Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doughnuts D!ckhead

• 02-11-2011 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭

Well, not donughts really, because it was a fwd estate - more like handbrake turns but this muppet was at them right outside my commercial yard where I had just locked up for the night.

It was dark so he didn't see me but I came out on the road and got his reg - then he saw me and tore off.

i want to report him... I know nothing will happen but it would be nice if a Garda rang him up and gave him a land

Next time he's doing his asshole driving routine he could end up killing someone or at least himself - not that I woud care about that but it would contribute to my insurance premium and i wouldn't like that..

Suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

cops not interested in donuts?

what's the world coming to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Sky King wrote: »
    Well, not donughts really, because it was a fwd estate - more like handbrake turns but this muppet was at them right outside my commercial yard where I had just locked up for the night.

It was dark so he didn't see me but I came out on the road and got his reg - then he saw me and tore off.

i want to report him... I know nothing will happen but it would be nice if a Garda rang him up and gave him a land

Next time he's doing his asshole driving routine he could end up killing someone or at least himself - not that I woud care about that but it would contribute to my insurance premium and i wouldn't like that..

Suggestions?

You are saying you were locked in commercial shed in the middle of the night?

Anyway, who could he kill next time, if this time there was no one around.

Did he do any damage to anything, or hurt anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

CiniO wrote: »
    You are saying you were locked in commercial shed in the middle of the night?

Anyway, who could he kill next time, if this time there was no one around.

No he said he was locking up for the night.. so it could have been the early evening..

Does someone have to be killed first before it's a problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Absurdum wrote: »
    cops not interested in donuts?

what's the world coming to
    Desperate thanks whoring :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Can one assume its an industrial estate?

Welease wrote: »

Does someone have to be killed first before it's a problem?

I can see a huge difference between doing donuts or hand brake turns in empty space during the night at some industrial estate, and someone being killed.

When I was younger I spend at least few hours a week training that kind of stuff at nights in empty and safe places around the town, or in some forests, etc... I really can't see anything wrong with it. Training skills can be only positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

I can see a huge difference between doing donuts or hand brake turns in empty space during the night at some industrial estate, and someone being killed.

When I was younger I spend at least few hours a week training that kind of stuff at nights in empty and safe places around the town, or in some forests, etc... I really can't see anything wrong with it. Training skills can be only positive.
    Training for what exactly?

Yeah but it wasn't an empty space.. there was a commercial unit owner locking up.. so it probably wasn't late at night either (although the OP didnt specify a time)..

We obviously differ in opinion (:)), but I fail to see what doing donuts would really teach about road craft.. Without trying to sound like an old geezer (or generalising), the kids round here who do donuts have similar disrepect for other aspects of good roadcraft (and thats me being pleasant :)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Limerick Bandit

Suggestions?

The lad did no harm so leave it at that ;)

Daniel S wrote: »
    Training for what exactly?

I was training for two reasons.

1. To be in more control of the car if emergency situation arises.
    2. To be good at winning those:

Yeah but it wasn't an empty space.. there was a commercial unit owner locking up.. so it probably wasn't late at night either (although the OP didnt specify a time)..

We obviously differ in opinion (:)), but I fail to see what doing donuts would really teach about road craft.. Without trying to sound like an old geezer (or generalising), the kids round here who do donuts have similar disrepect for other aspects of good roadcraft (and thats me being pleasant :)).

In most cases you are probably right.

Hence though, that controlling skids, while for vast majority of Irish drivers is some kind of special knowledge that only experts can have, in some countries (mostly Scandinavian) is actually a part of driving test for your licence.

While there was barely any snow in this country for many many years, Irish drivers are not used to situation, that in winter conditions skids actually occur, no matter if you want it or not. It's part of good driving skills to be able to control them.

Those lads doing donuts or hand brake turns, always gain some skills on this. If they only train it in empty and safe area, I really can't see anything wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

reminds me of acting the bollox years ago when i start driving, in all honesty i think it has got me out of a few sticky situations where i might have had an accident otherwise

In most cases you are probably right.

Hence though, that controlling skids, while for vast majority of Irish drivers is some kind of special knowledge that only experts can have, in some countries (mostly Scandinavian) is actually a part of driving test for your licence.

While there was barely any snow in this country for many many years, Irish drivers are not used to situation, that in winter conditions skids actually occur, no matter if you want it or not. It's part of good driving skills to be able to control them.

Those lads doing donuts or hand brake turns, always gain some skills on this. If they only train it in empty and safe area, I really can't see anything wrong with it.

Yes.. being able to control skids etc. is a important part of roadcraft in an emergency... However :) the likelyhood is that they are like the vast majority of donut pullers.. doing it for fun not in an attempt to understand the mechanics.

and lets be honest.. controlling a skid on snow/ice is nothing like the technique used to pull a donut.

In fairness to those guys though.. at least they found a relatively quiet space unlike the muppets who do it at junctions on A roads. Doesn't make it any less dangerous though, as they obviously didnt see a guy standing taking down their reg, so the place wasn't empty..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

No, but he easily could have done.

Can one assume its an industrial estate?
    Yes
    The lad did no harm so leave it at that
    No, I effing won't leave it at that. he easily could have done harm. There's a time and place for pricking around in cars and its not on a public road.
    Training skills can be only positive.
    I agree. I learnt in fields and go-karting tracks in the wet. Not in busy industrial estates on public roads at 6PM
    as they obviously didnt see a guy standing taking down their reg, so the place wasn't empty..
    I was just locking the gates of the yard and he was maybe 5 metres away and in a semi-controlled skid towards the gates. What if he had misjudged it and hit the gates?

I agree. I learnt in fields and go-karting tracks in the wet. Not in busy industrial estates on public roads at 6PM

You forgot to mention it was 6pm and busy industrial estate.

Most of us assumed, it was more likely at 3am in completely empty spot, and you appeared there at the gate like a ghost.

At least I imagined it like that.

Yes.. being able to control skids etc. is a important part of roadcraft in an emergency... However :) the likelyhood is that they are like the vast majority of donut pullers.. doing it for fun not in an attempt to understand the mechanics.

and lets be honest.. controlling a skid on snow/ice is nothing like the technique used to pull a donut.

In fairness to those guys though.. at least they found a relatively quiet space unlike the muppets who do it at junctions on A roads. Doesn't make it any less dangerous though, as they obviously didnt see a guy standing taking down their reg, so the place wasn't empty..

I generally agree.
    Just any kind of donuts or handbrake turns makes driver more used to skidding, and therefore it always gives some knowledge.

I generally agree.
    Just any kind of donuts or handbrake turns makes driver more used to skidding, and therefore it always gives some knowledge.

Oh come on.. it doesn't :) .. You obviously do controlled driving from that video, so you can definately understand the difference and reaction required to an uncontrolled skid and a entry controlled donut..

As per the OP's clarification, these were just the usual dickhead drivers who don't give a toss about the rules.. and give all decent motor enthusiasts a bad name.

I'm all for people learning extra skills (learning the rules of the road would be a good start for a lot of people), but there is an appropriate time and place to do so.

(and I'm not having a go at you.. doing it late at night in a empty place while not perfect is a very good idea).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

Was it an astra estate? Because me and a friend watched a stolen one of those exploding last night.We called the fire brigade when we came across it but by that stage it was too late, they came and put it out though, and very quickly too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

You forgot to mention it was 6pm and busy industrial estate.
    Most of us assumed, it was more likely at 3am in completely empty spot, and you appeared there at the gate like a ghost.
    Thats what I visualised too (sneaking up to someone in the dark, was locking up etc) and I wasnt too pushed by the alleged seriousness either.