Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Once more unto the breach, dear friends. (LOI week 36)

• 27-10-2011 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭

7:45 p.m. Bray Wanderers v Dundalk
    7:45 p.m. Derry City v Bohemians
    7:45 p.m. Drogheda United v St. Patrick's Athletic
    7:45 p.m. Shamrock Rovers v Galway United
    7:45 p.m. Sligo Rovers v U.C.D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Everybody knows Shels V City is the game of the weekend - C'mon City!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,953 ✭✭✭✭CSF

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Everybody knows Shels V City is the game of the weekend - C'mon City!!
    Probably but only with the Premier Division being completely sorted. Game has lost its edge a little for me after taking the promotion on Tuesday (after 5 years in this dump you'll understand why that game was even bigger than the FAI Cup Final) so sandwiched in between promotion on Tuesday and an FAI Cup Final in the Aviva next Sunday, this game has lost the massive event status for us that it otherwise would have had.

Having said that, once the game starts I'll be dying for not only a draw but a win to send your lot crashing into the playoffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Think we will beat Shels myself. Just biased opinion ;).

Hopefully more then couple hundred Shels fans will turn up this time:p

Should be cracker on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Hopefully Shels will get too comfy knowing they've been promoted and we'll put them to the sword. Beating Shels at Tolka and claiming the First Division title would be a pleasure overload.:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Hopefully Shels will get too comfy knowing they've been promoted and we'll put them to the sword. Beating Shels at Tolka and claiming the First Division title would be a pleasure overload.:D

I'm not too sure if I could take it..... but..... I'll gladly give it a go:D

Jesus Christ, I forgot, yous have never won in Tolka before. Well having won in both Turners Cross and Tolka Park on many on occasion I could probably detail what it is like to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

The fact that Shels have already been promoted is the one thing that Cork can take confidence from.
    Shels are really in top form at the minute and if they had to get a result Cork would get trashed.
    They don't have to get a result so I'd say either 1-1 or possibly (I hate to say it) 1-2 Cork.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Safe to say I don't think there'll be a big early rush to go over and pay the Square car-park this week:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Read Casso's interview on Extratime, listen to Alan Mathews on the ShelsTV and TV3 interviews, Deano in the ShelsTV interview along with a few others, they have no intention of holding back on Saturday.

Casso on Extratime (the main parts):
    For now though, the focus is far more immediate for Shels. “But at the end of the day we still want to win the league” Cassidy said. “We've got our promotion, that's what we wanted but we have a great chance to win the league now and give the club a trophy before we go to the Aviva and win the other trophy.”

With promotion sealed and a cup final in the very near future, it might be tempting to think that the First Division title isn't as meaningful for Shels. But Cassidy disagrees, saying that the FAI Cup final against Sligo Rovers is only “on the horizon after Saturday.”

“We're not going to go thinking about the cup final at all, we want to win the league” he said. “We had three games before tonight- three cup finals. We've won one, we want to go and beat Cork to win the league and then on Sunday morning we'll have a look at Sligo.”

dfx- wrote: »
    Safe to say I don't think there'll be a big early rush to go over and pay the Square car-park this week:pac:

Unless it goes on fire again, like tonight! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

There is no way Shels will take it easy tmr. Nor should they. If roles were reversed I would love to send them packing. Okay, they will have an eye on the cup final and may not go in for that 50/50 for fear of injury/suspension, but meh.

I think our form says we will win. We have been on fiore for the last 2 months. If Davin is injured its a major setback, but with the form of Cummins up top and Morrisey in the middle I think we will have too much for Shels.

Shels 1-2 City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Must-win game tonight.

stock-photo-11851954-decorated-cake-with-number-17-candles-red-background.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Ah, the ruralfolk getting all giddy about their trip up to the Big Shmoke. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

There is some saddo fan of ours travelling home from Thailand for the game. They are being hailed as legends for doing so, but honestly I have not heard something so pathetic in a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

gimmick wrote: »
    There is some saddo fan of ours travelling home from Thailand for the game. They are being hailed as legends for doing so, but honestly I have not heard something so pathetic in a long time.

Pathetic is a bit harsh no? Be sad for them when we beat you though :(

but honestly I have not heard something so pathetic in a long time.

Charming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

God you're some miserable man.

I don't think that's sad.

I think your post is though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I see Derry are offering a buy one get one free on tickets tonight to pack the Brandywell.

Good idea.

That_Guy wrote: »
    I see Derry are offering a buy one get one free on tickets tonight to pack the Brandywell.

Good idea.

Probably thought of the idea when dual contracting.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Confident we can get the win tomorrow in Tolka.

Hopefully not the last time we see Daryl Horgan in the City colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

If Cork City draw and Monaghan beat Athlone, thus leaving Cork and Monaghan on the same points, do Cork go up on goal difference ?

eigrod wrote: »
    If Cork City draw and Monaghan beat Athlone, thus leaving Cork and Monaghan on the same points, do Cork go up on goal difference ?
    Yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Bohs shall stamp on the heads of our foreign neighbours, ending the season on a high!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

If Galway could just come away with a win tonight, or even a draw, it would be great!

