Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Race 2 Race competition

• 01-11-2011 12:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30

Just seen this over on octane looks like a great competition.A great chance for somebody to get a full season of itcc fully funded.
    Link to website www.r2rmotorsport.com. Think ill be having a go of this myself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 iradford

sorr folks more info here from there website: The winner of Race 2 Race 2012 will receive a comprehensive and life changing prize -li seeing them compete in the Irish Touring Car Championship. The lucky and talented winner will strap themselves behind the wheel of a 150mph professionally prepared and maintained race car for the entire 2012 season. Simply turn up and drive.... Have you got what it takes?
    Prize Includes:

14 race entries and 10 test days
    Use of professionally prepared race car for entire 2012 season race
    Professional team to prepare and run the car to the highest level
    Professional one to one coaching by race winning driver
    Use of new and personalised race suit, helmet, gloves, boots
    Race License - Training and issuing
    Media training course
    Personalised in car video footage of every race
    Documentary series charting your rise as a race driver shown on Motors TV
    Personal race tuition will be supplied by a person deemed fit by the promoters

tickets : 150 euro

Alternative link here for more info : http://www.therace2race.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Will be interesting to see how many punters this attracts for €150e for a blast in concession\leisure karts.
    Wonder what the actual structure of this competition is? Ie how many events and soforth will the eventual winner need to enter and how out of pocket will they be by the end. I don't think there's any doubt the winner would come out ahead, but if it turns out that you may end up €1000 out of pocket by the end of it, it might force you to reconsider.

Interesting concept but I hope they aren't going public with it yet though, seems like its not fully developed at this stage. Like I say, it might still be a work in progress. Website is a bit all over the place with info right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭freestyla

is it 150eur per race?

freestyla wrote: »
    is it 150eur per race?

Well for the first heat it is anyway. Not clear on how many heats\stages there will be. More to come I would guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 iradford

freestyla wrote: »
    is it 150eur per race?

150 covers the whole competition.Not bad I say There is a number of ways of making it into the final 16, you don't simply have to win. There will be a position awarded by raffle and also a wildcard per heat, so obviously an inexperienced competitor who shows well is very likely to be considered for the wildcard positions.

So is the whole competition based on leisure karts? I imagined there might be something in a race kart, vee or saloon at some stage. Is this not the case?
    What's the next step for the 16 that get selected?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 R2R

How is the outright winner decided?
    The 16 finalists from the karting events will all be brought to Mondello Park on Sunday February 19th where a string of difficult tests, challenges and courses will be completed. R2R will appoint expert judges to watch the finalists every move and decide on who has what it takes to compete in the 2012 Irish Touring Car Championship

Hope that helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Conor J

So lads, any tips on Go Kart driving?
    Was pretty poor meself a few weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 010010011010

Went karting in santry there last month and there were a few itcc and punto drivers out, had great craic. Only problem is that there was a HUGE difference between each kart. We each did 4 heats, then quarter final, semi final and a final. Although I got some class karts in the heats my kart in the final was rubbish. I know you reckon it'll even itself out and that cream rises to the top etc... but unless its done as a league or something it'll come down to luck in the knockout rounds/final, not the best driver

Do you have a format for the karting stage yet?

Have a look at this Interview think it will help you out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=nZrr3Y6J_wk

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Dont use the brake pedal, seriously not needed when your using the rent a karts at most tracks.

hehe, hopefully so..

That track I raced prior to this post was in Puddenhill, There were 2-3 corners it was needed as the track was small and tight, slippy too.. Pus one car had a mind of its own and wanted to veer left and not turn right, well it certainly struggled with right turns. hell of a lot of fun driving that mad thing though.. :)

what's everyone thoughts on the entry fee?

I'm a bit skint, but want to enter.. May have to wait until the end of the month.

Hi guys, we have been working hard on this competition and have almost everything in place........ except the driver, which could be you!!

Please see the press release below and if you've any questions someone from Race2Race will be happy to answer

The Race 2 Race is the search for Irelands next top racing driver with a €30,000 drive in the Irish Touring Car Championship awaiting the winner.

Open to anyone over 16 years of age The Race 2 Race will hold a karting event in each of the 4 provinces of Ireland on March 24th 2012. Each event has 4 categories with just 16 places available in each. Categories are based on drivers weight to ensure fairness.

Motor Racing has always been an expensive and time consuming sport, both being a significant barrier in allowing the progress of talented sports people. With The Race 2 Race the opportunity to compete at the highest national level with top equipment and technical support from Murray Motorsport is now open to anyone who buys a ticket to their local event. Tickets are priced at just €150, less than the price of a single race tyre!!

Each provincial round will see up to 8 contenders forwarded to a shoot out at Mondello Park the very next day where they will take the wheel of full race cars and be assessed by motorsport professionals both on and off track.

The winner will receive everything needed to take part in the 2012 ITCC season including use of a Honda Racecar, professional driver tuition, race equipment, entry fees, tyres, fuels etc. Murray Motorsport, Irelands most successful car racing team, will be preparing and running the car on behalf of the Race 2 Race meaning the winner will have every opportunity to be contending for outright championship honours in 2012 and who knows what opportunities lie ahead after that…

Tickets can be bought online at www.therace2race.com or from participating kart tracks

Leinster Round: Kylemore Karting, Ballyfermot. Dublin www.kylemore-karting.com
    Ulster Round: Formula Karting, Newry, Co Down www.formula-karting.com
    Munster Round: Delta Karting, Limerick www.delta-karting.com
    Connacht Round: Galway City Karting, Galway www.galwaycitykarting.ie

The racecar was on track today for the first time - what you think? Like to be racing it come April?

smallDSC_0635.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭goldsalmon33

How many competitors in each weight category will there be in each province? Or do the races have an unlimited entry?

There is a maximum of 16 competitors per weight category, per province.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

R2R wrote: »

This may be obvious from website (and if so apologies) but what time would the final assessment be over at on the Sunday should a person make it there?

hot date I don't want to miss Sunday evening in the event I actually was that lucky I'd hate to have to choose!

amacca wrote: »
    R2R wrote: »

This may be obvious from website (and if so apologies) but what time would the final assessment be over at on the Sunday should a person make it there?

hot date I don't want to miss Sunday evening in the event I actually was that lucky I'd hate to have to choose!

How cool would it be to start the date by telling her you were a race driver - LOL

The event should be done by about 3pm on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 gunnerman1100

Went karting in santry there last month and there were a few itcc and punto drivers out, had great craic. Only problem is that there was a HUGE difference between each kart. We each did 4 heats, then quarter final, semi final and a final. Although I got some class karts in the heats my kart in the final was rubbish. I know you reckon it'll even itself out and that cream rises to the top etc... but unless its done as a league or something it'll come down to luck in the knockout rounds/final, not the best driver

Do you have a format for the karting stage yet?

Was that just after halloween ? i dont an open grand prix there myself around that time with a few itcc and punto drivers same race format aswell. Was great craic as you said.