Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards rugby beers/meetup after Leinster vs Munster?

• 24-10-2011 10:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

What about it, a boards beers in a pub after the match? This was bandied about a bit on the Leinster TT thread. I don't think its been done on the rugby forum before. Seems like there will be a lot of boardsies coming up from Munster.

Now I have no idea about good pubs near the stadium, maybe ye could suggest somewhere?

Vote on the poll so I can get an idea of numbers interested!

Boards beers after the game, interested? 28 votes

Yeah I'd go.
    0% 0 votes
    Not going to the game/not interested.
    64% 18 votes
    Jonny Sexton
    35% 10 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I'd go. There's a chance I might have a spare ticket for it too...

You really have to visit kielys thomond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Would Kielys be a good place so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Really depends on the result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

No can do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Realistically, it'd be a nightmare to do. Assuming I'll be at the match I'll probably be heading off straight afterwards to get destroyed, but the places near Lansdowne will get rammed after a match. You'd be better served going somewhere in the Baggot Street direction, if only for proximity to town afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Would this not turn into a youth disco type situation of Leinster fans on one side of the hall and Munster fans on the other?

I hope not, otherwise people'd get trashed and start scoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

I wouldn't say it would. The people that will turn up will be the genuine types who are well able for the friendly banter. The forum loud mouths/internet hero types, who've regularly graced the ignore lists will have pressing engagement with their mummies laps and will be nowhere to be seen.

I'll be at the match and will try a drop in if people can agree on a definite time and place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

I'd love to but unfortunately I'm a no mate! I can skype in;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Snap, it's a good idea though, hope it works out and perhaps becomes a bi (more often than not tri)-annual thing.

arriving into Dublin at 22:30, bit of a disaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I think I have plans after, but if not would be interested!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

I hope not, otherwise people'd get trashed and start scoring.

You can already cut the sexual tension between Thomond and Jackass with a knife. It's like the modern West Side Story.

Wouldn't mind popping along but it seems I'll be working late on the evening and if I'm not going to see the match I'll be heading straight home when I finish work to watch the recording.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

If there's going to be a gang going along Kielys wouldn't be a great idea cos it'll be wedged. Really anywhere near the stadium will be packed. The one place I've found that's in walking distance and you'd be able to get a spot in on days like that is the Baggot Inn of all places. Ended up there after the Toulouse game and got seats and was there for the night in the end. The only problem with that is the later kick-off might mean it'll be busy??? Either way you'd need to be venturing in that far to get space.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

If there was a time and place decided I'd try to pop by for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I had thought about suggesting this but truthfully I don't think it would be that easy to pull off without it going disastrously wrong for a good few people.

Boards beers generally work the best at locations that aren't that busy, especially a first one, as it means it's easy to spot people, the problem with trying to organise one after a Rugby match is that all the pubs around the are going to be jam packed and it would be hard enough to find people, so you can image how hard it would be trying to locate someone when you don't even know what they look like.

That all said I'll suggest upstairs in Bellamy's by the RDS as that is going to be where I end up as per usual

Well we have plenty of time to plan a time/place anyway.

You can already cut the sexual tension between Thomond and Jackass with a knife. It's like the modern West Side Story.

ah here....

GerM wrote: »

Wouldn't mind popping along but it seems I'll be working late on the evening and if I'm not going to see the match I'll be heading straight home when I finish work to watch the recording.

I'm just picturing them seeing each other across a crowded room, eyes meeting, their own Romeo and Juliet, two young lovers from warring clans that can never be together. :pac:

fuuuuu.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

won't have time to travel down from the north after work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

I would say head up to Baggot St, Kielys will be nuts!!! I would be on for it, will be half cut at that stage nayway!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

I'd be up for a meet and a few pints. Chances on a Friday night in Dublin after this match of finding somewhere that ain't jammed is next to zip though!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

There is a Tweet up in the Sandymount Hotel afterwards, run by Harpin on Rugby.
    Perhaps we could piggyback on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I shall be there! Pub suggestion Slatterys, 2 minute walk from lansdowne, on route to town.

Slattery's / Kiely's / Baggot St. / Sandymount Hotel

Thoughts then? As I said, I have no iota.

wixfjord wrote: »
    There is a Tweet up in the Sandymount Hotel afterwards, run by Harpin on Rugby.
    Perhaps we could piggyback on that?

Where the fcuk is the Sandymount Hotel? I live in Sandymount. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

It used to be called Herbert Park hotel I think? It's right beside the stadium, just by the entrance to Marrion College. They have a statue of a lineout jumper and lifters outside it now. I live in Sandymount too and hadn't heard of it until my girlfriend starting working some shifts there!

They changed the name. The fcukers. That's round the corner from my old gaff.

Jackass being very subtle about dropping in the girlfriend thing there.

I think thomond got the message

What about Donohoes on Baggot Street? They've got that sort of laneway thing between the two sections of the pub that could handle an overflow of boards drunks. rugby fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

durkadurka wrote: »
    Jackass being very subtle about dropping in the girlfriend thing there.

I think thomond got the message

But there was also talk of shifts.....

The one thing to note is that it is an 8pm kick off and given that it is in the Aviva the venue should preferably to a late opening one

So what are we saying, quiet(ish) bar at 11 or so?

In Dublin on a Friday night??:eek:

jesus never thought of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I'm just posting to get notifications. I'm well up for it. Will the Mods be there in official capacity?:D

jesus never thought of that!

After Leinster Munster. Every decent pub between Lansdowne and town will be rammed. Expect it messy.

What would ye think of going to Sandymount Hotel?

Count me out, I'm bringing my munster supporting dad to the match and he has no interest in meeting a bunch of rugby nerds with silly names!

Tell him we don't want to meet him either. ;):pac:

He's still insulted over some insult to ginger mcloughlin by the irfu thirty years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

You should all check this out.

http://www.boards.ie/love.php

Might make things nice and awkward when ya meet up :D

Screenshot.png

Sorry thomond I cant make the match but maybe next time yeah :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I got Emmet!

179841.JPG

I guess it wasn't meant to be Jackass.

Can the people who want to go post where they think is the best place? Then we'll just go with the consensus tbh and stick up a sticky thread on thursday/friday so everyone can see it.

From my POV, I'm staying in Sandymount that night so anywhere close to there is better for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I think the hotel with the shopping centre beside it on the Ballsbridge road coming from the Aviva would be the best bet. It's certainly big enough and the chances are most of the crowds will either be heading for town or Kielys or wherever.

Is there still interest in this lads? I won't be around the forum from about 10 tommorrow so it's probably too late to organise something at this stage...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Fraid I can't make it at this juncture. Have to head off to London in the morning. Would be well up for doing this at some point in the future - alas this game is just bad timing.

ye given the potential time that I would actually get to the pub I'm afraid I wouldn't be able to make it.