranty! I don't believe the service I got when I bought the car was done properly, maybe an oil change and that's it.

The day after I bought the car it cut out on a roundabout and I had to restart the engine... I called them up later to ask for some advice and Trevor said "What do you expect me to do about it?".

Their business ethos seems to be 'Buy a car and fu*k off'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Blossom29

These guys are now called SMG capital, they have also had a change of address near or off the naas road, same guys ANOTHER new name, but now new address too. But same guys

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 tank1981

iv bought all my cars from these lads over the last 3 years for my wife myself and my recently my daughter , i have never had any issue what so ever with there after sales service if ever there was a problem with any of the cars it was sorted instantly , not that there was ever any major problems to begin with !!! also id like to add that if ever my car was back with any warranty issue there was always a curtosy car on offer from the lads , speaking from my own experience with these lads i will be back to buy more cars from them in the future as will many of my friends and family ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dave45dave

Thats a good first post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

tank1981 wrote: »
    speaking from my own experience with these lads

Why did you need a courtesy car for issues you didn't have that were sorted instantly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

iv bought all my cars from these lads over the last 3 years for my wife myself and my recently my daughter , i have never had any issue what so ever with there after sales service if ever there was a problem with any of the cars it was sorted instantly , not that there was ever any major problems to begin with !!! also id like to add that if ever my car was back with any warranty issue there was always a curtosy car on offer from the lads , speaking from my own experience with these lads i will be back to buy more cars from them in the future as will many of my friends and family ....

Do you actually expect anyone to believe this rubbish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Why did you need a courtesy car for issues you didn't have that were sorted instantly?

It's all IFs,
    No problem with after sales service if I needed them, but there wasn't any major problems with the cars. So how do u know what the after sales is like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

This post pretty much proves that ye're not only highly suspect, ye're also pretty dim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Call me cynical, but do you think tank1981 has something to do with this crowd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

That's Brilliant.I want one of their cars and a Curtosy car to and I want to but a car from them for my non driving wife solely because they are such whizzes on social media.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

What name are these boyos trading under these days?

And yes, God bless the internet.

This post pretty much proves that ye're not only highly suspect, ye're also pretty dim.
    the fact that you have almost 4000 posts on boards.ie proves that you probably have no friends and no life and you sit in your little bedroom in mammys house on your computer hoping someone will chat to you awwwwww do you need a hug ?? why dont you order yourself bride on line you sad sad individual :eek:

dave45dave wrote: »
    Thats a good first post
    first time for everything :D

the fact that you have almost 4000 posts on boards.ie proves that you probably have no friends and no life and you sit in your little bedroom in mammys house on your computer hoping someone will chat to you awwwwww do you need a hug ?? why dont you order yourself bride on line you sad sad individual :eek:

That's a great way is show your customers what you're really like.
    I think everyone hear will spread the word to say away from your place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

You don't suppose tank1981 refers to his year of birth, do you?

Surely this can't be a 32-year-old? :pac: