Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Footballer gets punched by 'fan'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Did he spit at him just after punching him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

The player ended up with a broken cheek-bone....its nuts that the ref sent players off for defending/sticking up for their team-mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Dozyart wrote: »
    The player ended up with a broken cheek-bone....its nuts that the ref sent players off for defending/sticking up for their team-mate!

I heard he broke a bone in his ear and is now deaf.

[edit] http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/nov/01/petrolul-steaua-bucharest-romania-ultras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Fair play to them for kicking him in the face ? :rolleyes:

Scummy thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

The player who kicked that idiot is looking at a lengthy ban. There were other incidents at that game,flares etc thrown at Steaua players. The club that the idiot supports has a reputation for having violent fans and had a similar incident last year. They are looking at playing all their home games behind closed doors

d22ontour wrote: »

Scummy thing to do.

In fairness, he can hardly whinge about getting a kicking after what he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ILikeBananas

Scummy thing to do.

Any sympathy that vermin had coming to him went out the window when he "courageously" belted a guy who had his back turned to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

...meanwhile in Romania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Scummy thing to do.

What are they supposed to do, write him a strongly worded letter? He cheap-shotted and seriously hurt their team mate and then ran on in to scrap with the rest of them. The team have to stand up for themselves. The few kicks in the face were perfectly justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Any sympathy that vermin had coming to him went out the window when he "courageously" belted a guy who had his back turned to him.

Exactly. In so doing he voided his right not to have the **** kicked out of him. There's something seriously wrong with Romanian football if their deduction from that match is that there are too many kung fu kicks between players and fans...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Scummy thing to do.

Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Jesus its not as if he ran into the stands and kicked a supporter in the face. That man is a petty criminal and deserves the beating he took, I hate that society today protects people that deserve to have the shít kicked through them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Kicked on the ground though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Moist Bread

dfx- wrote: »

He reacted in anger. I think it's understandable, he saw his teammate get decked by some nutcase who was then running towards him. That lad would never have been kicked on the ground if he hadn't put himself in that position. You reap what you sow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They were defending themselves. He could have had a weapon so kicking him in the face to knock him out was justified. Any supporters on the pitch deserve to be savagely beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Wasn't the best looking hook in fairness :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

We've all wanted to do it in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

Scummy thing to do.

Worst post I have ever seen on boards, for so many reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

They were defending themselves. He could have had a weapon so kicking him in the face to knock him out was justified. Any supporters on the pitch deserve to be savagely beaten.

Unless they're streaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

PC Leftist Bleeding Heart Lunatics out in force again I see.

That person deserved all he got, and more.

The player getting banned is ridiculous.

Fan should be in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Scummy thing to do.

it was scummy. They should have turned him around and kicked him with his back turned the sneaky prick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

As much as the perp deserved a beating, the player who kicked him while he was on the ground may find himself in serious trouble, financilly and/or legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Neil3030 wrote: »
    As much as the perp deserved a beating, the player who kicked him while he was on the ground may find himself in serious trouble, financilly and/or legally.

and that in my opinion is whats wrong with the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Magic Pips

Kicking someone while they're down is just wrong...

... however i think we'll need to go to the judges as to if it was allowed on this occasion...?

article-1302385-0AC1DC11000005DC-628_468x340.jpg

Yep, he deserved it. Look... 3 Yeses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

dfx- wrote: »

They all turned around to see a teammate go down after being struck. Could have been stabbed in the back of the head for all they know. You'd swear he was out cold after being on the ground. He ran at them and was getting up for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭fish fingers

fcuking stick up for your mates no matter what. He go everything he deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

Scummy thing to do.

Here lad let's see someone deck one of your mates for no reason, I'd love to see you standing idly by.
    It's almost scummy not to kick the living shít out of the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

stovelid wrote: »
    We've all wanted to do it in fairness.

Not sure what way to take that considering one of you attacked Rogers on the pitch in Tallaght last season.

Assume you mean kick a fan in the face whilst on the ground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

That was gas. Player gets hit a dig and has 4 lads around him to make sure if he's alright. Fan takes a kicking off what? ..5? 6 guys? and goes off the pitch fighting.

