Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW Write-off - €25k to spend - What to get?

• 30-10-2011 9:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

Hi Everyone,

My 2008 320i M Sport Coupe has been deemed a write off after getting stuck in recent floods. Myself and my wife are still working through the grieving process. :(

Car Spec:

E92 320i M Sport Coupe N43 2.0
    Le Mans Blue Metallic
    Cream Beige Dakota leather
    Automatic Gearbox
    19" Wheels
    Armrest. front with sliding adjustment
    Dark Grey Poplar wood interior trim
    Rain sensor with auto. headlight activation
    USB audio interface
    Bluetooth phone prep
    Sun protection glass

Mileage: 55,483kms

I am still waiting pre-accident value, etc... however in the mean time I need to start trying to make a decision on what replacement car to get.

I am assuming a budget of €25k all in, and I am trying to decide do I go for the same or what other options are worthy considersations? Whatever I select it must be automatic, weekly mileage is around 300kms (however this could spike to 4-500kms), I am easy on whether petrol or diesel, and needs to cope with family of 4.

I'd appreciate any advice or recommendations. I am under time pressure to some degree as this was our main car so I need to find something fairly quick in the next couple of weeks.

In the past I have always purchased from garages and for the most part my cars have always been BMWs.

Let me know your opinions and suggestions, and thanks for taking the time to read/respond.

(Oh and for what its worth if you can find me a similar spec'd coupe in Alpine white for around that money, I'd be forever grateful. :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

M5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

Have a look at the new Mitsubishi Lancer diesel.You'd get it kitted out with side skirts, alloys, rear spoiler, painted brake calipers, bonnet scoop etc for 22k.Thats what he offered me down from 25k:D

Or just keep it standard which is nice too.

Mitsubishi+Lancer+2010.jpg

Anyway 1.8 diesel, 150bhp, variable valve timing, double overhead cam engine.

I drove one recently and its a great machine, felt quick and well built.It felt quicker than the 09 BMW 318d I tried the same day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

eddiem74 wrote: »
    In the past I have always purchased from garages and for the most part my cars have always been BMWs.
    If you are happy with BMW why change to anything else.

I'd say call the garage you deal with, explain the situation and see what the salesperson can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭eddiem74

johnos1984 wrote: »
    If you are happy with BMW why change to anything else.

I'd say call the garage you deal with, explain the situation and see what the salesperson can do

I will be doing that however just throwing it out here for other suggestions/considerations BMW or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

Have you thought about a Passat CC? Only one automatic in budget on carzone but that was last updated 40 days ago or so, but maybe one to look at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I'd say go to the UK with that kind of budget, I'm sure you would pick up a nice 3-Series over there with more kit for similar money, however seeing as time is an issue what about an Audi A5?

166man wrote: »
    I'd say go to the UK with that kind of budget, I'm sure you would pick up a nice 3-Series over there with more kit for similar money, however seeing as time is an issue what about an Audi A5?

Yeah, if time was not an issue I would consider the UK. I will also be asking BMW dealers to see if they can source anything from there.

The A5 is nice and my wife likes them so may be a consideration.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭HappyHouseWife

Wait and see how much the insurance company are prepared to pay out before you start deciding budgets.
    Your idea of your cars value and theirs could be on opposite sides of the universe.
    And that Mitsub is definitely not a fitting replacement!

Why not?

Sure what do women know:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Squall19 wrote: »
    Why not?

A lot more than you by the sounds of it...:pac:

-Corkie- wrote: »
    A lot more than you by the sounds of it...:pac:

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Why not?

Infraction given. Absolutely no need for that.

Well I am sick of badge snobs.

I have a BMW, I am so great.

Maybe do something about that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I love that Mitsubishi, they're very nice cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

This is nothing to do with badge snobs, and has everything to do with bring sexism into this. If you have a point make it.

Do not discuss this any further on thread. PM if you wish.

Why not?

That Mitsubishi is not a fitting replacement because it is nothing like the car that the OP had before the flooding in any way.

THe only criteria was the budget and being able to cope with a family of four, perfectly valid suggestion.

RoverJames wrote: »
    THe only criteria was the budget and being able to cope with a family of four, perfectly valid suggestion.

Apart from the fact that the Mitsubishi is a manual in diesel format.

OP wasn't bothered about petrol or diesel, is there not an auto lancer available ?

There was an auto lancer available with a 1.8 petrol afaik.. would be a bit of a step down in performance though. not sure if it is what the OP had in mind.

THere are auto diesels available in the UK, as I said, perfectly valid suggestion :)

Ah right did you check Honest John's website for that info RJ?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Ah right did you check Honest John's website for that info RJ?:pac:

What does it matter where he checked it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

What does it matter where he checked it?

It doesn't but RJ regularly throws that at 166man.

EPM wrote: »
    It doesn't but RJ regularly throws that at 166man.

Indeed, interestingly after I first 'threw' it at him if mentioned some weeks later that he was following a thread on the HJ forum ;) seems as its been brought up I find it funny for want of a better word when someone asks for advice on a motoring forum and folks reply with info gleamed from other sites, we can all use Google. I wouldn't find it anyway so if the source was credited at the time, although that would show folk up for what they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

Girls,

I'm sure the OP is loving this....

Indeed, interestingly after I first 'threw' it at him if mentioned some weeks later that he was following a thread on the HJ forum ;) seems as its been brought up I find it funny for want of a better word when someone asks for advice on a motoring forum and folks reply with info gleamed from other sites, we can all use Google. I wouldn't find it anyway so if the source was credited at the time, although that would show folk up for what they are.

And what info has been ''gleamed'' from other sites RJ? I asked you this in another thread a few weeks ago but you couldn't answer maybe you can this time? :rolleyes:

Most if not all of it I would think, all the VAG stuff anyway me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

OP says he would love another coupe in white. I cannot see him been intrested in a Mitzy.

Most if not all of it I would think, all the VAG stuff anyway me thinks.

I don't now VAG that well to be honest. I know of problems with their 2.0 PD TDI due to cousins of ours in the UK having a 2006 passat tdi with injector problems. I know the 1.9 TDI is quite reliable as an Aunt of mine has a 2004 Skoda with the same engine and 140k miles no problem. That's about it really.

Didn't know I had to justify my knowledge to you RJ.:rolleyes:

You don't :)
    Merely my opinion, you did ask ;)
    I knew you know sfa about VAGs too btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

How about a new model Skyline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I don't now VAG that well to be honest. I know of problems with their 2.0 PD TDI due to cousins of ours in the UK having a 2006 passat tdi with injector problems. I know the 1.9 TDI is quite reliable as an Aunt of mine has a 2004 Skoda with the same engine and 140k miles no problem. That's about it really.

Will the 2 of ye get a room or something, the sexual tension in here is something else :pac:

Threesome ? :P

I never claimed to be an expert on VW's anyway??:confused:

Now seriously, if you bothered to look at some of my other posts you'd realise very quickly that "badge snobbery" definitely doesn't come into it.
    I think we all know here that the Mitsi is not a suitable replacement no more than I'd suggest OP get himself a nice Octavia Tdi, (best car in the world in my opinion and I'm baffled why people disagree with me:)). OP is a BMW (possibly leaning towards Audi) type of person, people like that don't "do" Mitsi/nissan/toyota or other so called "run of the mill" cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

Why not get the insurance money and get your car repaired somewhere other than a BMW dealer because thats what will happen to it anyway !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

I'd say a 25k pay out for a 2008 E92 320i M Sport Coupe with 55,483kms is optimistic. With a family of 4, look at the E60 5 in diesel post 08.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭ianofitz

now now children

eddiem74, an audi a4 or 16 are nice. also very reliable and comfortable but as some people have mentioned, why change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

ianofitz wrote: »
    now now children

eddiem74, an audi a4 or 16 are nice. also very reliable and comfortable but as some people have mentioned, why change?

Because it's nice to change and the OP asked for options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Darsad wrote: »
    Why not get the insurance money and get your car repaired somewhere other than a BMW dealer because thats what will happen to it anyway !

The car is flood damaged which is why the insurance company wrote it off, I for one would not want to buy back a car that was submerged in water and muck.

TJJP wrote: »
    I'd say a 25k pay out for a 2008 E92 320i M Sport Coupe with 55,483kms is optimistic. With a family of 4, look at the E60 5 in diesel post 08.

I said assume a budget of €25k, I did not say I was expecting that. What do you believe is a more realistic figure to expect seen as you appear to have knowledge? My research shows up quite a variation when you consider spec/mileage. The VRT website suggests a OMSP of just under €27k. I will be giving the 5 some thought also, thanks!
    Darsad wrote: »
    bazz26 wrote: »
    The car is flood damaged which is why the insurance company wrote it off, I for one would not want to buy back a car that was submerged in water and muck.

I may consider a second opinion from another assessor and even get a garage to take a look and quote for repair. There only water interally was when my wife opened the car door to get out, the driver side floor carpet was wet to touch, not a puddle or anything. When she tried to drive through the flood (which other cars were making it through) she cut-out, got out, and then two very nice lads within 15mins had her pushed out of the water onto the side of the road. They made her get back in the window rather than opening the door again so that saved the inside getting wet any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

eddiem74 wrote: »
    I may consider a second opinion from another assessor and even get a garage to take a look and quote for repair. There only water interally was when my wife opened the car door to get out, the driver side floor carpet was wet to touch, not a puddle or anything. When she tried to drive through the flood (which other cars were making it through) she cut-out, got out, and then two very nice lads within 15mins had her pushed out of the water onto the side of the road. They made her get back in the window rather than opening the door again so that saved the inside getting wet any further.

That sounds pretty similar to a 5 Series we have on fleet, but the opinions are totally the other way around. We'd like to get it written off as it will never be the same again (sea water in the interior), but the garage and the insurance are happy to strip the interior to make sure there was no damage done to the wiring looms. For once, the engine escaped having to be replaced.

And an replacement car? http://www.carzone.ie/search/results?searchsource=finder&nParam=4294909578%2B200292%2B200298&channel=CARS&cacheBuster=1320053064110916#nParam=4294909578%2B200292%2B200298%2B200590%2B200254&sortby=p_VehiclePriceEUR|0&channel=CARS&currency=EUROS&searchResultsView=THUMBNAIL&maxrows=10

Worth a look. Not as rewarding to drive as a 3 Series, but it does look good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

Oh you drove through a flood are you sure the insurance company will pay I have seen them refuse claims for flood damage where they consider the driver to have been negligent or at least a contributing factor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

R.O.R wrote: »
    That sounds pretty similar to a 5 Series we have on fleet, but the opinions are totally the other way around. We'd like to get it written off as it will never be the same again (sea water in the interior), but the garage and the insurance are happy to strip the interior to make sure there was no damage done to the wiring looms. For once, the engine escaped having to be replaced.

And an replacement car? http://www.carzone.ie/search/results?searchsource=finder&nParam=4294909578%2B200292%2B200298&channel=CARS&cacheBuster=1320053064110916#nParam=4294909578%2B200292%2B200298%2B200590%2B200254&sortby=p_VehiclePriceEUR|0&channel=CARS&currency=EUROS&searchResultsView=THUMBNAIL&maxrows=10

Worth a look. Not as rewarding to drive as a 3 Series, but it does look good.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A5/COUPE-2./201138204623381/advert?channel=CARS

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

ianofitz wrote: »
    now now children

Not if it's a VAG Multitronic it's not. I know of an 09 A6 at work, and the gearbox is toast at 44k kms. Do a search and you'll find no end of woe with that 'box.

The DSG box (called Sportronic these days ??) is fine. The older traditional Tiptronic is also ok.

But not the Multitronic - they may call it a 'chain' - but it's a belt-driven car.

AT990021.jpg

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    Not if it's a VAG Multitronic it's not. I know of an 09 A6 at work, and the gearbox is toast at 44k kms. Do a search and you'll find no end of woe with that 'box.

The DSG box (called Sportronic these days ??) is fine. The older traditional Tiptronic is also ok.

But not the Multitronic - they may call it a 'chain' - but it's a belt-driven car.

AT990021.jpg

Is it a CVT?? yuk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

Multitronic otherwise know. As multitragic. Known for premature issues and other niggles. I would really question the longevity of a vag multitronic transmission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

heate wrote: »
    Multitronic otherwise know. As multitragic. Known for premature issues and other niggles. I would really question the longevity of a vag multitronic transmission

Multitragic - class. :D
    Is it a CVT?? yuk!

It is, but to be fair to it, it doesn't drive like one - there's no 'rubber band' feeling, no mad revving and constant whine/speed of engines (á la DAF or Volvo 66).... it drives smartly, changes smoothly, must un-auto like. It's actually lighter on juice than the manual version of the same car (by a tiny bit).

The issue is durability. I'm not sure what sort of servicing 'history' dealers have with these, and I suspect that may be an issue, as, like so much other new technology, it's above the dealer's heads and they don't sell or see enough of them to get familiar.

Then there's the Paddy factor: thrashing it on ****e roads. Bet the Germans didn't count on that......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road”