Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parents lose custody of children because of their names

• 27-10-2011 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.digitalspy.ie/odd/news/a347873/baby-adolf-hitlers-parents-lose-custody-of-all-three-children.html
    Parents Heath and Deborah Campbell have lost all three of their children after naming one Adolf Hitler and another Aryan Nation.

Speaking to NBC, they revealed that their offspring have been taken away despite winning a New Jersey appeals court battle.

Father Heath Campbell said: "Actually, the judge and DYFS told us that there was no evidence of abuse and that it was the names. They were taken over the children's names.

"This is America, they say it's free, you have the right to name your child whatever you want to name your child, no matter what."

The case began in 2009 when a store refused to decorate a birthday cake with the words 'Adolf Hitler Campbell'.

A judge will decide if the children can return home in early December.

Mother Deborah added: "It's not like he's growing up to be a killer or nothing like that. I went just to get a cake... it was a circus of racism."

Now besides the fact these parents seem extremely odd, there doesn't seem to be any other evidence that they were abusing their children in any way.

Was this the right decision, or has the judge made a mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Yes, naming your children like that is a clear indication that they are lunatics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Their might be no history of abuse, but I still wouldn't trust someone who willingly names their kids after Nazis to raise children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Naming your child "Aryan Nation" is not something that happens by accident.

Mother Deborah added: "It's not like he's growing up to be a killer or nothing like that. I went just to get a cake... it was a circus of racism."
    I have an image of her ironing whilst saying this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Cambell! Their name was the same as the soup! Ewwwwwwww!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Why???

Why in the name of baby jebus would you put subject your kids to a life of absolute hell! Children will make fun of them! They can be so mean sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Yes, naming your children like that is a clear indication that they are lunatics.

Yes, but perhaps a psychological evaluation of the parents should have been undertaken before the children were just taken away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

...........a circus of racism

That quote from the mother is priceless. Nazis giving out about a little bit of persecution. you couldn't make it up!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I could imagine the abuse little Hitler would get! Kids are probably better off with a name change. But those parents sound retarded tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Bit of a tricky one. There is no abuse now but the kids (especially young Adolf) will get dogs abuse until they reach an age to legaly change their names by which time a lot of damage will be done. So indirectly the parents are abusive.
    Fuucking cuunts!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

Pack of attention seeking coonts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Now besides the fact these parents seem extremely odd, there doesn't seem to be any other evidence that they were abusing their children in any way.

Surely giving their children these names is in itself a form of child abuse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

It would be cruel to call a little boy Aryan Nation, that's clearly a girl's name.

Yes, but perhaps a psychological evaluation of the parents should have been undertaken before the children were just taken away.

"Ok so...... evaluation time. What have you got?"

-"They called their children Adolf Hitler and Aryon Nation"

"They sound sane to me. Let's take some babies from the hospital and hand them to these find people"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

kids are stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

there doesn't seem to be any other evidence that they were abusing their children in any way.

But you are basing that on the father's comment to a news station. He's hardly going to admit to any neglect etc. Is that the actual reality of the thing? I'd be pretty surprised if the names where the only grounds the children were removed under.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭mrbango

i kid in my brothers class was give an obscure name. when he was in sixth class his mother stood up in front of the school and said her son was changing his name to a common name. Obviously the kid wanted it changed as he felt odd because of it. his old name stook anyhow. This is a bit off the trail from the OP but i was reminded of this story. think parents have a duty to give there kids a reasonably normal name. or on the other hand just remebered 'Boy named sue'. so i havn't a clue where i stand on this issue. rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

But nobody bats an eyelid at little Duquane and Princess Shinequa...it's PC gone mad Joe. :pac:

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Surely giving their children these names is in itself a form of child abuse?

I can see your point (trust me, I'm not defending the names!), but is it any different than Frank Zappa naming his kid Moon Unit?

If the inference of this decision is that the kids might be brainwashed into a fascist view of life, then why haven't the kids of those Westboro Baptist Church loons been taken into care also?

Where do you draw the line?

I can see your point (trust me, I'm not defending the names!), but is it any different than Frank Zappa naming his kid Moon Unit?

Yes, it's much different. "Moon" is a pretty common name all around the world. I have a really good friend whose name is Luna, she's from Spain. So her name is Moon. The case of "Moon Unit" is that it just sounds unique, that's all!

The case of calling your child Adolf Hitler is a pretty spacific message. Aryon nation even more so!

I'm pretty surprised I have to point this out to you.
    If the inference of this decision is that the kids might be brainwashed into a fascist view of life, then why haven't the kids of those Westboro Baptist Church loons been taken into care also?

It's child abuse, not that they will be brainwashed that is the problem.

Calling your child Adolf Hitler is a nice place to draw it

I think it's very, very likely that the kids' names are not the only consideration, contrary to what the dad says.

Yes and no. On a scale of 1 to 10, naming your kid Moon Unit merits about a 1, in my opinion, while Adolf Hitler scores a zero or lower.

It's just my opinion, but any parent who gives their offspring a really bizarre (or offensive) given name has a diminished sense of responsibility, and perhaps they should at least be supervised rearing their kids.

I'm glad I'm not a judge.