I'm all for sticking up for your mates and totally agree the fella deserved a few slaps.. but that kick was savage and that player is going to be in serious trouble. You simply do not kick people when they're down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

That was gas. Player gets hit a dig and has 4 lads around him to make sure if he's alright. Fan takes a kicking off what? ..5? 6 guys? and goes off the pitch fighting.

I'm all for sticking up for your mates and totally agree the fella deserved a few slaps.. but that kick was savage and that player is going to be in serious trouble. You simply do not kick people when they're down.

The fan hit the player from behind in the first place and spat in his face ffs, he deserved the kicking on the ground and a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Johner wrote: »
    The fan hit the player from behind in the first place and spat in his face ffs, he deserved the kicking on the ground and a lot more.

A punch to the jaw isn't going to kill anyone. A punt to the side of the head can kill. The fan should be sent to jail for what he done and other players had every right to defend their teammate. I just don't agree with the people who think it was okay to kick him in the head. It's dangerous. What if he was put into a coma and eventually died?

A grown man punching someone from behind is cheap but so is kicking a man in the head when he's on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

Johner wrote: »

He deserved a few slaps BUT noone deserves a kick in the head, and I mean noone.

Worst thing about that video is that it proves footballers are pansies tbh anyway!!! One slap in the head and yer man is down on the ground. The thug gets kicks in the head and he is lookign for more!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

The thug is probably off his head on something, that's what has him coming back for more. Hopefully he'll have felt the full effects of it the following morning.

Ridiculous to call a player a pansy for going down after having his jaw broken. I've had my jaw broke from a punch which didn't even connect as well as the one in the video and I can tell you first hand that a broken jaw is extremely painful.

I usually agree with what you have to say Killwill but I can't this time, the thug deserved everything he got and more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Spineless wimp hitting a man from behind like that. When I was watching that video, I was hoping someone would take a penalty with his head. Scum like that can't be reasoned with, if he behaves like an animal then he deserves equal treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

markc1184 wrote: »
    The thug is probably off his head on something, that's what has him coming back for more. Hopefully he'll have felt the full effects of it the following morning.

Ridiculous to call a player a pansy for going down after having his jaw broken. I've had my jaw broke from a punch which didn't even connect as well as the one in the video and I can tell you first hand that a broken jaw is extremely painful.

I usually agree with what you have to say Killwill but I can't this time, the thug deserved everything he got and more!

I don't think he broke his jaw though.
    It still does not justify kicking someone in the head.
    Forget that this is on a football pitch. If this was a typical Saturday night, (and it often is where I am from!!!!) you can't go around kicking people in the head.
    I think it is perfectly fine to box the head off him but no more than that.

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    A punch to the jaw isn't going to kill anyone.

Plenty of people have died from similar, although usually because of hitting their head on concrete afterwards. A cheap shot is an extremely dangerous punch. The player now has a broken bone in his ear for fúck sake. The attack was very serious.

People saying that a kick when on the ground is not fair are having a laugh. The guy attacked one of their team mates and was in the middle of scrapping with the rest of them. He had no right to a fair fight. The main thing the players needed to be concerned about was protecting themselves. As was pointed out earlier, he could have had a weapon. The suggestion that the players should have let him up off the ground to continue with his attack is fúcking idiotic. The fact that the attacker got a tiny bit of a hiding is only a bonus.

If the guy had been unconscious on the ground then fair enough, that would have been too much. But he wasn't unconscious, he was getting up to carry on with his scrap.

The player ban is horribly unjust.
    Des wrote: »
    PC Leftist Bleeding Heart Lunatics out in force again I see.

That person deserved all he got, and more.

The player getting banned is ridiculous.

Fan should be in prison.

Hey! Not all lefties are soft idiots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Pro. F wrote: »
    Hey! Not all lefties are soft idiots!

