Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

buying a landcruiser

• 31-10-2011 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭

Hey guys. Want to purchase a good landcruiser. Have my eye on the 03 up model. Can anyone tell me of problems i should look out for?, Are these better or worse on diesel than the older model? will be used for mixed driving, towing, long journeys and some off road work. Anyone know of someone selling a good one? Has to be long wheel base! Based in donegal!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

May be harder to find but........ a clean low-mileage 3 litre TD LandCruiser 90 series would be a keeper. 120 series gave more trouble.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭mantua

Look out for injector trouble on the 05 up models but alot of them were sorted out but make sure if you are looking at an 05 up that they are done. I find the landcruiser is buttleproof and great off-road and a lovely jeep to drive. The comfort is brilliant and you won't want to go back to anything else if you get one, but don't forget they like their juice so be prepared for 30mpg at best and thats if ya keep below 2k revs. Don't go buying one if you don't need it as it will waste all your wages with the price of diesel and tyres etc... Best of luck if ya purchase and hope ya get plenty trouble free miles:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

mantua wrote: »
    Look out for injector trouble on the 05 up models but alot of them were sorted out but make sure if you are looking at an 05 up that they are done. I find the landcruiser is buttleproof and great off-road and a lovely jeep to drive. The comfort is brilliant and you won't want to go back to anything else if you get one, but don't forget they like their juice so be prepared for 30mpg at best and thats if ya keep below 2k revs. Don't go buying one if you don't need it as it will waste all your wages with the price of diesel and tyres etc... Best of luck if ya purchase and hope ya get plenty trouble free miles:)

30mpg:eek: I have a 1999 95 series and I'm only getting 18mpg!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 mk2magic

I had a 04land cruiser lwb uptil a year ago. Very reliable though heavy on diesel. Never let me down. Pulled a lot of machinery with it. Was getting around 28mpg out of it. Have a 06 Nissan pathfinder now. Getting 35mpg out of it. A lot more comfort but both great workhorses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

Great yoke although you need to work them from what Ive heard the ones that give hassle with the injectors are the ones that are doing alot of city driving and not being driven hard something to do with carbon buildup.

But we have a 07 one at home bought it new and we worked the bollix outta it towing the tractors around (two small Kubotas) never gave a days bother once its serviced. There not to bad on fuel for what they are we arent going that much pulling these days with are one and in normal day to day conditions she returns 700km to a tank for a 70 litre tank which to fair isnt to bad there also seriously comfortable and very good to drive.

They hold there money well but the only downside is resale as the place is flooded with them oh and make sure theres good tyres on it when you buy there feckin tail happy in the ice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭LCruiser Kid

Another vote for the landcruiser's. Have an 06 swb one with nearly two years and touch wood it's being brilliant. Comfortable and ok on the diesel too. Very hard to go back driving anything else after them. Cruiser all the way :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭roryq69

Was looking at a few pathfinders cause they were mentioned above. What are the pro's and con's of them compared to landcruiser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭elaverty

Slight hijack sorry OP,,,But would anyone know where there would be a good set of 2nd hand 20inch wheels knocking around to suite a 04 Landcruiser,,a buddy of mine is looking for a set,,wheels on there own would do,,and have to be in good order and not buckled,,Hilux or Dmax rims would fit i think same stud pattern,,thanks folks,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

roryq69 wrote: »
    Was looking at a few pathfinders cause they were mentioned above. What are the pro's and con's of them compared to landcruiser?
    Nissan= Renault.
    Toyota = Toyota.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

elaverty wrote: »
    Slight hijack sorry OP,,,But would anyone know where there would be a good set of 2nd hand 20inch wheels knocking around to suite a 04 Landcruiser,,a buddy of mine is looking for a set,,wheels on there own would do,,and have to be in good order and not buckled,,Hilux or Dmax rims would fit i think same stud pattern,,thanks folks,,
    Donedeal ;)

Ok so i took the plunge and finally bought myself a cruiser! Check out the pics on my profile! Wont let me put them up here!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Good luck with it. icon14.gif

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭NewBeefFarmer

roryq69 wrote: »
    Ok so i took the plunge and finally bought myself a cruiser! Check out the pics on my profile! Wont let me put them up here!

she looks lovely. .

do u mind me asking what year and what price??? is it a northern?

Its an 07 irish jeep. Set me back €12,500. But still need to put 4 new tyres on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Xpro

Great jeeps, i have the 05 model passenger for the last 4 years, not a bit of trouble. Once you look after them they go for ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

+1 for the cruisers, great yokes. Have had a 06 one for the last 3 1/2 years, not an ounce of trouble once serviced properly. Have to sell it now as it no longer suits my needs but I'll miss it!!