Yes, it's much different. "Moon" is a pretty common name all around the world. I have a really good friend whose name is Luna, she's from Spain. So her name is Moon. The case of "Moon Unit" is that it just sounds unique, that's all!

The case of calling your child Adolf Hitler is a pretty spacific message. Aryon nation even more so!

I'm pretty surprised I have to point this out to you.

You don't have to point anything out to me. I was responding to the point that the names would instigate derision amongst their peers.

I would expect kids with names such as Moon Unit, Fifi Trixibelle and the likes would also be subjected to such behaviour (though for different reasons, granted)

I also get the message the names would send out and that's why I raised the question of whether other children being brought up to view the world in a certain way should also be taken into care (i.e, the Westboro children)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

am i the only one who thinks 'Aryan' is a kinda cool name?

Nope. I'm guessing a lot of Neo Nazis would love it, too.

Aryan on its own isn't too bad. However, Aryan Nation has much more specific connotations.

You don't have to point anything out to me. I was responding to the point that the names would instigate derision amongst their peers.

Any name can do this. There's giving your children a unique name and there's taking the piss.
    I would expect kids with names such as Moon Unit, Fifi Trixibelle and the likes would also be subjected to such behaviour (though for different reasons, granted)

Only because that's your opinion. Again, Moon is a common name. Fifi and Trixibele are both perfectly adiquate names too. But just because one person is allowed call their child Moon Unit, does not make it right for me to call my child C*ntface
    I also get the message the names would send out and that's why I raised the question of whether other children being brought up to view the world in a certain way should also be taken into care (i.e, the Westboro children)

America is a country where people have freedom of religion. This is a seperate issue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Arya N. Stark.

Winter is Coming.

America is a country where people have freedom of religion. This is a seperate issue!

America has many freedoms, including being able to name your child whatever you like.

Well thank God for common sense and Child Protective Services eh?

Well I'd agree with you there, if both were as effective where it came to the Westboro children, as well as the three unfortunately named kids.

The Westboro children are no more influenced in their parents' religious beliefs than any other believer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

It is abuse plain and simple, putting the lives of your children under threat for having confrontational names assoicated with genocide, brutality and hatred.

The Westboro children are no more influenced in their parents' religious beliefs than any other believer.

If that religious belief is all about preaching hatred for others, then I don't see why it should be classed any differently, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Children will make fun of them!

Why?

If I was a 4 year old starting school and I actually knew about Adolph Hitler and
    I sat next to this lovely boy and asked him his name, I'd probably wet my pants and run home screaming

If that religious belief is all about preaching hatred for others, then I don't see why it should be classed any differently, tbh.

One is a parent encouraging their child to hold up a sign saying that a mythical man in the sky hates homosexuals and they will pay for their sins in a hypothetical dimension after they have died.

The other is a parent naming their child after a very real person and situation in which 21 million people were slaughtered based on their race.

They're very different situations.

One is a parent encouraging their child to hold up a sign saying that a mythical man in the sky hates homosexuals and they will pay for their sins in a hypothetical dimension after they have died.

The other is a parent naming their child after a very real person and situation in which 21 million people were slaughtered based on their race.

They're very different situations.

They're not very different situations at all.

Both sets of parents are indoctrinating an ideology of hatred for others into their kids. The fact that God is a mythical figure is not important to the Westboro children- to them he exists without question.

At least little Hitler and Aryan Race weren't holding up placards at the funerals of dead jews, chanting how they'll all burn in hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

It's cruel of the parents to name their children those names. The previous posters who said the Hitler kid will be teased by kids are completely right. Poor Adolf Hitler had to suffer children making fun of his name all his life, it's sad to think another child going through the same thing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭MsQuinn

Ask Sting what he thinks - he knows about things like that and I'm sure he on boards.

something about Russians (or a nazi eejit) loving their children too.

MsQuinn wrote: »
    Ask Sting what he thinks - he knows about things like that and I'm sure he on boards.

something about Russians (or a nazi eejit) loving their children too.

He can relate. His parents named him Sting :(

Doesn't seem to have done him any harm, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

The may have been using politically incorrect Hikubes to name them.

I can only concede that point, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭MsQuinn

I'd debate that - he's nothing more than a bollix.

(obvioulsy he is godly being that should only be adored, but not looked at directly unless permission is granted - his wife should be granted the same privileges also as she is a lovely woman)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Sting had to be better than Gordon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I wonder what the third child was called?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Kid called Aryan Nation, with the initials A.N.C.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Airy N. Aishun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

I was going to call my twins, Zeus and Apollo, that's 24 years ago. I was serious.

Was talked out of it by my older brother, but on their 21st they though it was really cool and disappointed that I had not in fact called them that, one was considering a deed pool, but he liked his given name, but said "that would have been mad"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well European History classes are going to be no fun for these kids.

And if the parents support Nazi ideals, then the kids should be removed so that they are not poisoned with hate, and the parents should be sterilised (just like the Nazi's wanted to do with Jews).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Red Hand wrote: »
    Arya N. Stark.

Winter is Coming.

Hoping for a White christmas, I'm guessing.

Its really prevalent in New Zealand where parents of a Polynesian background tend to call their kids unusual names.

This is a great article about it

http://globalpublicsquare.blogs.cnn.com/2011/07/20/new-zealand-bans-weird-baby-names/