Plenty of tough southpaws out there ;)

Still bollocks is being spouted on here. Noone and I mean noone deserves a kick to the head, not least when they're on the ground. It's a well known fact that head trauma kills.. so what makes it alright for that player to use the lad's head as kicking practice? Nothing. Now had he waited for him to regain his footing and THEN decked him - that would be a different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

So suck punching someone is scummy but kicking someone in the head while is on the ground and 3-4 of your mates are already hitting his isn't? It's a bit rich calling someone an animal and a scumbag and then turning around and championing some other scumbag because he also acted like an animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Still bollocks is being spouted on here. Noone and I mean noone deserves a kick to the head, not least when they're on the ground.

He put himself in that situation, ideally the match should have taken place with no violence but the fan instigated it. The blame for injuries sustained to anybody involved including himself rests on his shoulders.

Still bollocks is being spouted on here. Noone and I mean noone deserves a kick to the head, not least when they're on the ground. It's a well known fact that head trauma kills.. so what makes it alright for that player to use the lad's head as kicking practice? Nothing. Now had he waited for him to regain his footing and THEN decked him - that would be a different story.

The fact that the players were defending themselves makes it all right. Had they waited for him to get back to his feet then he would have had more opportunity to fight. The players would have been putting themselves at risk in order to protect the guy who had attacked them. The players couldn't have known how dangerous he was and whether or not he had a weapon. The only sensible thing was to err on the side of caution.
    So suck punching someone is scummy but kicking someone in the head while is on the ground and 3-4 of your mates are already hitting his isn't? It's a bit rich calling someone an animal and a scumbag and then turning around and championing some other scumbag because he also acted like an animal.

Sucker punching isn't categorically always a scummy thing to do, it can sometimes be justified. It would depend on the context. The same with kicking someone who is down. In this instance the sucker punch was clearly scummy and the players kicking the fan on the ground were clearly sensible in that they ended the fight quickly and so saved themselves from more danger.

In terms of the kicking as a form of retribution it's more open to debate I suppose. Personally, I would say they were right to give him a kicking as it might make any other dickheads who want to attack the team in future think twice.

The following cannot be used as a legal defence for kicking someone on the ground:

"He hit my friend"
    "I was really angry"
    "It sends a message to others not to do it"

However the danger/self-defense argument, might work, though the players would need to prove that they were not equipped to cope with the threat by another means.

That said, a kick to the head is a kick to the head, and the sad truth is that this thug will probably get a hefty civil settlement at the very least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Neil3030 wrote: »
    The following cannot be used as a legal defence for kicking someone on the ground:

Expert on the Romanian legal system, yeah :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Nothing. Now had he waited for him to regain his footing and THEN decked him - that would be a different story.

It's not totally common to think so rationally during times like this.

The guy didn't only get what he deserved, he got what he was looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Any person that goes on a pitch to attack a player deserves everything they get and lose all rights about how they are treated. Players should not have to worry about their safety while playing no matter how hostile the ground is. Intimidating and abusive atmosphere in stadiums is part and parcel of the game but the pitch should be a haven for the players.

Des wrote: »
    Expert on the Romanian legal system, yeah :confused:

The event taking place in Romania may indeed by the kicker, if you will, but I'm going to go out on a limb and assume they have laws against assault. I would also assume that the ambulance chasers are, as we speak, forming a not so orderly queue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭human repellent

I'm one for human rights but to see some of you defending that guy stating he shouldn't have been kicked when down, what about the guy playing for the thousands of fans who's meant to be protected and gets a punch from behind.

End of the day that VERMIN got off lightly, ****ing degenerate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

No sympathy for the guy who got kicked in the head

Show me where I said that.

Once again for clarity - Head trauma can and often does kill. You can't justify it. IMO anyone who is brave/stupid enough to kick someone in the head should also have to face charges of attempted murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Not sure what way to take that considering one of you attacked Rogers on the pitch in Tallaght last season.

By "one of you", you mean some random nutter that was subsequently banned from the ground for good.

The same match that "one of you" was apprehended entering the staidum with a baseball bat, I hasten to add.

On the other thing: it was a joke about claterring a player. Think the other players are justified to apprehend him and even clatter him a bit but not to go too far.