Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

buying a ldv maxus 2.5 van

• 02-11-2011 7:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭

looking at an 2005 one of these 2moro, seem to be a rare enough van,
    anyone know much about them

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

kincaid wrote: »
    looking at an 2005 one of these 2moro, seem to be a rare enough van,
    anyone know much about them

thanks

Would look at something else, they are the biggest ball of crap ever to litter the roads. There is a good reason they are rare.
    If you get one new you might get a couple of years out of it, if you are easy on it but 2nd hand and you will live to regret it,even if you are an octogenarian , chain smoking, smack addict, blind, base jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Much as I admire the idea of the maxus and its interesting development story, I wouldn't buy one, bad power delivery, thin sheet metal, rattling interior, dodgy locking systems and dreadful gear change are the big gripes

Transits are so cheap, its hard to overlook them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Buy a tranny OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Jaysus - one of the parking crowds at LHR uses them and I can honestly say that they are atrocious ! You'll regret it.

Mate bought a great Transporter for 800 in the UK and its an excellent yoke for the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Eleganza

Parkers like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭kincaid

IM PUT OFF THEM NOW but anyway its a UK, 76k miles, FSH, Never crashed and 1000 stg would but it or less...

Heres a dealer looking €3180 for a damaged UK reg one, right bit of damage too (very overpriced that)
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/2530343

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

its a Sherpa in disguise and they were truly awful...firm I worked for had two, I used to drive them alternative days and they were in the workshop when I wasnt driving them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Eleganza wrote: »
    Parkers like them.

yep...they are just grand when parked.:rolleyes: