Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• 28-10-2011 10:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Da_Doc

Im a student (postgrad research) and go in religously every day, effectively i treat it as a job with pretty long hours. Had few pints last night at a charity table quiz and woke up this morn and decided to doss off today and watch tv/surf the net.

Tv license inspector just arrived and Ive a few weeks to get the license :(. Im in rented accommodation and its my tv in the sitting room, which i only bought recently because there was none in the house. Cant see any flatmates chipping in towards the 160. Got the tv in argos because it was a good deal, once you add on the 160 it doesnt seem good. Last time i skive off without a good reason

Any stories of times when karma bit you in the arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Here's one that I was reminded of recently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I once had a Carmel bite me on the arm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Doubtful skiving off had anything to do with it - TV licence inspector would have called either way. Don't think anything mystical was at play here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I once told a crowd of young kids a scary story and sh1t myself :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I think you should look up the difference between 'karma' and 'things that happen'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Da_Doc

jester77 wrote: »
    Here's one that I was reminded of recently

That is nasty. I definately got off lightly in comparison.

Dudess wrote: »
    Doubtful skiving off had anything to do with it - TV licence inspector would have called either way. Don't think anything mystical was at play here...

True but no one would have been here, the curtains would most likely have been closed etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I had a cup of coffee earlier and I drank it, now the cup is empty. FU karma. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

Da_Doc wrote: »
    True but no one would have been here, the curtains would most likely have been closed etc.

There is always that SLIM chance that they may have called back when there was someone home.....:eek:

But still, don't let it deter you from skiving off again if you've been on the lash the night before and aren't expected to come in. You're being a wee bit tough on yourself if you believe you can't do that without something bad happening as punishment just because of this incident, which was just coincidental. Karma is a notion - hasn't been proven. Bad things happen to very good people, good things happen to very bad people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I remember been angry at my friend for c0ck-blocking me one night. He brought the girl involved home that night and she ended up sh1tting in his bed. Karma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Well this was like the time last week when a beggar asked me for some change and I said I didnt have any (even though i did) - well that day in work I won an IPOD.

Karma - I didnt add to the homeless guy drug/alcohol addiction and Jesus sent me an Ipod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They've heard all the excuses and none of them work.

Just pay the licence

Well, it was karma. The action was staying at home, the consequence was being there when the inspector called.
    nothing mystical about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Nice with a bit of Pilau rice and Naan bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

A good example of instant karma at Burger King:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

Cant see any flatmates chipping in towards the 160. Got the tv in argos because it was a good deal, once you add on the 160 it doesnt seem good.

You're a mug if you pay the TV licence so others can watch your new TV. How many of ya's live in the flat? if there's 3or 4 of ya's that 40-55 euro each. Not a lot really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Joshua Jones

I remember been angry at my friend for c0ck-blocking me one night. He brought the girl involved home that night and she ended up sh1tting in his bed. Karma

Thats not cck-blocking bro, that's getting your eye wiped.

Well OP unless you got rat arsed last night, bottled a lad for no reason, felt up a young one and stole someones car then I dont tghink its Karma because it would be kinda harsh. Maybe the Inspector did something really nice and is deserving of a nice commission bonus.

Ha ha ha ha brilliant :)

Dudess, im not generally a superstitous person at all. I just like the idea of karma. I know logically its a load of bollocks but when I see a prick acting as a prick does its nice to imagine karma will give them an ass kicking (figuratively of course). It keeps me calm.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Well a possible good thread ruined by pedantics - Take it as a lesson op, dont start threads unless you've got over 1000 posts :rolleyes:

Agreeing with the OP that it was karma is ruining it all right. Good one.
    Why are you whingeing about post counts?

bluewolf wrote: »
    Agreeing with the OP that it was karma is ruining it all right. Good one.
    Why are you whingeing about post counts?

I read your post wrong - I made a mistake, I apologize

If you wish I can remove your name from my post?

Well a possible good thread ruined by pedantics - Take it as a lesson op, dont start threads unless you've got over 1000 posts :rolleyes:

Im actually quite surprised, I was half expecting a loada people to start giving out to me for not contributing to society during the recession........"no wonder the country is ****ed" and the likes. So good result :)

I read your post wrong - I made a mistake, I apologize

If you wish I can remove your name from my post?

You can stick my name in, if you like, I think I was ruining it. I was certainly trying to. Now I'm overcome with guilt.

bloody karma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Karma is for people who are paranoid, psychotic or who have a persecution complex.

And hindus, sikhs and buddhists.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Snakeblood wrote: »
    And hindus, sikhs and buddhists.
    Don't forget Earl and Carson Daly.

Hey I may be paranoid and psychothic but I dont have a persecution complex.

Im a student (postgrad research) and go in religously every day, effectively i treat it as a job with pretty long hours. Had few pints last night at a charity table quiz and woke up this morn and decided to doss off today and watch tv/surf the net.

Tv license inspector just arrived and Ive a few weeks to get the license :(. Im in rented accommodation and its my tv in the sitting room, which i only bought recently because there was none in the house. Cant see any flatmates chipping in towards the 160. Got the tv in argos because it was a good deal, once you add on the 160 it doesnt seem good. Last time i skive off without a good reason

Any stories of times when karma bit you in the arse?
    I think you should look up the difference between 'karma' and 'things that happen'...
    But still, don't let it deter you from skiving off again if you've been on the lash the night before and aren't expected to come in. You're being a wee bit tough on yourself if you believe you can't do that without something bad happening as punishment just because of this incident, which was just coincidental. Karma is a notion - hasn't been proven. Bad things happen to very good people, good things happen to very bad people.
    Well, it was karma. The action was staying at home, the consequence was being there when the inspector called.
    nothing mystical about it.

You're just assuming it's an attack on the OP - it's not from me anyway. I just really dislike the whole karma concept when reality is not everyone is rewarded for good and vice-versa.

And I don't look at a person's post count and decide to reply based on it. Silly paranoid notion up there with "thanks-whoring".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

If you haven't given the inspector your real name or the real names of anyone else living there then you will get away without paying the licence. He cant prosecute anyone if he doesn't know who lives there. I'm assuming that you have given him your real name tho.

Is it just you using the TV OP? If not, get the others to stump up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Hey I may be paranoid and psychothic but I dont have a persecution complex.

We're all out to get you...:D

Is it just you using the TV OP? If not, get the others to stump up.

The lad who does watch it came home there and he said he would be happy enough to pay towards it. The 2 girls dont really watch it so not sure if I could or should ask them.

You're just assuming it's an attack on the OP - it's not from me anyway. I just really dislike the whole karma concept when reality is not everyone is rewarded for good and vice-versa.

And I don't look at a person's post count and decide to reply based on it. Silly paranoid notion up there with "thanks-whoring".

Your right dudess - my comment was very rash and I sucked the fun out of this thread - I apologize -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

The lad who does watch it came home there and he said he would be happy enough to pay towards it. The 2 girls dont really watch it so not sure if I could or should ask them.

Did you give the inspector your real name?

If the other people wont pay then take your telly into your room and feck them.

tanko wrote: »
    Did you give the inspector your real name?

Yup, it not that big a deal and I will pay it regardless cos im not that badly off and Im all for contributing towards the economy etc.

I just found it quite coincidental that the one day i skip college is the day the tv license inspector arrived, but now that I type this Im thinking he could have called every day for the last three weeks for all I know.

So anyway not many believers in karma so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Never liked Boy George or Culture Club. I think singing about any reptillian like creature is nonsensical at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111111111111111oneoneoneoneoneone

Karma sounds like Korma!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111111111111111oneoneoneone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Fact: there is no such thing as karma. There are infinite coincidences mind.