Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supermacs!

• 25-10-2011 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭

The East vs. West, Dublin vs. the Rest has been done to death here on Boards. So I really dont want to get into one of those debates. What I want to discuss is Supermacs popularity (or apparent lack of) outside of the West.

In Galway a night out wouldnt be complete without a trip to Supermacs at the end of it. But in Dublin people seem to go for McDonalds. In fact generally people in Dublin (drunk or sober!) seem to choose McDonalds, Burger King over Supermacs. Madness I think but maybe thats just because I come from the Whest!!
    Tagged:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

supermacs are scabby on portions and generally look dirty,us Dublin people aren't used to eating in dirty conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

It's all processed crap when you think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

chin_grin wrote: »
    It's all processed crap when you think about it.

Hmmmm, never thought of that before.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

because supermacs is muck :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

They have tiny portions and there burgers are nothing compared to burger King or McDonalds. How anyone could choose to go to supermacs is beyond me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Supermacs chips for the win:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

JohnP199 wrote: »
    The East vs. West, Dublin vs. the Rest has been done to death here on Boards. So I really dont want to get into one of those debates. What I want to discuss is Supermacs popularity (or apparent lack of) outside of the West.

In Galway a night out wouldnt be complete without a trip to Supermacs at the end of it. But in Dublin people seem to go for McDonalds. In fact generally people in Dublin (drunk or sober!) seem to choose McDonalds, Burger King over Supermacs. Madness I think but maybe thats just because I come from the Whest!!

No love for Abrakabra :eek: ... best most disgusting food on the planet after a night out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Tasty and tempting food at...............

i also don't like how when you order supermacs for delivery the drink comes with a straw already in the cup as opposed to sealed straw seperate.I'd rather not have my delivery driver drink my drink on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Problem with Supermacs is the quality varies alot between different outlets. It's a franchised business so depends how a particular branch is being run. The one in Eyre Square is decent and the one in O'Connell St isn't bad either. But eating in Supermacs in Tuam is only to be done when so drunk that you don't care what you're eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Supermac's chips are way nicer than those rank, measly Burger King chips.

but none are as good as mcdonalds chips dunked into curry sauce with loads of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

Supermacs Chicken Breast Sandwich is quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The one on O'Connell St seems to have some kind of beacon which attracts all the cities crazy people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

How the fcuk do people eat any of that shi.te McD, BK or SM?

If you are gonna clog your arteries with grease at least go for something somewhat free of shi.te and go to an Italian chipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Supermacs is just farm food!

If I wanted to eat farm food I'd go to a f*cking farmers market!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

Research has shown that Supermacs is the healthiest fast food chain in operation in Ireland. As for some people suggesting their outlets are a bit dirty, I wonder who dirtied them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

headmaster wrote: »
    Research has shown that Supermacs is the healthiest fast food chain in operation in Ireland. As for some people suggesting their outlets are a bit dirty, I wonder who dirtied them?

Culchies. Also, link some evidence to that claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

ebixa82 wrote: »
    How the fcuk do people eat any of that shi.te McD, BK or SM?

If you are gonna clog your arteries with grease at least go for something somewhat free of shi.te and go to an Italian chipper.

LOL! Was going so well till you said "italian chipper"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

tbh they have some yummy food, and some stuff you wouldnt usually get in a fast food restaurant like curry chees chips :D, but theyre quiet expensive in comparison too. id usually pick mcds or bk over supermacs if i was out in town etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

pmcmahon wrote: »
    but none are as good as mcdonalds chips dunked into curry sauce with loads of salt.

Curry sauce isn't available in McDonalds

This begs the question, do you go to another chipper after a night out to get the curry sauce for your Maccy Ds fries?

i meant by the general hygiene including the kitchens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

Supermac's snackbox meal are savage, fecking love them. I'm a Dub and the one in town seems to do very good business so don't get this 'it's a culchie place'. Is it hell, I'm a Dub and know loads of Dubs who love a supermacs. Their craps are grand, the chips you get in Mc'Ds aren't even potatoes ffs:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

Am I the only one who hates McDonalds chips? They're disgusting, they have some nice food, but the chips are horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Fishooks12 wrote: »

This begs the question, do you go to another chipper after a night out to get the curry sauce for your Maccy Ds fries?

It is - it comes in those little square containers. I prefer the sweet and sour sauce, though.

Wrong.And i don't drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Supermac's snackbox meal are savage, fecking love them. I'm a Dub and the one in town seems to do very good business so don't get this 'it's a culchie place'. Is it hell, I'm a Dub and know loads of Dubs who love a supermacs. Their craps are grand, the chips you get in Mc'Ds aren't even potatoes ffs:eek:

Not potatoes? What are they? Rat tumors?

I love supermacs, as for the size of the portions I think you get a lot more bang for your buck than you do in MDs or BK

You can get a meal for under a 5er

a sausage meal with medium chips and drink is €2.95 FFS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

JohnP199 wrote: »
    Supermacs Chicken Breast Sandwich is quality

Absolutely. And don't forget the Garlic fries, too.

Wrong.And i don't drink.

To the best of my knowledge I've never seen it in MD's, proof?

I'm lovin' it

Ah I was wrong! my apologies

Must try it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

really, i dont want to know that tbh :pac: sorry i had to say it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I don't really like Supermacs.... Although have only ever been to the one on O'Connell St - Even from outside it doesn't smell nice, think it's whatever oil they use. Either way.... nahhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Oranage2 wrote: »

And where do you think food normally comes from, outer space??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

No supermacs in donegal despite what the ad says about them being everywhere.

We have the 4 lights though mmmmmmmmmm chicken fillets the size of your hand (if you have big hands) and lovely big greasy snack boxes too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

Oranage2 wrote: »

If I wanted to eat farm food I'd go to a f*cking farmers market!

I suppose you do not eat any thing that comes from a farm then , go away u dirty skank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

supermacs is grand, you can a really nice quarter pounder with bacon. having said that at mc d's their chips, burgers are really tasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I don't like the burger meat they use or the dusty bap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

The only reason you would go to Supermacs after a night out in Galway is if you want to get the head thumped off you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Paparazzo wrote: »

They're made from flour

Smokey bacon burger in supermacs is the nicest burger of all the fast food chains imo. Its especially good when hungover!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

retalivity wrote: »
    They're made from flour

It's a fairly common urban legend that they are made from flower, it's complete nonsense though.

Ask yourselves, why would they not use real potatoes? why?
    McDonald's world famous French Fries and our new potato Wedges are produced only from the best quality potatoes. These potatoes are cut, blanched and processed on state of the art processing lines to ensure maximum retention of nutrients. These french fries and Potato wedges are cooked at plant and our restaurants in 100 % vegetable cooking oil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

They're made from flour

They are made from spuds by McCain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

They're made from flour

Really? So if I put them under a microscope they'll show up as being flour and not potato? Sure you want to stand by that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Live4Ever

The only two reasons one would go to Supermacs:

1. Chicken Fillet Burger
    2. Muffin & Ice Cream Dessert

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

McDs for burgers
    S'macs for chicken and chips and curry

I don't like the S'macs in O'Connell Street. Our local one in culchieville is quite nice though. And now they do yummy pizza :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

supermacs are scabby on portions and generally look dirty,us Dublin people aren't used to eating in dirty conditions.

Ye shared the scraps in the bins with the rats for the best part of 100 years!!

And when the scraps ran out you ate the rats. Would you go away out of that and read a history book in the name of jaysus. Dublin was the poorest, filthiest, most slummed city in the western world from the 1850's to the 1950's.

Eating well is a novel concept for Dubs, let me tell you.

Ye shared the scraps in the bins with the rats for the best part of 100 years!!

And when the scraps ran out you ate the rats. Would you go away out of that and read a history book in the name of jaysus. Dublin was the poorest, filthiest, most slummed city in the western world from the 1850's to the 1950's.

Eating well is a novel concept for Dubs, let me tell you.

i wasn't born prior 1950,your point is invalid,and my family are Anglican,we ate the finest pork.