Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

He wont spit on a patrol car again!

• 24-10-2011 6:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭

A teenager who spat on a garda car after yelling abuse at a garda will now have to hand-wash the vehicle for the next six months.

A judge has told Jonathan Buckley (19), of Gallen View, Ferbane, Co Offaly, he will have to use a sponge to wash the town's squad car each week.

Athlone District Court heard that Buckley committed the offences in Gallen View after attending a house party last January.

He was heavily intoxicated in public at 2.15am on January 5 and was then ordered by a garda to leave the area.

Inspector Nicholas Farrell told the court that as Mr Buckley walked away, he called the garda a "f***ing pig" and "w*****."

He said he would "break every window in town" and then kicked and spat at the patrol car.

Buckley's solicitor, Padraig Quinn, said his client had "far too much to drink" on the night and he accepted that his behaviour was out of order.

"Is there a squad car in Ferbane?" asked Judge Seamus Hughes.

Inspector Farrell said there was, and this prompted the unusual punishment.

Spittle

Addressing Buckley, Judge Hughes said: "For the next six months I want you to wash the garda squad car once a week.

"Use a sponge, hose it down, do it nicely and have it done in about 15 minutes.

"That might eventually remove the taint of your spittle from the vehicle."

Jotting down a note of his sentence, the judge repeated that he wanted Mr Buckley "to wash and sponge the garda patrol car or cars -- in other words if there's more than one and the gardai want you to wash the other one as well you must do it" for up to a maximum of 30 minutes each time.

The case was then adjourned to Athlone District Court on November 2 for an update.

http://www.herald.ie/news/teenager-who-spat-on-garda-car-now-has-to-wash-it-for-six-months-2914876.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

1922 wrote: »

haha this should be posted on billboards as an embarrasment/deterant to him and to anyone else that abuse gardai.

This article is poetic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

Thats a judge who commands a bit of respect. Brilliant, so is it true that the districts traffic unit is moving into that station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Came across that in the paper today,brilliant stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Spitting at a Garda car ... how about this. A few weeks ago I was driving through Rathmines and in front of me was a military truck towing an artillery piece. The back of the truck was a squad of soldiers all carrying their assault rifles, presumably returning from a training exercise. While at the traffic lights at Leinster Rd. a chap on a push bike rocks up and casually flicks a lit cigarette in the direction of the back of the truck and whizzes off through the lights. Needless to say the lads were unimpressed and there was a chorus of "w*@nker" when they caught up the guy at Tramco.

Shows you the respect some people have ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DamoNolan

Seen this in the paper taught it was funny but good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

I gotta say that Judge certainly was thinking ' outside the box ' - I just hope the order is enforced and he is held to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mark99

Being both a Garda and originally from ferbane where the incident occured I can only laugh and say fair play to the Judge, if sentences like these were handed down more often un-social scum might just think twice before doing something like this again, Ill ask the locals did he serve his sentence and post the result :) or perhaps a pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

BrianD wrote: »
    a chap on a push bike rocks up and casually flicks a lit cigarette in the direction of the back of the truck

He was smoking while cycling? Neat trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭BluesAndThrees

This is brilliant. Massive respect for the judge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Love it

Well done that judge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 shanemangan

There should be more of this kind of punishment I think. Much better than handing out a small fine, this way they might actually cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

I don't know the town but he should be made do it in the main street or town square.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Mark99 wrote: »
    Being both a Garda and originally from ferbane where the incident occured I can only laugh and say fair play to the Judge, if sentences like these were handed down more often un-social scum might just think twice before doing something like this again, Ill ask the locals did he serve his sentence and post the result :) or perhaps a pic
    This is brilliant. Massive respect for the judge
    mikemac1 wrote: »
    Love it

Well done that judge
    There should be more of this kind of punishment I think. Much better than handing out a small fine, this way they might actually cop on.

The OP's post is over three months old.:) The car should be pristine by now.