Hopefully the Korean signings can bag a goal or two! :D

Fair dues for the minute applause. RIP.

If Bobby Ryan stopped trying to do everything himself, Galway wouldn't be giving the ball away so much.

That's just not fair.

Twitter reporting that
    ‎an 8-year-old is headed to hospital after being burned by a firework/flare at Tallaght.. sad way for his evening to end
    Despite PA saying an 8yr old kid taken to hospital with burns, some #gob****e(s) still setting off crackers @ShamrockRovers #bigfineontheway

Hopefully she's ok and hopefully people cope on.

Twitter reporting that

That's horrible. I was wondering why the game had been stopped for a minute. How did they get them in there in the first place?!

Twitter reporting that

It's a sad situation, but in someway not surprising.

See the way the wind held that! :eek:

Commentator should be informed it's now Mountbell-you, it's Mountbel-yha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    It's a sad situation, but in someway not surprising.

It's not surprising given that it is Halloween weekend and a cause for celebration retaining the league; fireworks are associated with both. It would have been better (possibly) if Rovers had arranged for their own fireworks display for tonight so at least then it is under the control of professionals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Or if there was a basic search going into the game. You know, arms, legs, pockets and hoods. Just a few seconds. Just around Halloween time, no need for it every match. This is not the first incident of fireworks at a LOI game. This time a few years ago a few pats fans threw a firework at Brian Murphy and Owen Heary. This is so easily eradicated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

A search won't stop it though.

Most Dublin fans were searched going into Hill 16 throughout the summer but there were still blue flares there on All Ireland day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Bohs shall stamp on the heads of our foreign neighbours, ending the season on a high!
    You meant it literally, it seems.
    I hope that wasn't the last game played by Bohs as an LoI club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭colly_06

Went to the Rovers match, it was class. Of course some muppets had to go and nearly ruin it. When it was announced the young lad was after been taken to hospital everyone in the stand started booing and chanting for the offenders to be taken out of the stand, yet the guards just stood at the line doing nothing. Even after that they let off more bangers onto the pitch and nothing was done except stopping the match for a few minutes. I hope the club do get fined heavily so in future they'll throw them out. Hope that child recovers fully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Great game between Drogheda and Pats tonight. I'm biased though because we got the win!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

It was the fireworks rather than flares or bangers that were causing the problem I think. They were being misfired everywhere, several of them hit the roof of the east stand and came down. Another in the first half went along the East Stand instead out onto the pitch which I'd say was the injury causing one.

I wouldn't want to be standing beside them in the toilets with aim that bad. It's easy enough to smuggle small fireworks in unless it's an intensive and comprehensive search. The annoying thing was they were told to stop and why they had to stop. Hancock seemed desperate to take the players off.

Turner's goal was a great goal, hanging in the air for an age..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Happy enough with this season, we back where we belong, We try to win simple as.

We play 7 a side for the next 16 weeks on fridays, other that that we clueless about what the fcuk do you do on a friday night?

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Happy enough with this season, we back where we belong, We try to win simple as.

Buckley to Richmond? Mahon to Dundalk?

colly_06 wrote: »
    When it was announced the young lad was after been taken to hospital everyone in the stand started booing and chanting for the offenders to be taken out of the stand,

A lot of people were trying to figure out who was throwing them but the crowd was too big. Wouldn't have liked to be them if most of the people had got their hands on them, put it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Confident we can get the win tomorrow in Tolka.

Hopefully not the last time we see Daryl Horgan in the City colours.
    It will be.

Hopefully the Extratime preview is right

Injured: Gavin Kavanagh, Davin O’Neill.
    Doubtful: Stephen Mulcahy, Greg O’Halloran, Neal Horgan.

Absolutely living for tonight, did anyone see Gregs interview in the Cork Echo? I think he's lost it and/or misread the table.:D

If you can't make it to Tolka Park tomorrow night, tune to 90.3 Nearfm for Live coverage of the game v Cork City.
    Coverage starts at 7.30pm on 90.3fm or www.near.ie

That was posted on the Shels facebook.

.Absolutely living for tonight, did anyone see Gregs interview in the Cork Echo? I think he's lost it and/or misread the table.:D

He seems to have totally lost the plot. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭DaveH

Folks if you cant make it to Tolka Park tonight tune to 90.3 NearFM if your in North Dublin or available via www.near.ie

Live coverage from Sports Local Live team starting at 7.30pm

Sports Local Live home of Shelbourne FC on their local Radio Station Near FM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Buckley to Richmond? Mahon to Dundalk?

Fenlon out of Bohs, Roddy in. Are we still playingmake-believe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Great night in Tallaght. Got home at 10am. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

6291291697_cefb291986_b.jpg